Maintenance advice for the new RANGER

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Sierra-117

Re: Maintenance advice for the new RANGER

Postby Sierra-117 » April 3rd, 2011, 8:08 pm

civic minded wrote:^^ you can get some more info from the Ranger specific thread.

Since you will be buying a TDCI 2.5 - good practice to have is not fillup your diesel any and any gas station. Choose one that has alot of traffic, that way you know that the tanks are less likely to have as much impurities, Also buy the Amsoil Centene concentrate, it has been knocked about in the forums alot - so you will find dealers for these from the parts classifieds. The firm put this same concentrate into your van when you go into service and charge you a pound and crown for it. So when you go into service - request that they do not add the concentrate.

Change your tires as soon as possible - Bridgestone tires are terrible in wet traction, and horrible in off roading - trade them in for some nice Scorpions or other AT tires, reffer to the Tires tread for more details. Or you can do what i did - i traded my originals for some 17". The firm will allow you to go 17" or 18" without voiding warranty.

Another advice, get the ANSA Membership card - your entitled to one when you buy a ranger. It will give you discounts on parts and service from Mc Enerney as well as other merchants.

Finally remember that you own a truck now - so you need to change your style of driving. Trucks don't take corners too well and be very careful on wet roads, double your driving distance between vehicles. Always wear your seatbelt and practice defensive driving.

Happy Motoring!

FINALLY!! some credible and useful advice! Thanks much for your post civic minded, it was much appreciated. One ques though, im getting the bedliner with the truck but i read alot of threads debating this over the spray-on kind. One guy mentioned that he applied a grease/oil mix before he installed the plastic one the keep away moisture from building up. Any thoughts on that?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 3rd, 2011, 8:41 pm

ok - i installed the drop in bed liner from 4x4 trinidad , but my advice is get the spray-on liner - one advantage is that what ever you put in the tray, don't slide around much. Also if your not getting the OEM rollbar and sidebar with your ranger, good idea is try to get a spec. built rollbar and side bar. The chrome bars are cosmetic, better buy the functional ones. Kennicon used to build them but i don't think they do anymore.

Case in point - a padna of mines rolled his brand new thunder and the rollbar prevented the top from collapsing.

Postby sliderz1 » April 3rd, 2011, 9:13 pm

civic minded wrote:Finally remember that you own a truck now - so you need to change your style of driving. Trucks don't take corners too well and be very careful on wet roads, double your driving distance between vehicles. Always wear your seatbelt and practice defensive driving.

Happy Motoring!

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » April 3rd, 2011, 9:20 pm

i getting it with the oem bedliner and the side steps, will have to look around for the roll bar though. will do what one guy said and remove the bedliner, apply a copious amount of grease and oil mix and then replace the liner. hopefully that'll help protect the tray from rusting....

Postby sliderz1 » April 3rd, 2011, 9:24 pm

^^yeh but dont apply too much to cause a build up of muck........ been there done that dat is not ur fren

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » April 3rd, 2011, 10:13 pm

my drop in liner i see the guy put a matting before he put in the liner so ....i think i good to go...he does d liner for the firm sando

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 3rd, 2011, 10:34 pm

i use my ranger for work purposes - so i lug around alot of load, My 3.0 ranger gives me loads of torque for this, never a regret since i bought it.

One flaw i noticed with my 3.0 ranger is that the brake pads didn't last as long as expected. I had to change them recently after 1 1/4 years life on them. I have a 6 year old Ranger 2.5 as well and those brake pads still good. So i am trying to figure if they have move to inferior pads or just that the amt of power and torque the 3.0 have eats up the pads quicker.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 3rd, 2011, 11:18 pm

^^ Jeremy was also complaining about the brake pads on the Ranger.

For the guys who wanted to know - i only sustained minor damage - a few scratches on my sidebars (those things actually do work on the Navara) and a small scuff on the left corner of the front bumper.

Sierra-117 - I was also going to buy the Ranger before I ended up buying the Navara, but I was turned away by a couple of things - and yes they were as a result of my own preferences and not necessarily because of which van was better than the other. My main criteria was in-cabin space including rear-legroom, as well as ride comfort; in this case the Navara suited me better so I ended up getting it, haven't looked back since.

Anyway, I did a lot of research on the Ranger/BT-50 twins, and they are superb vehicles for guys who aren't afraid to rough up their trucks. The 2.5TDCi was deemed the smoothest engine out of all the other brands (via 4WD Monthly Mag, out of Australia who did a HUGE comparison of these trucks in the Australian outback). The Ford/Mazda's transmission was the best-paired with the engine's output as compared to the other brands, plus the power output from the 2.5 TDCi was more than sufficient to power the Ranger/Bt-50 through the desert.

The only real complaints that came from the Ranger/BT-50 was the cramped rear-quarters, and relatively low fuel economy (esp. from the WLT engine).

Civic_minded basically covered everything in terms of ranger maintenance, and what he said about getting the ANSA McAl discount was quite true - in fact I'm sure McE M. jacks up their prices and then offers you a "discount" at what the real prices should be with that discount card. So get your money's worth, in the long run when you look at all the invoices for serving the next couple of years down the line, you won't regret it. I wish Neal and Massy had that same thign, they real damned expensive too!

Good luck with the Ranger man, I'm sure you'll be happy with it. Go dig up in it, learn about it. There's a service manual I posted somewhere on the Ranger thread, I think it's for both the WLT and WLC/WEC engines, so you'll learn a little about your engine. That's the true diesel boyz spirit :D

Oh yeah and come out on the next run, or if not, come on a Side B run :) :)

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » April 4th, 2011, 7:06 am

^^^God willing i will be there on the next diesel boyz run. I really love the comradery that is evident when browsing the various threads. Also the way you guys promote and encourage safe, responsible fun with your trucks. Can't wait to get my truck and really start making some runs and getting to know the dudes here.
In all honesty after browsing the threads my decision came down between the ranger and the navara. But i went with the ranger because massy is out of stock and will have to wait 3mts (approx) before i can get mine. BUt ford is sticking as well considering that i made a downpayment for the ranger over a mts now and everytime the sales woman keeps saying next week because they having problems in customs, licensing etc etc. They have up until this fri and if not then imma go ahead and retract my very sizeable downpaymant and hold out until the navaras are available..
@light hammer i swear you work for massey because by just reading your posts alone, you basically all but convinced me to go with the navara yes. U could sand on the beach oui! BUt i am giving ford another week and if not, then nissan it is...

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 4th, 2011, 7:36 am

something dont sound right there dude - call this number - ask for Blain Moze 680-2621, maybe he can help you out

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 4th, 2011, 8:01 am

dude is de same story in all de dealerships....men waiting for more than 3 mths for dey hilux too....

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » April 4th, 2011, 8:19 am

thanks man....will do:)

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » April 4th, 2011, 8:56 am

i waited 2mths

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 4th, 2011, 9:24 am

I got my Nav in 2 1/2 weeks after I said to the bank "Ok I want a Navara".

8).

It was in stock at the time though :).
No worries - the earthquake last month affected the ports in Thailand, some damage was sustained by the port authorities so we should expect some delays in shipments to come through.

Ford, Toyota and Nissan got hit hard - not sure about mitsubishi though.

Friend of mine ordered a Hilux back in late december, he only now gonna collect it later this week.

I feel I in the wrong career.... Or at least I should moonlight in sales too, ent? :D

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » April 4th, 2011, 11:00 am

^^^^^serious MR Hammer, u should think about sales as a career :)

Postby sliderz1 » April 4th, 2011, 11:25 am

lighthammer wrote:I got my Nav in 2 1/2 weeks after I said to the bank "Ok I want a Navara".

8).

It was in stock at the time though :).
No worries - the earthquake last month affected the ports in Thailand, some damage was sustained by the port authorities so we should expect some delays in shipments to come through.

Ford, Toyota and Nissan got hit hard - not sure about mitsubishi though.

Friend of mine ordered a Hilux back in late december, he only now gonna collect it later this week.

I feel I in the wrong career.... Or at least I should moonlight in sales too, ent? :D

take ah rate up :D

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 16th, 2011, 7:10 am

Sierra - thro up some pics of the new ride nah dude!!

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » April 16th, 2011, 5:44 pm

will do asap then :)

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 16th, 2011, 6:32 pm

Enjoy the Van...
If yuh coming from a gas vehicle, yuh sure to smile when yuh go to fillup..

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 16th, 2011, 6:40 pm

And yes.. TO ME..
The brakes pads and whole braking system is not too good on the Ranger.

My original pads only lasted 20,000 K, and original replacements are $1500 and usually out-of-stock.

And I believe at 26K right now, that they are already starting to not hold properly; but I'll have to open it up and see. Will do that after the DB run and update the threads.

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » April 16th, 2011, 7:00 pm

niceeeee, keep the threads running, keep em running...

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » April 17th, 2011, 10:53 am

so what u get sierra-117 the ranger...wha colour?? how it runnin?

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » April 20th, 2011, 10:47 am

Jeremy Mohd wrote:And yes.. TO ME..
The brakes pads and whole braking system is not too good on the Ranger.

My original pads only lasted 20,000 K, and original replacements are $1500 and usually out-of-stock.

And I believe at 26K right now, that they are already starting to not hold properly; but I'll have to open it up and see. Will do that after the DB run and update the threads.

What are the alternatives to the orignial pads? prices?

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 20th, 2011, 1:48 pm

There are many out there that have pads to fit the Ranger.
Mintex, BOSCH, Wagner, GIC; All between 150 - 250.

To me, they are all crap. The first 3 makes friggin noise, the GIC is quiet, holds ok, but there is alott of brakedust. (That's what I using now..)

Original is best, from what guys on the threads have said, ROC has them for about 800.

Going to change back to originals at 30K service in May/June.
That's going to be a $5000 service. :(

droppa

Postby droppa » April 20th, 2011, 2:20 pm

Sierra where the pics boi......

and bring it out on ah run........

once you come on one, u will be hooked, Side b does do something almost every month, DB are not so frequent........

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 20th, 2011, 6:08 pm

^^ droppa, shh! We just fill in the gaps between the major runs, plus we help the newbies become acquainted with the trail and life offroad :D

droppa

Postby droppa » April 21st, 2011, 7:54 am

boi, wha major run?
it hav no such ting, watch and see....

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » April 21st, 2011, 12:58 pm

nicholas7129 wrote:so what u get sierra-117 the ranger...wha colour?? how it runnin?

i got a black. 2.5 turbo auto 4x4. *i think im in love* i just love the suspension. some guys may say its to rugged but its a truck, so it ought to be IMO. keeping an eye out for the next 'side B' run. missed the last one cuz of the too short notice. now guys im looking to get hooked up wid some accessories for the ranger, chrome kit etc. Also really interested in the spoiler for the ranger. i saw some hilux and a few navaras with it. anyone knows where i can get it? called m rampersad, n maska n auto air on cipero, they don't carry it. any other suggestions??

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 21st, 2011, 3:10 pm

dude - don't riceup the ranger!! leave that for the hilux and navaras

check 4x4 trinidad - he has the roll bars etc. if you want to sell the oem side bar send me a PM!

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » April 21st, 2011, 6:45 pm

Since i get my ranger all i do was trade in them pancake tires and put some fatter ones ....and bought a deck finisher and change d deck ..........never like all dem shiny stuff...........sierra if u puttin chrome accessories please dont over do it na keep it lookin tough

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”