The Blanchisseusse-Maracas run: Initiation of the Newbies!!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: The Blanchisseusse-Maracas run: Initiation of the Newbie

Postby lighthammer » December 16th, 2010, 3:19 pm

3stage - why I like the kumho's is because of the long wear-life.

The kumho's we have on the frontier lasted from christmas 2007 till now and they still have a decent amount of tread on them. Is only cuz I had them underinflated that the shoulders wore out prematurely.

I just called Laughlin and degannes - no stock in the kumho's until next year. All they getting is some michelin highway tyres :(.

But I agree with u 3stage - the kumho's have an aggressive tread that's slightly better suited for off-road (esp mud/clay) than the toyo's - the larger spaces between the lugs of the kumho might self-clean better. But the toyo's would be great trail tyres, as well as better performing on the pavement than kumho's.

Anyway both of them is the same price basically, so when I ready to buy is just to choose whichever one in stock.

I do know one thing though.... Jhonnieblue real itching to take his 4x2 nav on a trail run... Hehehehe. De man catch the trail-fever!

Postby 3stagevtec » December 16th, 2010, 4:45 pm

lighthammer wrote:I do know one thing though.... Jhonnieblue real itching to take his 4x2 nav on a trail run... Hehehehe. De man catch the trail-fever!

As long as he stays away from grassy car parks, he good... lol

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » December 16th, 2010, 7:00 pm

^^^ :pokes: :lol: :lol: :lol:

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 16th, 2010, 8:52 pm

i taking the toyos!!!
by the next run i ready, u know my nav cant be sitting pretty all the time, even though im pretty sure shell have to get pulled out at some point :)
small thing
when the next run is
rem feting season coming up so is week in week out ill be feting :)
so after carnival of mid jan?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 16th, 2010, 11:55 pm

i ran tru the brasso seco trail eariler this year in my van with FU tyres and i wud say i made it pretty far.. untill i got bogged down ina rut.. and had to be pulled out.. grrr!

Postby Team Loco » December 17th, 2010, 5:55 am

damn, didnt know about this run. guys, i have a beach house a stones throw from the blanchi bridge...next time

Postby 3stagevtec » December 17th, 2010, 1:45 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:i taking the toyos!!!
by the next run i ready, u know my nav cant be sitting pretty all the time, even though im pretty sure shell have to get pulled out at some point :)
small thing
when the next run is
rem feting season coming up so is week in week out ill be feting :)
so after carnival of mid jan?

you should look into obtaining an extra pair of rims with some MTs just for such runs! With that power + an auto transmission + MTs at the back, you should reach pretty far!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 17th, 2010, 7:48 pm

power is nothing eithout control.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 17th, 2010, 7:51 pm

jhonnie put me down for a set too pls :).
we go roll with the toyo's man, no worries about sticking, you know I have yuh back and rollin with a tow strap.

Navara powah!!

droppa

Postby droppa » December 20th, 2010, 11:24 am

dry season coming up man, so most places will dry up, the las cuevas trail does be nice and dry, the dunlops go make it for a while again........

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 20th, 2010, 1:48 pm

^ I think I go save up for some BFG's. - I know the toyo's are a good deal, but the reviews online for the BFG's always say that the tread-life is awesome, 70,000+km's and more. The bfg's seem like the benchmark for treadwear life.

If not then is toyo's or Kumho's for me :)

originalbling

Postby originalbling » December 20th, 2010, 2:31 pm

dry season coming up man, so most places will dry up, the las cuevas trail does be nice and dry, the dunlops go make it for a while again........

Yea we need to complete that trail fellas... only RT and Jeremy made it to the end.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » December 20th, 2010, 3:22 pm

Actually we didnt... we made it far, but not the end.
The end was on down one more hill and onto the beach...

The problem would have been coming back up that hill if we did reach the beach.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 20th, 2010, 4:35 pm

lewwe wait till dry season :)
that way i could go too :)

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » December 20th, 2010, 8:46 pm

^^ To get stuck in the car park again!!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 20th, 2010, 9:00 pm

^lol at jhonnie - yeah I'm sure the 4x2 nav could make it at least up to the grassy plateau at the top of the hill - once u get the toyo's.

I still wanna go see that beach - but once that trail dry we should have no problem this time to go up and down that track.

But just to be sure I gonna bring a shovel and a pick-axe and a hatchet..... Just in case :) :)

And once our search and rescue specialist, 3stage, can make it, we good to go.

We should name ourselves "Diesel Boyz B-spec" :lol: :lol:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 20th, 2010, 9:07 pm

Did u reach the house at the end of the road? I don't think u were close to the end. The road ends by a small house at the mid hill. There is a track which leads further along the pari a main road, which u were on and onto matelot. If u went down the big shale covered hill then u were about 3 corners away

droppa

Postby droppa » December 21st, 2010, 7:53 am

the ole piper man with the two hounds told us dont go down the big hill, after the ole house that fall down.......we have to wait for dry season for real to complete this and many other runs......

and the guys who helped push us out said when it was dry a "turbo down drop low" bluebird fly tru the hills and made it to the beach....

guess he had toyos :shock:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 21st, 2010, 12:52 pm

^ fleck dat, dat "drop-low tobo-dong bluebird" cyah even drive the road to reach the trail....

Dem pipah men cuh real lie, but I glad they reach in time to push my big nav out, hehe.

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » December 21st, 2010, 5:20 pm

^^ PUSH!!!

We lift your a$$ out of de hole. :lol: :lol:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 21st, 2010, 6:40 pm

She's a big girl, isn't she? :) :)

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 22nd, 2010, 8:59 am

lift?
was more like humping the poor nav yes
one big backside :)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 22nd, 2010, 9:15 am

^ poor girl felt violated.... :lol: :lol:

Talk about popping the... Ok let me stop there, lol.

droppa

Postby droppa » December 23rd, 2010, 11:13 am

^^^hahah allyuh is kixx........

more like gang bang......

i think its cuz she had bad rubbers to start with......

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 23rd, 2010, 12:23 pm

This sort of x-rated conversation you guys having ... pretty soon we'll have to start banning kids from this site.

Glad you guys had fun and there were no incidents/accidents.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 23rd, 2010, 7:52 pm

sweeks wrote:This sort of x-rated conversation you guys having ... pretty soon we'll have to start banning kids from this site.

Glad you guys had fun and there were no incidents/accidents.

The CEO has spoken!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 27th, 2010, 5:26 pm

So, to the seniors in the diesel boys - we is full fledged DB's now or wha'?

venum

Postby venum » December 27th, 2010, 9:38 pm

lighthammer wrote:So, to the seniors in the diesel boys - we is full fledged DB's now or wha'?

you all went to 1 UNOFFICIAL run, not even a Diesel Boyz run and allyuh want party card :?:

when you all become regulars on OFFICIAL Diesel Boyz runS then propose the promotion

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 27th, 2010, 10:57 pm

wah bout me?? i make two offcial runs and have ah juhseyy! well like 3 juhseys! :D

droppa

Postby droppa » December 28th, 2010, 12:28 pm

venum wrote:
lighthammer wrote:So, to the seniors in the diesel boys - we is full fledged DB's now or wha'?

you all went to 1 UNOFFICIAL run, not even a Diesel Boyz run and allyuh want party card :?:

when you all become regulars on OFFICIAL Diesel Boyz runS then propose the promotion

yeah but DB runs are so scarce, is not like they does be every 3 mths or so......

doh get noe horraz, we newbies deya, we holding strong......

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”