hilux men -- how the cornering ?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Postby joker » September 12th, 2008, 1:44 am

skill is keep to the left lane and then drift onto the right lane when crossing the bridge by the union road over pass

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
them men feel yuh lying yes..

IS A NORMAL THING on ole tlk but not the other forums meng :cry: it hurts to know that i will not be taken seriously :lol:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 12th, 2008, 4:58 am

yuh name joker....how yuh expect to be taken seriously :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 12th, 2008, 7:07 am

CRV and he was saying that the lux handles better and gives a smoother ride than the CRV

CRV's must suck...

biggy82, pic, wham palos??

R Boodoosingh

Re: hilux men -- how the cornering ?

Postby R Boodoosingh » September 28th, 2008, 1:21 am

I have a high 2.7 Gas automatic . I was thinking about goin with the diesel boys on one of their trips to show them that the Hilux not bad on gas. :)

lexx

Postby lexx » September 28th, 2008, 12:53 pm

Hilux men, i not bad talkin alya, but i come across this video, take a look.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aZF8N9NItHI&feature=related

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » September 28th, 2008, 1:18 pm

Lexx, we've seen this video before and went into lenghty discussions about it. I can't remember what thread we discussed it in .... you could do a search for it.

However, the basic outcome was that based on driver the vehicle could do what you wanted it to. After some more searching you'll find the hilux passed the test at a later date.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 28th, 2008, 2:15 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
CRV and he was saying that the lux handles better and gives a smoother ride than the CRV

biggy82, pic, wham palos??

eh? :? :? :?

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » September 29th, 2008, 8:19 am

equipped2ripp wrote:
joker wrote:
he lying obviously

hilux 4x2 and no ah not lying :|

them men feel yuh lying yes..

and yeah i did close to 170 in my frontier and over 170 in a prado on that bend already... skill is keep to the left lane and then drift onto the right lane when crossing the bridge by the union road over pass.

true true...

i go around the said corner at around 190km...

that is with stock rims. if i had on the 22's i would go @ about 140km to be safe

lexx

Postby lexx » September 29th, 2008, 11:41 am

Mr. Cheese

I readin what u write, any i get a bit confused. I mean i have on stock rim and tires too and i pass that corner doing some high numbers many times.

But i always thought when u put on bigger rims with low profile tires, the rims and tires are much wider and don't bend on corners. So why would you pass that corner at 140 with a set of 22 with a 305 tire, when u does pass at 190 with ur normal 265/16/70.

Fellas correct me if i'm wrong.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » September 29th, 2008, 12:36 pm

Keep going round the corner at 190km in a pickup.. I am sure one day you will fall off...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 29th, 2008, 3:21 pm

lexx wrote:Mr. Cheese

I readin what u write, any i get a bit confused. I mean i have on stock rim and tires too and i pass that corner doing some high numbers many times.

But i always thought when u put on bigger rims with low profile tires, the rims and tires are much wider and don't bend on corners. So why would you pass that corner at 140 with a set of 22 with a 305 tire, when u does pass at 190 with ur normal 265/16/70.

relative height my boy. the van will be higher off the ground therefore more air pressure under the van undermining the extra grip of the wider tyres. in short, you will take off like a plane :lol:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » September 29th, 2008, 3:24 pm

biggy82 wrote:
lexx wrote:Mr. Cheese

relative height my boy. the van will be higher off the ground therefore more air pressure under the van undermining the extra grip of the wider tyres. in short, you will take off like a plane :lol:

Wider tyres / low profiles also "track"...

So yes you REAL wrong there lexx... wrong like an O.. wrong like a 305 tyre!

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » September 29th, 2008, 3:24 pm

lexx

Postby lexx » September 29th, 2008, 4:27 pm

Scene fellas, thanks, i learn something dey :)

Postby joker » October 3rd, 2008, 10:23 pm

so i pulled the corner @ 170 km last nite ..... no drifting :twisted:

factory tyres and rims .....

Postby Team Loco » October 4th, 2008, 1:38 am

i cornered at 120kms, not because i choose too- i have no choice, thats my top speed.... :lol:

smokin_anger

Postby smokin_anger » October 6th, 2008, 4:54 pm

well i jus got my hilux...and it real sweet....never had the fair of flippin, just u need to know how to handle it, ie the lower one, it sits perfectly on the road

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 10th, 2008, 11:39 am

No one mention tyres which plays a critical role.

With the OEM Duelers (255/70 15s), I could drift in the SR5. Upgraded those to Michelin LTX (31x10.5) and haven't look back since. They're bigger/widder than the Duelers and sits much better.

Gasparillo flyover I can do 120 km/h comfortably. I rarely drive over that speed (when I'm in the lux).

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 10th, 2008, 12:40 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:That is not the international market? Is this a continuation of the IMV?

I see you guys posting other links about the new Mazda bt-50 and etc. These models do not generally make it to market in Trinidad as we are classified as General Exposrt market.

I cannot say if this would be true for Toyota models.

Where sweeky? He usually knows these things

Well TTTL did screw their customers with the new lux....

They 09 lux are a continuation of the IMV... facelift, bigger rims, mostly cosmetic.

The 09 BT-50 is here... again just a facelift & mostly cosmetic.

Hopefully any bugs would have been ironed out.

BTW never believe a saleman when he tells you the new model will be here in a year ... B.S. They're trying to make a sale now not next year. They probably don't even know the difference in specs either.

Postby Greypatch » November 12th, 2008, 9:57 pm

Team Loco wrote:i cornered at 120kms, not because i choose too- i have no choice, thats my top speed.... :lol:

LMAO

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 13th, 2008, 11:13 am

Greypatch wrote:
Team Loco wrote:i cornered at 120kms, not because i choose too- i have no choice, thats my top speed.... :lol:

LMAO

Dont laugh... I am in the same boat.... well.. Seeing as he turboed now... *sigh*

Postby Greypatch » November 13th, 2008, 12:57 pm

120 top speed eh good when you have open road to run pallies

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » November 13th, 2008, 6:15 pm

Max i got so far is 140 but i feel she can do better... I ws not topping it.

Postby Greypatch » November 19th, 2008, 5:29 pm

hmm

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 19th, 2008, 7:45 pm

badart wrote:anybody willin to break jokers speed..but with a 4x4 hilux this time? lol

did about 145-150 just this week 8-) 8-)

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » November 21st, 2008, 2:22 am

OK i did 155 weekend.

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » November 24th, 2008, 12:14 pm

honestly...the older one felt much more stable...MUCH more!!
i don;t like the light, "flighty" feeling of the new hilux. It doesn't inspire me to hammer thru a corner...maybe that's a good thing

Postby wagon r » November 24th, 2008, 12:21 pm

^ and boy was the old one stable.... :mrgreen:

...* remembers coming home from sunday school and stage visits...*....

venum

Postby venum » November 24th, 2008, 12:28 pm

when allyuh get 170km\h on your 2.5L lemme know

oops, I for got you boys are direct turbo

no intercooler

sorry

:twisted:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 24th, 2008, 1:22 pm

venum wrote:when allyuh get 170km\h on your 2.5L lemme know