Well I test drove the new Navara ...

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Postby Greypatch » September 4th, 2008, 12:48 pm

so the nav faults were

to big and gear change.

Go Slow did you do any reasearch on how dem vans handlige we sheit diesel ?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 4th, 2008, 1:44 pm

Greypatch wrote:so the nav faults were

to big and gear change.

Go Slow did you do any reasearch on how dem vans handlige we sheit diesel ?

Yes Sir ... Well, informal interviews anyway ... The most resiliant is the 'old' model 12v 2.5 td in the manual 2.5 ranger and the bt-50.

The common rail engines are much more sensitive. The 2.5 & 3.0 Ranger / Mazda, are quite resilient, along with the toyota 2.5 and 3.0 and the Mitsu, 2.5 & 3.2. The Navara (very new) but seems to be OK if maintenance schedule is kept up.

The worse reports I saw came from the Isuzu, but that was not official documented issues, or anything like that, just word of mouth.

Postby Greypatch » September 5th, 2008, 2:24 pm

the salesman would not be 100% honest with you.. and will play down things..

the men who in the garage though will have the full draft as dem guh be doing the celan up on the vehicles

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » September 8th, 2008, 10:30 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
Mitsu = Consistently out performed in reviews by the ranger / mazda and the styling is like it or hate it, or really friggin hate it ... I think it looks good sometimes and weird at others. For the kind of money I'll be spending, I have to LOVE the van.

What about parts availability from Diamond Motors? I know they are notorious for being out of stock with parts. I knwo a fella on here will get vex with me but is true.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 16th, 2008, 12:54 am

I am going through the process of buying a van and thought this thread was a nice read.

I am sold on the Ford 2.5 TDCi Auto 4x4 - Black on Black baby

my first van - eek!

(buy my altezza nah!!)

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 16th, 2008, 7:19 am

RS200 wrote:I am going through the process of buying a van and thought this thread was a nice read.

I am sold on the Ford 2.5 TDCi Auto 4x4 - Black on Black baby

my first van - eek!

(buy my altezza nah!!)

Honestly that is a really nice van ... The styling isn't my preference (I thought the last gen ranger was a lot mor eattractive) but for that it would have been my 1st preference.

Look at the 3.0 manual ... It was cheaper than the 2.5 auto ... more power, more fun, less $$$!

Postby Greypatch » September 16th, 2008, 9:43 am

3.0 manual dwag...

was telling my dealer friend (works for ansa Mcal)

my 2 choices for a new van atthe moment are ford and Nissan

3.0 manual

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 16th, 2008, 6:57 pm

OK Update ... Drove a slightly used Navara ... The shifting was just fine :?

I assume some break-in was responsible for the drastically different feel, but it was great.

Clutch is still a bit too light feeling for me, but that's fine as well.

Still think it's a hella big van though.

Also drove an '07 2.5 turbo hilux ... Nice ride, nice clutch / shifter feel ... The Navara would absolutely rape it on the street though :lol:

Definitely the laziest feeling of the bunch, but to tell the truth, it doesn't encourage aggressive driving either.

All in all a very nice truck indeed ...

This is not making the choice any easier ... My *updated* options are:

New Mazda (due at the end of the month)

New Intercooled Hilux ... due next year early? '09 model, anyone know he new hp rating?

Navara ... If I can get over the size issue ... I doubt it though :?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 17th, 2008, 6:48 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:My *updated* options are:
New Mazda (due at the end of the month)
New Intercooled Hilux ... due next year early? '09 model, anyone know he new hp rating?

is it the same HP as the 08 model? the only upgrades were the brakes and body
Mr. Go Slow wrote:Navara ... If I can get over the size issue ... I doubt it though :?

ent size doesn't matter :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby wagon r » September 17th, 2008, 10:58 am

^......before i get run over by a navara i will keep quiet....

Postby Greypatch » September 17th, 2008, 11:19 am

how much for the new mazda dwag ?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 17th, 2008, 2:01 pm

wagon r wrote:^......before i get run over by a navara i will keep quiet....

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 17th, 2008, 2:05 pm

Greypatch wrote:how much for the new mazda dwag ?

New Mazda supposed to be coming in at 190 ish ... 2.5td non common rail, so really only about 119hp or so.

However the one I drove (current model) felt a LOT peppier than the Hilux 2.5 td ... Which I believe is supposed to be intercooled for '09? Can anyone confirm? That SHOULD = a lil more power ...

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » September 17th, 2008, 2:18 pm

well i'm gping to check out the navara and the L200 today and tomorrow, only thing is, i lookin fuh automatic, cuz a woman hadda drive it too,

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 30th, 2008, 3:53 pm

New mazda ... Pics don't do it justice, it's a beautiful truck:

[img=http:640:480]http://img373.imageshack.us/img373/1537/093008150459ny9.jpg[/img]

[img=http:640:480]http://img373.imageshack.us/img373/9926/093008150558ec0.jpg[/img]

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 30th, 2008, 7:51 pm

noice...

Postby Greypatch » October 3rd, 2008, 2:16 pm

very nice....take ah black

Postby sMASH » October 3rd, 2008, 3:06 pm

as for the gear shifting, the vans were initially intended to do work pulling load, so the close gears would be necessary. in work i continuously skip gears as the engines are powerful and we really doh have much load to move.

what engines do the navara come with?

bt50

Postby bt50 » October 3rd, 2008, 4:05 pm

The BT50 is the bomb :P

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 3rd, 2008, 5:36 pm

Mr. Go Slow, any other changes in the newer BT-50 other than the Front Bumper?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 3rd, 2008, 6:24 pm

Cooper wrote:Mr. Go Slow, any other changes in the newer BT-50 other than the Front Bumper?

No! That what sucks about the whole thing and has practically turned me off the truck !

Same 12v 2.5t engine where you were supposed to get the 2.5t common rail or the 3.0t common rail as options.

Same suspension where you were supposed to get the new DE-S suspension (improved handling).

So the upgrades are just cosmetic, bumper, lights and colour options ... I'm quite disappointed.

So ... Dunno what I'm gonna do for a truck as yet ...

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 3rd, 2008, 9:41 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
Cooper wrote:Mr. Go Slow, any other changes in the newer BT-50 other than the Front Bumper?

No! That what sucks about the whole thing and has practically turned me off the truck !

Same 12v 2.5t engine where you were supposed to get the 2.5t common rail or the 3.0t common rail as options.

Same suspension where you were supposed to get the new DE-S suspension (improved handling).

So the upgrades are just cosmetic, bumper, lights and colour options ... I'm quite disappointed.

What did you really expect? :P :P

venum

Postby venum » October 7th, 2008, 8:31 am

I drove a new 4x2 Nav yesterday

company vehicle

most of teh time i was restricted by teh plant's speed limit of 5 km\h

but the areas where i wasn't . . .

well yuh know :twisted:

all I have to say is damn that b!tc4 gots power

2nd gear was wow :!:

very comfortable interior - i didn't feel like I was inside an almera at all :D

despite the humongous exterior, it doesn't feel that big when driving

with the 6 speed shifter I took about a min to find reverse - had to press down

also, for a 4x2 it was pretty high

smooth comfortable ride

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 7th, 2008, 10:20 am

bleedingfreak wrote:
Mr. Go Slow wrote:

What did you really expect? :P :P

The Mazdas have always been a reliable workhorse... pulls well and drives smooth. However as with most other turbo diesel, the heads are inherently weak and prone to overheating if not maintained properly.

It is in a fact a disappointment that SS has opted not to import the upgraded engine. I still like them though and the fact that Petrotrin hasn't gotten the new GTL plants online, makes them resilient to our poor quality diesel.

My main contention with the Mazdas were that at one point, they were the number 1 stolen pickup. I'm not sure if that's change. All the 09 BT50 needs now is a sunroof.

Sorry to hijack the thread....Sweeks out.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 8th, 2008, 7:19 am

Thanks for the reply Go Slow :!:
The BT-50 was an option for me a while back (was hoping the new models had upgraded features) but I still like the look of the Ranger with the extra options.....gotta continue saving money 8-)

venum wrote:very comfortable interior - i didn't feel like I was inside an almera at all :D

dat jus wrong eh :lol:

venum

Postby venum » October 8th, 2008, 7:54 am

would it have been better if I said Primera :?:

:twisted:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 14th, 2008, 7:26 pm

OK went back and drove the Navara ... The second time around, the shifting/clutch was great ... Note this is a well broken in model that's used for demos at the lady young branch. Oh and you have to press the shifter down to get into reverse.

Where's the power? All the thrust I felt in the 1st vehicle was gone in this one? Badly in need of a tune up? The a/c was far from cold ... WTF? Needs to re-gas already?

Handled the lady young curves well, well enough that I was wanting bucket seats to keep me from sliding. Yes it's big, yes it's long, but I could get accustomed to that I think ... Town driving will still be a nightmare though.

The deal breaker: Apparently, the local model Navaras DO NOT come with an LSD! WTF! Every other truck on the market (in high spec dress) has one. So when you decide to have some fun off-road, prepare for the possibility of 1 wheel drive = you are stuck again.

Soooooooooooooo, I think what I really want is a Ranger 3.0 with the manual (but they only come auto now) or the Mazda (manual) with the 3.0 CRTDi engine, but that's not an option ... Lawd

The auto ranger with the 2.5 is $229,000!? That's too much I think ... Would have paid that for the 3.0, maybe, but not the 2.5

Going to try and harass someone at McEarney for a manual 3.0 .... again ... Anyone with any insight as to why they are no longer bring the 3.0 manual????

Also going to see if I test the DMax 3.0 this week. My cousin purchased a 4x2 and thinks highly of it.

Last price for the 3.0 manual lux was $225,000 ... As I have Thursday and Friday off I'll try and drive that as well, though I'm very concerned about stability with the lux....

And for those who haven't seen it: www.ramchallenge.com ... 0-60 in this beast (with the 390hp HEMI engine) is UNDER 6 seconds!!! YEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSS!

http://www.dodge.com/en/2009/ram_1500/

.... and ... *I'm awake* ... Need to stop dreaming

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » October 14th, 2008, 8:15 pm

^^ Dude , the gang had a chance to check out the Dmax,
Lets just say that i`m waiting for that review .... :roll: Dont want to bias your opinion just yet :D

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 14th, 2008, 8:58 pm

Stuckindmud wrote:^^ Dude , the gang had a chance to check out the Dmax,
Lets just say that i`m waiting for that review .... :roll: Dont want to bias your opinion just yet :D

Who's 'the gang' and who do I have to donkey punch for the review?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 14th, 2008, 10:18 pm

lucklin and de gangs? :roll:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”