Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
civic minded

Re: Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby civic minded » August 16th, 2010, 9:03 pm

check this out - anyone tried this??

http://www.formula4x4.co.uk/shop/ford-r ... ce-tuning/

Increases bhp from 110bhp to 135bhp
Increases torque from 197 lb ft to 230 lb ft
Ford Ranger 2.5TDCI 143bhp
Increases bhp from 143bhp to 165bhp
Increases torque from 244 lb ft to 273 lb ft
Ford Ranger 3.0 (UK Spec) 156bhp
Increases bhp from 156bhp to 181bhp
Increases torque from 280 lb ft to 315 lb ft
Ford Ranger 3.0TD 163bhp
Increases bhp from 163bhp to 190bhp
Increases torque from 280 lb ft to 318 lb ft

I am not sure if mines is the uk spec or the 3.0td

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » August 16th, 2010, 9:52 pm

So guys, what about the female port that has 4 wires to it and is mounted right behind the dash just where the handbrakes is? What is that jack for?

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » August 17th, 2010, 1:06 am

*walks outside to check.....

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » August 18th, 2010, 8:23 pm

So guys, what about the female port that has 4 wires to it and is mounted right behind the dash just where the handbrakes is? What is that jack for?
Anyone got a chance to investigate this as yet?

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » August 19th, 2010, 2:35 am

*walks back inside 2 days later.... "Sh-t!! ... I 4get u hoss!!..." *Walks back outside again....

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 19th, 2010, 7:45 am

civic minded wrote:check this out - anyone tried this??

http://www.formula4x4.co.uk/shop/ford-r ... ce-tuning/

Increases bhp from 110bhp to 135bhp
Increases torque from 197 lb ft to 230 lb ft
Ford Ranger 2.5TDCI 143bhp
Increases bhp from 143bhp to 165bhp
Increases torque from 244 lb ft to 273 lb ft
Ford Ranger 3.0 (UK Spec) 156bhp
Increases bhp from 156bhp to 181bhp
Increases torque from 280 lb ft to 315 lb ft
Ford Ranger 3.0TD 163bhp
Increases bhp from 163bhp to 190bhp
Increases torque from 280 lb ft to 318 lb ft

I am not sure if mines is the uk spec or the 3.0td

See: viewtopic.php?t=246256&highlight=

taktix

Postby taktix » August 19th, 2010, 12:19 pm

vharripersad wrote:So guys, what about the female port that has 4 wires to it and is mounted right behind the dash just where the handbrakes is? What is that jack for?

That female port is your OBDC II port. It is used for diagnostics. It spits out all sorts of data about your vehicle when pluged into your computer.

Example:
1. pounds of boost from your turbo.
2. Fault conditions on sensors
3. Current speed, rpm
4. Fuel consumption

And the list goes on.....I hope that answers your question!

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » August 19th, 2010, 12:37 pm

Yes, Thanks Taktix

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » August 20th, 2010, 9:35 am

Hi guys......well I just bought a TCF Ford Ranger doing 84k on the odometer. Got it at a really good price.

This is actually my second ranger, as my first one was stolen whilst she was stilll doing 8k on the odometer.

Nonetheless, I really like the rangers.
Now the van is working really nice, excepting for two issues -
1) I seem to be getting a constant vibration coming from the rear, once I cross 80k on the highway. If I remove my foot from the accelerator, vibration stops. Spoke to a mechanic who advised it could either be the cross or centre bearing. Anyone had any experiences with this?
2) The suspension seems to be squeaking quite alot. Any recommendations on where I can go to have the entire suspension properly greased right now.

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » August 20th, 2010, 12:39 pm

Dev, how and where was it stolen, if u know can this info be shared so we can learn from this experience. Sorry about the loss as well this is really a difficult thing to go through!!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 20th, 2010, 1:06 pm

dev51 wrote:Hi guys......well I just bought a TCF Ford Ranger doing 84k on the odometer. Got it at a really good price.

This is actually my second ranger, as my first one was stolen whilst she was stilll doing 8k on the odometer.

Nonetheless, I really like the rangers.
Now the van is working really nice, excepting for two issues -
1) I seem to be getting a constant vibration coming from the rear, once I cross 80k on the highway. If I remove my foot from the accelerator, vibration stops. Spoke to a mechanic who advised it could either be the cross or centre bearing. Anyone had any experiences with this?
2) The suspension seems to be squeaking quite alot. Any recommendations on where I can go to have the entire suspension properly greased right now.

Dev when changing the cross .... be sure to mark the drive shaft so that are put on properly (exactly how they were taken out). They need to be balanced or you may have further vibration problems.

Give the van an underwash and then spray some shock oil. Try that for starters and see if it helps.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 20th, 2010, 1:27 pm

^^ is it better to use shock oil or to grease it? I heard the the oil sometimes can cause the rubbers to degrade.

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » August 20th, 2010, 3:48 pm

Sweeks - Thanks for the advice. I'll be sure to make a note of it. Did the underwash already. I read that the shock oil damages the rubbers, etc...so not sure. That's why I was leaning towards the grease instead.

Van was stolen midday on a Saturday on Boundary Road in Aranguez. Stopped by a parlour, and two men ran out with guns, took keys, phone, etc and jumped into van and sped off. Unfortunately, didn't put car-search or anything on it as yet. Police advised that this is a regular thing, and I should just avoid el-socorro/aranguez on the whole.
Also, I had the habit of leaving alot of things in my vehicle, so I lost some valuables. Learnt my lesson from that though.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 20th, 2010, 5:49 pm

that is real crap - the police said that it happens alot there so just avoid the area?? so what they are condoning the hijackings? why don't they do their damn job we pay them to do.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 20th, 2010, 7:54 pm

^^ overworked, underpaid, understaffed, jaded, burnt out, apathetic.

Maybe if he had told the police that the stolen ranger had G5 tint, they'd have run out and fined the bandits, hence finding them.

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » August 20th, 2010, 10:24 pm

lol @ g5 tint......really should have told them that yes....

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » August 23rd, 2010, 8:53 am

Update - dropped it in the firm this morning at 6:30. They greased it up and changed the driveshaft cross. Said it was really bad. Total cost came up to about $1100 after discount.
Just collected back the van. Took roughly 2 hours - not bad...expected the van to be there whole day.
Still noticed some squeaking when i left the firm - not too sure if the grease takes a while to work in, so I figure I'll monitor it.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 23rd, 2010, 9:14 am

dev51 wrote:Update - dropped it in the firm this morning at 6:30. They greased it up and changed the driveshaft cross. Said it was really bad. Total cost came up to about $1100 after discount.
Just collected back the van. Took roughly 2 hours - not bad...expected the van to be there whole day.
Still noticed some squeaking when i left the firm - not too sure if the grease takes a while to work in, so I figure I'll monitor it.

Yes grease takes a while to work itself in ...

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » August 28th, 2010, 10:01 pm

Guys, My uncle has a Ford Ranger 2.5 XLT Manual 2009 TCM ranger 4x4. His 4x4 has the 4x4 lever, RFW switch and Diff Lock Switch.
My unit is a 4x4 XLT manual 2010 Ford ranger. I have the 4x4 lever and the RFW switch, however I DONT have a DIFF LOCK Switch like my uncle has. Does that mean my unit is crappy as compared to my uncle? Someone please explain, thanks.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » September 2nd, 2010, 6:01 am

Guys, do you all drive with the overdrive switch ON all the time? some feedback thanks.....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 2nd, 2010, 6:13 am

^^^ I think most people do.

Leaving the OD switch on means your transmission will shift earlier and less aggressively, hence u save gas. Plus the ride is more smooth and driving is easier.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 2nd, 2010, 5:30 pm

i only take off the OD if i want to do burn some rubber or overtake someone on the highway on top end.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » September 3rd, 2010, 1:25 am

Thanks for the reply guys.....I drive with it on all the time, it feels like the van does not have to rev to much to get going at a nice speed. Civic, you get more power taking off with the overdrive off?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 3rd, 2010, 8:12 am

If you look at the gear ratios, you'll get an idea of why the overdrive is important. It' mostly for fuel economy.

To give a SIMPLE explanation... the numbers you see below (except the final gear ratio) are the turns the engine puts out through the tranny to produce one turn on the prop-shaft.

fifth would be overdrive, because it is a less than 1::1 ratio.

...so if you turn the overdrive off, the tranny drops out of fifth and into fourth, so then the engine speeds up to compensate for the change in gear ratio --> higher RPM's = more power.

This is what some guys refer to as a "kick-down".... you will notice that it happens automatically sometimes when you floor the gas pedal to overtake.

(The transmission experts can feel free to add/correct anything thing I missed.)

nick009

Postby nick009 » September 3rd, 2010, 8:54 am

what rpm do you automatic guys do at 120km/h?

homeboy

Postby homeboy » September 3rd, 2010, 10:29 am

Nice info there Cooper.

nick09, i can't recall now but i think is somewhere around 3k rpm. but at 120 i don't even feel the van being high rev and forcing to make that speed.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 3rd, 2010, 5:26 pm

at about 120km i do about 3000-3500 -i think - as cooper explained - you get more power when you switch the overdrive off,
Thing about it is that i very rarely x-to-board when i drive - , as you touch the accelerator - the turbo kick in and you get tyre ripping power

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 3rd, 2010, 10:13 pm

civic minded wrote:at about 120km i do about 3000-3500 -i think - as cooper explained - you get more power when you switch the overdrive off,
Thing about it is that i very rarely x-to-board when i drive - , as you touch the accelerator - the turbo kick in and you get tyre ripping power

The mat under my x-pedal worn out ... no joke :?

Banzai1

Postby Banzai1 » September 3rd, 2010, 11:48 pm

Guys,
I bought my Ranger about two weeks now ,TBZ 4x2 auto. doing 65k on the odometer....... around 120km I believe it was about 3k rpm.............
One problem I have is whenever I stop I feel what seems to be a "back lash"(don't know if thats the right term"), slight with no noise.
When I pull off I feel it again .....if the van is rolling and I accelerate easy I can feel it also and if I back off I feel it again.........had the under carriage inspected and they found no problems with any bushing,cross,center bearing or shocks..
Van drives great, no noise or squeaks.
Any ideas?

D grey wingroad

Postby D grey wingroad » September 4th, 2010, 5:41 am

guys,
bought my ford earlier in the year did two service on it the 5k and 15k..... have the 25k to do soon....... at the 15k i had mention that my driver seat was making noise when driving tru the rough.......they checked it and told me everything was fine..........left the firm and the noise was still there.......went back again and they checked it again but the noise is still there.........i am thinking it is the springs in the seat becuz is only when u driving tru the rough it makes the noise.......... other than that i have no problems with my ford.......... i love it......... what you all think i should do.

btw whats the average cost for the 25k service........... i paid 1100 after vat for my first service and 1900 on the second............ and i have the card.......... reading some prices some of you paid i wondering now...............

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”