Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
vharripersad

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby vharripersad » January 19th, 2011, 10:43 am

SEE MILEAGE MACK RESPONSE
I narrow down my option to TOYO/KUMHO based on price. Fellas, which is the better buy?

""""I would recommended going from a 245/70R16 to a 255/70R16.
The 255 will give you more stability, height and a better ride.
Here are the prices and availability:
255/70R16 – BFGoodrich All Terrain T/A KO - $2,200.00 V.A.T. Inclusive – Availability 4 weeks from confirmed order date.
255/70R16 – Hercules - NOT Available.
255/70R16 – Kumho Road Venture KL78 - $1,100.00 V.A.T. Inclusive – Availability 8 weeks from confirmed order date ( Special Order ).
255/70R16 – Pirelli Scorpion ATR - $1,800.00 V.A.T. Inclusive – Availability 4 weeks from confirmed order date.
255/70R16 – Toyo Open Country A/T - $1,000.00 V.A.T. Inclusive – Availability will be on February 4th. We have a container with this size on the way from Japan now and it arrives on January 31st in Trinidad."""

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » January 19th, 2011, 11:00 am

2200 for the BFG!!!! ... jezzzz

My 2c; Line up on the 4th, wait on the container, and get the Toyo's.

Postby 3stagevtec » January 19th, 2011, 11:28 am

Look at price on those BFG!! That is really depressing..

droppa

Postby droppa » January 19th, 2011, 12:18 pm

get the toyos, they does wukk, it had a certain blue ranger in the blanchi run spray mih down with mud doin a hill climb from 20+ft away........

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 19th, 2011, 2:37 pm

no M/T Toyos in the mix?

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » January 19th, 2011, 3:50 pm

droppa wrote:get the toyos, they does wukk, it had a certain blue ranger in the blanchi run spray mih down with mud doin a hill climb from 20+ft away........

Loll...

Should move faster...
Coming Through.png

venum

Postby venum » January 20th, 2011, 12:57 pm

^^^ those are teh same compound in the Roadian HT, just with an A/T tread pattern

my experience with these tyres is taht they work well up to half life, after that they ain't wort sheit

as teh sipes only went half way down into the tread in the ones that I had

everyone has different opinions and experiences

my experience and opinion is that Roadstone Roadian tyres are sheit

I have used Dunlop SP Sport repeatedly in the cars and LM702 in another car (this tyres holds excellently and refuses to wear after 2 years of mostly highway (full north-south) runs daily)

but the Grandtrek is a different story

Bridgestone turanza and potenza are also excellent tyres on cars, but teh Duellers are a different story

so my point is that not all models of tyres made by the same manufacturer are equally created

I hope to get some BFG A/T when I am ready to buy

else I may have to settle for the Kumho or Toyos again (I will not have a problem with the Toyos)

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » January 20th, 2011, 1:35 pm

Even if the Toyo wears faster... I paid 990 a tyre, so compared to the price of the BFG, I can change tyres twice, with change.

But time will tell, I've only run them 10,000Km; And they still look new.

venum

Postby venum » January 20th, 2011, 6:52 pm

mileage mack have the BFG at almost twice teh price that Quick Serve has them

Postby 3stagevtec » January 20th, 2011, 7:56 pm

So if the BFG AT costs so much, what would their MTs cost?!

venum

Postby venum » January 20th, 2011, 9:56 pm

them BFG are not soo expensive

MM ridiculous

Quick Service has them for ~1500 non-sale price

the Doc paid less recently on sale

tomorrow, I gonna make a visit to Quick Serve and find out when they getting stock and at what price, maybe even place my order (once I don't have to pay)

I inquiring bout a set 3 sets of 265\70\16 - 12 tyres in total

1 set for me, 1 set for LH and I sure somebody else gonna want in that size as well

Dunman

Postby Dunman » January 20th, 2011, 10:53 pm

venum wrote:them BFG are not soo expensive

MM ridiculous

Quick Service has them for ~1500 non-sale price

the Doc paid less recently on sale

tomorrow, I gonna make a visit to Quick Serve and find out when they getting stock and at what price, maybe even place my order (once I don't have to pay)

I inquiring bout a set 3 sets of 265\70\16 - 12 tyres in total

1 set for me, 1 set for LH and I sure somebody else gonna want in that size as well

Yoohoo, here I am!

venum

Postby venum » January 20th, 2011, 11:09 pm

^^^ great

If anybody else want, please provide size and quantity in this thread before 11:00AM tomm

I'll check when I am there

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 21st, 2011, 12:09 am

inquire for me as well V....same size

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 21st, 2011, 1:28 am

As you there, possible you can price out a set of 31X10.50R15 for me thank you!
I know as a fact BFG makes it in that size, so stick with what I know.. Light truck tyres for it!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 21st, 2011, 6:15 am

265/70/16's please in BFG....

hehe "B F G" also means "Big F-ing Gun" in Duke Nukem... hehe.

Postby 3stagevtec » January 21st, 2011, 10:21 am

lighthammer wrote:265/70/16's please in BFG....

no no no man, the BFG9000 is from Doom / Quake II :twisted:

Big, uh, freakin’ gun..

*fingers crossed Venum gets through with my requested tyre choice*

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 21st, 2011, 10:58 am

ah, the good ol' days of Win95....

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 21st, 2011, 1:39 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
lighthammer wrote:265/70/16's please in BFG....

no no no man, the BFG9000 is from Doom / Quake II :twisted:

Big, uh, freakin’ gun..

*fingers crossed Venum gets through with my requested tyre choice*

used to play this in deathmatch mode on my first job. imagine 10 computers hooked up on the intranet and man gunning down fellow man all 2-3am when yuh suppossed to be watching the DCS panel

de talk in the bar next morning is not who hornin who or who boss issa MC nah....is "boy i frag yuh a$$ lass night" or "i made you eat a rocket"

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » January 21st, 2011, 4:23 pm

^^ the good ole fragging days..

venum

Postby venum » January 21st, 2011, 10:29 pm

went by QS today

no BFG in 16" currently

stock coming in march

we can get group buy discount

CD4 they have your tyre in stock - 1600 + ea

they have another AT in stock now - GT racing adventuro AT II in 265/70/16

got the sales manager's name and will have to talk to him for prices

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 21st, 2011, 11:50 pm

Honestly, I see MM selling the same GT brand but I not impressed... It was almost the price of Kumho and its not something im familiar with.. That said, definitely worth finding out the pricing..

What sort of discount you think we talking for group buy if it was to be arranged?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 22nd, 2011, 6:55 am

venum wrote:went by QS today

no BFG in 16" currently

stock coming in march

we can get group buy discount

CD4 they have your tyre in stock - 1600 + ea

they have another AT in stock now - GT racing adventuro AT II in 265/70/16

got the sales manager's name and will have to talk to him for prices

is this the tyre you're talking about?

I think I've seen this on a couple vans up here in the East recently.
Looks like an aggressive tread, similar to the Kumho Roadventures.

Hard to find a review for it though - seems like it's a lesser known brand sold mainly in the US, but the few reviews said that it's a decent performing tyres in the lower-budget range.

Product Description
Unique tread design with continuous central blocks Excellent handling stability

Open shoulder grooves and wide lugs Superior all-surface traction for all-weather condition

Full Nylon cap ply Improved stability,handling and safety

Balanced void ratio Resistance to aquaplaning and consisitent wet traction

And this is their main website

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » January 22nd, 2011, 8:02 am

seems like a pretty decent tyre for som1 on a budget......but wats d cost of those tyres, traction rating, temperature rating an treadwear??

but personally, ad put in the extra an get the Kumhos ova these any day

venum

Postby venum » January 22nd, 2011, 12:05 pm

that is teh tyres

they did not have any in pt. lisas

the guy showed methat same tyre in teh GT Racing catalog

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 22nd, 2011, 3:31 pm

Called Mileage Mack yesterday for some 255/70R15s for the Mazda... Was getting the Kumhos for $977.50... Apparently its on discount.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 25th, 2011, 6:31 pm

Anything yet on the group buy?
I watching the prices of the BFG's.... real expensive, ranging from $1500 to $1800 to $2200....

Might invest in the kumho's if they're on discount for $977....
Or the toyo Open country's...

Unless the BFG's price is right....

venum

Postby venum » January 25th, 2011, 7:27 pm

i didn't call the sales manager yet

will try to do tomm

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 25th, 2011, 8:33 pm

cool scene meng.

I guess if we gonna buy the BFG's by march-april, that gives them enough time to order stock...

I hope we can get a good discount.

On a side note, the dunlop grantreks are actually work pretty well on tarmac. It takes some effort to break them loose, and even on wet roads they grip well.

venum

Postby venum » January 27th, 2011, 9:40 pm

notice teh lack of sipes on teh GT Racing A/T

I will opt for the Kunho or Toyo over them

saw these today

also available in 31x10.5

and some

rare to find mudds in 16"

I gonna run the current Michelins down till they can't go anymore then buy replacements

if I get 6 -7 months on teh Michelins I will be happy

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”