Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
vharripersad

Re: Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby vharripersad » August 10th, 2010, 6:52 pm

Thanks Nick, I myself realize that no problem occurred while in motion and switching off RFW but does anyone know if its right to turn off the RFW while in motion. I want to be sure cause 4x4 are costly when it comes to fixing damaged components.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 10th, 2010, 8:10 pm

Guys check this side step out from Formula 4x4 based in the uk -

http://www.formula4x4.co.uk/shop/ford-r ... l-style-5/

i like the looks of it - what you all think?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 10th, 2010, 9:35 pm

vharripersad, it's okay to turn the RFW off while you are in 2H and in motion. Nick is correct, you only have to stop to initially engage the 4WD.

Please review the earlier pages of this same thread, I did a write up on the 4WD system in the manual Rangers.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 10th, 2010, 9:40 pm

civic minded wrote:Guys check this side step out from Formula 4x4 based in the uk -

http://www.formula4x4.co.uk/shop/ford-r ... l-style-5/

i like the looks of it - what you all think?

looking pretty

...but I'm looking at it and thinking that's more sheit to clean. I is ah kinda lazy man eh :lol:

here's a question... anyone ever came across a retractable side step system, that works with a flip of a switch and tucks away under the vehicle :?:

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » August 11th, 2010, 12:35 pm

Nicholas, I call that number u gave me but the guy don't have the accessory I am esquiring about. Does anyone know when I can get the 4x4 off road dials for my ford ranger? The thunder comes with it mounted on the dash job above the radio. It has a compass, tilt angle and temperature dial i believe. Does anyone have a site that I can but this directly from, or some one locally who is selling it at a reasonable markup cost?

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » August 11th, 2010, 1:59 pm

well wen i emailed ford parts uk ...he gave me an email to email sum1 in Australia....dat would be a to much 2 ship so i not botherin ....if u want i could give u d email to see if u could get d info centre

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 12th, 2010, 7:24 am

the reason i like that side step that is close to the OEM side bar and look like it got take a beating. - i want something that can double as a side step and a rock slider

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 12th, 2010, 4:20 pm

I remember seeing a chrome tube-style rockslider with sidesteps on it, at 4x4Trinidad's showroom. Looks similar to the sidestep bars on the navara and frontier.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 13th, 2010, 5:49 am

i went to check out LV marketing - their prices are really hot - but due to the sale they are having - its quite reasonable, they have really nice stuff , i saw a front bull bar for the ranger - really aggressive style, i want to go back and take a second look.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 13th, 2010, 6:20 am

Hey CM, was the 3.0 Ranger readily available as a plain XLT version, or did you have to "order" it?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 13th, 2010, 6:58 am

readily available

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 13th, 2010, 7:29 am

schweet.

Now to fight with the syrians on a good price :(

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » August 13th, 2010, 5:39 pm

Guys,

3.0 TDCi Ranger, 7k, 3 mths old, under warranty

Today radio stopped working, just like that. Driving to POS, cut off.

Cigarette lighter also stopped, but thats very much secondary.

Any ideas? Just a fuse?

homeboy

Postby homeboy » August 13th, 2010, 6:56 pm

Possibly fuse but play it safe and let the dealer handle that before you void your warranty.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » August 13th, 2010, 8:13 pm

Ok ford men and weeemen....I have some questions before I decide to buy a ford. Firstly, the Duratorq 16 valve engine....What model ford that engine available in...cause every time I go down at M and E all they showing me is the WLT type....Is that engine in a special ordered one or something? What is the difference really between the BT50 and the Ford besides the obvious looks?? No really?!?!?! I heard something from owners about the suspension and other mechanicals! Next who is really the best person to speak to down there at M and E cause my sales rep (DL) doesn't know shite!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 13th, 2010, 9:57 pm

forget about ford - buy the new L200 - go fass and buy it

sarwank

Postby sarwank » August 13th, 2010, 10:52 pm

I have a TBY Automatic 4X4 for sale..Good condition..140..

Anyone interested??

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 13th, 2010, 11:01 pm

rottedv wrote:Ok ford men and weeemen....I have some questions before I decide to buy a ford. Firstly, the Duratorq 16 valve engine....What model ford that engine available in...cause every time I go down at M and E all they showing me is the WLT type....Is that engine in a special ordered one or something? What is the difference really between the BT50 and the Ford besides the obvious looks?? No really?!?!?! I heard something from owners about the suspension and other mechanicals! Next who is really the best person to speak to down there at M and E cause my sales rep (DL) doesn't know shite!!!

Right - I was looking at the same models as you - before the sales-rep I was dealing with got vex with me cuz I wasn't ready to buy yet and rudely told me off.

So... this is the info I found out. The 16-V DOHC TDCi Duratorq engines come in these configurations ONLY:
- 2.5L WLC TDCi in 4x4 AUTO
- 3.0L WEC TDCi in 4x4 AUTO

If you want a 4x4 Manual, you'll only get the 2.5L SOHC TDI WLT engine (the older, 2003 - 2005 era engine). This makes about 107hp & 266NM of torque. IMO this engine is mechanically simpler & thus easier to maintain, and it would be less susceptible to bad diesel.

Apparently McEarney Motors is arrogant enough to think that Trinidadians don't want Manual transmission trucks anymore, hence leaving us with the lower-spec'd engines in that working-class segment. Makes sense from a business standpoint - premium buyers want higher-spec'd models, including an automatic transmission with the newer engine. When I asked about why the 3.0 TDCI doesn't come in manual, the senior sales executive told me in a very condescending way "well, not many people bought it so we don't stock it anymore".

Here's a snippet from a review of the 2005-era Ford Ranger:
Under the bonnet of the latest [sic] Ranger, the big news is that the barely adequate 76hp/168Nm naturally-aspirated engine fitted to the 4x2 models has been ditched in favour of a down-rated version of the 4x4’s 2.5-litre 12-valve turbo-diesel. In 4x2 form, it now produces 83hp and 195Nm, while 4x4s keep the original 107hp/266Nm rating.

Source article.

The WLT should be adequate for daily driving and light work. The WLC TDCI is a lot more powerful and has more torque at lower RPM's, but the common rail diesel may be more sensitive to our low-quality diesel. Other ranger owners with WLT engines haven't complained about their WLT's, and most of them are happy with it. Just don't expect the truck to blast-off from the line like a space-shuttle.

Save that for the 3.0L TDCi Thunder/Wildtrak.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » August 14th, 2010, 4:59 am

Thats great info there man.....Thats why she got angry with me...the sales rep that is....but they should mention their prices with respective models and trime to buyers but thats syrians for you...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 14th, 2010, 6:23 am

^^ X2.

I was dealing with one of the older sales reps.
First time I walked into the showroom a few weeks back to check out the Ranger, he was all to happy to show me the truck, talk shop about the features, etc.

Next couple of times I called to ask further questions, man was very busy and didn't want to really talk over the phone.

Then I went to the showroom again to ask for a test drive and to have a look at the 2.5 TDCi 4x4 Manual. Rep was vague about the 4x4 manual, said they have mostly Autos. Didn't mention anything about the 4x4 manual coming only in WLT engine (non Common-rail, direct injection only) and said there's no Manuals available now, will call me when they get one the next week when the new shipment comes. Seemed in a rush to get me out of the showroom as they were busy with something (though I saw no one rushing around, everyone was just sitting quietly at their desks in the little glass booths they have at each corner in their showroom). I also asked the rep to ask about the 3.0 TDCi coming in Manual 4x4 (remember, the 3.0 TDCI only comes in 4x4 Auto, as they are always quick to point out, they don't know when next the 3.0 TDCI would come in manual 4x4 - while in other markets you can easily get the 3.0 TDCI in manual 4x4. M Rampersad can easily bring in the 4x4 Wildtrak for you in EITHER 2.5 WLC Manual, or 3.0 WEC Manual, if you ask for it).

Next week came, no call.
2 weeks later, no call yet.

Almost 3 weeks later, got a call from the rep, saying that the 3.0 TDCI can be ordered, but it has to be ordered 5 months in advance (which is the amount of time in their re-stocking cycle from the Ford factory), and I'd have to pay 50% down. Told them I wasn't ready yet to buy, and I just wanted to know the information, and I asked again about when we can set a date for test drive. Man get vex with me, and said coldly that it had looked like I was ready to buy from the way I was so interested, and then from the tone of his voice it sounded like I was wasting the man time. Still no vehicle to drive yet, said they have the new shipment and they were busy with deliveries, perhaps one would come soon when they finish deliver. Hang up, talk done.

No further contact since then, and I have no desire now to talk to that rep much less walk into that showroom on Richmond Street, POS.

So - McEarney Motors - you need to fix your fcuking attitude to customers. No matter if your vehicles popular and lots of mindless trinidadian sheep buying them, that still don't mean you have to be arrogant, smug bastards. That kind of attitude from your sales reps is discouraging and disgusting, esp from the older, more experienced reps. It should even be the opposite - the older rep should know how to spin a sale and how to coddle a customer, effectively making them feel like Ford is the BEST and securing their sale. They shouldn't be condescending, arrogant, impatient or acting as if the customer wasting their time. Reps acting as if they working in the fcuking BMW or Jaguar or Range Rover showrooms - it's still just a goddamned FORD. :agrue:

Oh well - the commission they were supposed to get will go to the very nice and very accommodating sales rep in N&M, who was willing to bend over backwards and quickly organized a test drive in a 4x4 Auto Navara within 5 days for me. The man was such a good sales rep that even when I had to postpone the appointment, it was no problem at all and when I was late for the next appointment the dude was sitting at his desk with the keys, literally waiting.
He even was patient to answer all my questions as I inspected and walked around the truck in the Morvant showroom, which took almost an hour to do. :lol:

Seriously, if I was buying the truck based on sales-service alone, Mr. R from N&M would get my sale one time. Fack ford and they old-man reps.

[/end rant]

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » August 15th, 2010, 11:29 am

in my 4x4 XLT 2010 manual ranger, just behind the dash when the hand brakes is located, there is a female jack with four wires connected to the back of it. What is the purpose of that jack? Also, my engine is WLT, does that mean I have a crappy engine?

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » August 16th, 2010, 1:40 am

my friend, u and i are on the same boat. And Im afraid the short answer to ur question is .... yes lol.
I also purchased the XLT manual 2010 4x4, and is only wen ah pop open de bonnet, I realised that I got a plain ass 12 valve WLT engine. When I asked the sales ppl why I dont have the 16 valve duratourq engine that they advertise, and the sales rep keep braggin about, he pretended to look just as confused as me. The service guy even tried to convince me that its a common rail engine, (???) but only thru research (Thank Gogd for internet and tuner!) I've discovered that my brand new 4x4 shares the same engine as the old mazda b2500!!

Now there is an upside, while its true that due to the fact that u do not have common rail direct injection technology, u wont get as great fuel economy as the 16 valve tdci does (seriously! no matter how conservatively I drive, i Cannot get more than 450 kms out of a tank! ...500 if i drive on fumes! is that normal??) You will also enjoy the rare privilege of not falling victim to bad diesel, also ur maintenance costs are much lower from what ive heard... (Or maybe its just the "Thunder" guys just sayin that to make us feel good lol).

So in closing, while u may not be able to Speed off at a traffic light, or outrun a wildtrak... (No hoss!!... Serious! doh try dat! down tuh "Hi-Rider" men cud papi sho we!! lol) you can still churn out a respectable 100-something bhp and 0-60kms in 10 secs.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 16th, 2010, 5:44 am

323_guy

Boss, sorry to hear about your bait-n-switch situation man. That really sucks. I was in the same position as you two guys, if you read my long post above. I really thought it was the 2.5 TDCI I was gonna get in manual 4x4, then I checked it out myself and confirmed that it's the 2.5 TDI WLT engine instead, in the manual 4x4's of the Ranger.

I myself was wondering what's the performance of the 2.5 WLT, because I thought that if it's more resilient than the 2.5 WLC w.r.t bad diesel, it might be worth the trade-off in performance & power. I didn't know that you'd take a hit with fuel economy too - that's making me think twice now about getting a 4x4 Manual WLT (I was even looking at the BT-50, and SSL only sells the 2.5 MZ-DE SOHC TDi, which is the equiv. of the WLT).

So now I see it's worth the money to get a 2.5 TDCi / 3.0 TDCi engine from Ford, if only those arrogant jack@sses would bring it 4x4 Manual transmission.

Are you listening, McEarney Motors?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 16th, 2010, 5:55 am

^^nope

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 16th, 2010, 6:10 am

^^ lol, back to the Wildtrak then.....
Or maybe a Navara.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 16th, 2010, 8:00 am

Yes - buy the navara

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 16th, 2010, 8:01 am

And don't forget to put crims on it

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 16th, 2010, 8:29 am

Look like the service level at Mc Earneny is really dropping

for your information, these are the specs for the engine & tranny types and sold all over the world.... straight from the owner's manual.

(sorry about the quality of the scans)

so if the stealership wants to, they can actually bring a manual with a 2.5 TDCi.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 16th, 2010, 8:35 am

323_guy & vharripersad, I'd like to assume that you requested a quotation on the vehicles you wanted that clearly showed the specs of the ~$200K vehicle you intended to purchase???

If you do have such a document, you should take legal action.

Personally, if I had to put out that kinda money I'd make sure I get everything in writing to make sure I was getting what I wanted before money changed hands.

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » August 16th, 2010, 8:58 am

Actually, its totally my fault, becuz wen i reviewed the Promo brochure, I saw on the spec sheet, a table, outlining all the diff models, and it did clearly say (In SUPER fine font size lol) that the 2.5 L 4x4 manual carries the WLT engine... Its VERY easy to miss! lol, LAST page behind the brochure...

But u did jus giv me an idea, I honestly didnt check back the quotation they originally sent me...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”