Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
nicholas7129

Re: Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby nicholas7129 » July 30th, 2010, 11:02 pm

then again is a pick up so i dont mind plus i dont sit in d back ...i dont really feel it

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 31st, 2010, 2:47 pm

i never sat in the back of the ranger - then again no one did - i have to put someone in the back there to test this out

homeboy

Postby homeboy » July 31st, 2010, 4:27 pm

^Took my family to Maracas with my son behind the drivers seat, i only felt something warm running down my back as i got the view of the beach from the bottom of the hill...lol...so plan good..........

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 31st, 2010, 5:54 pm

i eh even want to ask what that was -lol - get it shampooed and nothing happened.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 2nd, 2010, 11:22 am

** Cross-posted from the general forum, so that the info won't be lost in the clutter **

Just by happy accident I found this link to the Ford Ranger WL/WL-Turbo 12V SOHC engine service manual:

http://cid-1fcf8fc855aa51e7.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/.Public/RANGER%5E_DRIFTER%5E_FRONT%5E_PAGE.zip

Should be the same for the Mazda B2500, since they share the same engine & chassis.

Download it before it's gone. Hopefully someone will find this thing useful.
If link doesn't work, PM me and I'll upload a copy to Rapidshare for you.

Just in case you guys missed it, here's the WLC 16-V DOHC TDCi engine service manual too (for Ranger & BT-50)

Enjoy it, galaxy rangers!!!

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 3rd, 2010, 8:52 am

nicholas7129 wrote:.... ppl in the bak used to sumtimes hit the roof ....

For me, this does NOT happen by accident :twisted:

The ride is a bit bouncy, but it's torsion bars and leaf springs on the Ranger, so you can't expect it to ride like a limo. If you're looking for a smoother ride, try the Navara or HiLux. They have coils up front and I think it helps a lot.

I have been running a slightly lower tire pressure lately because of the wet weather and crappy tires (29 front & 28 rear).... it has helped with the grip a little in the wet but I still take it slow in the rain.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 3rd, 2010, 8:58 am

Great find there lighthammer :!: :!: :!:

you know we've been looking for this a loooooong time :!:

thanks man 8-)

this is like gold....christmas come early!!! :lol:

some screen caps in case you guys are unsure

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 3rd, 2010, 5:46 pm

No scene Cooper.
I'm just glad its the same manuals for our local rangers.

Makes me want to get a PJ ranger with the 2.5 WLT and start tinkering around with it :) :)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 3rd, 2010, 5:48 pm

BTW, can anyone make a comparison between the 2.5 WLT TDi 12V SOHC engine and the 2.5 WLC TDCi 16V DOHC engines?

Comparison in terms of:
- Power
- torque
- fuel economy
- Noise & Vibration harshness.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 5th, 2010, 12:05 am

If the above link doesn't work, you can try this link instead:

http://hotfile.com/dl/59862140/82e6ad1/RANGER_DRIFTER_FRONT_PAGE.zip.html

nick009

Postby nick009 » August 5th, 2010, 7:46 pm

power for sure is more , them thing is just take off
interested about the vibration thou

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » August 7th, 2010, 11:06 pm

Peeps, where can I get the 4x4 off road dials mounted on the dash just above the radio in the 2010 ford ranger XLT 4X4? I saw the thunder coming with them!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 7th, 2010, 11:29 pm

^^only from the firm - good luck

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » August 8th, 2010, 7:44 am

u could order it from europe rite now i waitin on a quote for one...will let u kno the price landed tommo

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » August 8th, 2010, 7:52 am

http://www.vansales.com/images/van_gall ... ials_l.jpg

SEE URL ABOVE, thats what the dials look like. Nicholas, please keep me posted- email is also vharripersad@hotmail.com

homeboy

Postby homeboy » August 8th, 2010, 8:44 am

Guys, about the power issue with my Ranger as mention before. I was looking and found one line 1/4" and about 8" long came out from the intercooler line to the intake and out from whatever they call that thing next to the intake...lol...but my worries done, all the power is back and ripping, but i am still going to service and get the best perfomance from it......cheers....

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 8th, 2010, 9:25 am

nicholas7129 wrote:u could order it from europe rite now i waitin on a quote for one...will let u kno the price landed tommo

let me know as well - i wanted this since i bought my ranger

find as well the cost of the plastic cover to fit into the dash - to replace the Radio so you can install a double dim dvd player like this one...

http://www.trinicarsforsale.com/cmsAdmi ... 08_154.jpg

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » August 8th, 2010, 11:37 am

a guy on d forum sellin it for 800 but its d stock colour

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 8th, 2010, 12:11 pm

You have a link?

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » August 8th, 2010, 4:08 pm

d better ting to do is call him cuz it selling like hot bread an book it 3229694

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 8th, 2010, 4:14 pm

So Cooper - how the WLT service manual coming along? Yuh finding it handy?

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » August 8th, 2010, 4:15 pm

ey civic d thing d guy sellin fo 8 is the finisher eh.....i go let u guys kno bout the information centre 2morro

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 8th, 2010, 8:09 pm

thanks a mill nicholas - i will call him first thing in the morning

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 9th, 2010, 7:46 am

homeboy wrote:Guys, about the power issue with my Ranger as mention before. I was looking and found one line 1/4" and about 8" long came out from the intercooler line to the intake and out from whatever they call that thing next to the intake...lol...but my worries done, all the power is back and ripping, but i am still going to service and get the best perfomance from it......cheers....

...that thing next to the intake is the fuel pump

lighthammer wrote:So Cooper - how the WLT service manual coming along? Yuh finding it handy?

Fella, when I said it was gold, I meant it. When I had my Primera I pulled the service manual for the QG-18 engine. It helped a lot with the at home servicing and saved a lot of money. But that was a used car....

These days I don't have a lot of time to 'tinker' with the engine in my diesel (mainly because diesels don't need much maintenance) but this manual does help in understanding how some of the systems work.... especially the electrical bits.

For now I'm letting the firm do most of the servicing.....but now, and if I'm in a jam, I'll know what to look for if any problems pop up.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 9th, 2010, 10:52 am

Guys, need some help

have a ford ranger..

2.5T diesel, 4 x 2, 2008 model.
radiator hose picked up a leak and the driver of the vehicle kept driving even though it started overheating.
Van eventually cut off and that's it.

Need to have it repaired asap...
can anyone recommend a good (honest , if this is even possible these days) mechanic?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 9th, 2010, 1:55 pm

Sounds like you got a problem similar to what killerhyundai-DET went through the other day....check this thread for details:

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=324289

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 10th, 2010, 9:56 am

^thanks alot!

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » August 10th, 2010, 11:56 am

ok ppl d guy email me back an i gave him my chassis number ...he said my pick up is an Australian model an he give me an email address to email sum 1 in AU ....i eh bothering with dat

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » August 10th, 2010, 12:34 pm

When in 4H and RFW is engaged, u can switch between 4H and 2H will moving on the Ford Ranger 4x4 XLT manual. If I do go from 4H to 2H while in motion, is it also safe to press the RFW switch for disengagement whilst in motion? Or do I need to come to a stop for turning of RFW?

nick009

Postby nick009 » August 10th, 2010, 6:34 pm

i press my rfw while in motion , no problems so far. Its the engaging of 4x4 u need to stop for i think

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”