Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
JD......

Re: Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby JD...... » July 19th, 2010, 11:57 pm

I found a company called billet race craft which has the kits, but thankx for the info ill check it out

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 20th, 2010, 1:57 pm

Cooper,

4x2, 2010 model

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 20th, 2010, 2:26 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Cooper,

4x2, 2010 model

Personally, I think the upgrade will be worth it.... but, you have to consider if you actually need all the extras:

1. Will you have a need for the 4 wheel drive feature?
2. Additional Insurance Costs?
3. Possible additional cost for servicing?
4. Cost of the trade-in, if not a trade-in, what about the current resale value?

there might be some extras I didn't mention but can't think of right now. (guys feel free to add)

Check my post at the bottom of this thread:
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=169465&start=150

Keep in mind that a 2.5L 4x4 with a manual tranny and accessories (roll bar and side bars with Hurricane stickers) last year was priced at 189K. The differences are in the link I posted above, but then again a TDCi engine is much more expensive than a WLT.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 21st, 2010, 12:53 am

Here's what a ford sales-rep quoted for me on the current 2.5 Ranger:

- 2.5TDCi WLC engine w/front-mounted intercooler
- 4x4 manual transmission
- cloth seats, 6-cd changer/mp3-player with ipod-input
- leather-wrapped steering wheel & gearshift
- factory immobilizer & keyless entry
- powered windows & sidemirrors
- foglights as standard
- 16-inch allow wheels w/245/70R16 tires

That's their basic-trim XLT, going for $189,000 (currently there's a sale going on - $163,000 + $24,000 VAT). No factory tint, no Ranger-branded floormats, no bedliner, no sidesteps/rollbar/nudgebar

The Hurricane upgrade package - chrome side-bars (non-step; these are actually rock-sliders that are meant just to protect the side undercarriage, they aren't meant as steps - but you can get running-boards instead), chrome roll-bar with high-mounted stoplight, factory bedliner = $15,000 upgrade

- Total for XLT w/Hurricane Package = $204,000 on-the-road.

The 2.5TDCi WLC engine has a 14% higher horsepower and torque rating than the older 2.5TDi WLT engine and it's common-rail too so it's more expensive to make & maintain.

Honestly, it's cheaper and better value-for-money to buy the base XLT and then get the accessories outside.

Here's what I worked out:
Base XLT = $189K

Aftermarket Accessories (average prices quotes):
- Chrome Sidesteps (tube-style with actual steps built-in) = $2800
- chrome roll-bar with high-mounted stop-light = $3000
- Chrome nudge-bar = $2800 for the A-bar only, $3200 for full bar with headlight grills
- Bed-liner = $2800 for Aeroklas drop-in, $3000 for Scorpion spray on or $3200 for Durabak rough-texture spray-on
- 18-inch wheels with tire package = $9000 - $10,000
- Rolling shutter-style tray-cover = $10,000 for Roll N' Lock, $9000 for Jackrabbit

So basic XLT that's fully-accessorized with all the above accessories can range from - $215,789 to $218,400

Compare that to the hurricane package where you get a non-functional rockslider-sidebars and rollbar and drop-in bedliner, plus two "hurricane" stickers for $204,000.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » July 21st, 2010, 7:26 am

Lighthammer, I think the one that goes for 189 only sells with the WLT engine and is not the common rail 2.5.
Are you certain that's what they indicated on your quote? Everything else on the quotes I got are the same except for that, and that was only 2 weeks ago after a test drive.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 21st, 2010, 8:59 am

I just called, the 189K XLT model without the 'Hurricane Package' does not have the common rail engine.... it comes with the WLT engine.

lighthammer, did they specify that you can upgrade to 18inch wheels and not void your warranty?

When I made my purchase a year ago, they said I can only upgrade to a size 1 inch bigger (from a 16" to 17" wheel)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 21st, 2010, 10:01 am

Ok right - so let's clear things up.

When I went down to the POS branch and met one of the reps, what they quoted for me was what I wrote down above ^^^^ (I double checked).

Now I'm looking at the big advertisement in the papers and this is what is written down in the advert:

Features:
- 2.5TDCi Turbo Diesel with intercooler
- 5-speed Manual/4wd
- 4-Airbags, 2-stage dual front and side airbags
- 4-wheel ABS with EBD
- factory Alarm with immobilizer
- factory 6-cd/mp3 with 6-speaker system
- aux i-pod/mp3 jack
- keyless entry
- 16" Alloy wheels

RANGER
XLT 4WD MANUAL. | 5 YEARS or 100,000km PREMIUM CARE WARRANTY
$163,940 |
$24,591 Plus VAT |

and here's pics of the advert that I just took with my blackberry:

As for the rims-upgrade, the salesrep said that as long as the overall diameter of the rim+tire doesn't exceed factory spec and doesn't rub on the wheelwell while locked or when taking bumps, then the warranty would be fine - hence 18-inches with a lower profile should be fine.

*** Right, so I just spoke with Mr. Blaine Moze (who comes highly recommended by a couple diesel tuners here) and this is what I found out:

- the 4x4 Manual DOES NOT come with the common-rail 2.5TDCi WLC, it is available only with the 2.5 Turbo diesel WLT engine. They used to bring down the 2.5TDCi for 4x4 manual but not anymore, because there wasn't enough demand in 4x4 manual for that engine (which I find is bizarre - more trini's want auto than manual???)
- the Common rail turbo-diesel comes in 2.5TDCi WLC or 3.0TDCi WEC in 4x4 Auto ONLY. No manual variant at all.

Hence, either my rep was wrong, or I was wrong in quoting them, or the paper's advert. was wrong. If so, then my mistake - sorry guys for the wrong info.
Mr. Moze's information + Cooper's info seem to be correct.
Last edited by lighthammer on July 26th, 2010, 2:34 am, edited 2 times in total.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 21st, 2010, 10:08 am

That's exactly what I thought when I saw the Ad in the papers.... but then I called and the said something else. Maybe some of the sales people there are just screwed up in the head :lol:

As I mentioned before, this has to be new stock from McEarneny, because Southern Sales is selling the BT-50 now with a manual tranny and a common rail engine.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 21st, 2010, 10:22 am

Well, the two sales-reps I spoke to claimed to have never even seen the advertisement in the papers, one of them even claimed that Management hardly even updates them on these promotions until a couple weeks beforehand.

Some sort of miscommunication going on between management and sales - but I'll see if I can get a proper price on that XLT 4x4 manual.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 21st, 2010, 10:59 am

I remember reading in my owner's manual that there are specific engine and tranny setups for different regions around the world. I'll see if I can find it and post it up.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 21st, 2010, 6:09 pm

Buy the bt50 - it's the same thing as the ranger- and your getting it manual

nick009

Postby nick009 » July 25th, 2010, 9:32 pm

what power steering fluid should i use in the ranger? and how often is this supposed to be changed

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 26th, 2010, 10:20 am

And they still dont stock any parts.... found out its for most if not all ansa vehicles - not just the rangers..

This is unacceptable.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 27th, 2010, 9:36 am

Damn syrians

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 28th, 2010, 7:53 am

Today makes it one year after taking delivery.... no major issues since. Only modification..... (if it can really count as a mod) is the K&N filter. Truck running SWEET!!!

pic from first diesel run

One year later (I know, it needs a wash :lol: )

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » July 28th, 2010, 6:51 pm

nice ride hoss

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 28th, 2010, 8:17 pm

Nice Ranger there Cooper. She's a beeyoo-dee!

Postby Greypatch » July 29th, 2010, 12:27 pm

what is yuh mileage mamoo ?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 29th, 2010, 2:59 pm

Doing just over 18K right now. I live in central and work in town. Once (maybe twice) a week I do a POS to Sando run, so it's not as high as the other guys.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 29th, 2010, 7:45 pm

i hitting 17 on mines ---lol and mines eh make a year yet

nick009

Postby nick009 » July 30th, 2010, 6:20 pm

sigh my dog bite off piece of my abs cable ........why doesnt he like me !!!!!
first he try to kill me with the brake line now this sigh.......
where can i get this fixed?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 30th, 2010, 6:38 pm

go back to Mc Enerney - hopefully they have it in stock - prepare to pay throu your teeth or try ROC

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 30th, 2010, 6:41 pm

your dog is "teething " that's why he bite your abs cable - there is a spray selling at "phonky pets" it is a training spray for your dog - spray it where you don't want him to chew.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 30th, 2010, 8:08 pm

Whatever you do don't put pepper sauce on the cable/mudguards. My last dog who chewed it loved the taste and even wanted more.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 30th, 2010, 8:43 pm

dont worry - your dog will grow out of the chewing stage - went thro the same thing with the first ranger

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 30th, 2010, 9:13 pm

Ranger owners - how's the ride quality in the ranger? Is it as bouncy as the Frontier with the front torsion bars? How about the ride in the back seat?

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » July 30th, 2010, 10:09 pm

i own a ranger and when i on work they hav a frontier i does drive ....and d ranger does give a better ride a lil rugged wen d van new tho but it not bouncy

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 30th, 2010, 10:15 pm

^^^ So you're saying that the Ranger is less bouncy than the Frontier?

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » July 30th, 2010, 10:25 pm

yea an when i now get d ranger an i goin mayaro ppl in the bak used to sumtimes hit the roof ....dys wen i wen an put 30 psi in d bak instead of 32 wat it came with bess ride rite now

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 30th, 2010, 10:51 pm

"ppl in the bak used to sumtimes hit the roof"

Lol, that happens sometimes with my Frontier. I sat in the backseat last night while my brother drove and I felt cramped. Entry/exit out the rear-doors was a hassle and everytime we hit a bump in the road (eg. the bump in the road by nestle-lights heading east) I flew up in the air and touched the roof.

I'll have to invest in some proper crash helmets and knee-pads for my rear-passengers. :( :(

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”