L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
venum

Re: L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby venum » September 12th, 2010, 9:24 pm

thanx for the part number, will add it to the L200 page

speedy, check the tension on the power steering belt

it may be the pulley on the pump

if it gets soft when you revv then the pump may not being driven properly at lower idle speed

bearing on pulley probably

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » September 13th, 2010, 7:26 am

no i am looking for that part

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 13th, 2010, 10:06 pm

the belt is on pretty tight... i pulled it myself after i changed the return hose last month.... its really quite uncomfortable

venum

Postby venum » September 13th, 2010, 10:45 pm

u checked teh pump :?:

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 14th, 2010, 9:50 pm

well this is what i trying to find out.... how will i know for sure its the pump and not somthing else?

ryanm

Postby ryanm » September 15th, 2010, 6:02 am

try changinging the fluid, purge the system and see if you gettin the same problem.
BTWwhat colour is the fluid?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 15th, 2010, 10:47 am

fluid is kinda darkish brown now.. how do i purge the system?

venum

Postby venum » September 15th, 2010, 8:49 pm

check my poost here:

Power Steering Maintenance - fluid changed with pics

viewtopic.php?t=100325

l200

Postby l200 » September 19th, 2010, 10:24 pm

Hi guys, need your opinion........

I serviced my brake seals, (master cylinder 6months ago, an wheels on saturday), and now ah getting no brakes. Could it be air in the system????

when i did the master cylinder I told the mech (former mech) that it feeling worst than b4 , and he said that it has to break-in, an will work like new.

There are no leaks, fluid not going down, pedal was standing up but still wasn't feeling like before i repaired it and it got progressively worse as time went by, thats why i did the wheels. It worked one day and is now going to the floor board.

I'm thinking the master cylinder seals, because if there was air present i would have atleast gotten a little brakes, but non what so ever.... even if i pump the pedal!!!!

I jus thank God that it didn't fail while i was going down hill, hmmm, which i was jus abt a couple of seconds prior to the brakes failing, an no traffic..... not a good feeling!!!!!

When you want something done well, do it by a VERY reputable mechanic or do it yourself, if you could handle it. Ah buying new seals, an tools tomorrow, a diy project, will let you all kno how it turns out....

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » September 19th, 2010, 11:36 pm

i agree l200
post up some pics if possible

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 20th, 2010, 1:26 am

good luck with that man! make sure to post pics.. i changed the brake shoes in my van a couple weeks ago.. made a big differance in my braking.. :)

ryanm

Postby ryanm » September 20th, 2010, 6:28 am

that's my philosophy.
Do it yuhself if you want it done good

l200

Postby l200 » September 20th, 2010, 9:58 pm

Hi guys well got through partially jus need to finish bleeding out the lines, but it was not difficult, especially with de manual by my side. But didn't change the seals though, i got the complete master cylinder @ kawal singh for $450.00 It was identical to the first one but here is a look at my attempt at repairing my brakes

My engine after the floods of last week;

After searching sando to chag I got the complete cylinder

started by taking out my filter box

Take out the 3 hydrulic lines from the mas/cyl an disconnect the vacuum line, an unbolt the cylinder

before putting on the new cyl, fill an bleed out air by covering the out let on the cyl and prime it wit a screw driver,,, keep fingers on the blue caps they act as check valves to keep the air out...

bolt up, reconnect lines

bleed from the back wheels first, right side first then left

then front in same order

NB. the rear only has a bleed valve on the right wheel, the other is on the load sensor.......not the left wheel

Take a look at the old one, it looks like the seals actually in pieces..... look at the fluid.....

total time of install 45 mins, (with test drive included) had to go to school an time had ran out, so parked up for the evening...... sorry I didn't get any pics while doing the wheels,, prob next time,

Thanks to a fellow L200 (k74) tuner for all your assistance, it was much appreciated, blessings.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 20th, 2010, 10:07 pm

Fakking awesome post man.
Big up on the pics and tutorial.

Someone give this man a round of applause.

l200

Postby l200 » September 20th, 2010, 10:11 pm

Thanks,,,,lol

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 21st, 2010, 7:05 am

cudos dude! ummm where is this load sensor to bleed the left wheel? does it have that in the K14 models?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 21st, 2010, 7:10 am

hold dat - yuh deserve it :D

l200

Postby l200 » September 21st, 2010, 7:21 am

^^^^Thanks^^^^, but no alco, ah will take a shandy instead......lol

speedaholic
The load sensor is on the chassis on the left side back, in line with the left wheel. If you go under ur van its easy to identify, its a cylinder with the hydraulic lines going through it an a long spring hooked up to the chassis. I kno the k34 an k74 has it, not sure abt the k14.

venum

Postby venum » September 21st, 2010, 9:26 pm

K14 suppose to have it

all vehicles that carry load in the tray suppose to have it - to adjust teh braking capability when under load

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 24th, 2010, 3:03 am

hmmm i'll chk that out. i wanna make sure its working.. on another note... changing front shocks and idle arm and full front suspension check tmr.... yes on the holiday.... diy shiznit! :).. my old idle arm has a huge play on it... got one @ special for $200... shocks are some brand named LUXE... any1 ever heard of it?

venum

Postby venum » September 25th, 2010, 3:07 pm

^ ^ ^ never heard of it

I put in $20 kero again today

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 26th, 2010, 12:54 pm

i put in last week.. and filled back up with clean unipet diesel nite b4.. meh baby wokin! :D

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 26th, 2010, 2:46 pm

I put two tanks of diesel in meh dad's L200 a couple weeks ago.
Runs fine now, the black smoke on cold-starting in the morning is reduced now. Still a bit of black smoking, so it may need some more cleaning.

Will put in another diesel:kero mix soon.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 27th, 2010, 11:24 pm

sweet..

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » September 28th, 2010, 6:52 am

hey all K74 owners when does the fan under the intercooler work? is it temperature activated? or is it direct?

venum

Postby venum » September 28th, 2010, 9:09 am

mine activates automatically

on a hot day when the ignition is on the Acc position the fan starts spinning

ryanm

Postby ryanm » September 29th, 2010, 6:04 am

it works with the temperature of the sensor in it. The sensor is at the back close to the passenger side with two wires coming out. One is a ground and the other will triger the relay.

Btw the fuel light came on in my van for the first time. I made 560km. The needle went just below the empty mark and the tank took $105 to refill. If the tank holds 75L as the manual claims then i still had approx $7.00 diesel left.

On average my van gives 14L / 100km (the a/c always on) so
$7 = 4.7 L which in theory should give me 33.5km once i don't corner hard and allow the line to pick up air to cause air lock.

So now you know!!!
Also the light does not stay on fully bright, its intensity changes depending on whether you decelerating or accelerating

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » September 29th, 2010, 10:53 am

cool i started my van yesterday morning after i checked the oil and observed that it was not spinning so i will investigate further.

by the way that is scary to think that the light comes on at such an extreme case where you only have approx. 33km to move. right now my tank is low but i doubt i will work up the courage to try to see when the light will come on cause i have to go into POS after i reach home from work.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 29th, 2010, 11:35 pm

do the K34 and k14 and low fuel lights in the dash?

ryanm

Postby ryanm » September 30th, 2010, 5:37 am

not sure about the k14 but the k34 does not have a low fuel light

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”