Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby lighthammer » July 15th, 2010, 7:31 am

^^ Ahhh... I see. Thanks nicholas7129.

Now I know what to look for.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 15th, 2010, 7:57 am

I think some pics might be more helpful as an air filter box can be changed easily....

If the fancy plastic cover is removed and you want to look for the differences

The WLT is a single overhead cam (SOHC) 12 valve engine, if you look at the front of the engine below you'll see at the top of the plastic cover (on the front of the engine) there is a curve over a singe sprocket for the camshaft. Also there isn't much "plumbing" over the tappet/valve cover.

On the WLC engine the most obvious thing to look for is the common rail... it's the gold coloured tube on the right side (your left) of the engine... see the pics below. Also at the front of the engine there are two sprockets for the dual overhead camshafts (DOHC) because it's a 16valve engine. Because of the common rail and the electronics that go with it, you'll see the four tubes (coming out of the common rail) over the top of the tappet/valve cover and the wiring for the injectors.

Last edited by Cooper on July 16th, 2010, 3:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 15th, 2010, 8:21 am

cooper ^^^ Fantastic post man. That was very useful information, thanks a billion for it.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 15th, 2010, 2:32 pm

no cene, glad I could help 8-)

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 15th, 2010, 4:14 pm

humm i didnt even know my engine is a DOHC

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 15th, 2010, 4:53 pm

^^ D'oh!! 8-)

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 15th, 2010, 5:51 pm

civicminded, follow this link for more info on the Ford Duratorq engine

http://wikicars.org/en/Ford_Duratorq_engine

just an excerpt...

Ford introduced a new 2.5 L version of the Duratorq for the Thailand-built 2007 Ford Ranger (J97U). It is a 16-valve DOHC engine of the VM Motori 2500 cc engine, with Bosch common-rail direct injection and a variable geometry turbocharger. It produces 143 PS (141 hp/105 kW) and 330 N·m (243 ft·lbf).[1]
[edit]
A 3.0 L Duratorq similar to the 2.5 is also used in the 2007 Ranger as the top of the range. It produces 156 PS (154 hp/115 kW) and 380 N·m (280 ft·lbf).

...reading up on the history will make you appreciate what you have under the bonnet 8-)

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 15th, 2010, 6:31 pm

for true - do you advise Engine wash ? with the WLT i regularly engine wash. with the TDCi - i am kinda apprehensive of doing a engine wash

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 15th, 2010, 7:59 pm

I have the WLT and I occasionally clean it myself. I have noticed that the electrical connections are not water proof (especially the relay connections for the RFW system) so just like any other engine I just stay clear of the electronics. I usually cover the battery and electrical connections with a plastic bag and a rubber band. Spray some degreaser (on a cold engine) and quickly pass the pressure washer around the engine bay. I use the 'fan' setting on the pressure washer and never focus the pressure on any specific joint/seal for lengthly period of time to avoid damage. All the other areas are done by hand with a rag.

On your engine you could remove the plastic cover and wash it separately then clean around the injectors by hand. Some ArmorAll on the engine cover will make it look like new..... then go drive it for a week and see how fast it gets dirty :lol:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 15th, 2010, 8:10 pm

LOL - for true- i haven't done an engine wash - i just try to wipe where i can with a shamoo - but i need to do one - weekend i will try what you did cooper.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 16th, 2010, 12:03 pm

Fellas - today's Express has a one-page ad.

Ford Ranger XLT Manual 4x4 - $163,940 ($24591 + VAT).

Damned good price.
Look like Ford's trying to sell off their old stock to make room for the 2011 T6 Ranger.

Look out for the new model being announced in late September - October then.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 16th, 2010, 3:17 pm

I saw on the ad that it's a 2.5 TDCi with a manual tranny....they only sold the 2.5 WLT with a manual tranny in the past.

This is new stock to compete with the BT-50 as Southern Sales is now advertising the BT-50 with a 2.5 common rail engine and a manual tranny.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 17th, 2010, 3:53 am

So Cooper

Which engine is this then on a 2.5 PJ (2006-2008) ranger?

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » July 17th, 2010, 12:00 pm

that is a wlt....u see the airbox is rectangle an 12valve stamped on it.....

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 17th, 2010, 12:01 pm

I'm no expert on these engines, I only know the basic differences because I did some research before I bought my pickup last year. I would actually look at engine above and say it's is a WL, but if in fact the engine you have there is a PJ, then the only difference I can see from the ones pictured on this page and my engine is the vacuum housing on the intake manifold.

This is what I have... the difference is in the red circle:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 17th, 2010, 6:38 pm

I feelin kinda bad for the other guys on this forum - the Hilux, Mitsu and the Navara talking bout fixing problems and all we talkin about is what engine we have, economy wise etc....No one have any problems with their ranger as yet???............LOL

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 17th, 2010, 9:31 pm

Yup, I just came back from the BBQ lime and I heard some of that talk. Black Scorpion had his bonnet open and we were looking at a leak...... I'll just leave it at that :lol:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 18th, 2010, 8:10 am

one of my padnas tell me that his 2004 ranger - he had to change the radiator - it started to leak recently and all of sudden the top of it blew off - it happened when he hit about 150K mark - i keep drilling him of other problems - there isn't any!...lol

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 18th, 2010, 8:27 am

My only problem with the Ranger is that I don't have mine yet..... *sigh*.

*dreams about wildtrak sitting in the garage*

:lol: :) :)

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 18th, 2010, 8:30 am

^^take a pic of your garage then photoshop the wildtrak in .....LOL... doh worry dude - patience is virtue

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 18th, 2010, 8:38 am

^^ LOL.
I'm watching the prices that ForD Trinidad selling their XLT now - $163,000 + $24,000 VAT for 4x4Manual/2.5 WLC TDCi fully loaded without sidebars or rollbar.

It turning out cheaper to get a regular XLT and then bolt on the accessories myself than to buy the hurricane/thunder/wildtrak package.

So like I said, my only problem with the Ranger is that I don't have one sitting in the garage just yet. I'll wait to see what the new model looks like, get the sale from MEM in town and then buss up the price.

Soon..... soon.......

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 18th, 2010, 8:38 am

you know what i noticed- in the morning - it takes less than a second for the glowplug wires to heatup to start my engine - it start like an ordinary gas vehicle! - the 2006 ranger, i need to let it heat up a couple of seconds before tumbling...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 18th, 2010, 8:40 am

Oh and the only other problem I can recall about the Ranger, is the dealer - from a post mr red sleeper made about a backlog of parts and maintenance for Rangers in McEarney Motors.

that's bout it, methinks.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 18th, 2010, 9:08 am

men really digging deep to find problems yes :lol:

***knocks on wood***

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 18th, 2010, 10:16 am

yeah i know - you know one thing i think missing in the ranger - -- VSC --- maybe the newer model will have it...we have to wait to see

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 18th, 2010, 11:10 am

So @ $166k for mine and after a month, should i trade in and upgrade to the 4x4 seeing that the price is a lil better?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 18th, 2010, 1:31 pm

aye Red Sleeper, which model you running?

civic minded wrote:yeah i know - you know one thing i think missing in the ranger - -- VSC --- maybe the newer model will have it...we have to wait to see

It is a cool feature, it was one of the first things I noticed on Phoenix's new truck while we were scrutinizing it last night. Even though it has an on and off switch, some manufacturers have a fail-safe that automatically turns it on when you're in trouble. If Ford brings that feature on I'd prefer that the off switch really turns it OFF. I kinda like having to do what I want without a computer taking over the controls.

JD......

Postby JD...... » July 19th, 2010, 4:49 pm

Has anyone done a DIY diff/transfer breather set up, and if so can you plase share where the material was bought and maybe some steps for the process. thanx

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 19th, 2010, 8:04 pm

It was discussed a long while back in a few other threads. The main issue was locating an air filter attached to the end of the breather extension tube. How deep you wanted to go depends on where you're mounting the filter.

Do a general search in this forum for "diff breather" and also check the "4th class explorers" thread, I think there are some tips in there.

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » July 19th, 2010, 8:34 pm

hey check this site i found fordpartsuk.com

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”