Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby lighthammer » December 22nd, 2010, 9:24 am

^^ yeah that tyre would do pretty well in the wet. Those two center channels would channel water away and give u better contact with the road with less hydroplaning. The arrow-shaped center treads would give u a little bit of traction on a trail in the dry season, but it doesn't look beefy enough for mud.

And the spaces between the shoulder lugs look wide enough for water on a highway but not really wide enough for a trail. I'm guessing they'd get filled with mud pretty quickly and wouldn't self clean all that well.

What tyres u planning to buy online?

badart

Postby badart » December 22nd, 2010, 9:40 am

^ yea tht makes sense, most likely i would go with the michelin ltx a/t2 from tirerack

venum

Postby venum » December 23rd, 2010, 7:45 am

please do not buy those roadstones

they are essentially the same crappy compound as the HT with a different tread pattern

if you look around you will find the Terra trac A/T

what say you guys to a group buy for some BFG A/T :?:

Dunman

Postby Dunman » December 23rd, 2010, 8:07 am

venum wrote:please do not buy those roadstones

they are essentially the same crappy compound as the HT with a different tread pattern

if you look around you will find the Terra trac A/T

what say you guys to a group buy for some BFG A/T :?:

I'll be interested.

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » December 23rd, 2010, 8:32 am

^^^ price wood ultimately be the deciding factor for me but am interested as well....

droppa

Postby droppa » December 23rd, 2010, 8:43 am

badart wrote:^ those looking good

anways the closet looking tire to an all terrain tire i can get for my 17's is Roadstone Rodian :roll:
It's an SUV tire getting it $1000 for one

what u guys think? any1 had any experiences with this tire?

i doubt i cud do any serious off roading with this tire, its more suited for highway driving..still looking most likely i would have to buy A/T tires online

i have those tires in 285 at rear of my van, on the blanci run they were one week ol, still had picka on it, lol......

they work well i find, sum are saying that they wear poorly, but for 18s the choices are very limited, was either nankang for 1400, nexen for 1500 or sumitomo for 1800, i would not try any kinda hard offroading with them , farless give them a rating, they are HP tires.......after i get the front set i will be buying a set of 15s for offroad and mudding uses.....have my eyes set on some maxxis mudzillas or bighorns.......

venum

Postby venum » December 23rd, 2010, 10:51 pm

so for the group buy we have the following:

Venum - 265\70\16
Dunman
Mr. Cudles
Lighthammer

fill in your size

badart

Postby badart » December 23rd, 2010, 10:59 pm

^ choices real limited for anythin 17" and over, i seeing real men running roadstone prob because of the price...

if i cant get a good A/T tire then i mite settle for the michelin cross terrain suv

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 24th, 2010, 7:23 am

venum wrote:so for the group buy we have the following:

Venum - 265\70\16
Dunman
Mr. Cudles
Lighthammer

fill in your size

Me has no munny right now :( :( :(
Ah brokes for Christmas dey...
Maybe into middle of next year....

But what about the General Grabber AT/2 ?
I'm hearing great things about these tyres, and they seem to have almost the same treadwear life as the BFG's, with just as an aggressive tread. Also they're a lot cheaper too, from what I heard from a guy who had them on an old hilux up in the East.

Or what about Cooper Discoverer's like these?

Most of my driving, up to 98% of it will be on-road, but I'd still like a tyre that can give me both long tread-life as well as good off-road performance for the DB runs....

So it's either BFG's, General Grabbers or Kumho Roadventure KL78's.....
I think the Kumho is the cheapest out of them though...

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » December 24th, 2010, 8:16 am

That Cooper Tyre is sexxyyyyyy... Jeezzz.

Postby 3stagevtec » December 24th, 2010, 10:58 am

I just went by the Quick Service branch in Marabella and was quoted over $1100 for the BFG AT 225/70R16! and that's with discount.. without was $1600+ each!! not worth it..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 24th, 2010, 1:16 pm

^ I got a quote back in august, $1800 per tyre for 265/70R16 BFG's.

Did they have any 265/70R16's ?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 24th, 2010, 4:15 pm

Some comments and corrections.

Nothing wrong with using highway tyres. We all drive on paved surfaces most of the time. Highway tyres can perform moderately in off road conditions with the proper technique or skill or experience.

That said, mud tyres doesn't make you know what ur doing in off road applications. Mud tyres don't cure stupid.

Tyre performance cannot be determined by how the tyre looks. Based on some statements made, AT tyres would perform horribly in the wet pavement based on looks...

The runs organized by the Diesel Boyz are not geared toward offloading and using ur 4 wheel drive.

As you were.....

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 24th, 2010, 4:17 pm

And finally, you get what you pay for, within reason...

venum

Postby venum » December 24th, 2010, 11:49 pm

^ ^ ^ steups

This thread is about tyres not driver skill/stupidity - we discussing tyres

Go back to planning our runs for next year nah, so we cud get to use our tyres in moderate off-road applications

But the old grump has a point - the aggressiveness of the tyre looks don't say much

Where you guys getting the General Grabbers amd Cooper locally :?:

$1100 for a BFG isn't bad, considering that they usually retail @ $1500+

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » December 25th, 2010, 2:56 am

Venum - 265\70\16
Dunman
Mr. Cudles
Lighthammer

fill in your size

Interesting.....He sold Elle so what is he putting it on......

venum

Postby venum » December 25th, 2010, 2:51 pm

Postby 3stagevtec » December 25th, 2010, 3:36 pm

Elle 2.0...

venum

Postby venum » December 25th, 2010, 10:45 pm

3stagevtec wrote:Elle 2.0...

no such thing ever

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 25th, 2010, 10:52 pm

Elle may very well be the first in a long line of Mitsu diesels...

Maybe the second one might be called "Terry" (as in "sport-tero")

Postby 3stagevtec » December 26th, 2010, 9:57 am

bleedingfreak wrote:That said, mud tyres doesn't make you know what ur doing in off road applications. Mud tyres don't cure stupid.

Tyre performance cannot be determined by how the tyre looks. Based on some statements made, AT tyres would perform horribly in the wet pavement based on looks...

I have to disagree, give a noob a vehicle equipped with MT tyres and he can look like a hero on trails! I have personally seen experienced off roaders making rookie mistakes when they are given stock vehicles to drive on trails.. From what I saw, MT tyres does cure stupid..

Tyre performance can be determined by how the thread pattern looks.. It just depends on if you know what you are looking for.. lol

venum

Postby venum » December 26th, 2010, 10:16 am

lighthammer wrote:Elle may very well be the first in a long line of Mitsu diesels...

Maybe the second one might be called "Terry" (as in "sport-tero")

right concept - spot on

wrong spelling though

Dunman

Postby Dunman » December 26th, 2010, 11:57 am

Venum - 265\70\16
Dunman - 265\70\16
Mr. Cudles
Lighthammer

fill in your size

I'm assuming that 265\70\16 should fit on the nav without any issues.

venum

Postby venum » December 26th, 2010, 7:52 pm

isn't 265\70\16 standard fit on the Navara :?:

LH I was thinking about doing the group buy next year

prob around April-May - would that be a good timing for your funds :?:

I may be consolidating some shipments and would have liked to add these to it.

if you all interested, then I will facilitate

the $ would have to work out cheaper than local dealers

Dunman

Postby Dunman » December 26th, 2010, 8:57 pm

It came with 255\70\16 "skid-on-meh- lawn" Dunlops, so I'm assuming 265 isn't too wide.

badart

Postby badart » December 26th, 2010, 9:06 pm

venum if u can get 265/65/17 i may be interested

venum

Postby venum » December 27th, 2010, 8:46 am

currently tire rack only has some at US$720 for the set of 4

When u work out the maths, it isn't cheaper than Quickserve

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 27th, 2010, 8:55 am

Dunman wrote:It came with 255\70\16 "skid-on-meh- lawn" Dunlops, so I'm assuming 265 isn't too wide.

^^ hee hee, jhonnieblue can attest to that - after tearing up the poor lady's lawn on the last run :D :D.
:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 27th, 2010, 9:02 am

The Kumho KL78's on tirerack are cheaper than LDG's - although if you factor in Tax and shipping it comes out almost the same....

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 27th, 2010, 9:40 am

venum wrote:^ ^ ^ steups

This thread is about tyres not driver skill/stupidity - we discussing tyres

Go back to planning our runs for next year nah, so we cud get to use our tyres in moderate off-road applications

But the old grump has a point - the aggressiveness of the tyre looks don't say much

Where you guys getting the General Grabbers amd Cooper locally :?:

$1100 for a BFG isn't bad, considering that they usually retail @ $1500+

Awrite Mr. No truck...

I will shut up... Just dont be driving in front of me when you stick... :lol: :lol:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”