L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
venum

Re: L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby venum » August 12th, 2010, 7:50 am

on half tank now

no noticeable change to mileage - 300KM

noticing no white smoke on mornings though

venum

Postby venum » August 12th, 2010, 8:43 pm

had a spirited drive home tonight

performance was not up to usual

engine felt a bit sluggish - i attribute it to the thinner diesel

hard acceleration was affected

normal driving though - no noticeable difference

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 12th, 2010, 11:31 pm

^^ make notes of this tank's performance, and then compare with next week's tank of pure diesel.

venum

Postby venum » August 13th, 2010, 5:47 pm

that is de plan

granpa

Postby granpa » August 20th, 2010, 8:24 pm

Hey folks, I have a 2004 non turbo K74. A leak in the fuel tank appeared and I took it to a repair shop to fix. The tank was so pourous that the guy was unable to use any brass welding on it.. The inside of the tank was also full of sediment. If fact he repaired 8 spots. He said that within recent times that he had to repair at least 6 tanks and said that it was the water in the diesel that was causing it to become pourous. Have you guys experienced any thing of this sort? In addition, I have to get a next tank. If I am unable to get one for the K74, is there any one that could fit? Would appreciate any assistance/advice.

granpa

Postby granpa » August 20th, 2010, 8:34 pm

Oh shucks! Almost forgot to ask if you guys know anywhere where I can get a tank, preferably used. Thanks again

venum

Postby venum » August 20th, 2010, 10:40 pm

Gramps call Rickey - 684-4113

he had a crashed K74 N/A scrapping

was hit on the front right side

when I saw it the back was virtually perfect

follow-up on teh kerosene test

did a 155km\h on teh highway this evening

Elle did it muich easier than she usually does and was calling for more, but road and traffic conditions did not permit

no black smoke either

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 21st, 2010, 6:05 am

So Venum..

Myth = Confirmed... Kerosene in a tank of diesel will definitely help clean the injectors & restore performance

Yes?

granpa

Postby granpa » August 21st, 2010, 8:39 pm

Thanks V. Will give him a shout tommorow. Hope that he stll has it.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 22nd, 2010, 5:37 pm

lighthammer... yes.. it does... i did this same experiment some time ago also and i must say... my van has never performed like it is these days... kerosene FTW.. :) not for use with common rail\DiD engines..

venum

Postby venum » August 22nd, 2010, 7:38 pm

lighthammer wrote:So Venum..

Myth = Confirmed... Kerosene in a tank of diesel will definitely help clean the injectors & restore performance

Yes?

I am not complete with testing yet

so far I only used it once - not enough to be conclusive, although the current performance is very encouraging and positive

I am not yet done with my first full tank of straight diesel yet.

when the tank of diesel + kerosene was done (ran it to E) I put a $20 diesel and then another $20 when that was done

it was only then that I put a full tank of diesel (which I still have 1/4 tank)

when that is done I will use straight diesel.

next month I will put some more kerosene, then the month after that - then I will post my more conclusive results

venum

Postby venum » August 23rd, 2010, 10:14 pm

squeezed 546km outta a tank tonight and the fuel warning light didn't come on
(either tank level didn't reach warning level or the light is not working)

was running on a hair's width above the E mark

left Champs Fleurs with it just over the E mark

reached a hair's width above the E mark somewhere round Freeport

took $95 to fill up (right up to almost overflow, even with shaking Elle till her alarm went off) when I reached south

If tomm wasn't a work day I wouldn't have filled up, but run her till the light came on

546km is the most mileage I ever got outta her

Last time she went down so low was 525km

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 24th, 2010, 5:03 am

good stuff there V... las time i checked. i does get around 475Km from $80.00 diesel.. you think thats gud mileage?

venum

Postby venum » August 24th, 2010, 10:27 pm

yeah

i would say that is good mileage

i get bout 450km to $75

Thaz before the kero test though

Expecting more in a bit

l200

Postby l200 » August 29th, 2010, 12:26 am

Wow, great stuff guys, I also did the kerosene mix, and had a good response in acceleration, but overall top end is the same. As for consumption, i didn't check up the mileage, but filled up on thursday, from couva to marabella, bella to san do, back to couva, wit a/c on, towed a car from Couva to California an back, also couva to maracas an back, and it only took $40 to fill back to the brim. Sorry i didn't check the mileage, next time.

I only have one problem,,,,,,,,,,ah loosing power bad when going up hill.

Now it feels normal on flat roads, but when the up hill climb start it dead, ah think ah get spoil driving a toyota every day an a k74 occasionally.

My mech says it is normal wear an tear, the engine will never work like a new one, so I will jus continue to service this one an when it dead is a turbo 4d56 going in,,,,,, but one thing, ah never selling, it still is a work horse!!!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 1st, 2010, 5:29 am

l200.. my k14 has that same problem with the hills. rell loss of power.. i ussually just slow down an rock in 1st gear... and mash! :) and i get tru with no problems! i wont lie the 1st gear in these vans are very very powerful..

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » September 3rd, 2010, 9:56 am

i have a Mitsubishi L200 K74 with a 4D56-T engine and i did the kerosene mix as well.
it works great i put in 5 liters of kerosene to an already full tank and i think it has changed greatly.
i am not seeing as much smoke as before and i have better fuel consumption.
i am currently running 435km on that full tank and i have a little less than a quarter of the tank remaining.i normally used to get 425 or so from full to empty. but i have never seen the fuel light come on.

venum

Postby venum » September 3rd, 2010, 6:15 pm

madman2961 wrote:but i have never seen the fuel light come on.

or it not wukking - one of my fears

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » September 4th, 2010, 9:03 am

that is the same thing i does think.
i got 515 km off of that tank and i filled it last night had to go into POS and did not want to cut off for fuel. the tank took 62.3 liters to fill it up ($93.45) and the light did not come on as yet so i really doh know what to think. if any K74 drivers can do the research please help me out here.
if you do drive until the light comes on please tell me how much it took to fill it back up. thanks.

venum

Postby venum » September 5th, 2010, 6:58 pm

^^^ i feel i gonna take out the bulb (again) from the IP and test it this time

may change it one time too

wondering how to test if the fuel level warning sensor working :?:

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » September 6th, 2010, 10:26 am

i not too worried about that cause i don't really like to let my tank go below 1/4 so i was just experimenting so that i why i let it go so far down.
another thing i just installed a boost gauge on the 4D56 and my boost reading is like 11 psi when i am cruising in fifth at about 100km and 13-14 at max when the pedal is to the floor accelerating from 100 to 120 to overtake. not my normal driving habit, this is just until the novelty of the boost gauge wears off. i drive at around 80km in fifth at 2200-2300 rpms on the highway.

venum

Postby venum » September 7th, 2010, 8:08 pm

nice

where did u tap the boost sensor :?:

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » September 8th, 2010, 7:29 am

off of the turbo between the turbo and the wastegate. there are two small llines off the turbo one to the fuel pump and the other to the wastegate.

mbs96

Postby mbs96 » September 9th, 2010, 9:16 pm

I need to replace front shock on 2006 Sportero. None available at the firm. Does anyone know of compatible shock. Locally seems only Monroe shock may be available, but I would need to take them out to be compared with new one. If that can be avoided would be great.

venum

Postby venum » September 10th, 2010, 12:44 pm

OEM should be KYB

get the mitsubishi part number from your quotation that you got from DM

then cross reference that Mitsubishi part number with the KYB part number from a KYB catalog from either online or a parts place

that way u will get the correct KYB part number and not have to rely on what the parts place selling u

then u will know the correct part number and can even buy online or simpson motors in barbados

mbs96

Postby mbs96 » September 10th, 2010, 2:51 pm

Thanks will give it a go. Had a ordeal trying to get the part number form the firm!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 10th, 2010, 9:38 pm

fellas need some help here.... my power steering system is playin the fool again... when i start my van on mornings its nice and soft... as soon as my engine gets hot the steering gets really hard to turn... i ussualy have to give the engine a little rev for it to soften a little but its still stiff... any suggestions as to what might be causing this?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 11th, 2010, 12:53 pm

could be the pump itself man...
the heat of the engine might be affecting the pump.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 12th, 2010, 11:13 am

hmmm! i was thinkin it was the fluid... when it gets hot it like breaks down or somthing... i usin STP

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » September 12th, 2010, 12:31 pm

hey i am looking for a part.
it is a boot rubber for the gear lever that is connect to the gear box.
the part number is MR110602 can anyone help out i will call DM Monday to find out.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”