Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
ravist

Postby ravist » April 15th, 2010, 9:06 pm

yup...the $457.00 is labour... motorist at marabella carries these filters as well but i am now passing 5000kms so i did not purchase the diesel filters as yet (my van carries two) and if they are out of stock, i will import from uk becasue i have time... there is a genuine filter kit selling in uk that consists of two fuel, air and oil filter for average 20 pounds... these filters are so cheap in uk and thailand and them ppl here kill yuh with price ($1000TT) for two diesel filters, thats is maddness.....
my padna might also import these filter kits!!!!!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » April 15th, 2010, 9:23 pm

lighthammer wrote:This may belong in the Frontier/Navara thread, so my apologies if this post is misplaced.

Been trawling this forum for a while, a pickup-truck enthusiast myself - I run a D22 3.0AX TDI frontier myself. Found some information for the Nissan Frontier/Navara folks, hope allyuh find it useful:

General thread on Nissan frontiers (also includes the US spec Gasoline versions)
- http://www.ehow.com/nissan-frontier/

Maintenance books for the 2006 & up D40 models of the Navara
- (general maintenance): http://bit.ly/aubumb
- (Engine & Mechanical): http://bit.ly/8ZKppa

More links for the 2002 D22 model Frontiers
- http://bit.ly/c8zIMF (you need to join that forum for free to access the pdf's, and you can download only 2 pdf's per day on a free-profile)

Hope y'all find the information useful. I'm gonna read up a couple of the maintenace PDF's for my D22 frontier in a while.

Peace. 8-)

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 16th, 2010, 11:24 am

ravist, let us know how the service went ok

ravist

Postby ravist » April 16th, 2010, 11:41 am

changed oil and oil filter this morning and the van running even better... i also told them to drain the water trap, blow out the air filter, adjust brakes and check suspension....
cost as i mentioned before, $457 vat exclusive....
van running sweeter and quieter!!!!!

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 16th, 2010, 12:41 pm

how long it took?

ravist

Postby ravist » April 16th, 2010, 12:54 pm

reached there 7:15, left 9:20....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 16th, 2010, 4:19 pm

biggy82 wrote:
lighthammer wrote:This may belong in the Frontier/Navara thread, so my apologies if this post is misplaced.

Been trawling this forum for a while, a pickup-truck enthusiast myself - I run a D22 3.0AX TDI frontier myself. Found some information for the Nissan Frontier/Navara folks, hope allyuh find it useful:

General thread on Nissan frontiers (also includes the US spec Gasoline versions)
- http://www.ehow.com/nissan-frontier/

Maintenance books for the 2006 & up D40 models of the Navara
- (general maintenance): http://bit.ly/aubumb
- (Engine & Mechanical): http://bit.ly/8ZKppa

More links for the 2002 D22 model Frontiers
- http://bit.ly/c8zIMF (you need to join that forum for free to access the pdf's, and you can download only 2 pdf's per day on a free-profile)

Hope y'all find the information useful. I'm gonna read up a couple of the maintenace PDF's for my D22 frontier in a while.

Peace. 8-)

Ok guys, so now that this post is in the correct thread (thanks Biggy82), I've got some more information - the service manuals for the D22 Frontier. Got it off www.nissanhelp.com and thought I'd share it with you frontier-freaks (I love my D22 3.0 TDI).

Here's the Service Manual for the 2002 D22 Frontier
- http://bit.ly/bsbLzd

And here's the Engine & Electrical manual for the 2002 D22 Frontier
- http://bit.ly/9BTMzM

I'll try to post more stuff on both the Navara and Frontier as I get the material.

Happy digging!

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » April 16th, 2010, 5:56 pm

ravist wrote:changed oil and oil filter this morning and the van running even better... i also told them to drain the water trap, blow out the air filter, adjust brakes and check suspension....
cost as i mentioned before, $457 vat exclusive....
van running sweeter and quieter!!!!!

i guess with your own oil and oil filter thats a alright price for NM lol

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 17th, 2010, 8:24 am

gready123456, well it better than using the kendell oil they supplying...find my engine starting to run heavy a bit..looking forward to see how the amsoil runs

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » April 17th, 2010, 9:47 am

jhonnieblue wrote:gready123456, well it better than using the kendell oil they supplying...find my engine starting to run heavy a bit..looking forward to see how the amsoil runs

man me to amsoil for it i just need some time to go check out the price i would let u kno as soon as i get the prices

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » April 17th, 2010, 9:06 pm

Oil catch can mod any one ??

THIS IS NOT MY VAN

UNMODDED

any one done this ? and any one can confirm that the calibre model have only one diesel filter ???
Last edited by gready123456 on April 18th, 2010, 7:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 17th, 2010, 9:30 pm

ill take some pics of my engine bay and post it tom so u can check it out

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 18th, 2010, 5:44 pm

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 21st, 2010, 9:20 am

well waiting for me van right now...in NM..long wait..sigh

ravist

Postby ravist » April 21st, 2010, 11:03 am

gready, i know this is not your vehicle but why is there an oil catch can in a fairly new engine, does it have a blowby problem?? will after market piping increase performance??

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 21st, 2010, 12:40 pm

tune up done....amsoil running sweet

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » April 21st, 2010, 9:45 pm

ravist wrote:gready, i know this is not your vehicle but why is there an oil catch can in a fairly new engine, does it have a blowby problem?? will after market piping increase performance??

pipeing =looks , i dont think there would be a noticable increase in power if any at all .

turbo = blow by no matter of its a small amount

jonnie how was the service how much was ?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 22nd, 2010, 7:10 am

service came up to 711 in total, that was service charge 457+vat and cost of the oil filter, 160+vat i think

good thing is no oil change at the 10k service, hav to check the book to see what is done in that one

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » April 22nd, 2010, 8:30 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:service came up to 711 in total, that was service charge 457+vat and cost of the oil filter, 160+vat i think

good thing is no oil change at the 10k service, hav to check the book to see what is done in that one

HA i called NM and ask how much for an oil filter they told me 220 , but 160 is not bad very much the same price at Motorists u should ask them how much for other stuff when u servicing by them like air filter and fuel filter

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » April 23rd, 2010, 8:26 pm

anyone ever installed an oil catch can in thrie d22 frontier?, my engine has had a back pressure problem for a long time, but i blanked the intake line and ducted the line coming from the engine to under the van, so no oil would go to the turbo....
im thinking bout installing a oil catch can....i just wanted to know if anyone ever did this or has had a backpressure problem like this, because i kno a few prople whose frontiers have a slight back pressure...

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » April 23rd, 2010, 8:28 pm

ooh..and is chevron 15w-40 engine oil is good to use on the 2.5 d22 frontiers?
been using the castrol hypuron before but thinking bout trying a different oil

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 24th, 2010, 2:46 am

Dj_Bee wrote:ooh..and is chevron 15w-40 engine oil is good to use on the 2.5 d22 frontiers?
been using the castrol hypuron before but thinking bout trying a different oil

15w-40 is the recommended oil for diesel engines in our climate. Check the maintenance thread and Navara/Frontier thread for advice on oil and different brands >>>> Check this search query out for more posts.

Here's a link about the Castrol Hypuron you've been using:

And another link about the different oils other tuners using in their vans.

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » April 24th, 2010, 7:40 am

Dj_Bee wrote:anyone ever installed an oil catch can in thrie d22 frontier?, my engine has had a back pressure problem for a long time, but i blanked the intake line and ducted the line coming from the engine to under the van, so no oil would go to the turbo....
im thinking bout installing a oil catch can....i just wanted to know if anyone ever did this or has had a backpressure problem like this, because i kno a few prople whose frontiers have a slight back pressure...

check these forums

http://www.navara.asia/forum.php
http://www.nissan-navara.net/

alot of good information on there man from solving problems to mods to audio u name it

ravist

Postby ravist » April 26th, 2010, 10:00 am

Dj_Bee, I had two frontiers TBT and TCA (4x2 Turbo) and the both of them had back pressure issues.... I never installed a catch can but i used a heavier mineral oil 20W 50 and an add-in called Engine Restorer (half way through the oil change)..... I can't say if the blowby decreased but it eased the burning of oil....

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » April 26th, 2010, 7:28 pm

ravist, well my van dosent back pressure that much as to burn or throw out so much oil as to aee a difference in oil levels, but i still wanted to be on the safe side with the catch can.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 27th, 2010, 10:46 am

gready123456,got the van yet?

van working sweet...see how she will handle in the wet weather now

on that note, guys where is a good place to do underwashes? was thinking i would hav to do it more frequently now as it approaching rainy season

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » April 27th, 2010, 12:50 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:gready123456,got the van yet?

van working sweet...see how she will handle in the wet weather now

on that note, guys where is a good place to do underwashes? was thinking i would hav to do it more frequently now as it approaching rainy season

no i pissed tought i would have gotten it today i was told they clearing it today so by the end of this week or early next week man this feeling like forever yess

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 2nd, 2010, 3:21 am

gready123456, you get your navara yet?

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » May 2nd, 2010, 10:21 am

lighthammer wrote:gready123456, you get your navara yet?

no man i was told 17-days to get the light silver color i wanted the dont have that in the model i wanted , the told me that about 26-days ago , i was told on friday that its is supposed to be cleared by tomorrow and sent to register etc so hopefully some time late this week its a long wait but i really like the light silver ,hopefully all goes well and i get it this week

Postby sliderz1 » May 3rd, 2010, 10:46 am

isn't the poor diesel here one of the reasons why they hesistated to bring Navaras to T&T......so i was told anyway

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”