The Official Land Rover Thread

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Re: The Official Land Rover Thread

Postby Dada » February 14th, 2012, 9:10 am

525isport wrote:supplied and installed a 2 inch lift kit on a customers 90 over the holidays .it looked and drives really nice . he just needs the tyres to suit now :D
23122011984.jpg
23122011988.jpg
23122011987.jpg

sweet...what did you do about the castor?...did he replace the castor correct arms or did he used some kind of castor correct polly bush?

looking good...

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » February 14th, 2012, 9:15 am

yamoddertings wrote:paramin
197394_10150503993320164_513915163_18063117_5601090_n.jpg

i love that defender pickup
NOW THATS NICE!!!!!!!!!!!!ME LIKE ME

HOLD DAT
Last edited by Dada on February 14th, 2012, 10:14 am, edited 4 times in total.

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » February 14th, 2012, 9:19 am

525isport wrote:
droppa wrote:^^lift on the def looking good boi, up to what size tires are gonna be able to fit there, 32s??

there may be enough space for it but not too sure on that ..

32's will definitely fit....with a 4" lift i'm running 37's

droppa

Postby droppa » February 14th, 2012, 10:08 am

37s with only a 4" lift? wow! do u have tub scrub probs? and can she flex like a bad thing...

if u dont have issues then that great.......

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » February 14th, 2012, 10:15 am

no issues D...none what so ever.....i was at 2" lift running 33's and then i went up.....2" body with 2" suspension rear and 3" suspension front to handle weight of engine....your front seems to dip because of the weight of the motor....

This is with 4" rear 5" front with motor/winch weight....level off that way....

525isport

Postby 525isport » February 15th, 2012, 3:26 pm

Dada wrote:
525isport wrote:supplied and installed a 2 inch lift kit on a customers 90 over the holidays .it looked and drives really nice . he just needs the tyres to suit now :D
23122011984.jpg
23122011988.jpg
23122011987.jpg

sweet...what did you do about the castor?...did he replace the castor correct arms or did he used some kind of castor correct polly bush?

looking good...

we didnt do the correction its just 2 inches (no problems driving with it ) . anything over 2 and we will have to do it

your defender looks good . i hope you have a carrier for that huge spare wheel . that door can barely hold the standard size

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » February 15th, 2012, 4:02 pm

Lol that is a re enforce door with re enforce hinges, no one can see it cause I install the inside apholstry.to hide it, everything on that rig was mostly fabricated, I'm hardly driving it these days, cause every time I drive it something new breaks, just replace the 2 dry shaft because 1 broke in the ever glades and had to creep home on the front axles, I had upgraded all the axles to 10 ton military axles when I had my arb air lockers install, also I just bought a tdv6 for it and contemplating when I will start the swap.....
I saw someone asking you how comfortable they are....they r not, its the most uncomfortable vehicle to drive, unless you remove the bulkhead behind the driver seats and replace it with the kit they r selling for it,

looking at your work you do pretty good work....thumbs up..keep up the great work... :D

droppa

Postby droppa » February 15th, 2012, 11:35 pm

pal u have invested a fortune in that rig man, it looks fully equipped, why are stuff still breaking on it? yuh over pushing it orrr?

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » February 16th, 2012, 7:29 am

well the rig is pretty old, and once something break i replace it with something better....and yes hoss, once you start playing with them thing it get costly.....after that engine swap i done spend....HOPEFULLY!!!!!

525isport

Postby 525isport » February 16th, 2012, 12:43 pm

Dada wrote:Lol that is a re enforce door with re enforce hinges, no one can see it cause I install the inside apholstry.to hide it, everything on that rig was mostly fabricated, I'm hardly driving it these days, cause every time I drive it something new breaks, just replace the 2 dry shaft because 1 broke in the ever glades and had to creep home on the front axles, I had upgraded all the axles to 10 ton military axles when I had my arb air lockers install, also I just bought a tdv6 for it and contemplating when I will start the swap.....
I saw someone asking you how comfortable they are....they r not, its the most uncomfortable vehicle to drive, unless you remove the bulkhead behind the driver seats and replace it with the kit they r selling for it,

looking at your work you do pretty good work....thumbs up..keep up the great work... :D

ok i still wouldnt like to have to pull that door with all that weight on it :) ."I'm hardly driving it these days, cause every time I drive it something new breaks" the joy of owning a Land Rover . TDV6 with the 6 speed gearbox in that will be very nice (would like to see that when its done ). we are currently doing a 90 with a TD5 . the defender is not the most comfortable vehicle out there but compared to the old series II and III they are way way better . ive seen the kit for the rear bulkhead ,i want to build a custom one .thanks for the compliment, we like what we do .

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » March 6th, 2012, 11:19 am

Anyone know where I can get a 300tdi oil sump pan? I'm seeing a repaired crack near the oil drain hole, not sure if to try and mig weld repair it or replace.

525isport

Postby 525isport » March 7th, 2012, 4:24 pm

i have the sump pan $1,000 .pm me if you want it

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » March 7th, 2012, 8:40 pm

I found one for $500. It seems to me the original may have cracked from the drain plug twisting from being overtightened, and had been repaired with steel epoxy :/ I obviously cracked that again changing oil this weekend.

525isport

Postby 525isport » March 8th, 2012, 5:56 am

no problem

525isport

Postby 525isport » March 19th, 2012, 9:09 pm

well ive finally found time to stop driving it and take pics of the defender and post it up for sale viewtopic.php?f=55&t=428123
sad to see it go but this is what we do. we will finish the TD5 90 soon and keep it around for awhile
TBB Defender (18).jpg
TBB Defender (16).jpg
TBB Defender (20).jpg

droppa

Postby droppa » March 20th, 2012, 9:46 am

that looks immaculate boi Ryan!!!!

525isport

Postby 525isport » March 20th, 2012, 8:20 pm

droppa wrote:that looks immaculate boi Ryan!!!!

thank you .... we try to do our best .

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 21st, 2012, 8:46 am

I saw it in the yard while passing by a couple weeks ago. It looks great :!:

525isport

Postby 525isport » March 21st, 2012, 8:25 pm

there are some more pics here (interior and engine also)http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=55&t=428123

yamoddertings

Postby yamoddertings » April 1st, 2012, 8:58 pm

looking for a R380 manual gearbox from a discovery 300tdi. can anybody help???

525isport

Postby 525isport » April 1st, 2012, 9:07 pm

yamoddertings wrote:looking for a R380 manual gearbox from a discovery 300tdi. can anybody help???

pm sent

venum

Postby venum » April 15th, 2012, 12:58 am

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » April 15th, 2012, 5:57 pm

WICKED stuff man !

Jon_One