TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby 0001 » July 3rd, 2011, 10:41 pm

its a 2.5 turbo with a manual transmission

i guess that is what i am saying......i just want to kno if something is wrong and how to decrease the fuel consumption from 11.0 L/100km

also what brand of engine oil do you guys recommend? mileage on 1 is 130,000 and the other is 85,700

venum

Postby venum » July 3rd, 2011, 11:15 pm

dude,

change the display to read km/L and let me know the value

I would not be to alarmed by those values as they aren't very sensitive

mine hardly changes from 8.2 km/L and avg speed of 34km/h even when I am doing 140 km/h on the highway

the driving range value is pretty much spot on though, as it usually corresponds with the reading on the odometer

I was concerned about this and checked my friends at the L200 Owners Club and they reported that they had the same issues.

seems like it is a common problem with the early model KB model L200

once u getting the usual 450 - 500 km per tank then u good

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 3rd, 2011, 11:54 pm

check your tyre pressures and make sure it's up to manufacture spec... or at least play around and find the right balance of handling/firmness + fuel economy (anywhere from 30psi - 35psi)

also check your fuel filters, make sure they've been changed regularly. Run a fuel conditioner like Amsoil Diesel Concentrate or Redline diesel treatment for the next couple of tankfulls of diesel to help cleanout the injectors.

Those are the two most basic things you can play around with to help improve ur fuel economy.

Things like rollbars, front bullbars, foglights and roofracks can increase aerodynamic drag while wider tyres can give more rolling resistance.

Postby 0001 » July 25th, 2011, 9:43 pm

ok guys i hav run into another problem .....one of the courtesy lights on my door has blown ....i took of the lens but i found that the bulb is hard to remove

i read the book and it jus says remove the bulb...has anyone ever done this? i dont want to break the bulb

i was pulling with a good force too

venum

Postby venum » August 1st, 2011, 12:32 pm

I got Teri's new tyres Saturday

got the Kumho Road Venture AT's 265\70\16

$1120.00 Each at Laughlin & DeGannes

working great so far on the dry

the previous set of Michelin Latitude Cross were 275 and the steering was stiffer than stock.

now that I have gone back to the 265, the steering is back to factory softness

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 1st, 2011, 2:38 pm

nicee ;)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 2nd, 2011, 6:29 am

^ lookin' good, nice shoes!

tonyone5

Postby tonyone5 » August 4th, 2011, 2:13 pm

Hey guys,
noobie here, have a 3.2 l200 sportero, TCL, while driving the past two nights all lights flickered on and off a couple times and then came back on. Happened in a matter of 3 sec and worked normal after. Called DM, have to carry it in tomorrow for them to check.
Did some searching online and came up with either the "comfort control module" giving trouble or a faulty relay. Will post up what is the problem once i get through or if anyone had similar experience please share.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 4th, 2011, 5:10 pm

probably the box or the relay - sounds plausible.

venum

Postby venum » August 4th, 2011, 8:55 pm

changed Teri air filter yesterday

Sakura A-1517

the one with the added bit of filter element wool on it

Sakura number added to first page

Postby ronsin1 » August 5th, 2011, 8:36 pm

going for second service tomorrow walking with meh oil and all filters will also do alignment check and rotate the tires

tonyone5

Postby tonyone5 » August 6th, 2011, 9:41 am

Ok , i found which relay it was pulled it out and put it back in, used the van thursday night, no problems, stilled carried it DM just to make sure, they said the headlight switch wanted servicing, the wires were not making contact properly, so they did that, no charge, lights working fine so far. Really did not know you had to service a switch like that. :roll:

Postby ronsin1 » August 6th, 2011, 12:13 pm

tonyone5 wrote:Ok , i found which relay it was pulled it out and put it back in, used the van thursday night, no problems, stilled carried it DM just to make sure, they said the headlight switch wanted servicing, the wires were not making contact properly, so they did that, no charge, lights working fine so far. Really did not know you had to service a switch like that. :roll:

it is a rotating switch it may become worn or maybe there was some dust stuck to the contacts within the switch

So I serviced today no issues alignment was good, but they did not rotate the tires as their balancing machine was not there they told me if I wanted I could go to a tire shop and get it done, full suspension check was done, fuel filter was not replaced, air filter was not replaced, scan was done to vehicle all this was done for $345.00 TTD I am now satisfied with the price.

venum

Postby venum » August 6th, 2011, 4:10 pm

thaz a good price

i got a good alignment from DM last time i went.

may go back for the same

i also have to service my egr system and injectors . . . will have to consider them

Val

Postby Val » August 28th, 2011, 9:50 am

If anyone is interested in these, Prentice installed a Steinbauer tuning module in my 4M41, big increase in power and torque throughout the power band (didn't dyno yet, have a couple more things to do) and the only trade off is a little more fuel consumption (at WOT) and a fair bit of black smoke (again, only at WOT). No effect on water temperature. Greatly reduces turbo lag (previously the turbo would shoot into action around 2000 RPM, but now I don't even feel the lag as power starts at 1200 RPM so city and traffic driving is much more smooth).

The module is totally plug and play, easily removable and fits between the injectors and the ecu, where it modifies the pulses to allow more fuel with each pulse.

For me, it's definitely worth it, but the transmission seems to be still learning the shift points, and I have to manually back off in first gear to allow a smooth shift for the time being.

Best thing about the install is that there is a simple switch (fitted on the dash controls) to disable the system (e.g. if someone else is to drive the van).

The manual says that the default map (tunable) increases the fuel pulse by 20%. If that is at all directly proportional to power gains, I'd say I gained probably 30 hp (definitely feels like it, but the dyno will tell for sure).

When I dyno, I'll post the maps with and without the module. It sure does make climbing hills a lot easier.

Once this works out (reliability etc), I may just use a boost controller and remove the factory boost cut to match air flow to reduce that black smoke at WOT.

venum

Postby venum » September 1st, 2011, 8:41 am

spunds great Val

Keep us updated on the work and performance, and any issues

Price :?:

Postby Team Loco » September 1st, 2011, 9:36 am

venum, those tyres are nice, they look just like the goodyear forteras

venum

Postby venum » September 2nd, 2011, 2:29 pm

^^^ you ok :?:

that avatar that you have kinda have you a lil disoriented or what :?:

you thinking with a Nissan head dere homie . . .

the roadventure at does NOT look like teh fortera's

I find the fortera's that we getting locally are too much of a HT tread

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... ilentArmor

wagon_r has them on the ranger now and he gave them some good ratings though

Val

Postby Val » September 3rd, 2011, 8:43 pm

Thus far no issues except the smoke. Price for unit and install was just under $7500.

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » September 5th, 2011, 11:12 am

Hi guys,

You may have seen my post on OEM mitsubishi oil filters for the sportero 2.5 engine @$185tt

Quiet a few members took advantage of these prices and i must say thanks guys for the support. This shipment was just a first of better things to come as I am putting things in place to become a one stop shop for OEM parts for all major brands of vans in T&T. By buying items in bulk and consolidating shipments i will be able to offer customers better pricing on Original parts.

As such i have a few oil filters remaining and i would like to sell quickly
I am offering the same filter above at a discounted price of $95.00tt

For persons that purchased from me before pls contact me will give you a special price.

Thanks again

708-1924.Ryan.

venum

Postby venum » September 12th, 2011, 7:07 pm

Ok kids

some serious DIY action went down on Teri this past week.

changed differential oils and transfer case oil on Teri

my pardna and I did the work ourselves

oils used:

Front & Rear differentials - Severe Gear® Synthetic Extreme Pressure (EP) Gear Lube 75W-90 (SVG)

5.5 quarts

http://www.amsoil.com/storefront/svg.aspx

Transfer Case - Synthetic Manual Transmission and Transaxle
Gear Lube 75W-90 API GL-4 (MTG)

2.75 quarts

http://www.amsoil.com/storefront/mtg.aspx

bought from Big Z

Mileage - 90600km

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=320348&hilit=big+z

Good prices from him

Did an extensive drain - opened the drain plug and just let the old oil drain out till it stopped.

Rear differential:

Front differential:

the oil didn't seem too dirty:

but it was:

Got a lot of sludge on teh drain plug, which indicates that the oil started breaking down:

rear differential:

front differential:

Decided that I was not going to fill the costly Amsoil into a dirty diff, so I bought some cheap NP Ultra API GL-5 80W oil to flush out the diffs

filled this oil into the diffs - 6 quarts and ran it for 1 week\450km

then drained it and added the Amsoil

the drained NP oil wasn't dirty

drain plug - clean

satisfying work

next up power steering fluid

Teri is an Amsoil girl

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 12th, 2011, 8:33 pm

how did u pour back the new oil in the the diffs? is there a pour hole to the top of the diff?

venum

Postby venum » September 12th, 2011, 11:09 pm

With a funnel and 1/2" hose through the Fill hole on the rear-facing side of the rear diff

and front-facing side of the front diff

sorry no pic of this one

Amsoil has a hand pump that fits on their bottles though, would be a good investment

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 13th, 2011, 1:17 am

well small ting.. i doh have a front diff anyways.... thanks tho... i will be doin this soon... i buy bel ray hypoid API-GL5 SAE90 oil..

venum

Postby venum » September 13th, 2011, 12:32 pm

I don't like Bel Ray oils at all

prefer to use the NP

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 13th, 2011, 8:57 pm

well i tryin it out... after a few weeks ill monitor it and see.. it i dont like how its looks i'll put it deh amsoil... cuz i just need 2 quarts..

venum

Postby venum » September 19th, 2011, 12:02 am

so interesting fellas i found out that the Sportero OEM rims are Enkei's

has the Enkei brand name on the back of the spokes

as well as the Mitsu brand

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 19th, 2011, 8:05 am

nice!

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » September 20th, 2011, 8:40 pm

Hey guys I want to install power locks and windows on my l200 4x4 is this possibly and does anyone know how too.

l200

Postby l200 » September 20th, 2011, 10:03 pm

^^^Yes its possible, did mines at costom sounds in couva.......but mines was added to a alarm system, so its keyless entry...... total cost.....4yrs ago......alarm $1000, actuators $150 or $200 each x 4, if my memory is correct, it was no more than $1800 installed........could be less..... can't remember if i had to buy extra relays and switches so i jus rounded it off @ 1800

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”