Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
bleedingfreak

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby bleedingfreak » November 7th, 2010, 9:09 am

LD&G has two sets of AT Kumhos last time I checked. In 17" sizes I mean. Both are 265/65R17s. Roadventures. Treadwear 460 or something so...

This is what is on the Hilux right now.

Our Kumho Roadventure M/Ts on the Mazda (work) are almost dead after less than a year of driving. We do alot of pavement to get to our destinations, then our extreme offroad use requires the M/Ts... Not an ideal situation but...

So whoever deciding to get M/Ts for daily driving use, make sure you have deep pockets... having an auxillary set of tyres for the occasional offroad use / fun. Is also a waste of money, because the tyres will rot very quickly once not in use.

But again, all of the above is negated by deep pockets...

My advice, get some ATs and a good winch ;-)

venum

Postby venum » November 7th, 2010, 2:27 pm

^ ^ ^ makes sense

My next choice of tyres would be some BFG A/T

There are some good Firestone AT & ATX for $700.00 which are some good cheap M/T

1/2 the price of those Maxxis

LH PM me your number we need to talk

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » November 7th, 2010, 2:54 pm

venum wrote:My next choice of tyres would be some BFG A/T

So somebody thinking of a new purchase then :lol: :lol:
Well at the end of the day it is your choice but I will not be going back to the BFGs.
Also our vehicles and what we do with them is different so I guess that might also make a big difference.

I hope a run comes up soon so I can bless the tyres with some mud. Driving around on all the farm roads in Aranguez is getting boring.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » November 8th, 2010, 12:02 pm

BFG A/T 265/70/16 - 1908!!! at quickserv -Plus VAT. No discount for 4. I honestly think the guy was trying to rip me off seeing that he had a total of zero customers, and it was enough for me to leave immediately with that price.

Went to mileage mack, got the Toyo Open Country 265/70/16 for 990 + Vat a tyre. After redo alingment etc etc... 4600 was the bill.

Tyres are a million times better than the Bridgestone the van came with.. Didnt budge in the wet as yet. 265 is a little beefy for the ranger, but they fit.

I have the 4 A/T Duelers for sale if anyone wants..They have 10,000 k on them, good thread still.

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » November 8th, 2010, 1:28 pm

^^ ahh another satisfied Toyo man...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 8th, 2010, 4:28 pm

BFG A/T 265/70/16 - 1908!!! at quickserv -Plus VAT. No discount for 4. I honestly think the guy was trying to rip me off seeing that he had a total of zero customers, and it was enough for me to leave immediately with that price.

What dah fack????
When I checked them it was $1535 on sale, and the non-sale price was $1850.
*sniff* *sniff*... I smell... A ripoff.

Went to mileage mack, got the Toyo Open Country 265/70/16 for 990 + Vat a tyre. After redo alingment etc etc... 4600 was the bill.

Not too shabby, are the toyo open country's all-terrain tyres?

Tyres are a million times better than the Bridgestone the van came with.. Didnt budge in the wet as yet. 265 is a little beefy for the ranger, but they fit.

I think the widest A/T the ranger/BT-50 can take is 255/70R16 without rubbing.

I have the 4 A/T Duelers for sale if anyone wants..They have 10,000 k on them, good thread still.

Heh heh, I think we gonna see a next set of duellers for sale on the forum soon :)... 255/65R16's :)...

venum

Postby venum » November 9th, 2010, 6:51 am

Toyo open country are A/T

homeboy

Postby homeboy » November 9th, 2010, 11:44 am

Guys, presently i using 275/70/16 on my van, the only issue is that when turning the front touches inside the fender.....need to get some new sets and was thinking about using 275/70/16 in the rear and 265/70/16 in front.....anyone ever ran this on their van? i like the traction with the 275 thats why i want to use it on the rear and smaller in front to stop the touching when turning.

Postby 3stagevtec » November 9th, 2010, 11:48 am

homeboy wrote:Guys, presently i using 275/70/16 on my van, the only issue is that when turning the front touches inside the fender.....need to get some new sets and was thinking about using 275/70/16 in the rear and 265/70/16 in front.....anyone ever ran this on their van? i like the traction with the 275 thats why i want to use it on the rear and smaller in front to stop the touching when turning.

do you have a 4x4? running different sized tyres can destroy a 4x4 drive train.. in a 4x2, it's ok..

it is not really recommended to mix tyre sizes as it can bring out odd handling characteristics..

homeboy

Postby homeboy » November 9th, 2010, 11:57 am

^Thanks, yes it's a 4x4....will use 265/70/16 on all 4 then.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 9th, 2010, 12:22 pm

265/70R16 is the standard size tyre for most guys who upgrade.

Anything wider generally tends to rub on the internal fenders, unless you get spacers for your hubs. U can check dean's wheels for spacers, or even for a lift kit (de man offered me one time to fit on a lift kit, when I was asking around for tyres.) He custom makes his own spacers for hubs so you sure to get one that fits.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » November 9th, 2010, 3:28 pm

On the 2010 ranger, the toyo 265 does touch a little on the inside front only if you are braking fairly hard and turning a corner.

But it is a little worrying. Didnt know Dean's would have spacers, will check weekend.

venum

Postby venum » November 9th, 2010, 4:33 pm

265/70/16 an upgrade :?:

that is stock on L200

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » November 9th, 2010, 5:50 pm

Ranger 2010 stock is 245/70/16 on the 4X4 models.

If you get a less beefy HT tyre, the 265/70/16 should fit great.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 9th, 2010, 6:48 pm

245 or 255 is what comes stock these days....

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » November 10th, 2010, 11:33 pm

LH the Toyo Open Country AT are nice.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 11th, 2010, 6:17 am

^^^ you mean these? (can't see your image boss... :( )

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » November 11th, 2010, 9:13 am

^^weird it worked in the preview...
Well anyway yes that tyre.

venum

Postby venum » November 11th, 2010, 8:07 pm

^^^ good tyre

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 11th, 2010, 8:08 pm

venum wrote:265/70/16 an upgrade :?:

that is stock on L200

I think thems stock on the Bt-50s too?

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » November 15th, 2010, 5:01 pm

any1 chek out quik-service 20% off 4x4 tyres sale as yet?? :roll:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 15th, 2010, 10:41 pm

^^^ Does that mean they selling BFG's at reduced prices again?
Last time they had a sale it was $1880 presale, and then $1545 at sale price, per tyre.

gas brainz

Re:

Postby gas brainz » November 16th, 2010, 12:05 am

Linglong

Image[/quote]
where 2 get this and what is its price on average ?

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » November 16th, 2010, 12:06 am

d 265/70/16

venum

Postby venum » November 16th, 2010, 6:38 pm

saw some by quickserve and federal

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 16th, 2010, 7:43 pm

LingLong ching chong, skid off a bridge and yuh truck drown....

I'd stick to quality tyres...

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » November 16th, 2010, 8:52 pm

tanx CD4Accord 4 d very informative riddle

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 16th, 2010, 9:29 pm

CD4Accord wrote:LingLong ching chong, skid off a bridge and yuh truck drown....

I'd stick to quality tyres...

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Gladiator » November 16th, 2010, 9:31 pm

Can anyone tell me where will give me a good trade in on some brand new stock 205R16 from Neal and Massey?

Thanks

venum

Postby venum » November 16th, 2010, 10:06 pm

M. Ramrattan marabella

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”