Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
ltech

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby ltech » August 14th, 2011, 12:15 pm

Thanks for ur suggestions........

joel

Postby joel » August 15th, 2011, 6:19 pm

anybody have one tyre they want to sell? one of my tyre burst but want to change all four a the same time and my tyres have life in them. i just want to have something to put on the spare rim
incase i get a next flat.

stretch

Postby stretch » August 24th, 2011, 12:31 am

Hey, looking for a good mechanic somewhere on d east west corridor to carry a local 2.5 4x4 hilux that i am planning to purchase, just to get a run through to see if everything is up to mark with it. Next time tttl is able to do a run through is end of september, so i know you guys may know other sources where this can be done.
Running through the 4wd system for eg.
A PM will greatly be appreciated
Thnx

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 24th, 2011, 10:42 pm

Stretch I can refer you to someone in Central. Browne 6844883. He's very experienced ESP with diesel vans.

If you need Oem filters or disc pads, I can assist.

oberon

Postby oberon » August 29th, 2011, 10:57 pm

Guys! By chance anybody here have the original 16" Hilux alloys for sale? Looking for them for a while....

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » September 1st, 2011, 8:46 am

Hey guys...i`m looking for a power steering box for my 1998 4x2 hilux LN145 model...anyone know where i can get this?

Postby Team Loco » September 1st, 2011, 8:59 pm

did you check boodram and sons? also call the guy who advertises daily in the express classifieds. surf and hilux parts

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » September 2nd, 2011, 10:39 am

Team Loco yes I checked Boodram and Sons they only have for the 4x4 model. I`ll call the guy in the classifieds. Thanks.

Postby Team Loco » September 2nd, 2011, 5:20 pm

btw, what goes wrong with these boxes? ive heard of their failure

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » September 3rd, 2011, 3:09 pm

Nothing really goes wrong with them but I guess with age and use seals give way. I changed the seals in my box but it still leaks from the bottom where the pitman arm is...my guess is that the shaft wore the inside of the box. Overnite it leaks about 3-4 drops of fluid.

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » September 5th, 2011, 10:52 am

hey guys,

A friend of mine has a hilux(vigo) and wanted to know at what mileage do you change Front and rear shocks also they were doing some research and gave me these part nos.

Front shocks : 48510-09J90
Rear Shocks : 48531-09780

Can anyone verify and give me some contacts as to where i can purchase at the best price. Not needed right away ..

thanks in advance.

Postby Team Loco » September 6th, 2011, 6:15 am

FilterProz wrote:hey guys,

A friend of mine has a hilux(vigo) and wanted to know at what mileage do you change Front and rear shocks also they were doing some research and gave me these part nos.

Front shocks : 48510-09J90
Rear Shocks : 48531-09780

Can anyone verify and give me some contacts as to where i can purchase at the best price. Not needed right away ..

thanks in advance.

there is not really a certain mileage assigned to changing shocks. its just when they leak or if he's doing a suspension job. we changed ours at 200000kms, and even then they were still pretty good.

guys am i wrong? does toyota recommend a service interval/shock replacement?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 8th, 2011, 1:25 pm

Just bought and fixin up ah old TAK Hilux 4x4 RN46 model...need to get the front handbrakes cable and front diff repaired...any help appreciated!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 9th, 2011, 11:05 am

Call 7235365. He has lots of old model parts

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 10th, 2011, 12:43 am

Thanks, will call tmrow...tried all of bamboo this morning...stress!!

Postby Team Loco » September 10th, 2011, 5:29 pm

bamboo= wrong place for hilux parts. sweeks gave you a good contact there. your best option

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 16th, 2011, 12:25 pm

Thread slow ... Where the lux men?

Postby Team Loco » September 16th, 2011, 9:14 pm

its like a one man show here these days.....
my front bar off, i am like minus 80lbs, no winch. hilux moving easier these days

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » September 17th, 2011, 11:44 am

I see M Rampersad advertising the 2012 hilux

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 17th, 2011, 7:44 pm

I have some things coming soon..
Right now i am looking for a deck with bluetooth and backup-camera..

Any suggestions.. Must fit the Hilux like OEM Double Din...

Postby Team Loco » September 18th, 2011, 8:01 am

real men dont use back up cameras!!

turbohead

Postby turbohead » September 18th, 2011, 7:40 pm

saied me eh believe yuh want one of those, i should strip you of that hilux promptly

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 18th, 2011, 7:57 pm

Buh what the ass is this i hearing.... So what wrong with a back-up camera...?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » September 24th, 2011, 8:21 am

you issa a girl or wat. wen las you does watch a screen to reverse, when yuh bounce stop....

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 24th, 2011, 8:22 pm

is not me getting damage i worried about... You will understand when you see what i workin with soon Saleem.... LOL

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 24th, 2011, 9:23 pm

Anyone has a rough estimate of the total cost to do an engine job on a 2C diesel engine...pistons, rings, beariings, gaskets, labour etc?? Is the gas 2Y engine interchangeable with the 2C? (will work with gearbox?)

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 24th, 2011, 9:39 pm

Looks like a man doing a conversion .... Them old Hilux doh done!

turbohead

Postby turbohead » September 25th, 2011, 9:51 pm

at all, them ting strong like ox..

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 26th, 2011, 12:48 am

Thinking bout it...ah fix d handbrakes, service brakes (front and rear), change front wheel bearings and shocks, adjust steering play(link). Need to sort out the front diff and get an assessment on d engine. ah doh know about diesel, so recommendations / comments welcome. ah guess ah should service injectors and check glow plugs before making any firm decision about changing engine?

Postby Team Loco » October 2nd, 2011, 7:23 am

turbohead wrote:you issa a girl or wat. wen las you does watch a screen to reverse, when yuh bounce stop....

reverse cameras have become more of a "chick flick" than a realistic tool. the cameras do not give you dept. you can see the object behind you but you but it doesnt give an accurate distance between you and the object.
the simple reverse buzzer that gives the driver shorter interval beeps and you reverse is much more effective.

either way, they are both waste of money. i put those in the category of overdone items that we do not need.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”