Build Project: Suzie!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
neckto

Re: Build Project: Suzie!!

Postby neckto » December 1st, 2012, 7:38 am

update:

got a battery, now to get a battery clamp and good terminals

battery have good power, engine start with hardly a tumble, reminded me of my old 210 120Y, engine.
I ran the engine for a good hour and a half at idle speed, still didn't see the (green) battery charge indicator come on. maybe i will have to run it on the road on a long run for it to charge properly??

Finally, drove her on the road for the first time, albeit just to turn around lol

After running engine and inspection, noticed some issues to take care of:

rear brake line has a crack and leaking brake fluid - line braised and repaired - no more leak - will still look into possible line replacement in the future.

oil leak from crank case - minor - bolts may need torquing to stop leak

power steering system leak - big leak on steel line, will have to be removed and repaired and or replaced.

slight knocking sound - think it coming from fuel pump area, will have to run the van more to see if it stops or persists or what

bearing humm noise - might be the power steering pump, will repair the line and make sure it have sufficient fluid passing through the pump before going further

ended up choosing this as it was the most convenient to pick up, they claim to be giving two years warranty for diesel and i wanted to try the brand

ALSO, put the doors back on, lined them up enough so they don't touch or rub anywhere and closing good, will need a straightener to help with proper/ final line up, before pepping the outside

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 1st, 2012, 11:03 am

good to hear it is actually able to run on d road now ....

neckto

Postby neckto » December 1st, 2012, 12:00 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:good to hear it is actually able to run on d road now ....

yea just barely.....

Still have those issues i mentioned above to take care off,

Hand brake cables to source and to make work with the different diff,

Rear windscreen to put in (awaiting new shipment to #3M polyurethane sealant, the last shipment was defective and recalled, unless i can find another good quality one - not much luck so far).

the tray mounting pins and bolts, fenders, bumpers, bonnet, lights, licence plates and grille to repair/ put on,

blown headlight bulb replacement

battery clamp to get and put on

wiper blades to source and install

Then it would be more road worthy

other less critical things to do to complete, of the top of my head

carpet installation
door parts (handles, locks, upholstery etc) to reinstall
doors and other outer parts to properly line up
battery terminals to replace
All front end bushings to change (already sourced)
thermostat to replace
hood light to source and install
alignment/camber/ torsion bar adjustment
electrical/alternator/temperature gauge check
repaint areas under cab floor and panels that welding inside damaged
Tray body repairs
Rims to clean and paint
two wheel studs with bad threading to remove and replace
one front Rotor (tawa) to change
exhaust piping to repair/change
over spray repainting to do on chassis
fuel lid cable replacement to source and reinstall
seat belt latches to change to work with new set of seat mounted seatbelt clasps
outer body to prep, rub and paint
gear shift lever, protective rubber (small one) to source ad replace
AC re-installation
seats to reupholster
music/horn/alarm to source /install
tray liner to repair
couple electrical wiring and connectors to replace
chips in windscreen to repair
main electrical harness cup rubber on firewall to repair somehow
stone shields under fender to repair/replace and reinstall
skid plates on panels to repair or replace
ignition to reconfigure and new keys cut

im sure there will be stuff to add to this list

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » December 4th, 2012, 1:14 pm

dude i got bosch batteries in my 2 cars...EXCELLENNTTTTT grade, 3 years warranty.. mtce free, but make sure and go get it inspected as soon as possible...

Build coming along quite nicely..

neckto

Postby neckto » December 5th, 2012, 11:44 pm

update

I decided to temporarily reassemble the outer body and basic components so i can begin running the van on the road for the rest of the year and keep identifying and fixing the mechanical, electrical and suspension issues. when its all sorted we will resume the body job completion

Took it to the electrician, who double checked everything. electrical all good to go and wired correct (pats self on back). Just need to find a temperature unit for the temperature gauge to work and the checkout y the tachometer not working and that will conclude the main electrical work.

I braised the power steering line and tightened up the sump pan bolts, repaired a water hose leak so all major leaks stopped. have to wash engine bay and monitor for more leaks etc

After putting on the fenders, i realize how low the front was to the back, especially the right side. Thought the right side was due to a bad suspension part issue because the tyre was touching the tops of the apron and rubbing the fender, i took it to a mechanic who adjusted the height via the torsion bars and now it is much higher in front with enough wheel height spacing and the van sits much more level now as well, as i thought it was a suspension issue so i didn't take a before pic.

I actually find the right side is now a bit higher, i will run it a day or two and see if a lil more adjustment is needed

Pic of after the torsion bar adjustments

welded new brackets with bolts to mount onto the chassis, this will keep it secured until we ready to do the full tray repair

Postby black start » December 6th, 2012, 12:14 am

nice man, glad to see you running about with the van.

neckto

Postby neckto » December 6th, 2012, 12:16 am

lost soul wrote:nice man, glad to see you running about with the van.

yep. far from complete but stil feels good to be able to drive it after so long

jpec

Postby jpec » December 6th, 2012, 10:47 am

SWEET!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 6th, 2012, 11:02 am

i'm gonna make a clipbook out of this.... and have it distributed to all the lil mango-tree bodyshops and straighteners in trinidad.

I shall title it: "HOW TO FKCING DO A PROPER JOB" by Mr. Lighthammer.

Available in Spring 2013 in paperback, Summer 2013 in Hardcover.

Postby ronsin1 » December 6th, 2012, 2:32 pm

^^ can you await on my build or will you do it as a volume 2 How a classic done

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » December 6th, 2012, 7:44 pm

lighthammer wrote:i'm gonna make a clipbook out of this.... and have it distributed to all the lil mango-tree bodyshops and straighteners in trinidad.

use a different title and send it to Isuzu too; they might just hire neckto, to help them when they redesign the next d-max :mrgreen:

neckto

Postby neckto » December 6th, 2012, 10:55 pm

hey guys, thanks much for all the positive comments and suppport.......... u all really helped to keep me motivated to do a good job. this just goes to show what can be done on a limited budget too, if top notch materials, parts and equipment i know it would have come out better so far but for a first pick up and a learner project i'm fine with what was done for now.

i will still post any mini updates if i do anything over the xmas season or any issues that come up.

UPDATE

finally got the 3m urethane windscreen sealant - back windscreen back in. oh boy, real mess, left it to dry and hopefully it will peel and clean off easy tomorow. pics of that tom too.
Last edited by neckto on December 6th, 2012, 11:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

neckto

Postby neckto » December 6th, 2012, 11:10 pm

tourniquet wrote:
lighthammer wrote:i'm gonna make a clipbook out of this.... and have it distributed to all the lil mango-tree bodyshops and straighteners in trinidad.

yea LH........once i getting some gratuities too lol..........

use a different title and send it to Isuzu too; they might just hire neckto, to help them when they redesign the next d-max :mrgreen:

lol nex ting they decide to cut cost and use flash-band for dampening and everybody blaming poor neckto..............EPIC lol

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » December 7th, 2012, 9:59 am

the paint job on this thing hadda be TOP NOTCH business...dude, take yur time and make sure the final job is perfect....

you coming along reall nice, i did a restoration but, no where as detailed as what u went thru.....well done

Postby cinco » December 7th, 2012, 11:51 am

lovely

neckto

Postby neckto » December 8th, 2012, 12:44 am

nos_specialist wrote:the paint job on this thing hadda be TOP NOTCH business...dude, take yur time and make sure the final job is perfect....

you coming along reall nice, i did a restoration but, no where as detailed as what u went thru.....well done

yea bro..........want to eliminate have to go bk to do any major mechanical etc after final body job is complete so that y i running as is right now.

jpec

Postby jpec » December 19th, 2012, 11:27 am

the suspense is killing me!!!

l200

Postby l200 » December 21st, 2012, 10:35 am

WOW.... great build!!!

Postby nervewrecker » December 23rd, 2012, 1:48 am

Glad this thing up and running. What a hell of a project it is!

neckto

Postby neckto » December 28th, 2012, 4:00 am

jpec wrote:the suspense is killing me!!!

hey, sup bro...........sorry for the suspense lol

neckto

Postby neckto » December 28th, 2012, 4:43 am

i guess its about time i post and update.

din do much with the xmas season upon us.

mechanical wise, changed the oil and water units making sure the oil light and temp gauge working properly. with the thermostat out, the needle barely moves tho.

installed the AC - added a 2nd fan on the condenser as well, working excellent so far.

changed out the clutch system - new clutch master and sleeve cylinders.

everything else working A- OK

EXCEPT

getting a intermittent noise when shifting gears from the clutch release bearing. might be the bearing is faulty, we not sure but the gearbox will have to come back out to replace that bearing again. it may also be because of the insufficient clutch pressure fro the old system, which is why it was changed out. seems the previous owners put in a smaller master cylinder from another vehicle that couldn't maintain the proper pressure.

AND - slight leak from brake master cylinder, waiting a bit to see if booster will start failing too

mostly, I was just trying to get the inside to a completed state.

put in a new hood lamp

put in the replacement floor carpet with a lil custom touch, the colour and style is a ode to a past project

please forgive, pics were taken while van was very dirty during our rainy xmas

new tinted clear mats

new pedal inserts

door upholstery reassembled with the triple dark scheme

Back doors

front with: temp door speaker upgrades

you can see how dirty, these pics are before any cleaning, it looks much better with a bit of amour-all

sealing off the AC tubing hole in the firewall - BOOMMMMMMMMMMMM the can exploded and made a horrible bloody mess, sheesh

this thing is real stress to get off ur skin - 3 days later

started installing some audio system components fora temp system cause Suzie engine loud as firetruck man

how did you guys spend ur xmas?? lol

jpec

Postby jpec » December 28th, 2012, 9:31 am

:D:D, looks great haha! interior is coming along really nicely

neckto

Postby neckto » December 28th, 2012, 2:24 pm

jpec wrote::D:D, looks great haha! interior is coming along really nicely

yep, thanks...........waiting till nx yr when the upholstry guy has time to redo the seats

Postby black start » December 28th, 2012, 9:13 pm

you dyed the door upholstery?

neckto

Postby neckto » December 28th, 2012, 10:38 pm

black start wrote:you dyed the door upholstery?

lost soul........ wouldn't have asked that lol.........................ent i paint the thing bai!!

Postby black start » December 31st, 2012, 10:19 pm

I couldn't remember, lol...

you driving it in full now or...?

neckto

Postby neckto » January 1st, 2013, 4:42 am

black start wrote:I couldn't remember, lol...

you driving it in full now or...?

yep..........drove it all xmas, had plenty fun on the roads ppl lol. my padnas was calling it the death race looking machine lol

body job to resume soon tho.........

NR8

Postby NR8 » January 1st, 2013, 11:36 am

Good to see that yuo can enjoy the fruits of your labour. This is an excellent build man!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 2nd, 2013, 11:03 am

Happy new year to you and Suzie!!

like yuh went pricesmart to buy ting dey bainecktobaidevanlookingbessbaidawgbaihossbai!!!

neckto

Postby neckto » January 2nd, 2013, 3:52 pm

lighthammer wrote:Happy new year to you and Suzie!!

hey thanks bro............same to you and yours..........have a great 2013

like yuh went pricesmart to buy ting dey bainecktobaidevanlookingbessbaidawgbaihossbai!!!

ah haa, i ketch u this time, u have 2 more guesses lol

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”