The Official Land Rover Thread

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
yamoddertings

Re: The Official Land Rover Thread

Postby yamoddertings » October 20th, 2011, 9:12 pm

rangeroverpartstt wrote:My modified disco!

it hard, it hard.

yamoddertings

Postby yamoddertings » October 20th, 2011, 9:29 pm

anybody know where i could get a new or used left rear light cluster for a Discovery 1?

525isport

Postby 525isport » October 21st, 2011, 9:18 pm

yamoddertings wrote:anybody know where i could get a new or used left rear light cluster for a Discovery 1?

if you mean the rear tail light on the body . i may have a used one

525isport

Postby 525isport » October 21st, 2011, 9:24 pm

just to let you all know . i do diagnostic work on all TD5 landrovers thats Defenders and Discoveries . from ABS to Keys to engine . i am considering investing in the software for the disco 3 and Range Rover sport if there are customers who dont want to go to the stealership

525isport

Postby 525isport » November 20th, 2011, 3:39 pm

just a sneak peek of the 300tdi 110 its got alot to do still. and its covered with dust .
15112011910.jpg

525isport

Postby 525isport » December 28th, 2011, 2:57 pm

supplied and installed a 2 inch lift kit on a customers 90 over the holidays .it looked and drives really nice . he just needs the tyres to suit now :D
23122011984.jpg
before
23122011988.jpg
before
23122011987.jpg
before
23122011991.jpg
after
23122011990.jpg
after
23122011989.jpg
after

Postby sMASH » December 28th, 2011, 4:17 pm

i am seeing a defender like the paramin set up in south, and it may just be the same paramin vehicle.

venum

Postby venum » December 28th, 2011, 7:37 pm

i saw it today too in marabella

i think it is the same as Pautct said it was his neighbour from south

525isport

Postby 525isport » December 28th, 2011, 7:55 pm

yea the guy sold it .it was on trinicars

droppa

Postby droppa » December 28th, 2011, 8:13 pm

^^lift on the def looking good boi, up to what size tires are gonna be able to fit there, 32s??

525isport

Postby 525isport » December 29th, 2011, 12:07 pm

droppa wrote:^^lift on the def looking good boi, up to what size tires are gonna be able to fit there, 32s??

there may be enough space for it but not too sure on that ..

venum

Postby venum » January 8th, 2012, 7:53 pm

rangeroverpartstt

Postby rangeroverpartstt » January 12th, 2012, 9:34 am

venum wrote:another sweet one:http://www.trinicarsforsale.com/databas ... #topofpage

I know this vehicle ... good deal!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 17th, 2012, 10:00 pm

Well.. I went into Classic a few weeks ago and they told me that they no longer keep Defenders in stock... If you want one, you have to custom order it which lands here usually in the range of $400,000...

I am quite disappointed not only because of the no stock issue but also the problem of the massive price hike over last time I checked..

greatbear

Postby greatbear » January 18th, 2012, 7:01 am

hey ppl, Can anyone help me get a land rover badge for the back of my series?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 18th, 2012, 3:11 pm

greatbear wrote:hey ppl, Can anyone help me get a land rover badge for the back of my series?

LAND ROVER PARTS @ WHOLESALE PRICES IN T&T
http://www.landroverparts.tk

525isport

Postby 525isport » January 21st, 2012, 7:29 pm

CD4Accord wrote:Well.. I went into Classic a few weeks ago and they told me that they no longer keep Defenders in stock... If you want one, you have to custom order it which lands here usually in the range of $400,000...

I am quite disappointed not only because of the no stock issue but also the problem of the massive price hike over last time I checked..

what are you looking for ? 90 or 110 . i will have one of each available soon . pm me if your inerested

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 23rd, 2012, 11:20 am

525isport...
I have to be honest with you.. I am not on the market right now, I was just hoping to test drive a new defender to see how the comfort level and everyday usability has changed from the old models I knew as a child..

When/if I am ready I would be looking @ a 110 and I would be sure to contact you, but I just don't have the $$$ right now.. I would love to get an idea on pricing though

525isport

Postby 525isport » January 24th, 2012, 7:36 pm

CD4Accord the land rovers you knew as a child cant come close to the new ones in ride quality,comfort,power and looks . when your funds are available we should have something for you . prices now are starting @ $145,000 up . they were cheaper but the £ (pounds) and shipping are high

venum

Postby venum » February 1st, 2012, 11:17 pm

droppa

Postby droppa » February 2nd, 2012, 7:50 am

saw a LR yesterday and absolutely fell in love with it, im gonna buy it soon for sure, price was 400

i know it real bad eh!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby sMASH » February 2nd, 2012, 11:31 pm

yuh see it in peynall owah, how it crims dong so? daiz 28's?

525isport

Postby 525isport » February 3rd, 2012, 2:42 pm

droppa wrote:saw a LR yesterday and absolutely fell in love with it, im gonna buy it soon for sure, price was 400

i know it real bad eh!!!!!!!!!!!!

your just Toying with us .

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 4th, 2012, 10:04 pm

that's not even remotely funny...

droppa

Postby droppa » February 5th, 2012, 6:13 pm

man it was outta the box, awsome, u all jus hating, cuz u cant get one.....

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » February 9th, 2012, 4:00 am

Any of you here familiar with tuning up the 300tdi for a bit more power? Recently got a Disco in very stock form, but not so thrilled with the power, its an automatic as well.
I've not yet gone through a standard tuneup to determine if thats all it needs, so I'm hoping to find some local expert mechanic that could check it through and make reccomendations.
Thanks.

525isport

Postby 525isport » February 9th, 2012, 11:26 am

InDeForest wrote:Any of you here familiar with tuning up the 300tdi for a bit more power? Recently got a Disco in very stock form, but not so thrilled with the power, its an automatic as well.
I've not yet gone through a standard tuneup to determine if thats all it needs, so I'm hoping to find some local expert mechanic that could check it through and make reccomendations.
Thanks.

i can do the pump adjustment (if you have the manual pump) if its the electric pump then no adjustments can be done . if you cant tell what pump you have ,look for a throttle cable from pedal to pump (manual type)
but do a full service on the vehicle first oil & all filters (air ,fuel,oil) some vehicles may be fitted with sedimenter near fuel tank and will need cleaning out also . pm me for more info

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » February 9th, 2012, 2:03 pm

Sure thing, thanks for the advice, its definitely the manual pump. I actually have brakes earmarked as the first order of business! I'd like to have a flush done and the master cylinder and booster checked out, then focus on minor engine efficiency issues and having a look at the running condition of the fuel pump and turbo. I took a drive up the steep paramin hills shortly after I got it, and after using way too much braking on the way down (due to my ignorance about the low range engine braking on descents), I found that the brake pedal had gotten longer and softer by the time I was back on flat ground, which terrified me, but since then the brakes have been perfect and I feel that I was boiling brake fluid by the end of that descent.
So brakes is #1 priority.

There is something that came to mind from previous experience, I think I would like to try removing the ventilation of the crankcase etc from the turbo inlet pipe, and providing that with its own separate filter to atmosphere (with an oil catch can), accompanied by a good flush out and cleaning of the oil buildup that I am sure is present in the turbo and intercooler, after that the turbo and intercooler will stay clean. Anyone else done this with positive results?

Also, is it common to fit boost gauges to these, or most people don't bother with that?

525isport

Postby 525isport » February 11th, 2012, 9:30 pm

InDeForest wrote:Sure thing, thanks for the advice, its definitely the manual pump. I actually have brakes earmarked as the first order of business! I'd like to have a flush done and the master cylinder and booster checked out, then focus on minor engine efficiency issues and having a look at the running condition of the fuel pump and turbo. I took a drive up the steep paramin hills shortly after I got it, and after using way too much braking on the way down (due to my ignorance about the low range engine braking on descents), I found that the brake pedal had gotten longer and softer by the time I was back on flat ground, which terrified me, but since then the brakes have been perfect and I feel that I was boiling brake fluid by the end of that descent.

There is something that came to mind from previous experience, I think I would like to try removing the ventilation of the crankcase etc from the turbo inlet pipe, and providing that with its own separate filter to atmosphere (with an oil catch can), accompanied by a good flush out and cleaning of the oil buildup that I am sure is present in the turbo and intercooler, after that the turbo and intercooler will stay clean. Anyone else done this with positive results?

Also, is it common to fit boost gauges to these, or most people don't bother with that?

you sound like your going in the right direction .all good plans ,and very helpful on the 300tdi (cleaning intercooler etc) i have new silicone turbo hoses for the 300 tdi if your interested @$1,200 . boost gauge is good just to know your turbo is within range .

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 14th, 2012, 2:36 am

InDeForest wrote:Sure thing, thanks for the advice, its definitely the manual pump. I actually have brakes earmarked as the first order of business! I'd like to have a flush done and the master cylinder and booster checked out, then focus on minor engine efficiency issues and having a look at the running condition of the fuel pump and turbo. I took a drive up the steep paramin hills shortly after I got it, and after using way too much braking on the way down (due to my ignorance about the low range engine braking on descents), I found that the brake pedal had gotten longer and softer by the time I was back on flat ground, which terrified me, but since then the brakes have been perfect and I feel that I was boiling brake fluid by the end of that descent.

May I suggest you use some Castrol GT-LMA DOT4 brake fluid on the next flush? The elevated boiling points will definitely ease potential worries about boiling your brakes next time around... All at a nice price of maybe $80 in fluid per flush/bleed....

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”