L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
madman2961

Re: L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby madman2961 » June 22nd, 2010, 1:31 pm

speedaholic wrote:my engine never overheated... and ent if water enters the chamber the engine goh like FCUK up!?

http://www.greaseolineplus.com/page2.html

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 23rd, 2010, 6:38 pm

i still doh trust that... but anyways...my engine still needs help..... not gettin the amount of power i shud and it black smokin rellll plenty now... i cant cross 120 on highway! :\! idk what to do now na....

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » June 24th, 2010, 6:28 am

you might have to service the fuel pump and check the timing.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 24th, 2010, 8:46 pm

where can i get this done and aprox how much will it cost??

venum

Postby venum » June 24th, 2010, 8:54 pm

plenty places

Sookhai's most expensive

when i was at specialist motors some time ago they were telling me about a place in barataria

call them and find out

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 25th, 2010, 2:01 am

you mean special auto.. the mitsu place in aranguez?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 25th, 2010, 4:27 pm

electro diesel cipero street

venum

Postby venum » June 26th, 2010, 7:32 am

yeah speedy, them self

crix, he from north, so i ent bother to tell him bout any places in south

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 26th, 2010, 1:39 pm

yea me eh able to go south na! lol! so i pass i pass by sookhais yest...! dem want $5000.00!!!!! to recalibrate fuel pump and clean injectors an change the tips.. an set back everything! WTF!!! do i really need all that to be done???! sigh....

l200

Postby l200 » June 28th, 2010, 10:06 am

speedaholic wrote:my engine never overheated... and ent if water enters the chamber the engine goh like FCUK up!? so i rell doubt is water... my guess its a fuel contamination problem.. the night it happened my fuel tank was like a gud way below quarter... this mornin i made it to the gas station and put in a $40... and well.. as i was pullin out of the station.. (NP) but a gud one.. i noticed i slight power increase... but white smokin stoped.. and it started Black smokin now at very low RPMs.. just got back home from a drive... d van cya reachh 100 dred.. and rell black smoke.. jes chcked radiator and oil level again.. all is gud... must be a injector or fuel contamination problemm.. i gone check ryanm this evening and well figure it out.. he lives in my area.. think glow plugs cud have anything to do with that?

Hi speed, a friend of mines had the same experience just like yours, ..... he has a turbo engine thou, he thought it was fuel, de pump, or injectors, but it was non of that it was his ERG valve = Exhaust Gas Recirculation Valve.

The EGR valve controls formation of noxious emissions.The EGR valve, or Exhaust Gas Recirculation valve, is a vacuum controlled valve which allows a specific amount of your exhaust back into the intake manifold. This exhaust mixes with the intake air and actually cools the combustion process. Cooler is always better inside your engine. The exhaust your EGR valve recirculates also prevents the formation of Nitrogen related gases. These are referred to as NOX emissions, and are a common cause for failing emissions testing. Unfortunately, your EGR valve can get stuck, causing NOX gases to build up. You'll know if your EGR valve is stuck or malfunctioning because your car will experience symptoms like rough idle and bucking on accelertaion.

Rough idle and poor acceleration can be caused by a faulty EGR valve, and in his case alot of white smoke and no power, he couldn't even go up a slight incline.

I try to take a pic this evening to show what it looks like, on his engine

He had another 4d56 t on the ground, so he changed the valve and he running now

venum

Postby venum » June 28th, 2010, 10:47 am

i don't think that n/a engines have EGR components

I may be wrong though

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » June 28th, 2010, 11:17 am

Venum, you are correct

there is no EGR on the N/A 4d56

Below is a pic that a tuner put of his engine bay the is a K34

l200

Postby l200 » June 28th, 2010, 9:46 pm

speedaholic, I didn't know what type of engine you had, jus thought the info would be helpful, if not to you probably to someone else on the forum ....

<<<<<<<Good luck with sorting out the problem wit the engine>>>>>

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 28th, 2010, 11:20 pm

yea i have the N/A 4D56. engine has regained some power... but still black smokin plenty on acceleration.. and still dont have the kinda power i used to... dunno what to do now na...

ryanm

Postby ryanm » June 29th, 2010, 7:04 am

see the kerosene now startin to work. Very likely there are deposits on the injectors which cause them to dribble instead of spray and disperse the diesel into a fine mist. This leads to incomplete combustion because the diesel spray has not atomized, hence the black smoke.

Hope it's as simple as that and not the pump.

btw did you ever adjust the starting pressure on the pump?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 29th, 2010, 6:18 pm

i hope so to... shud i put another $20 kerosene? and no.. i have never adjusted the starting pressure on the pump.. shud i? how is it done?

ryanm

Postby ryanm » June 30th, 2010, 7:26 pm

how much has it improved since?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 1st, 2010, 11:23 am

i gettin gud acceleration and stuff.. but still not as before... and the blackin is gettin kinda annoying for me now... it black smokin at the higher RPM's or on hard acceleration! but it WAY more than normal.. i cud prob check you this evening after i cellect meh DB tshirt from gerry in grand bazar.. that wud be around 6 or so

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » July 5th, 2010, 4:44 pm

L200.... can u text me ur fone number.... (761-2627) i wanna find out some info bout ur mechanics..
meh engine eh sounding too rite rite now....

i dont have regular internet these days... so i;ll look out for ur text..

thanks.

l200

Postby l200 » July 8th, 2010, 8:58 pm

Hey tuners, having a problem,,,,, my van hard starting when the engine is hot. When cold it starts in a one, but of lately, when warm, i have to tumble for abt 4-6 seconds before it starts........

>>>>>>> Any suggestions????

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 8th, 2010, 10:47 pm

check glow plug tempreture sensor

ryanm

Postby ryanm » July 10th, 2010, 7:48 am

is it a healthy tumble as the one in the morning?

Try cleaning the contacts on the bttery and the starter cable both at the battery terminal and the starter.
Give it a good steelbrush or sandpaper cleaning until it shiny and then put it bach together.

While you at it clean the ground cable on the body and engine of the van too

l200

Postby l200 » July 13th, 2010, 9:40 am

Ok, new temp. sensor, new glow plugs, clean all battery poles, and connectors on engine harness, and still getting the problem.

My starter was serviced 4months ago, glow plugs relay changed abt 6months ago..........

Battery is 13 months old, carried it to the dealer to check it an it passed all their test, also started another van with it and it worked fine.

Any more suggestions???

ryanm

Postby ryanm » July 16th, 2010, 7:43 am

stumped!!!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 16th, 2010, 2:14 pm

mee tooo!!

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 17th, 2010, 9:05 am

fellas i have been toying with the idea of buying a k34 4x4 fully loaded model, i want to know would it be a good investment because i see a lot of them on the road and they still look damn good, soo what do you guys think ?

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » July 17th, 2010, 12:54 pm

l200 wrote:Hey tuners, having a problem,,,,, my van hard starting when the engine is hot. When cold it starts in a one, but of lately, when warm, i have to tumble for abt 4-6 seconds before it starts........

>>>>>>> Any suggestions????

2 things coming to mind:-
1) is your oil in need of changing?
2) maybe your compression is not that great.

l200

Postby l200 » July 17th, 2010, 10:05 pm

The oil has abt 1000 km again, compression, hmmmmm possible, but i don't think likely, Ah want to believe the (timer)box that controls the relay that heats the plugs is malfunctioning.

I was reading that when the engine is hot , it is supposed to heat the plugs for ab 6-8sec, and when cold for abt 14-16 sec. (not sure abt the figures, but was something like that) So I've been checking mines and it isn't coming on when hot, now i'm not too sure if its the problem, but hopefully this week i'll be swapping out the box, will keep you guys posted!!!....

>>>>> trinibajan34<<<<<, the 4x4 k34 fully loaded is great, and once properly maintained, its reliable, economical and is more durable than the k74 or so I have been told by a couple of mechanics, if you can get a good one, I'll say go for it.

keep in mind - mileage ( the lower the better)
- maintainance (frequent oil change, timing belt etc)

and carry a person wit you who is knowledgeable abt the diesel.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 17th, 2010, 11:08 pm

thanks for the advice l200 ,but those vans are over ten years old the mileage would be high ,what would be a suitable mileage to look at or look for if i am going to purchase one

ryanm

Postby ryanm » July 18th, 2010, 5:58 am

[quote="l200"]The oil has abt 1000 km again, compression, hmmmmm possible, but i don't think likely, Ah want to believe the (timer)box that controls the relay that heats the plugs is malfunctioning.

I was reading that when the engine is hot , it is supposed to heat the plugs for ab 6-8sec, and when cold for abt 14-16 sec. (not sure abt the figures, but was something like that) So I've been checking mines and it isn't coming on when hot, now i'm not too sure if its the problem, but hopefully this week i'll be swapping out the box, will keep you guys posted!!!....

L200 - I checked heater relay on both the k34 and 74 and the glow plugs aren't energized when the engine is hot. Jus bonks starter and go. I don't think thats your problem .

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”