Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
*Phoenix*

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby *Phoenix* » June 29th, 2011, 5:36 pm

^^^ Doh jus say that nah!!! Explain yuhself!!!

Postby Team Loco » June 29th, 2011, 10:51 pm

cause yuh gonna sell that van anyway. shoulda use something cheaper

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » June 30th, 2011, 6:59 am

^^^ You hurt her feelings ^^^

If i do sell... OK OK OK... WHen i do sell... Sombody gonna like dehself thats all....

Send me some info on Armour nah TL!

Postby Team Loco » July 6th, 2011, 8:51 am

my front number plate keeps falling off. never affixed it well to the crashbar. only place tp put it is on the grille. bleh

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 7th, 2011, 11:39 am

I saw Toyota has a new model PCR Prado with 15 000km for sale ... $600 000.00

Any takers?

Postby Team Loco » July 7th, 2011, 1:20 pm

but yuh asking answers~! no...never

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 7th, 2011, 7:44 pm

Can start and finish my house for that :)

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 8th, 2011, 7:01 am

^^^ Ent ^^^

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 13th, 2011, 1:57 pm

What diff and engine oil you guys using on the hilux?
3.0 2010 model....

turbohead

Postby turbohead » July 13th, 2011, 10:19 pm

most oils out there are remarkably good. wrt engine oil you should stick to wat you using already and if you wanna change gear oil at the 40k interval you could use the mobil 1, amsoil, RP. amsoil has a slip lock for your lsd which when used with the amsoil gear oil feels really nice

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 29th, 2011, 7:55 am

Using the slip lock currently, but i probably won't reccomend it for everyone. Thing is it works well but it locks too much for normal driving, makes the lsd feel alot more tighter and with the all terrain tyres it makes wet corners a little scary.....
For off-road it should be a huge help for traction though.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 29th, 2011, 11:51 am

What do you guys think of running synthetic diesel engine oil in an older diesel engine e.g. 5LE or 1kz-te?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 29th, 2011, 6:02 pm

Well i changed oil yesterday and i put the Amsoil 15-40 x3 that i was using in the 2010 model.. Will tell you what happens... I ran NP Ultra for the last 3000km and when i drained it yesterday i didnt like how dark and slushy it looked.....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 29th, 2011, 6:11 pm

sweeks - i don't see why not.

Premera

Postby Premera » August 6th, 2011, 7:18 am

ok guys, so i coming down d highway last lite at 140 - 150km/h, using the low 3 to kick down when overtaking and then back in drive.......

As i approached Caroni Bridge, i felt a stutter in the rev of the engine, then the battery, engine and another light came on and the van seemed to have lost all its power, i pulled to the side of the road, switched off and started back, i heard a loud clacking sound and saw lots of greyish ( white and black mixed ) from the exhaust. I drove the van slowly home with the clacking noise becoming more loud as i tried to accelerate.

AS i stopped in front my gate and put it in neutral to open the lock, the clacking sound remained even though the van was just idling and the smoking was heavy.

I saw significant black soot on the exhaust tips......LOTS of it......

Mechanic says probably the injector seals or ring washers got blown.......

Service station says it could be the fuel filter.........( changed back in April 2011 )

Problems, recommendations, solutions anyone ?

Thanks much.....

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » August 6th, 2011, 4:27 pm

After reading that i still cant believe that you drove that Hilux home like that... Dammmmmmmmmm

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 6th, 2011, 9:07 pm

Are you using OEM fuel filters?

Start with the basic troubleshooting before you start spending big $$$

turbohead

Postby turbohead » August 6th, 2011, 10:38 pm

give me a call 4952320

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 7th, 2011, 9:33 am

Got an oil leak coming from the rear diff on the YN106 lux (1992)... I suspect it's the pinion seal... Gonna get it check out next week.
Last edited by sweeks on August 7th, 2011, 3:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » August 7th, 2011, 11:00 am

^^^ Photos Sweeks! ^^^

pickupguy

Postby pickupguy » August 8th, 2011, 9:32 am

Where can I buy a bedliner and cover for the tray? Roll N' Lock is good? Any thing better?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 8th, 2011, 10:38 am

When it comes to tray covers, you have three choices

1. Rolling shutter type covers
2. Leather / Nylon fabric covers
3. Hard plastic covers

1. Rolling Shutter
The best on the market is Roll N Lock. There are several brands out there that give the same style of cover, but Roll N Lock is the best quality and most sturdy one. It's available from West Bourne Trading, 683-1101. I personally went to their warehouse where they were installing a RNL for a brand new Hilux to be delivered to a customer from TTTL, and the guy invited me to close the shutter and try opening it when locked. That thing is like a freakin' vault, I couldn't budge the damn shutter. They put in a set of latches onto the tray gate and it locks into the latches and is almost unbreakable. Plus the seals on the sides are water proof, the guy showed me by pouring some water over it and it ran right out.
I believe the average cost would be approx $10500.00 for the Hilux and Navara.

There are other brands of rolling shutter covers, but I've seen most of them and IMO, the RNL gives you the most space and is the highest quality one, plus they give you a lifetime warranty on the RNL. There may be other guys who'd bring down and install the RNL covers, but these guys are WestBourne offer you a Warranty, the other independent guys don't.

2. Fabric Covers
These serve the same purpose but are less secure than a rolling shutter. Most common design is to take 3 sticks and have they lay across the tray then the cover stretches across it. Often the cover will be secures to the tray by using snap-on buttons, that they have to drill into the tray to lock down.
Mostly effective for keeping your tray dry, but won't keep the thieves out.
Check Enaiths (behind Bhagwansingh's Chaguanas, right opposite Kiss factory) - 665 5825
When I called, they quoted me about $2500 or so to do my Navara.

3. Hard Covers
These include the CarryBoy and other brands of tray covers. They're usually made of hard plastic, weigh a lot more than the RNL and fabric covers, and can be very expensive. I'm not sure who sells it locally, because AFAIK carryboy doesn't sell them as retail. You can check 4x4Trinidad for them - 672-4691, they may be able to help you out.
The carry boy covers come in various configurations, from the manual release ones to the fully motorized decks, which can come in handy if the driver is small (eg. if your wife is using the truck and has to load stuff in the tray). Not sure on the price, so check 4x4trinidad.

pickupguy

Postby pickupguy » August 8th, 2011, 11:02 am

thanks alot man... appreciate the info

pickupguy

Postby pickupguy » August 8th, 2011, 12:12 pm

Just called West Boure Trading...

RollNLock $10,800.00 + VAT
Spray on Liner $3000.00 + VAT

Total $15,870.00 VAT inclusive....

Hrmm.. I wonder how much the other guys charge who also bring down RollNLock ?

ltech

Postby ltech » August 11th, 2011, 5:44 pm

Hi guys, I have problem...... a 07 local yota 4x4 now approching 80,000 km, and i have been hearing a noise that is a bit of concern to me.......
The noise is only heard when the clutch pedal is up...., but when the pedal is pressed the noise stops...... reported it to tttl many times only to be told..... "its nothing", or de mechanic not hearing any noise",,,,,,

Any suggestion???? has this ever happened to you guys???

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 11th, 2011, 9:12 pm

Not a mechanic but it could be a sign of clutch failure.... Release or pilot bearings...

Postby Team Loco » August 12th, 2011, 6:28 am

ltech wrote:Hi guys, I have problem...... a 07 local yota 4x4 now approching 80,000 km, and i have been hearing a noise that is a bit of concern to me.......
The noise is only heard when the clutch pedal is up...., but when the pedal is pressed the noise stops...... reported it to tttl many times only to be told..... "its nothing", or de mechanic not hearing any noise",,,,,,

Any suggestion???? has this ever happened to you guys???

simple, your clutch release bearing is going bad.

ltech

Postby ltech » August 12th, 2011, 10:03 pm

Ok...... Thought so but was still doubtful seeing its "almost" new....... The other yota I use to drive has 130,000, and still quiet as can be......Hmmm???

One more thing, seeing that the bearing is going, should I change out everything one time???? clutch, pressure plate, clutch release bearing, and Is there another bearing???? not too sure, and the rear engine seal???

I've been reading on some forums that somtimes the clutch fails before 100k so that is why I'm thinking to do the complete service....... what do you guys think???

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 12th, 2011, 10:21 pm

Ltech the only way you'll know for sure is when you drop the gearbox and look at the individual parts.

Changing out all the parts is a good but expensive idea. Then again you'll have to weigh that against the labour cost of having to drop the gearbox.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » August 12th, 2011, 10:28 pm

i agree with TL, your clutch release bearing is going bad.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”