Build Project: Suzie!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
nos_specialist

Re: Build Project: Suzie!!

Postby nos_specialist » November 22nd, 2012, 12:14 pm

ah boy, u doin good..... how much is the cost so far man?

neckto

Postby neckto » November 23rd, 2012, 12:11 am

lighthammer wrote:
De grass lookin neat bai, like de yardman pass through orrr?.

Aye look a bbq pit! like yuh ready to fire up de grill when de wuk finally done!

lol yea bro, finally got time to fix back the lawn mower

xmas coming, just now is time to put suzie on hold and put down some grilling n :drinking:

neckto

Postby neckto » November 23rd, 2012, 12:19 am

nos_specialist wrote:ah boy, u doin good..... how much is the cost so far man?

hoping to round off at completion at around fiddy

neckto

Postby neckto » November 23rd, 2012, 12:31 am

update:

finally...........finally, after the third try, we got the equipment set-up and working right and was able to do a good primer application yesterday. rubbed down and painted today. hope to lay on the pearl and clear coat in the morning.

learning the new spray gun

finally got most of the dings out

Thanks to GOD for the good weather

not prefect, but we learning from mistakes and getting better

neckto

Postby neckto » November 25th, 2012, 12:19 am

update

now posting pics of the completed sections with the pearl and clear applied and dried.

trying to get this crappy phone to take a good image of the pearl n clear

Postby Morpheus » November 25th, 2012, 1:26 am

Looking good man.

neckto

Postby neckto » November 25th, 2012, 5:25 am

Morpheus wrote:Looking good man.

yep came out good for a painting :n00b:

neckto

Postby neckto » November 25th, 2012, 10:28 pm

update

took out the front seats to paint the brackets and the exposed seat frame

before

after wonder

closer look at the brackets we made

primed

painted

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 26th, 2012, 10:00 am

wow ... thats all i can say ..
u put in so much love into that work suzie musbe worth more than u can put a price to

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 26th, 2012, 10:22 am

aye look 50% off sale at catwalk!

neckto

Postby neckto » November 26th, 2012, 2:21 pm

MonsterPower wrote:wow ... thats all i can say ..
u put in so much love into that work suzie musbe worth more than u can put a price to

thats for sure.......ROI = bust!!

neckto

Postby neckto » November 26th, 2012, 2:24 pm

lighthammer wrote:Image

aye look 50% off sale at catwalk!

lol bro, imma buy a punch just for u!!

Nperry

Postby Nperry » November 26th, 2012, 5:29 pm

This post keep amazing me bro. Well done

Postby ronsin1 » November 26th, 2012, 6:53 pm

I hope when I get around to starting my project it will be an epic build like this

neckto

Postby neckto » November 27th, 2012, 8:53 am

Nperry wrote:This post keep amazing me bro. Well done

thanks.......the support is awesome

neckto

Postby neckto » November 27th, 2012, 8:56 am

ronsin1 wrote:I hope when I get around to starting my project it will be an epic build like this

good luck........but i hope it don't have another vechicle that is as intricately and thoroughly abused as this one was tho

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » November 27th, 2012, 9:21 am

doin great man......well done well done,

neckto

Postby neckto » November 27th, 2012, 9:04 pm

nos_specialist wrote:doin great man......well done well done,

thanks.........not done yet...plenty to do still

neckto

Postby neckto » November 27th, 2012, 9:22 pm

update,

progress kinda slow right now for some reason.. sigh...anyways......

have more upholstery odd n end to paint...........went n found some better stuff, for those who were interested.......im going to try this now. the first set worked ok. the rustoleum as real crap, so depending on how this works, i may use it on the outside parts.

painted the ring laces - no pic yet

and some other odds n ends.

also painted the hinges and door catches so i could start putting back on the doors

while that was drying - i decide to finally pay some attention to the bonnet (hood)

managed to power wash off, most of the (four in total) layers of previous paint etc back to the factory coating

the rest will have to be removed by hand

look, Rat Rod Suzie lol

check this!!

u ever cut the speaker to fit it in the door? lol these engineers did - i just have to hook these up to hear how they sound "customized" lol

Postby sliderz1 » November 27th, 2012, 10:38 pm

TRENDSETA

Postby TRENDSETA » November 28th, 2012, 10:45 am

so the rustoleum is failure hmmmm......i bought some Krylon fusion for plastics .plan to do some test pieces. Keep us updated on how the new stuff works out ...and feel free to mention where you got it!

neckto

Postby neckto » November 28th, 2012, 10:56 am

TRENDSETA wrote:so the rustoleum is failure hmmmm......i bought some Krylon fusion for plastics .plan to do some test pieces. Keep us updated on how the new stuff works out ...and feel free to mention where you got it!

yea, the paint not adhering to the rustoleum primer.

will do on the maxmayer

neckto

Postby neckto » November 28th, 2012, 1:09 pm

Guys,

time to buy a battery, what u all recommend?

neckto

Postby neckto » November 29th, 2012, 9:55 am

neckto wrote:
TRENDSETA wrote:so the rustoleum is failure hmmmm......i bought some Krylon fusion for plastics .plan to do some test pieces. Keep us updated on how the new stuff works out ...and feel free to mention where you got it!

yea, the paint not adhering to the rustoleum primer.

will do on the maxmayer

ok so far the Max Mayer works the best, i feel comfortable to use that over the others for the door mirrors n bumper etc. much better finish and sturdy adhesion so far, used this on the ring laces and even with the bending up while installing etc i see no cracking or chipping etc.

neckto

Postby neckto » November 29th, 2012, 10:09 am

update:

Putting some odds and ends and parts back together

Sanded, cleaned and painted the gear shifter

trying to get the door runners to fit back, most of the clips into the panel are broken, so i will have to find another way to attach them properly

making sure the audio wiring is fitting properly under them

Ring laces - tried to get a semi gloss look like the dash using aerosol paints, painted the gloss first then re coated with the matte but it still come out like gloss, i believe i didn't wait long enough for the first coat to dry enough before putting on the matte - but not looking too bad one time

Seat belts back inside

and coverings for them

Kick Panels

Door catches and "door open" switches reinstalled

Ready for door fitments

jpec

Postby jpec » November 29th, 2012, 3:05 pm

:D:D so close yet so far! looks really good! one question tho. why are you putting back the interior pieces now if the carpet isn't installed yet?

neckto

Postby neckto » November 30th, 2012, 7:08 am

jpec wrote::D:D so close yet so far! looks really good! one question tho. why are you putting back the interior pieces now if the carpet isn't installed yet?

lol yea, still a ways to go.....interior pieces had minor repairs to the clips etc, so making sure they fitting and don't need further repairs, also to make sure the audio wires fitting inside or under them with room for the carpet to go over without bulging, also with the runners on the panels, want to put on everything that would interact with the door before putting back on the door n lining it up so i wont have problems........the carpet will be installed by a upholsterer so they will be out of the way until i can take it to get that done.

jpec

Postby jpec » November 30th, 2012, 2:07 pm

neckto wrote:
jpec wrote::D:D so close yet so far! looks really good! one question tho. why are you putting back the interior pieces now if the carpet isn't installed yet?

lol yea, still a ways to go.....interior pieces had minor repairs to the clips etc, so making sure they fitting and don't need further repairs, also to make sure the audio wires fitting inside or under them with room for the carpet to go over without bulging, also with the runners on the panels, want to put on everything that would interact with the door before putting back on the door n lining it up so i wont have problems........the carpet will be installed by a upholsterer so they will be out of the way until i can take it to get that done.

oohh, makes sense now lol....build is coming along really nicely tho...it'll be bittersweet for me to see it finish..bitter because i won't get to read an awesome build like this ever again, and sweet cuz i'll get to see it the finished product :lol:

neckto

Postby neckto » December 1st, 2012, 6:59 am

jpec wrote: oohh, makes sense now lol....build is coming along really nicely tho...it'll be bittersweet for me to see it finish..bitter because i won't get to read an awesome build like this ever again, and sweet cuz i'll get to see it the finished product :lol:

yea i know what u mean............my pops sold his "betsy" last week which he had for close to 30 yrs, happy to get rid n upgrade to something newer n more modern. sad that it gone in retrospect, if i had the means i wouldve loved to do a rebuild on that and keep it in the family

neckto

Postby neckto » December 1st, 2012, 7:00 am

neckto wrote:
jpec wrote: oohh, makes sense now lol....build is coming along really nicely tho...it'll be bittersweet for me to see it finish..bitter because i won't get to read an awesome build like this ever again, and sweet cuz i'll get to see it the finished product :lol:

yea i know what u mean............my pops sold his "betsy" last week which he had for close to 30 yrs, happy to get rid n upgrade to something newer n more modern. sad that it gone in retrospect, if i had the means right now, i would've loved to do a rebuild on that and keep it in the family

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”