TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby Team Loco » February 16th, 2011, 10:34 pm

venum wrote:So lemme make it official

I upgraded from my 2003 K74T to a 2007 KB8 Sportero auto (Animal in the UK)

couple guys who have me on Facebook like Speedy have already seen her

her name is Teri

got her doing just under 75,000km in pristine condition

Carryboy front bar and motorized GSM tonneau cover (both of which are for sale)

she works like a charm - plenty power that 4M41 DiD makes, plenty power

I have started some maintenance already - took her to DM yesterday for a checkup and oil change

put in Amsoil 15W-40 synthetic oil and OEM filter, changed Diesel filter (OEM) and did an allignment

I also changed the air filter - did not use OEM. went with a Horim Motor filter

paid $75.00 for it

i,ve used this brand before. good for air filtration, kinda poor for oil and diesel filtration.

venum

Postby venum » February 17th, 2011, 7:54 pm

Good to know

never used any of their products before this

I knew they were mostly korean parts as i saw plenty mech using them in teh korean vehicles

I not gonna try oil or diesel filters from them - strictly OEM with Amsoil products

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » April 5th, 2011, 4:56 pm

Hey guys I am a newbie I am the proud owner of a 4D56 KA4 L200/triton 4x4 5 forward gear box I think I am correct in the description. Anyway bought local and its 5 year old now. I am looking for some back springs and rubbers. I am getting a sticking noise when pulling off on the right side only the mechanic said that it is the shocks and rubbers.

Price for Back Shocks and a set of spring and shock rubbers.

jasonc

Postby jasonc » April 7th, 2011, 8:18 am

Guys,
I just made 100,000km with my L200 Sportero.
What service do I need to perform on it now ?
Also, I was using 5W40 Mobil1 - Do you think I should continue using this or should I use a little heavier body oil now.
Plz advise.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 8th, 2011, 12:08 am

jasonc wrote:Guys,
I just made 100,000km with my L200 Sportero.
What service do I need to perform on it now ?
Also, I was using 5W40 Mobil1 - Do you think I should continue using this or should I use a little heavier body oil now.
Plz advise.

Radiator flush
Differential oils changed and transmission fluid flushed and changed
Brake discs and rear drums checked/changed
Fuel system bled and cleaned, fuel filters changed
Change shocks
Check all belts
Check A/C lines for proper pressure and any leaks
Check battery and alternator, ensure it's charging properly
change tyres if applicable.

Postby equipped2ripp » April 8th, 2011, 3:17 am

^ you don't change shocks every 100k :S

You would change the belts though, and the timing belt or timing chain... Whichever one it uses.

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » April 8th, 2011, 5:09 am

Anyone know where I can get a manual for an L200 sportero 2.5 4D56. Need some. Info for the Machanic tapper clearance

jasonc

Postby jasonc » April 8th, 2011, 8:19 am

Thanks for the info lighthammer,
I changed all the belts @ 90,000 KM.
The belts were really brittle.
When I bent the belt, it broke like a biscuit.
DM is handling all the other stuff for 100,000 KM service.

venum

Postby venum » April 22nd, 2011, 10:01 pm

been using my TC a bit regularly past couple weeks,

One thing I notice is that the KB model experiences suspension windup MUCH faster than the K74 model

Almost zero tolerance on paved surface

Sportero fellas, post your fuel economy values nah . . .

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 23rd, 2011, 1:25 am

^^ i remember someone on the "ultimate weekly mileage challenge" thread posting an 800+ km figure on a 2.5L manual Sportero. Also, the 2.5 D4-D hilux does excellent figures too, more than 700km per tank.

The bigger-engine, premium models tend to burn a bit more diesel.

Postby ronsin1 » April 23rd, 2011, 6:05 am

HA in Three days I racked up 600 KM :mrgreen: this is with two days of work

DM gonna like me :?

venum

Postby venum » April 23rd, 2011, 8:09 pm

venum wrote:Sportero fellas, post your fuel economy values nah . . .

lighthammer wrote:^^ i remember someone on the "ultimate weekly mileage challenge" thread posting an 800+ km figure on a 2.5L manual Sportero.

thaz great mileage

lighthammer wrote:The bigger-engine, premium models tend to burn a bit more diesel.

The 4M41DiD engine loves the open road

on a daily basis driving from San Fernando to Pt. Lisas I get ~475km per tank ($75)

however when making San Fernando to POS runs everyday, I was getting 400km to 1/2 tank

the free open road made a lot of difference

lighthammer wrote:Also, the 2.5 D4-D hilux does excellent figures too, more than 700km per tank.

LH, while you are the Minister of Information, please don't post anything about those un-welcomed things in this Mitsubishi thread

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 23rd, 2011, 10:19 pm

^^^ hahahah! oh noess!! :P LOL! 400km to half tank! O.o! i want onneee!! :( checked mine last week b4 the clutch gave out.. got 510km to the tank.. ($85)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 24th, 2011, 6:55 am

lol sorry venum - that bit of hilux spam got past my filters, lol.

But yeah, I confirmed with another guy who has the 2.5 sportero, he regularly gets 700+ per tank.
I didnt' get to test-drive the 2.5L sportero, but I'd like to compare the difference in engine performance between the 2.5 and 3.2. From what we see on paper, the 2.5 is about as powerful as the 3.0L frontier (114HP and 315NM torque for the two of them) or the 3.0 1KZ hilux.

Anyone want to try to compare them, perhaps on the next diesel boyz run? I know venum has his 3.2 and the other guy just got his 2.5 sportero, so maybe we can compare and contrast on a mini-test drive on the next run?

venum

Postby venum » April 24th, 2011, 7:58 pm

700km is awesome

what are his runs like :?:

plk

Postby plk » April 25th, 2011, 3:47 pm

I also average 725km to a tank , 2.5 Sportero with a K&N, according to the computer we are looking at 9.1l per 100km.

venum

Postby venum » April 26th, 2011, 7:55 pm

^^^ chnage the display to read km\L and let me know what that equates to

venum

Postby venum » May 1st, 2011, 12:16 am

updates on first page

Postby ronsin1 » May 2nd, 2011, 3:30 pm

so I went for the first service this morning I did not know it was so expensive to change Oil :shock:

$340.00 labour with my own oil and filters

venum

Postby venum » May 2nd, 2011, 8:08 pm

^^^ yup . . . did that once, never again

so i tested my fuel warning light yesterday

came on when the driving range display was reading 63km

unfortunately I was not able to get a proper estimation of the mileage that I was able to get as I was in traffic for 2.5 hours the day before, so that messed up my mileage reading

the reading on the odo - 483km isn't accurate due to teh traffic yesterday. i would say that it would have been in excess of 550km, but taht is a guess

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 3rd, 2011, 1:03 pm

came on when the driving range display was 63 km

Yup, sounds about right. Reserve tank is usually 50km or so.

venum

Postby venum » May 14th, 2011, 7:03 pm

Got my OEM parts from Simpson Motors in Barbados at a fraction of a price to the local dealers

Oil Filter, Fuel Filter, Transmission Oil Filter, Brake Pads

TT$1898.00

Oil Filter

Same as the 4M40 oil filter and clearly marked change interval of 10,000km

Fuel Filter

clearly marked Denso

Transmission Fluid Filter

Brake Pads

clearly marked Tokico

comparison to the K74 model L200

teh Sportero KB8 is SMALLER :shock: yet it brakes better :D

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » May 14th, 2011, 10:21 pm

^^^datz a really good price on all those parts...I recently bought a set in the front brakes pad by ROC for $795.00 same model number and stuff

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 14th, 2011, 10:52 pm

venum u got the good stuff they bai.
Very good prices too.

Did u compare with ROC?
They have great prices too, well.. at least their markup isnt as terrible as DM.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 14th, 2011, 11:01 pm

Right... I can report now that our K34T L200 is back in action. Recently went for a transmission job by the mech and fuel-injector servicng and fuel-pump recalibration at Sookhai's diesel.

Jobs done:
- clutch plate changed
- release bearing changed

- 3 fuel injectors cleaned, 1 replaced (sourced a FU at Prabhu's, Bamboo)
- Fuel pump cleaned, serviced and recalibrated
- changed glow plugs for NGK plugs

- front and rear shocks changed, used Tokico shocks, sourced from El socorro auto supplies

When we first got the truck back, it was still smoking and hard starting. Had some white smoke and then black smoke on moderate acceleration. Idling was smooth though and revving was smooth as well. Power wasn't yet up to mark though. Sent it back to sookhai's - turns out the timing on the fuel pump was advanced out of sync. Fixed it and now the engine runs perfectly.

No smoke on starting now, idling is smooth and creamy, and power is back on tap. It's as if the truck got a rejuvenation and it's running almost like factory-new. My dad loves how powerful the ol' K34T engine is now. Top end is around 130-140km, the engine is showing some age - 247,000km on the odo. But it still pulls like a bull, and my dad says he doesn't want to sell anymore :) :) (he real likin' heself eh....).

Only thing left to do is swap out the generic AC compressor and the fan is from a B13. Looking to source a compressor and fan from an L300 - anyone know any good sources?

I'll try and post some pics up, when my dad decides to leave the L200 home. Right now he just crusin on the road, happy as a clam.

Postby ronsin1 » May 15th, 2011, 6:44 am

So DM called me a couple days ago about 6 in the evening (was shocked at the time) to ask how was my experience on the service.

Told her:-

1. They told me to bring in the truck between 7-9 am by time after they will not accept it for service The vehicles was sent in before 7 am someone check it in and I ask what time should I return they guy stated 10 am being the on time person I am I reached there at 10 am to collect at this point the vehicle was now going to change the oil. I ended up collecting the vehicle after 1 PM which in my book is a waste of my time.

2. I am seriously concerned about the price to change oil how can one pay $340.00 TTD to change oil. I mean it is just to drain oil change filter and replace oil. How hard is that.

woman asked if this was the only two issues I stated yes.

She then proceeded to say they will looking into it and get back to me :|

Hey at least they called to find out right.

venum

Postby venum » May 15th, 2011, 9:30 am

LH I did not even bother with ROC as I saw their ad last year as realized that some was too good to be true

Kritical kase checked them and realized some of the "OEM" parts they were advertising were in fact not OEM

As for the service by DM ronsin, that is the reality of dealer prices

There is a fair amount of work to be done to change the oil as the filter is somewhat hard to access unless you remove the sump shields under the engine

Whether it is §340.00 worth of work is for you to decide

Chepest thing there was the alignment and you get a printed report of the alignment when they are done

LH, that is some real good work done on the K34

Interested to know what the pump servicing costed as well as the clutch work

Why didn't you guys change all injector tips given that 1 was bad and a major service was being done :?:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 15th, 2011, 11:28 pm

^ the guy at sookhai's said 3 of them were still in good condition - the one that needed replacing didn't actually have anything wrong with them, what happened was the threading on the injector was damaged so it wouldn't screw back in.

So we just went and bought a F/U one from Prabhu's, was $120 for it, good to go.

Meh fadda using he van to haul stuff right now so mebbe later in the week I go put some stuff up.

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » May 19th, 2011, 8:48 pm

Hey guys just posted some Mitsu genuine Filters for sale

pm me if interested..

viewtopic.php?f=41&t=373987

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » May 30th, 2011, 7:31 am

Hey guys I have my tce 4x4 sportero for sale non turbo asking $165000,00tt or best price it's in best condition must see 6887444
photo2.jpg

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”