L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
ryanm

Re: L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby ryanm » June 11th, 2010, 6:14 am

the stock cap will suffice. The 1.3 bar is actually 18.?? psi which you will only need if you doing serious racing or our climate gets really hott.
The pressurized system is actually to raise the boiling point of the water.

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » June 11th, 2010, 8:41 am

thanks i will keep the stock one for now...

by the way i saw your van yesterday it looks good. i was in the back of you and i turned up El Dorado Road at Macoya Junction from the Eastern Main Just before the lights changed ...LOL. (Red L200)

ryanm

Postby ryanm » June 11th, 2010, 9:03 am

I remember. I was looking at it. What size tires do yo have. I running 275/70/16 (what i bought the van with)and I want to go bigger.

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » June 11th, 2010, 9:36 am

i have 265-70-16 not the stock that my van came with as you saw by the rims but the run real smooth.
why you want to go bigger?

l200

Postby l200 » June 11th, 2010, 5:32 pm

^^^^ what model vans do you guys have, ah looking to run 265/70/16 on my k34, but not for long, hoping to get some 15' rims soon. So if they can fit I'll put them on cause getting that size for $200.00 in Couva ( f/used).

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 11th, 2010, 8:03 pm

they have the K74T's

venum

Postby venum » June 11th, 2010, 10:07 pm

K74 - 265/70/16

ryanm

Postby ryanm » June 12th, 2010, 2:07 pm

aye venum . yuh get through wid d brakes problem you were experiencing?

i had 33x12.5 /15 in my last van. k34 l200. I put 32x11.5/15 in the front. With those tires the van handled real sweet. never lost traction even on wet roads.
Also I find the van looks more rugged with the bigger tires.
The k74s can handle the bigger tires better as the differential ratio is higher.
Anybody ever saw 32x11.5 / 16 ?
Where?
These will be ideal, the 32x11.5/15 are 1" taller and 2" wider than the 275/70/16.

venum

Postby venum » June 12th, 2010, 6:00 pm

i saw 33x12 @ mileage mack

mud tyres though

i ent sort it out yet - this week

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » June 14th, 2010, 8:34 am

hey ryan,
where do you underwash and engine wash your van?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 14th, 2010, 10:20 pm

i'm guessin one of the service bays in st. augustine..

ryanm

Postby ryanm » June 15th, 2010, 6:49 am

I engine wash formyself. Underwash at St Augustine $80 and I shockoil spray for myself too.

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » June 15th, 2010, 8:01 am

ok i see
what do you use to engine wash?
like what degreaser?
do you use a power washer?

venum

Postby venum » June 15th, 2010, 4:15 pm

be careful using high pressure water jet on your Intercooler

it bends teh fins

ryanm

Postby ryanm » June 16th, 2010, 6:33 am

I use diesel and soap first then let it soak for about 10 mins then I spray kleen off on it and finally use the pressure washer. (Is a lil one only 1200psi) but as venum says keep it away from the fins.
I also wash the condenser as I noticed there is a marked improvement in the ac cooling if it is very clean. I didnt realize it looses much cooling efficiency if there is a mild coating of dust on it.

l200

Postby l200 » June 17th, 2010, 10:31 pm

Well I use soap and water, and a little simple green were necessary. But be careful when using diesel and kerosene, they tend to dry out all rubber fittings it comes into contact with, also never put the pressure washer directly on your alternator, was told it is sealed, but wit high pressure, water will go where it not suppose to and it will shorten its life span.

I also wash the condenser as I noticed there is a marked improvement in the ac cooling if it is very clean........very true!!!

ryanm

Postby ryanm » June 18th, 2010, 7:00 am

also never put the pressure washer directly on your alternator, was told it is sealed, but wit high pressure, water will go where it not suppose to and it will shorten its life span.

Actually that's not true. Alternators are open to allow air to flow through to cool the induction coils and the diodes. water in the alternator will only reduce charging effeciency while the alternator is wet then return to normal when it dries out.
That's why if you put a snorkle on your van and intend on playing submarine you dont have to change your alternator.

venum

Postby venum » June 18th, 2010, 1:16 pm

ryanm wrote:also never put the pressure washer directly on your alternator, was told it is sealed, but wit high pressure, water will go where it not suppose to and it will shorten its life span.

Actually that's not true. Alternators are open to allow air to flow through to cool the induction coils and the diodes. water in the alternator will only reduce charging effeciency while the alternator is wet then return to normal when it dries out.
That's why if you put a snorkle on your van and intend on playing submarine you dont have to change your alternator.

that is also my understanding

those parts have drain holes that allow water to escape

same for your starter as well

I have recently learn't about the condenser on the Lancer

wash it out and the A/C/ works much better

l200

Postby l200 » June 19th, 2010, 2:02 pm

^^^True, I made an error......its the bearings and plastic components,..

When using degreaser and a pressure washer, it will do a good job of pushing the degreaser further into the alternator, allowing it to go into the bearings, also, some degreasers are not compatible with plastics,

So the water is not the issue,...

jus me an my hurried typing.....

>>>> sorry abt that<<<<

venum

Postby venum » June 19th, 2010, 6:36 pm

fellas

ah getting to the end of the road with driving gearbox

an auto calls meh

maybe next year

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » June 19th, 2010, 11:38 pm

WUSS lol
jk
traffic is getting a norm and not much fun when the left foot cramping LOL

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 20th, 2010, 2:49 am

traffic doesnt bother me na..

venum

Postby venum » June 20th, 2010, 6:44 pm

madman2961 wrote:traffic is getting a norm and not much fun when the left foot cramping LOL

especially when you tired an leaving work at 11:00PM and some drunk idiot decide to remodel the front of their civic on a light pole

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » June 20th, 2010, 8:30 pm

i does always tell ppl with civic to first get the magnet removed from their bonnets. they never learn.

Fahim you good. wait you have manual or auto?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 20th, 2010, 10:53 pm

is tru eh! civic men does drive like muffler bearings.... amm madman.... which K34 you kno ever came in auto??? :S

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 20th, 2010, 11:03 pm

on another.. fellas.. i need some help here... las nite while drivin home from couva.. i suddenly notice i significant loss of power while pullin off from a traffic light at st. marys junction... and alot of white smoke from the exhaust... i dont have a RPM meter so i cant say what rpm i was revvin at.. but the engine was sounding heavy... and then it started missin when i mash right down and relllll white smoke! :S rain was fallin heavy too.... so i take my time an drive home... no smokin when short shifting tho... and i cudnt cross 90 on the highway.. just wasnt goin... so i reach home.. park up.. say i goh leave it for this morning... so i gone.. heat plugs an bounce starter... start one time with normall puff of black smoke... i let it idle for a lil bit.. then i revved... as rpm builds up.. engine begins to stutter and miss... and rellll smoke.. white smoke... any suggestion here fellas?? checked radiator... was full... oil level is gud... soo.. i loss.. please help....

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » June 21st, 2010, 8:28 am

check your air, probably water gone in the air filter housing.
i doh know how easy that is but that is my guess.
(next guess is: did you let TL touch your van?)

but the next guess is (which i am hoping it is not) that a piston may have scorched or burnt. cause was the same thing that happened to my previous engine. but mine had overheated the day the pistons was burnt.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 21st, 2010, 12:59 pm

my engine never overheated... and ent if water enters the chamber the engine goh like FCUK up!? so i rell doubt is water... my guess its a fuel contamination problem.. the night it happened my fuel tank was like a gud way below quarter... this mornin i made it to the gas station and put in a $40... and well.. as i was pullin out of the station.. (NP) but a gud one.. i noticed i slight power increase... but white smokin stoped.. and it started Black smokin now at very low RPMs.. just got back home from a drive... d van cya reachh 100 dred.. and rell black smoke.. jes chcked radiator and oil level again.. all is gud... must be a injector or fuel contamination problemm.. i gone check ryanm this evening and well figure it out.. he lives in my area.. think glow plugs cud have anything to do with that?

venum

Postby venum » June 21st, 2010, 3:42 pm

Speedy, i doubt that is glow plugs

glow plugs get you started after that they are off

once your engine reach operating temp you should be in no need of glow plugs

i get white smoke when i start on mornings or remove the intercooler hose from teh intake manifold (essentially putting the engine in N/A mode)

my guess is bad fuel

if you can, drain the tank by removing the drain plug bleed out the lines and change the fuel filter

won't hurt to put a lil Amsoil in there as well

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 21st, 2010, 4:14 pm

i guessin bad fuel to.. but i doh understand... prior to this happenin.. i changed fuel filter 2 weeks ago.. and the last fill up i emptied a whole bottle of diesel concentrate to a full tank... so i was kinda rulin out bad fuel.. but i thinkin.. it had some sediments on the lines that got caught in the fuel pump or somthing... goin to check Ryanm now..

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”