Well I test drove the new Navara ...

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 25th, 2009, 1:42 pm

the only major problem with my Nav was the fuel system and regular treatments plus the Algae-X filter has tken care of that.

being the smallest engine of the lot, it is understandable why it has to rev higher to get the same power....but it is still the most powerful in its class

the non-protection of the TC is easily fixed by adding a skid plate....again this is owner choice cos only the owner will know what he wants to subject his truck to

for me, Navara FTW! :mrgreen:

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » May 25th, 2009, 8:49 pm

just want to say job well done to all the navara owners who have shared their expereinces and solutions. know every piece of info will assist present & future owners.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » May 25th, 2009, 9:15 pm

kriticalkase wrote:just want to say job well done to all the navara owners who have shared their expereinces and solutions. know every piece of info will assist present & future owners.

I concur ... An informed decision is the only one that should ever be considered.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 1st, 2009, 2:39 pm

BUMP... :mrgreen:

just keeping the 'prefered' 4x4 on 'top' in the forum... :mrgreen:

neckto

Postby neckto » June 2nd, 2009, 9:47 am

jed i tried to get the "preffered 4 X 4 " but i cant qualify for that amt from the bank so looks like 4 X 2 or used for me

Postby Greypatch » June 2nd, 2009, 11:59 am

do you really need to go off road ?

originalbling

Postby originalbling » June 2nd, 2009, 1:53 pm

So how much "light offroading" can the 4x2 handle? An unpaved/dirt road after rain falls, a light beach run, driving through some bush to get to say from main road to beach?

Wrt the issues with the navaras locally so far:

Issue#1
Sensitive Common rail fuel system

Fix: instal Algae-X

Issue#2
Squeaky bolts

Fix: Grease and use locktite

Issue#3
Diff backlash

Fix ?????

Issue#4
Squeaky leaf springs

Fix: Replace with Telfon

Issue#5
Unprotected transfer case

Fix: Install skid plate

Postby Greypatch » June 2nd, 2009, 2:40 pm

u cover basicall everything dey so far pallies...

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 2nd, 2009, 3:06 pm

I think for the diff backlash, I would suggest not to accelerate suddenly and then let go of the gas peddle, dat is one of the main causes of diff backlash. Accelerate at an even steady pace and u will be good to go.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » June 2nd, 2009, 4:05 pm

originalbling wrote:So how much "light offroading" can the 4x2 handle? An unpaved/dirt road after rain falls, a light beach run, driving through some bush to get to say from main road to beach?

yep...at least 30-60 mins exercise per month

originalbling wrote:Issue#1
Sensitive Common rail fuel system

Fix: instal Algae-X

Also: try to fill up at stations that have an above ground diesel storage tank or have a very high turnover. ask the taxi / maxi men in your area...they know where to get good diesel 8-)

originalbling wrote:Issue#2
Squeaky bolts

Fix: Grease and use locktite

those bolts are in a place where they stay wet for long periods. suggest sourcing stainless steel bolts as replacements

originalbling wrote:Issue#3
Diff backlash

Fix ?????

none. once the diff play is within tolerances, dsi. it works itself out after a while (>20,000 kms for me)

originalbling wrote:Issue#4
Squeaky leaf springs

Fix: Replace with Telfon

amm, not the leaf springs per se. the shock absorbing "bushings" between the leaves. also, a regular application of the lubricant will work

originalbling wrote:Issue#5
Unprotected transfer case

Fix: Install skid plate

unprotected is a matter of owner opinion. depends on how much offroading you plan to do.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » June 2nd, 2009, 8:27 pm

Good info especially from owners. So they really arent deterrents to purchasing, but just factors to bear in mind based on local conditions.

venum

Postby venum » June 2nd, 2009, 8:46 pm

originalbling wrote:So how much "light offroading" can the 4x2 handle? An unpaved/dirt road after rain falls, a light beach run, driving through some bush to get to say from main road to beach?

Based on what I have seen happen with 4x2's at beaches and Diesel Boyz runs with loose, dry sand, I wouldn't even think about taking a 4x2 there

Some dirt tracks, maybe

I think you can get 4x4 non-turbo for a decent price still

Postby Greypatch » June 3rd, 2009, 7:28 am

I have not felt the diff backlash to date...

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 3rd, 2009, 8:57 am

how many new truck owners, not only navaras, actually engage the 4x4...a lot of people purchased them because they wanted an automatic truck and only the 4x4 was mainly available....

do you think there would have been so many trucks on the road if they were all manual??

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 4th, 2009, 9:14 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:how many new truck owners, not only navaras, actually engage the 4x4...a lot of people purchased them because they wanted an automatic truck and only the 4x4 was mainly available....

do you think there would have been so many trucks on the road if they were all manual??

Correct is right, I have never used the 4x4 feature to date, main reason fro buyiing was exactly that.. an automatic pickup, and the fact that madam has an automatic licence.

Postby Greypatch » June 4th, 2009, 11:44 am

now there is the 4x2 auto navara on the market

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » June 4th, 2009, 1:53 pm

ray786, need to exercise the 4WD at least 15-30 mins per month.

i am sure you can find somewhere suitable :twisted:

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 5th, 2009, 7:26 am

^^ so my brother tells me, I guess he does that when he take the van for a 'lil spin' ever so often, as each time it comes back it is all muddy and dirty...

:mrgreen:

neckto

Postby neckto » June 5th, 2009, 1:59 pm

hear this

i talk to my cuz this week
he recently bought a nav from massy this yr (i think 4 x 2)
he say the diff backlash is real plenty and stressfull
he say they already had to change one diff for him at massy and also probs still exists, he say he gotta carry it in again to do something wrt the ecu to help eleviate/solve the problem
Also he has not had the squeeking problem as yet

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 8th, 2009, 12:45 am

Very impressive vid of a stock Mazda BT-50:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/QaXz_fRC5xA&hl=en&fs=1&color1=0x402061&color2=0x9461ca" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 8th, 2009, 12:56 am

Colorado / Isuzu vs Hilux vs BT-50:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/DhO92kX1rSQ&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0&color1=0x402061&color2=0x9461ca&border=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="580" height="360"></embed>

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 9th, 2009, 2:30 pm

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 9th, 2009, 2:54 pm

Slow, whammin... u hijackin the NISSAN thread with a FORD... LOL :mrgreen:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 9th, 2009, 3:11 pm

lol, this is MY thread friend get it right, after all the mulling and see sawing, I've come down to the Ford ...

They have the white above on display now ... Trying to arrange financing as I type this.

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » June 9th, 2009, 3:40 pm

the new ranger looks like a wingle upgrade :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Greypatch » June 9th, 2009, 5:36 pm

If u buy down south meh boi can help you out

Postby equipped2ripp » June 9th, 2009, 10:02 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:lol, this is MY thread friend get it right, after all the mulling and see sawing, I've come down to the Ford ...

They have the white above on display now ... Trying to arrange financing as I type this.

emo much? :lol:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 9th, 2009, 10:22 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:
Mr. Go Slow wrote:lol, this is MY thread friend get it right, after all the mulling and see sawing, I've come down to the Ford ...

lol only on Tuesdays :P

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » June 9th, 2009, 11:01 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:

man like he want to take back he ched yes :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby equipped2ripp » June 9th, 2009, 11:37 pm

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”