Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Lynky

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby Lynky » May 23rd, 2011, 1:55 pm

I have a new Hilux with Duraliner. The roll n lock was put on but they had to remove the chrome hooks from the duraliner in order for the track to fit. Now they say the hooks too big to go back on. So I have a pick-up with no hooks to tie anything down. Any suggestions on how to get replacement hooks?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 23rd, 2011, 4:17 pm

azlan wrote:I find that the brakeing system to be kinda unresponsive.... When I mash I dont feel the confidence that the van could come to an abrupt stop. No matter how hard I press it always comes to a slow casual stop....

Is your handbrake adjusted to the seven clicks recommended? I find when My own is so adjusted the braking is much better.The centre portion can be easily pulled up and the hand brakes adjusted!

If the adjustment is maxed out you can go below and adjust as well

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 23rd, 2011, 7:21 pm

Lynky look for smaller hooks.

Lynky

Postby Lynky » May 24th, 2011, 10:53 am

sweeks wrote:Lynky look for smaller hooks.

Thanks, but where?

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » May 24th, 2011, 1:00 pm

my cousin bought a new vigo he is looking for a chip or something that can raise the performance. Anyone know of anything locally which is used that is good?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 24th, 2011, 3:41 pm

^^ you talking about a piggy-back ECU chip or perhaps a re-mapped ECU chip.

It's available in places like UK and Australia, and folks there used them successfully. However with our crappy diesel, there may be problems with smoking and fuel-economy. I know of one guy who used an aftermarket ECU chip in a L200 Sportero with great results, but from what I remember he may have had a problem with smoking.

Also, I dont' think it's available locally either.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 25th, 2011, 11:53 am

Folks, I have a fairly new Hilux with the 3.0 engine.
Since I got the van the engine has never been washed partly because I am a bit hesitant to have the service station guys interfere with the van with all the electronics in the engine bay etc.

What do you guys do, do it yourself or can someone recommend a good place in the San Juan area to do this? It really becoming rather dirty now.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 25th, 2011, 2:54 pm

sweeks wrote:Updated Listing Feb 10

05-10 Hilux
Oil Filter 90915-YZZD1 $90

Fuel Filter 23390-0L010 $125

Disc Pads 04465-0k020 $750

Brake Shoes 04495-0k010 $850

01-04 Hilux
Oil Filter 90915-30002 $150

Fuel Filter 23390-64480 $360

Timing Belt 13568-69085 $360

Disc Pads 04465-35260 $750

Brake Shoes 04495-35230 $1,000

Stabalizer Rubbers 48815-14160 $90

03-10 Prado (kzj120)
Oil Filter 90915-30002 $150

Fuel Filter 23390-64480 $360

Timing Belt 13568-69085 $360

Boot rubbers 04427-60080 $750

Disc Pads (Fr) 04465-35290 $850

D4D fuel filters now available

Fuel Filter 23390-0L010 $125

turbohead

Postby turbohead » May 26th, 2011, 11:20 pm

lighthammer wrote:^^ you talking about a piggy-back ECU chip or perhaps a re-mapped ECU chip.

It's available in places like UK and Australia, and folks there used them successfully. However with our crappy diesel, there may be problems with smoking and fuel-economy. I know of one guy who used an aftermarket ECU chip in a L200 Sportero with great results, but from what I remember he may have had a problem with smoking.

Also, I dont' think it's available locally either.

you talk bout pugy, big strong white guy.. rell crazy sheit he have going on there, van does work rell nice. but there is a chip for the rail. call peak performance they have a shop called tune it, plug and play no hassle.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 27th, 2011, 3:42 am

TurboHead any -ve side effects?

joel

Postby joel » May 27th, 2011, 3:06 pm

i know a guy running one in his Hilux from peak perfomance....he having no problems.. real enjoying it. I want to bring in one from australia if i can

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 29th, 2011, 5:24 am

contact for peak performance....

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » May 29th, 2011, 7:35 am

Allyuh leave the Hilux alone nah!!!

turbohead

Postby turbohead » May 29th, 2011, 2:34 pm

6932908... supposed to be the correct number of the top of my head, check the threads in auto parts classifieds you will get it if not correct. the -ve effects i could see is that you may burn a bit more fuel than usual due to the power gains and also you could unjack it and go back to the firm and have no problems with warranty

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 14th, 2011, 7:13 am

Thread quiet boy ... Lemme go check the 1kzte and top up something ... Better yet let me go check the old 4y and top up everything :)

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » June 15th, 2011, 12:02 pm

Fellaz im looking for a Repair Manual LN166 2004 Hilux....

Any info pm me or e-mail..

fire_fighter786@hotmail.com

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 15th, 2011, 8:52 pm

Give Bleeding Freak or Stuckinmud a call, I'm sure they have one.
Last edited by sweeks on June 27th, 2011, 7:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 17th, 2011, 7:08 am

sweeks wrote:Give Bleeding Freak or Stuckinmud a call, I'm sure they has one.

*scratches head*

Whats that? Why would I need one again?

Postby Team Loco » June 18th, 2011, 1:29 pm

*Phoenix* wrote:Fellaz im looking for a Repair Manual LN166 2004 Hilux....

Any info pm me or e-mail..

fire_fighter786@hotmail.com

you would not have needed one if you had bought my van :D
but the rate you does sell stuff, you might end up buying mine :mrgreen:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » June 18th, 2011, 1:43 pm

^^^ I dont need it to do repairs.. I want it to learn about the vehicle...^^^

2003 toyota hilux workshop manual (LN166) Still looking..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 18th, 2011, 8:00 pm

did you register on www.newhilux.net ?

They might have something on the forum there....

Postby Team Loco » June 20th, 2011, 7:59 pm

*Phoenix* wrote:^^^ I dont need it to do repairs.. I want it to learn about the vehicle...^^^

2003 toyota hilux workshop manual (LN166) Still looking..

just tell me when you wanna turbocharge it!!

Postby Team Loco » June 23rd, 2011, 9:37 pm

time to bring out the spare hilux.

i toasted my engine today.

strange piece of chain link wire found its way up into my engine area. smashed the fan which resulted in the blades slashing my new radiator. pics soon.

i am always one to keep my eye on my temp guage. not at 7am this morn when place was cold. only realised what had happened when the 3L started to knock. she's not starting now. still hoping for the best.
maybe its just a blown head gasket. fingers crossed.

and yes, it can only happen to me.........i could see biggy's face now

droppa

Postby droppa » June 24th, 2011, 10:11 am

i see why u have them in spares.....

pheonix....go by TL and charge it boi......

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » June 24th, 2011, 11:58 pm

Tl.. Oh TL ... Oh TL!!!..... :roll:

EPIC! :P

Go by TL and charge it my ass... Hehehehe..
I GOOD just so>>>

TL - Hope its not as bad as you suspect....
Looking forward to the Photos... :oops:

I got a TBS Hilux if you need an extra Spare.... :D :twisted: :D

Postby Team Loco » June 26th, 2011, 8:51 am

actually the engine is ok. the new radiator contained a retaining strap that got lose and hooked on the fan. radiator got busted in 3 spots. repaired already. engine is perfect. fan replaced but plastic fan shroud was destroyed and tttl has non in stock

Pheonix, its been over 130,000kms ago, the engine was turbocharged. the only reason it was torn down was because of using a used turbo that failed, causing engine oil to go directly into the combustion chamber. given a chance, i would turbo another 3L.
BTW, the TBM is being totally redone by an employee of a leading refinishing garage in marabella. may even go in bright metalic blue. new clutch and pressure plate already in......condenser is on its way from Jordan. new radiator going in soon, brand new clutch fan, etc

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » June 27th, 2011, 11:14 am

Yuh know meh email... Send Pics nah!!!!

Postby Team Loco » June 27th, 2011, 3:20 pm

nah, come visit in person. you will buy this one.

i just had a chat with one of Trinidad's leading radiator manufacturers. asked him about coolants. he recommends the texaco coolant. he said the oem manufacturers' coolant is just as good but you pay for the name. texaco coolant is just about the best he said

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » June 27th, 2011, 10:08 pm

I put Amsoil long life coolant in mines on Saturday... Last for 7 years...

Postby Team Loco » June 28th, 2011, 11:51 am

you shouldnt have done that.......

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”