Maintenance advice for the new RANGER

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
civic minded

Re: Maintenance advice for the new RANGER

Postby civic minded » April 1st, 2011, 5:33 pm

*Phoenix* wrote:You shoulda go with the Hilux newblood! The Ranger is not bad tho.... The Hilux is just far Superior... ;)
Smeed My insurance is up in June and I hating having to pay $10,000+ for insurance... We gotta come together and sort out best Full Comp insurance options... (I'm with Guardian General - Full discount...)
Perhaps a specific thread relating to insurance is in order!
Last edited by civic minded on April 2nd, 2011, 11:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » April 1st, 2011, 6:00 pm

u hav a point there that is 1 of d reason i choose the ranger ...Black fabric .....no creamy or grey stuff

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » April 1st, 2011, 8:07 pm

well im waiting on mine still from the firm (they rel sticking) and i guess after that i can make a well informed decision. But from asking around, the ranger was the best vehicle that suited my needs and price range as well. Thanks for all the info thus far guys :)

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 1st, 2011, 8:21 pm

carry on
Last edited by civic minded on April 2nd, 2011, 11:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » April 1st, 2011, 8:26 pm

civic minded wrote:yeah well - if your into Offroading , workhorse vehicle with lots of driving, luging around alot of load - rangers are suited.

couldn't have surmised it better myself :)

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 1st, 2011, 11:51 pm

civic minded - I dont agree with you on your comments about the Hilux not being Tough.... You donno what you saying. Plus what you talking about men become more soft and complacent.... LOL You funny yes... Real funny.

You said - "Thats why alot of the newbies choose the hilux and nav's cause they can identify them with cars." You have evidence to back that up... I bet not.... cuz most newbies dont but the Hilux - Most buy based on price or style and not a pickup thats similar to a car. If you take price out of the equation most 4x4 owners with the exception of those diehard loyal brand chasers would always choose the Hilux about the others...

I still say the Hilux is a Superior machine for it dominates in all areas.... comfort, safety, performance, looks etc....

Postby sliderz1 » April 2nd, 2011, 12:25 am

*Phoenix* wrote:civic minded - I dont agree with you on your comments about the Hilux not being Tough.... You donno what you saying. Plus what you talking about men become more soft and complacent.... LOL You funny yes... Real funny.

You said - "Thats why alot of the newbies choose the hilux and nav's cause they can identify them with cars." You have evidence to back that up... I bet not.... cuz most newbies dont but the Hilux - Most buy based on price or style and not a pickup thats similar to a car. If you take price out of the equation most 4x4 owners with the exception of those diehard loyal brand chasers would always choose the Hilux about the others...

I still say the Hilux is a Superior machine for it dominates in all areas.... comfort, safety, performance, looks etc....

and at d end of d day most ppl choose due to PERSONAL preference and liking whether on road or off road, family vehicle, rice etc.............and to som like myself who consider payload, durability, tow capacity , tray size and backseat space for d work horse

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 2nd, 2011, 6:38 am

delete.....
Last edited by civic minded on April 2nd, 2011, 11:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 2nd, 2011, 9:45 am

Yeah i do! See the way i see it is that in the past pickups were specific to WORK, now the leading manufacturers are realizing that people want a pickup that can be a hard worker and a recreational vehicle when it needs too. If a guy wants a vehicle that he can hose down the interior etc, why not just buy a small truck or a 3ton or something, even a tractor... The multifaceted modern person needs a multifaceted machine and all the pickups are there or heading there... (For those reasons)
I know even you knew that the Hilux is Superior... we all know it...
"Ok pheniox you want to get technical - fine , yes the hilux is far superior"
8-) :twisted: 8-)

badart

Postby badart » April 2nd, 2011, 10:23 am

the only reason why companies buy those rangers with their ancient suspension is because they cheap! lol toyota created the benchmark for pickup world about 7 years ago when they released the hilux with coil over springs, a larger cabin and tray while still maintaining its workhorse ladderframe. Now every manufacturer is following in the footsteps of toyota. As Phoenix said the hilux dominates all areas, its the best all round truck money can buy in our country. the world is changing so to everything in it, now pickups are better workhorses which can also be relaxing comfortable and fun to drive.

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » April 2nd, 2011, 2:46 pm

how could a hilux and a navara be a work horse and superior when 3/4 of them on the road have d biggest set of rims ...and unnecessary leds front and back ......padna of mine 4 rims on his hilux bent ...22" ....dys no work horse

nick009

Postby nick009 » April 2nd, 2011, 3:47 pm

but yuh padna chose to put on those rims not so? it didnt come with them

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » April 2nd, 2011, 4:25 pm

yes he put on the rims ......Probably to make it look like the ones that come from RORO dealers with them

Postby sliderz1 » April 2nd, 2011, 6:48 pm

nicholas7129 wrote:yes he put on the rims ......Probably to make it look like the ones that come from RORO dealers with them

dat is jus pure ricer motives......

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 2nd, 2011, 7:27 pm

yall are sounding like a bunch of children fighting....every1 buys their pickup for their own personal reason whether it be price or luxury etc.

and it makes no sense doing all this arguing cause no matter what at the end of the day your gonna back up what your driving, i came to read about maintenance advice not men fighting over which pickup is better they have other threads for that

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 2nd, 2011, 7:35 pm

Sierra-117 wrote:
Haunted wrote:dont offroad

may i ask y? cuz that was one of the deciding factors in purchasing the ranger. Or else i would have gone with a car or suv type vehicle.....

your gonna buy a brand new vehicle to offroad?
if u want a pickup for offroad i will tell u to choose between the ranger and hilux all depends on your style and what not....but offroading can take a serious toll on your ride

Postby sliderz1 » April 2nd, 2011, 7:47 pm

Haunted wrote:
Sierra-117 wrote:
Haunted wrote:dont offroad

may i ask y? cuz that was one of the deciding factors in purchasing the ranger. Or else i would have gone with a car or suv type vehicle.....

your gonna buy a brand new vehicle to offroad?
if u want a pickup for offroad i will tell u to choose between the ranger and hilux all depends on your style and what not....but offroading can take a serious toll on your ride

man rule out d ranger bejjrin yes...........d BT-50

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 2nd, 2011, 7:53 pm

and isnt the bt-50 and ranger the same exact thing at this moment?
just with a different name

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 2nd, 2011, 7:59 pm

at the bt-50 costs more than the ford

Postby sliderz1 » April 2nd, 2011, 8:02 pm

Haunted wrote:at the bt-50 costs more than the ford

d price is d onli thing i not sure bout.............buh wayyyyyz.....who woulda guess

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 2nd, 2011, 8:07 pm

BT-50
$195,889.00 2.5 4x4 d/c fully loaded

RANGER
$189,000.00 2.5 turbo 4x4 manual fully powered

Postby sliderz1 » April 2nd, 2011, 8:14 pm

besides the price .............while suspension and drive/powertrain is d same ...the ranger appeals more aesthetically.......i'd go 4 dat

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » April 3rd, 2011, 11:17 am

here wat buddy.....for off-roadin purposes buy a ole Jimny, FJ, LR or Patrol an like yuhself

leave d brand-spankin *NEW* Ranger home for on-road use, at least fuh nw.....caus yuh go cry wen yuh start damagin it

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 3rd, 2011, 12:28 pm

Hold dat.

3-week old Navara.
Baptized with mud, sweat and tears.

Didn't even make my first payment yet.

Blanchisseusse trail, christmas 2010.

What now?
Talk nah!?!?!

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » April 3rd, 2011, 12:34 pm

^^^doh act like yuh din cringe wen yuh was inspectin all d damages afterwards....

Postby sliderz1 » April 3rd, 2011, 1:14 pm

^^ tlk nah STREET TYRES an a rut

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 3rd, 2011, 1:52 pm

cuddles - ah was bawling bai!

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » April 3rd, 2011, 2:41 pm

lighthammer ....what kinda damage u sustained on that run ......body wise??

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » April 3rd, 2011, 3:03 pm

nicholas7129 wrote:lighthammer ....what kinda damage u sustained on that run ......body wise??

interested 2 kno the damage that was sustained also. But on a more positive, i didnt start this thread to find out about the personal preferences regarding vehicles. All truck owners will say that their truck is the best....... and they would be right, but it is the best for them. Can we go back to maintenance tips and does and don'ts thank you.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 3rd, 2011, 7:58 pm

^^ you can get some more info from the Ranger specific thread.

Since you will be buying a TDCI 2.5 - good practice to have is not fillup your diesel any and any gas station. Choose one that has alot of traffic, that way you know that the tanks are less likely to have as much impurities, Also buy the Amsoil Centene concentrate, it has been knocked about in the forums alot - so you will find dealers for these from the parts classifieds. The firm put this same concentrate into your van when you go into service and charge you a pound and crown for it. So when you go into service - request that they do not add the concentrate.

Change your tires as soon as possible - Bridgestone tires are terrible in wet traction, and horrible in off roading - trade them in for some nice Scorpions or other AT tires, reffer to the Tires tread for more details. Or you can do what i did - i traded my originals for some 17". The firm will allow you to go 17" or 18" without voiding warranty.

Another advice, get the ANSA Membership card - your entitled to one when you buy a ranger. It will give you discounts on parts and service from Mc Enerney as well as other merchants.

Finally remember that you own a truck now - so you need to change your style of driving. Trucks don't take corners too well and be very careful on wet roads, double your driving distance between vehicles. Always wear your seatbelt and practice defensive driving.

Happy Motoring!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”