Mr. Lighthammer!!.....

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Dunman

Re: Mr. Lighthammer!!.....

Postby Dunman » February 7th, 2011, 8:18 pm

Breads, the film there.

Take a knife and scratch by the corner (not by the screen eh).

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » February 7th, 2011, 9:05 pm

jus be careful eh venum an doh fack it up.....caus Dunman eh offerin a warranty wit dem instructions!!

venum

Postby venum » February 7th, 2011, 10:32 pm

take a knife to teri yuh say . . . Steups

that ain't no way to treat a lady

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 23rd, 2011, 8:21 am

so ammmmmmmm is jus me or is anyone else hesitant to drill dey shiny back bumper to install reverse sensors?? it have anyting else that doesn't require drilling of de bumper?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 23rd, 2011, 10:52 am

If u want professional installation, give Kazim Ali a call.

He's an installer and accessories dealer who's authorized by Neal and Massy, but he does outside work too.

He installed mine when I bought the Nav last november. Its the system with a distance indicator, tells u how much distance in feet & cm left, works beautifully.

Cost me $1400.
Kazim Ali - 6807104

Dunman

Postby Dunman » February 23rd, 2011, 12:22 pm

Note,

The bit it come with eh going thru the bumber so if you doing it yuhself, go to the hardware and get a good bit, same size of course.

It's not difficult, I did it on two other vehicles.

venum

Postby venum » February 23rd, 2011, 7:20 pm

so I can confurm that my revers mirror has NO film

the reflective surface is darkened

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 23rd, 2011, 9:27 pm

hope u didn't skratch it up eh venum!!

i tried kazim a couple times today buh he didn't answer.....i'll try again tomorrow

i paid a visit today to west bourne trading in el socorro......2800 for de spray on and 10500 plus vat for de roll n lock. dey gettin stock for de hilux nex week.

u all ever saw de 4x4's dey boys have? a nav and a ranger i tink....MT's on some small rims....real agressive look!

ohho and i made a pass by wheel wizards, dey have a maxxis alpha AT in 265/65/17 for 1100...not a bad price....tread looked decent enuff

badart

Postby badart » February 23rd, 2011, 10:53 pm

yea those roll n lock trucks with the suspension lift and MT tires look good.

the maxxis AT is not maxxis bravo AT? took any pics of the tire?

venum

Postby venum » February 24th, 2011, 12:22 am

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 24th, 2011, 10:09 am

ooops sorry is bravo (got meh greek?? letters wrong)

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 24th, 2011, 10:11 am

badart - sorry no pics ......was raining and de phone was in de van and de kids were crying.....i humbly apologise

badart

Postby badart » February 24th, 2011, 12:58 pm

no scene..you can also get kumho in 17's, i would post more info n pics in the 4x4 tyre thread

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 26th, 2011, 6:12 pm

so i went up to fernandes compound on friday and found Kazim's shop. Installed the reverser sensor with the distance display.....worked well in the shop.....by the time i got home, once reverse gear was engaged, the sensor just beeped....and kept beeping - even with nothing behind the van.

the distance indicator just remained blank, but the right side sensor indicator kept flashing. so i called them up and they told me to come back up

first of all they said it was due to the silicone they used to secure the sensor in place.....they scraped off the silicone and it seemed to work ok. i drove off and stopped a little way up the road...same problem.

i returned again...same thing. after they sraped all the silicone off....i left...same problem. on the third attempt, they pulled out the control box and changed it.....it started working again and worked fine until this afternoon....same crap happening again.

soooooooooooo once dis crap continues then mr Kazim WILL be getting a call from me bright and early on monday.....i assume i'll have to go up to the shop yest another time......

will keep u guys informed!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 26th, 2011, 7:50 pm

that happens to me sometimes when it rains and the sensors get soaked - but usually when it dries the problem goes away and they work as normal.

Sorry to hear that happened man, hope it gets sorted out.
Perhaps something is interfering with the sensors and registering as an "obstacle" to them, hence they beeping incessantly.

See if it happens when the van gets wet in the rain, and if it happens when it's dry.

Around

Postby Around » February 26th, 2011, 8:35 pm

i'll get dey soon

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 26th, 2011, 9:56 pm

this is a common prob, what happens is the sensor is discharging in the metal bumper, chrome bumper, i assume u have one
pick ups need a special line of reverse senors a little more expensive than that of the normal ones, some installers usually run out of these and use normal reverse senors
my advice ask them to swap out the bran of sensors and change it out completely
they did the installation for my nav, never had any problems with it at all from day 1

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » March 1st, 2011, 8:14 am

I had this reverse sensor problem when I did an install in the frontier, the bumper was chrome though. The sensors got squeezed and short when the bumper expanded with heat. Fix was to drill the holes wider and secure the rim of the holes with silicon because silicon can expand and contract. the sensors also were installed after applying the silicon on a bigger hole since the sensor has a big lip around its end

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 1st, 2011, 8:22 am

yup the guys did this as well.....slightly bigger holes and secured them with silicone.

they worked well for the past couple days.....hopefully they'll continue without problems.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 2nd, 2011, 2:55 am

Don't worry dude, the trouble will be worth it.

I use the sensors and distance indicator all the time to reverse-park in my workplace.
Saved my arse a couple times as well when parking in the mall, that big @ss of the Navara is difficult to maneuver in tight spaces.

Also useful with picking up passing pedestrians whenever I'm trying to reverse out of a parking spot by the sidewalk. Would've crushed ppl on a couple occasions were it not for the sensor picking them up as they walked into the blind-spot behind the truck.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 18th, 2011, 9:21 pm

glad i found this thread. doing lots of searches and taking in all the info.

so Kazim Ali is still the recommended guy to get a reverse camera system installed by? any other recommendations?

also i'll be installing the Roll N Lock and i prefer the look of the fibre glass roll bars. any suggestions on where i would be able to get them?

Havoc

Postby Havoc » October 19th, 2011, 7:09 am

u cant put anything on those fibre glass roll bars without the risk of damaging it eg. ladders, pipes, wood, steel, etc. so it serves no purpose other than to enhance the look of the truck

one day u'll wanna carry somting long and bulky in the tray and wish u had fabricated a steel pipe roll bar that cud actually serve a purpose wen u need it...

civic minded

Mr. Lighthammer!!.....

Postby civic minded » October 19th, 2011, 7:25 am

Plus in an actual roll over , the roll bar serves a purpose to protect the passenger compartment from collapsing. Saw that first hand !

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=10.534313,-61.406052

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 19th, 2011, 9:07 am

If you really want the bar, you can check, M Rampersad, or give 4x4Trinidad a call - 6724691

If you want some proper accessories for your truck, give mr moseley a call - 3749339 and he'll give you the really good stuff.

Postby sliderz1 » October 19th, 2011, 8:43 pm

the silver Roll & Lock Ranger with the lift and MT's has this no. on it :D
757-2118

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 22nd, 2012, 7:01 am

aye ... didn't wanna start a whole new ched.....

i gots meh original tires from the lux for sale..... see link

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=428613

was keeping it for a couple of guys who seem to keep on setting me up, so fack dem... its for sale and I cud knock a lil ting off it for one ah de boys

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”