Thinking of a brasso seco run saturday

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
venum

Postby venum » March 7th, 2010, 10:28 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:does the exhaust get damage.
Or do you all have a vehicle for off roading alone?

Before everybody and they fadda start comenting on this lemme say it first - YES YOUR EXHAUST CAN GET DAMAGED

SNIPER damage to your vehicle during off-roading is possible

The chances of it getting damaged during off-roading are increased as opposed to street damage

However, the damage is not guaraneed and avoidable

It's all in the way u drive and HOW u drive

Undercarriage, suspension and drivetrain damage is possible if u hit large rocks hard or drive unnecessarily hard over rough terrain (i broke 2 lift springs doing this)

Water in your alternator is likely when driving through high water - not a problem as manufacturers cater for this by making alternators and starters with drain holes

Compressors are usually sealed pretty good

Body damage is likely if u hit something

I have been off-roading and not incurred damage as well as gotten minor damage

If you get stuck in an awkward place and have to be recovered then u may suffer damage while being recovered

Again depends on what u do and how u do it would determine if u get damage

Most of us use or daily drivers for off-roading

4x4 pickup Trucks are built tough to cater for harsher driving conditions, so unless u plan on going off road with a pretty, pimped out drop low Civic, then don't worry too much

However, if you have a pretty pimped 4x4 pickup/suv on 24" rims and low profile tyres with fancy paint job and underbody neons where every falling leaf is a hazzard to it, then I suggest that u leave it parked in a garage and not take it off tarmac, not even on the lawn

Check the pics from previous runs to see where we go and what we do to get a better idea
Last edited by venum on March 8th, 2010, 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 7th, 2010, 10:53 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:I would really like to try off roading,first i have some questions
When you all go through water does it get into your alternator,compressor and other electrical parts? How do you all cope with that ?Do you have spare parts, does the under carriage get damage, does you axle get water in them,does the exhaust get damage.
Or do you all have a vehicle for off roading alone?

Use my daily ride for off roading..

Damage is always possible but highly avoidable once you know what you are doing.. I would always recommend doing a little reading on typical off roading techniques before attempting such, e.g. hill climbs, driving in / over ruts, water crossing, hill decents, speed in given situations etc.. Off road education goes a long way!

Having a spotter is also a great idea to help get you through tough terrain without problems..

Driving through deep water is never recommended.. Once water is deep enough to reach your alternator etc, extreme caution is in order..

Typical water crossing up to the axles is relatively safe.. just make sure your differential breather hoses are in good condition and located high enough..

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 7th, 2010, 11:06 pm

Thanks,
So how do i join is there an beginners run?

blackboy381

Postby blackboy381 » March 7th, 2010, 11:23 pm

ok so i think ill join in!.......... have a Auto 4x4 ranger...... completely stock.......
yea?.....no?

blackboy381

Postby blackboy381 » March 7th, 2010, 11:27 pm

is really ah sale ah want for meh van eh nuh ...... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: haha na .... but its beeen sum i always wanted to do.... with a group....... i offroad a good few times cuz i fass and i like trails...... but doin it with a group sounds like fun...... and meh van 4 sale..... ill put a FS sticker on it :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby 3stagevtec » March 7th, 2010, 11:30 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Thanks,
So how do i join is there an beginners run?

just fall in on the next off road run.. i would recommend asking the experienced folks about the terrain likely to encounter, so you would know in advanced..

note that on this pretty difficult brasso seco run, the majority of vehicles were in stock condition.. so you already have an idea of how far an unmodified 4x4 can go.. :wink:

Postby 3stagevtec » March 7th, 2010, 11:31 pm

blackboy381 wrote:is really ah sale ah want for meh van eh nuh ...... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: haha na .... but its beeen sum i always wanted to do.... with a group....... i offroad a good few times cuz i fass and i like trails...... but doin it with a group sounds like fun...... and meh van 4 sale..... ill put a FS sticker on it :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

put a lift kit on the EVO 7 and bring that instead.. :mrgreen:

venum

Postby venum » March 8th, 2010, 8:26 am

blackboy381 wrote:ok so i think ill join in!.......... have a Auto 4x4 ranger...... completely stock.......
yea?.....no?

come thru

but i would advise A/T tyres as a starter

cuz tyres are teh single best modification to any 4x4 vehicles

blackboy381

Postby blackboy381 » March 8th, 2010, 8:46 am

i think ill try my luck with my normal tyres....... ey, i with the pros!!! if i get stuck allyuh go gimmeh ah lil shub! lol...... how much do those tyres cost tho? average..
and to you mr.3stagevtec, ....... very funny........ :mrgreen:

gundelero

Postby gundelero » March 8th, 2010, 9:20 am

how do the A/T tyres run on normal roads? i heard it runs kinda rough and hard by some.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 8th, 2010, 11:37 am

gundelero wrote:how do the A/T tyres run on normal roads? i heard it runs kinda rough and hard by some.

alot of vehicles come with AT tyres from the factory now.. and because of the advances in thread design, new AT tyres run pretty quite! me and my pops are using AT tyres and they are never a bother..

actually, i've heard that some much more aggressive Mud Terrain tyres run pretty civilized on the road w.r.t. noise.. their only downside in traction in the wet..

gundelero

Postby gundelero » March 8th, 2010, 11:46 am

can u order a hilux from the firm with A/T tyres?

Ironman4x4

Postby Ironman4x4 » March 8th, 2010, 5:33 pm

Hey Guys REMEMBER I will give you all some offroading lessons if enough people want them. I will do this for free but if an individual wants to do it alone then there will be some cost. ALMOST all the stuff on trucks is designed to get wet you just don't want to run in deep SALT water or if you do wash it off ASAP. The water is not the problem the salt is. I drive my truck everyday with M/T's on it and go through pretty much anything (water, Mud, Bambo, ) I don't really care it is all in how you drive. You can beak an axle on the curb if you hit it hard enough you just have to know your limits and take your time. MOST OF ALL YOU HAVE TO LISTEN TO THOSE WHO OFFROAD ALOT. just look at their trucks you'll know who they are

blackboy381

Postby blackboy381 » March 10th, 2010, 8:59 am

woop woop!!!!!! where d ''ppl who comin'' list! :mrgreen:

blackboy381

Postby blackboy381 » March 12th, 2010, 6:08 pm

ey ... this thing still on ?!

blackboy381

Postby blackboy381 » March 12th, 2010, 6:13 pm

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: now seee the date!!! lol lol ....

Postby 3stagevtec » March 12th, 2010, 9:33 pm

blackboy381 wrote::mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: now seee the date!!! lol lol ....

:lol: next time man...

Ironman4x4

Postby Ironman4x4 » March 12th, 2010, 10:34 pm

We won't forget ya on the next run. It will be posted

ZD30DDT

Postby ZD30DDT » March 26th, 2010, 4:39 am

MAZDASPEED6254, IRONMAN4x4, and all offroaders:
Anybody up for a spin up Paria Beach side (not Paria Waterfall side)?

I'm off from work tomorow, but kinda booked up this weekend.

Could we organise something next weekend or onwards -anytime in April'10 convenient to all...

mazdaspeed6254

Postby mazdaspeed6254 » March 26th, 2010, 8:24 am

yeah i dont see it be a problem we could do something...

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » March 26th, 2010, 1:12 pm

hey give me some details to what you wanna do and i will know if i coming or not!

bt50

Postby bt50 » March 26th, 2010, 2:03 pm

let me know the plan and date...sounds good thus far

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » March 30th, 2010, 11:26 am

is there a huge performance difference with completely stock vehicles compared to the vehicles with simple mods like tires go up?

my vehicle stock but i friad :oops:

ZD30DDT

Postby ZD30DDT » March 30th, 2010, 9:11 pm

ruff neck chicken wrote:
my vehicle stock but i friad :oops:

RUFF NECK CHICKEN -With the dry season it should be fairly easy like on the Paria Waterfall side. (But if it is muddy then it would be very challenging.)

MAZDASPEED6254 did a scout of this trail a while aback. With the terrain dry we dont have 2 worry about the swampy sections...

So far I think 3 or 4 vans in.

Date still to be finalized...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”