What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
greatbear

Postby greatbear » December 4th, 2008, 5:00 pm

Amsoil super synthetic 5w - 40 (diesel formula)

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » December 4th, 2008, 10:29 pm

venum wrote:ok

teh 4D56 in that hasn't changed much to the early versions

so u cool still

The only problem I got and i dont know if it had anything to do with the oil, the turbo made extra noise and yuh had to beat up d x when the engine cold on mornings.

driveshaft

Re:

Postby driveshaft » November 7th, 2010, 1:23 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:what kinda oil he using? lemme guess, some cheap arse SAE 50 oil, which is designed for old oil burning diesel engines, because of its thick body. i'm sure his van is smoking, or will start to smoke eventually like an old truck.

i'm using Shell Rimula X in one vehicle, and Castrol Syntec Blend in another.

But shell rimula R4 is ....only $135 A GALLON & NP ULTRA $120,,,,not much difference

driveshaft

Re:

Postby driveshaft » November 7th, 2010, 1:39 pm

bladett wrote:i used to run shell rimula in the black bottle. I used it for 2 years & then switched to Castrol Syntec Blend because i dislike how thin the shell oils are.

very true.....shell rimula R4 really thin.....i like the castrol viscus.

MrCuddles

Re: What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Postby MrCuddles » November 7th, 2010, 2:23 pm

ah realise nobody usin royalp in dey trucks....wonder y :?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 7th, 2010, 11:51 pm

I've been using Shell Rimula oils in the Frontier and my dad's L200 for years now.

The L200 uses Rimula X, which is more suitable for older turbocharged diesel engines (the K34 engine does really well with it).

I used to use Rimula X on the Frontier, then I switched briefly to the Rimula Super (grey bottle) and now I'm using the Rimula R4, which is the replacement for Rimula X and Rimula Super. No problems, no smoking, no power loss, etc. and I don't think it's too thin either - if it's too thin then you can simply use a heavier weight like 20W50. I'm using 15W40 right now in the Shell Rimula R4.

The Rimula R4 is formulated for newer, low-emissions turbodiesels, like the D22 ZD30T engines and the Ranger's WLT engine (and similar generation engines). For newer, common rail engines like the 1KV-FTV D4-D, 4M41 D1-D, Yd25DDTi and WLC TDCI/WEC TDCi, you should use synthetic oils like Shell Rimula R6, Amsoil and Mobil 1.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » November 8th, 2010, 6:49 am

I'm using.
AMSOIL Premium API CJ-4 Synthetic 15W-40 Diesel Oil

http://www.amsoil.com/storefront/dme.aspx

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 8th, 2010, 7:00 am

I see Amsoil is now being promoted under ProLube - heard their ads on the new station 94.7 a couple times this week.

Amsoil wasnt' really promoted until now, dunno why though. Prolube used to supply McEarney Motors exclusively, then MEM switched to Total.

Guess they realized at Prolube they need to step up in order to keep selling.
Yay for us. Amsoil should be available more readily now.

droppa

Postby droppa » November 8th, 2010, 10:15 am

using the CRB Turbo on the 1KZ, and chage out at 5K intervals, im sure it can go for another 1K, saw berryman Diesel oil treatment, have to do some research on it and see how it looks,
the parts place man trying to sell me a newer castrol, think its Hypuron, but i good with the CRB, no oil loss, and my pressure guage reads where it suppose to even when the oil has done over 5K mileage mark.......

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » November 9th, 2010, 1:04 am

mitsu L200 k14... used to use the crb switch to the shell rimula X 15W40.. much better IMO.. smoother idle:) planin to change at 6k intervals...

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 10th, 2010, 8:31 pm

Ways.. men rez this thread.. good job reading ;-)

badart

Postby badart » November 10th, 2010, 9:46 pm

serviced a sportero yest at McEarney Motors and just realized they used mineral oil (total) in the van when it was using synthetic all the time WTH, they want to make u service every 5k to make more money!!!!

btw AMSOIL FTW

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 11th, 2010, 12:21 am

Used Shell Rimula Super on the 4D56T nearly all its life, and when i took off the valve cover the other day it was sparkling clean.. excellent detergent pack!

recently been using Castrol Hypuron, but will switch back to shell as soon as my stash is done...

Personally, most poeple wasting money on Amsoil for their diesel and could put that money to other maintenance issues they probably neglect.. But to each their own, and my own is not amsoil

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 11th, 2010, 6:15 am

Used Shell Rimula Super on the 4D56T nearly all its life, and when i took off the valve cover the other day it was sparkling clean.. excellent detergent pack!

^^^ Word!!

I would use Shell Rimula R6 for common rail diesels, it's cheaper than the Amsoil and just as good.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 11th, 2010, 7:03 am

how much for the shell?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 11th, 2010, 10:45 pm

Rimula R4 = $160 at LDG
Rimula R6 (synthetic) = $230 at LDG

Probably slightly cheaper outside.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 12th, 2010, 8:45 am

230 and amsoil is 260?
30 dollars difference?
hmmmmmm ill pay the 30 extra yes...but at least i know if i cant source amsoil i can always get the shell R^

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 12th, 2010, 9:49 am

cool scene bro.
The sjell R6 is formulated for common rail diesels and low-emission diesels.

I gonna use that in the new truck after the first servicing and switch out the Castrol CRB.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 12th, 2010, 6:58 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:230 and amsoil is 260?
30 dollars difference?
hmmmmmm ill pay the 30 extra yes...but at least i know if i cant source amsoil i can always get the shell R^

Is $250 for the Shell R6 by Laughlin man... not $230...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 12th, 2010, 9:43 pm

^^ oh ho, price raise then.
I was there the weekend they introduced it, I guess the introductory price was $230, else mine eyes doth deceiveth me.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 13th, 2010, 1:01 am

From experience, Laughlin charging more for Shell than half the parts places around the country...
Check Mathura's in St. James, they normally cheaper for oil than just about anywhere else....

And yes, I like shell's new bottle and products, have the entire range covered up to synthetic and definitely make it clearer which oil they recommending for what kind of engine..

Anyone ever try the Total Diesel oil? I have had great experiences with their synthetic gas oil but never tried diesel

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 13th, 2010, 6:52 am

^^ yah laughhlin a little more expensive than most places.
I only go'd there cuz t'was convenient for me to just buy the oil and change it one time.

I think I'll prob change service centers though, prob a lil' closer to home.
Was informed by my salesperson in N&M that AutoMotive Components and Masterserv are both under the Neal & Massy group, and could service the truck under warranty there, apparently their technicians are N&M-trained.

But whether at LDG, AC or MS, they all still cheaper than going to N&M for warranty-service.
Plus you could bring your own oil - so as soon as the 1000km service done, it's time for a K&N drop in and two gallons of Shell Rimula R6 :) :)

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 13th, 2010, 9:49 am

lighthammer wrote:^^ yah laughhlin a little more expensive than most places.
I only go'd there cuz t'was convenient for me to just buy the oil and change it one time.

I think I'll prob change service centers though, prob a lil' closer to home.
Was informed by my salesperson in N&M that AutoMotive Components and Masterserv are both under the Neal & Massy group, and could service the truck under warranty there, apparently their technicians are N&M-trained.

But whether at LDG, AC or MS, they all still cheaper than going to N&M for warranty-service.
Plus you could bring your own oil - so as soon as the 1000km service done, it's time for a K&N drop in and two gallons of Shell Rimula R6 :) :)

Kee kee keee

That man does go by Laughlin and Masterserv and thing to service he truck?

He he hehehe

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 13th, 2010, 9:55 am

CD4Accord wrote:From experience, Laughlin charging more for Shell than half the parts places around the country...
Check Mathura's in St. James, they normally cheaper for oil than just about anywhere else....

I wont ever be buying anything by those theives again... Not that I would entertain them much to begin with...

Anyone ever try the Total Diesel oil? I have had great experiences with their synthetic gas oil but never tried diesel

How much for the Total?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 13th, 2010, 10:30 am

lighthammer post pics of the truck nah!!!!!!!!!!!
iz about time lol

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » November 13th, 2010, 11:38 am

jhonnieblue wrote:lighthammer post pics of the truck nah!!!!!!!!!!!
iz about time lol

d man waitin patiently fuh a diesel run to make he debut.....21st Nov i presume??

JD......

Postby JD...... » November 13th, 2010, 4:23 pm

any comments on royal purple or Scheffers, personally im a die hard RP fan when it come to cars, and heard great reviews for scheffers for cars as well, but nothing about diesels so far.....

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 14th, 2010, 9:33 am

The Shell Rimula R6 working good so far in the engine... Slightly more responsive and the engine is noticeably quieter than before... Not that the 5L wasnt quiet before... Imagine it now?

I could creep up on ppl now without them knowing... Pull up by DB gates and parang them!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 14th, 2010, 10:31 am

^^yea, as stealthy as a rhino on crack cocaine ent?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 14th, 2010, 2:37 pm

MrCuddles wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:lighthammer post pics of the truck nah!!!!!!!!!!!
iz about time lol

d man waitin patiently fuh a diesel run to make he debut.....21st Nov i presume??

Once I'm not on call that weekend and weather permitting, I should be able to debut with the new truck :).

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”