hilux men -- how the cornering ?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » September 8th, 2008, 4:51 am

yeah

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 8th, 2008, 5:10 am

Asaad does handle my van real good.....

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » September 8th, 2008, 5:28 am

Toyota has gone ahead and fully revealed its facelifted HiLux that will go on sale in Europe before the end of the year. For 2009, Toyota’s popular pick-up truck benefits from a series of styling, technical and equipment upgrades. On the outside, the subtle styling tweaks include the new trapezoidal grille and grey plate bar along with the more heavily profiled bumper and the new 15 and 17-inch alloy wheels. Inside the ’09 HiLux has been updated with a new four-spoke steering wheel with integrated controls for the audio system and multi-information display and a new air conditioning system. Toyota says it has also revised the instrument cluster and controls for the wipers and lights.

Under the skin, Toyota has upgraded the 169bhp (171 HP) 3.0 D-4D diesel engine in the automatic version with an increase of 17Nm in maximum torque to 360Nm. Moreover, the Japanese automaker replaced the available four-speed automatic transmission with a new five-speed unit that promises to improve performance and fuel consumption. According to Toyota, fuel efficiency in the combined cycle for the automatic version is increased from 30.1 to 31.7 mpg UK.

Toyota’s engineers also tweaked the suspension settings and added a new double-row roller-type rear axle bearings and more responsive valve structure on the front shock absorbers along with new bushes. Additionally, the new Hilux gains larger brakes with 297mm diameter ventilated front discs and 295mm drums for all four-wheel drive models, apart from the models equipped with VSC, which have 319mm ventilated front discs.

Depending on the market, Toyota says that it has improved the standard equipment on all models across the HiLux range.

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » September 8th, 2008, 5:29 am

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » September 8th, 2008, 5:29 am

if yuh goin to TTTL deal with this person 6786032 Ann....tell her adrian put u on and well yuh in order

Postby Greypatch » September 8th, 2008, 10:38 am

hmm....
good to see the improvements in suspension and stopping...

IMO these vans have replaces the early suv's and as such are not being used as a work or offroad vehicle by most

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » September 8th, 2008, 12:23 pm

called toyota dont know when they getting the 09 lux that sux

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » September 8th, 2008, 12:56 pm

The only time my hilux felt unstable around corners was when the tires were over inflated. When I lowered the pressure to the recommended amount it sat and felt better around corners

Zwill

Postby Zwill » September 8th, 2008, 12:56 pm

That TRD Hilux looks the business! Am sure that the suspension is factory modified for better handling and control. It looks like the Japanese answer to the Ford F150 lightning though.

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » September 8th, 2008, 3:49 pm

called toyota dont know when they getting the 09 lux that sux

they would be getting it early next year

badart

Postby badart » September 8th, 2008, 9:27 pm

how early? is best i wait for the 09 hilux

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » September 9th, 2008, 6:15 am

thats what i said but then the lady was lik umm well we have the 08 model and wasnt sounding to sure whether or not they really getting it, so if this is true i'll wait it out

badart

Postby badart » September 9th, 2008, 7:14 am

i doh want to buy the 08 hilux n the 09 one right around the corner thaz if TTTL bringin it

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 9th, 2008, 8:28 am

you will be paying alot more for sure tho....

badart

Postby badart » September 9th, 2008, 5:05 pm

i wonder how much more it wud be..the 09 hilux comin wit alot more features..more air bags bigger brakes..better fuel economy...automatic air condition..17" rims..more torque n it lookin real good as usual

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » September 9th, 2008, 11:25 pm

That is not the international market? Is this a continuation of the IMV?

I see you guys posting other links about the new Mazda bt-50 and etc. These models do not generally make it to market in Trinidad as we are classified as General Exposrt market.

I cannot say if this would be true for Toyota models.

Where sweeky? He usually knows these things

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » September 9th, 2008, 11:31 pm

^ the 09 hilux would be available to the caribbean next year but cant really say went its all up to Toyota Tsusho Group

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 10th, 2008, 9:46 am

bleedingfreak wrote:That is not the international market? Is this a continuation of the IMV?

I see you guys posting other links about the new Mazda bt-50 and etc. These models do not generally make it to market in Trinidad as we are classified as General Exposrt market.

I cannot say if this would be true for Toyota models.

Where sweeky? He usually knows these things

New BT-50 will be here at the end of the month ...

Postby joker » September 11th, 2008, 12:03 am

i pass the gasparillo corner @160... dry road.

badart

Postby badart » September 11th, 2008, 6:29 am

wht u drivin?

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » September 11th, 2008, 6:35 am

he lying obviously

Postby joker » September 11th, 2008, 6:39 am

he lying obviously

hilux 4x2 and no ah not lying :|

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 11th, 2008, 8:37 am

joker wrote:i pass the gasparillo corner @160... dry road.

...of all the places to drive fast.

Postby Greypatch » September 11th, 2008, 8:43 am

me eh hear from the other lux men...

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » September 11th, 2008, 11:30 am

323_wagon_dude wrote:The only time my hilux felt unstable around corners was when the tires were over inflated. When I lowered the pressure to the recommended amount it sat and felt better around corners

Like you ent take me on before... :roll:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 11th, 2008, 11:49 am

If you want advive and you not taking on the WD yuh aint want no advice Hoss!!!!

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » September 11th, 2008, 4:19 pm

^^^ thanks for the vote of confidence FF.

Just a side note... I was in a tyre shop this morning and was speaking to a guy with a PCA CRV and he was saying that the lux handles better and gives a smoother ride than the CRV

badart

Postby badart » September 11th, 2008, 5:35 pm

anybody willin to break jokers speed..but with a 4x4 hilux this time? lol

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 11th, 2008, 6:41 pm

Rav4 counts?

Postby equipped2ripp » September 12th, 2008, 1:22 am

joker wrote:
he lying obviously

hilux 4x2 and no ah not lying :|

them men feel yuh lying yes..

and yeah i did close to 170 in my frontier and over 170 in a prado on that bend already... skill is keep to the left lane and then drift onto the right lane when crossing the bridge by the union road over pass.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”