Well I test drove the new Navara ...

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 26th, 2008, 8:51 am

Mr. Go Slow, I doubt mazda will bring the 16V CR engine. Ford is already bringing it.

I think Mazda is aiming for the commercial market a lil more. As with some of the other guys nere, I am skeptical about common rail given the current crap that passes off as diesel in this country. There are at least two testimonies to that.

But really, once you have it... maintenance is the key! There is no substitute for that. Diesels more than gasoline cars.

Whatever your decision, a pickup is a step in the right direction and we will all be willing to help you get it durdee ;)

well most of us...:)

Postby joker » July 26th, 2008, 9:09 pm

wagon r wrote:...one correction....the Navara.....is fast.....esp. on top.....take my word for it..... :|

i was doing bout 160 , passed a navara now comming onto the highway ,

and he passed me as if i was going in reverse :shock:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 28th, 2008, 5:19 am

bleedingfreak wrote:But not for men like you and me :)

yuh done know 8-)

bleedingfreak wrote:And no I cant get the hilux to slide either... :-)

wagon r and i givin lessons on Icacos beach any w/end you available :twisted:

joker you got :pwned:

Postby wagon r » July 28th, 2008, 9:47 am

...somebody say Icacos.... :P :P :P :P

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » July 28th, 2008, 11:42 am

^^ :twisted: i get teh lux to slide :wink:

R Boodoosingh

Drift

Postby R Boodoosingh » July 28th, 2008, 10:42 pm

If you want and i have time weekend i could show you how a hilux could drift :lol:

Postby RBphoto » July 30th, 2008, 2:59 pm

What is the best base model 4 door pickup with dual airbags? I want to get the hilux as as the lowest model that offers airbags on passenger side is less expensive than any of the other pickups that offer dual airbags. What allyuh tink?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 3rd, 2008, 8:15 am

OK, so I drove the Ranger 4x4 with the 5-speed auto and the TDCi engine ...

Frankly, this was ... meh ...

It was nice, don't get me wrong, but the cost of the vehicle is $219,000!
It really doesn't seem like it's 219,000 worth of truck!

The manual Navara, as much as I didn't like it for me, definitely seems like it's worth 207,000, aqs you get so much truck and power.

The auto Ranger didn't seem tha much faster than the manual Mazda with the 12v engine and you don't get the step bars and other truck rice with the Ranger like you do with the Mazda.

Too, I'm just not an auto type of guy and I definitely perferred mowing through the gears in the Mazda.

So the Ranger is OK, but not worth 30K+ more than the Madza for me.

So, I'm going to try and get to the L200 this week and I think my choice has come down to eother the facelifted Mazda or the L200 ...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 3rd, 2008, 2:49 pm

looks like you are sold on the mazda dude....

Postby Greypatch » August 3rd, 2008, 7:51 pm

nice unbiased reviews

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 3rd, 2008, 8:40 pm

biggy82 wrote:looks like you are sold on the mazda dude....

Actually, if I like the gears and the drive on the Mitsu equally as much as the Mazda, I'll go with the Mitsu.

I've always appreciated the abuse Mitsu's could take and due to popularity / availability of aftermarket the Mitsu makes more sense.

L200 owners there's a chip upgrade for the Mitsu, easy 30+hp so you can give the Navara's some pressure ... Stock ones anyway :P
Last edited by Mr. Go Slow on August 4th, 2008, 9:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagon r » August 4th, 2008, 8:20 am

^ one question though....if you like going thru the gears, then why test drive an auto ranger..???

...and either way you go, i'm happy it's not a hilux... :mrgreen:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 4th, 2008, 9:57 am

wagon r wrote:^ one question though....if you like going thru the gears, then why test drive an auto ranger..???

Simply because the manual Ranger and the manual Mazda only come with the 12v engine ... I wanted to feel if the 16v common rail diesel in the Ranger Auto was worth the extra money and the slushbox ... For me, it wasn't ...

Postby wagon r » August 4th, 2008, 10:33 am

fair enough. but as a owner of a 12v, i'm happy with it. w/o the 300lbs of dead weight....it will easy leave rubber from 1 to 3.....and has good power and ride....

...the common rail thing..... :|

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 4th, 2008, 3:39 pm

^^^i know how you feel......i have felt the sting of bad diesel already :(

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » August 4th, 2008, 4:33 pm

Biggy- what was the maintenance schedule you using for your van? Fluids and change intervals?

venum

Postby venum » August 4th, 2008, 5:17 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
Actually, if I like the gears and the drive on the Mitsu equally as much as the Mazda, I'll go with the Mitsu.

I've always appreciated the abuse Mitsu's could take and due to popularity / availability of aftermarket the Mitsu makes more sense.

W E L C O M E :D

plenty Mitsu accessories and parts on EBay uk

abuse yuh say . . . yes they can take it

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 5th, 2008, 5:48 am

Stuckindmud wrote:Biggy- what was the maintenance schedule you using for your van? Fluids and change intervals?

was gonna do oil @ 7500km; along with fuel filter change. but since i am using castrol CRB, my interval will be reduced to 5000km. but the fuel filter had to be changed like once every 2-3 months :? thats why i put in the self-cleaning filter

brake fluid: 20000kms
Coolant: 20000kms
Tranny fluid: 20000kms
power steering fluid: 30000kms
diff oil: 40000kms

next service is 15000km. just oil, filter and fuel fiter change this rounds

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » August 5th, 2008, 7:09 am

^^ cool, thanks , a guy bought a nav , but doesnt know the first thing abt its maintenance.. we`ll link , cuz i`m sure more questions will pop up.

btw , sorry for hijacking the thread.. i`ll move this to the maintainence thread.

LOCO

Postby LOCO » August 5th, 2008, 4:45 pm

Mr Go Slow, just for information, I am in the process of buying one of the rangers, I got the quote for the BT50 ($178K) and decided to go for the XLT ranger, however they are now out of stock, and they are offering the hurricane model, which is basically the XLT with roll bar, side bars, and tray liner (all factory installed) for a discounted price of $185K. (Regular price was $199K)
Now I made the decision based on the fact that the ranger esthetically is more appealing to me as well as it comes with 4 airbags instead of 2 and a 6 disc in-dash cd changer with mp3, and for a $7K difference you cant go wrong!

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » August 6th, 2008, 8:46 am

^^ that doesm make the new ranger look VERY appealing now..
hmmm

is this the Common rail one for 185?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 8th, 2008, 7:14 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
wagon r wrote:^ one question though....if you like going thru the gears, then why test drive an auto ranger..???

Simply because the manual Ranger and the manual Mazda only come with the 12v engine ... I wanted to feel if the 16v common rail diesel in the Ranger Auto was worth the extra money and the slushbox ... For me, it wasn't ...

That's not true buddy...

The fulyl loaded XLT is supposed to be the 16V

The base model XL 4x4 (wind up windows, etc.) is 12V...

Your sales person is messing with u!

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 9th, 2008, 8:12 am

bleedingfreak wrote:
Mr. Go Slow wrote:

That's not true buddy...

The fulyl loaded XLT is supposed to be the 16V

The base model XL 4x4 (wind up windows, etc.) is 12V...

Your sales person is messing with u!

Well I'm confused ... I distinctly remember the salesman opening the hood on the manual and auto and stating they were identical except for the upgraded engine in the auto, both 2.5l turbo diesels.

Can anyone verify?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 9th, 2008, 6:35 pm

I have seen fully loaded 16V come with the manual.. in fact... those were the first shipment way back in December. I saw one in Movietowne when they were premiering the vehicle. The low end model comes with the 12V

In fact there is also a 3.0 turbo in manual as well. All new engine...

Postby wagon r » August 11th, 2008, 8:39 am

seems Ford doh know what they selling..... :|

...but yuh still cyar go wrong with a Ranger...... :mrgreen:

Postby Greypatch » August 11th, 2008, 8:58 am

depends on the sales person dude...

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 3rd, 2008, 11:52 pm

OK, just to clarify, the local BT50 (comes manual only) and the manual Ranger do NOT come with the 2.5t common rail diesel, they come with the regular 12v 2.5 td rated at about 117hp ...

You can get the 3.0td common rail in the ranger with a manual gearbox for 210,000 but they are out of stock until November. Apparently it's one of their best sellers.

The new face lifted bt-50 is due at the end of September as well ... So basically, I'm waiting...

It's (for me) down to:

1. Face lifted BT-50, with new suspension and design with old 12v 2.5td engine (190,000 approx)
2. Ranger 3.0td common rail diesel, manual (210,000 but expected price increase)

Navara = too big, too truck feeling - I REALLY wanted to like this too, as it has the strongest engine and is a beautiful vehicle... Just FYI, I park in the city in a small car park below the Algico building. There's a Navara that parks down there and he has to reach before everyone else, because once he parks, he can't get in / out of the van until the car next to him moves :-/ (obviously he has to leave after everyone else too)

Toyota = 3.0 starts at 225,000 for the manual, most likely to flip and with a single airbag? :-( Too, the latest TTTL reviews have been less than impressive (pricing wise)

Mitsu = Consistently out performed in reviews by the ranger / mazda and the styling is like it or hate it, or really friggin hate it ... I think it looks good sometimes and weird at others. For the kind of money I'll be spending, I have to LOVE the van.

Update at the end of September ...

Postby wagon r » September 4th, 2008, 8:11 am

....another statisfied customer.... :mrgreen:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 4th, 2008, 9:14 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
1. Face lifted BT-50, with new suspension and design with old 12v 2.5td engine (190,000 approx)
2. Ranger 3.0td common rail diesel, manual (210,000 but expected price increase)

Update at the end of September ...

Let's see what the BT-50's facelift looks life in real.... There's a new colour - blue, new grill and indicators on the external mirrors.

For further details ... follow the link below

http://www.autoincar.com/mazda-launches-new-mazda-bt-50-to-provide-ultimate-fun-to-drive-experience-with-intelligent-de-s-suspension-system-in-thailand/#more-1009

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » September 4th, 2008, 9:25 am

i am surprised that the 6-speed Nav did not shift well.....ah the joys of AT

The Gear ratios in a 6Speed box is closer than a 5speed etc...so u'll find that u have to shift gears quicker than in 5spd...

but since the ratios are close, u dont need to pull of in 1st gear....in many diesel vans actually, u'll find 1st does not make sense...2nd > 3rd >5th

1st gear might only be needed on hills and pulling load :wink:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”