Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
robbieg

Postby robbieg » July 8th, 2008, 1:44 pm

found these, nice pics

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 8th, 2008, 3:00 pm

Robbie, I am considering the HID conversion, however, I am looking for one with both Hi and low beams. Most are single beam.

I'm also looking for a brand name kit instead of a cheap one....

These have made it a bit difficult to locate.

robbieg

Postby robbieg » July 8th, 2008, 9:15 pm

enlighten me on this,ie the brand name kit. i have not done the research, but it seems like you did?

drift_master

Postby drift_master » July 9th, 2008, 12:40 am

robbieg, 323,

y not consider switchin to projectors head lamps

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 9th, 2008, 2:21 am

i have a pair of projector headlights for the Nav. havent installed them yet cos the Nav original headlights are HID. i almost never had the need to use high beams....if the road is dark i simply raise the headlamps with the leveler. the projector headlamps also have halos which i really wanna put on, but dont wanna compromise safety for the wife if the projectors are not as bright as the HIDs

robbieg

Postby robbieg » July 9th, 2008, 8:49 am

hmmm, i like my headlights the way they are actually! (crystal clear)
i saw a pair of projectors online, with angel eyes, but it never got me...
I just would like to do the bulb conversion ie. to HID

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 10th, 2008, 6:45 am

Projector lights use a standard bulb and 12 volts. The lens is a projector type.

An HID is a special bulb, a transformer is used to boost the wattage.
The HIDs provide a cleaner light and is close to white (depending on the buld you buy).

I've had a HID imitation bulb in one of my cars before and it was great. The light produced was close to white, it was able to cut thru heavy rain and lit up those very dark roads very well.

Robbie, I have not narrowed down to a brand yet, however, I prefer the big names like phillips and sylvania. The only downside is this conversion is a bit pricey

robbieg

Postby robbieg » July 14th, 2008, 1:10 pm

Well,
If you are ever interested in the conversion, PM me, maybe we can organize a group buy or something to make the price cheaper.....

I went for a service at Toyota last week, they had no fuel filters in stock, so once again my light is back on....
I'm thinking of getting a filter myself, flush out the canister and change the filter myself.
What stores sell these other than TTTL?

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 14th, 2008, 1:31 pm

M Rampersad has all of the hilux filters used for tune ups.

robbieg

Postby robbieg » July 18th, 2008, 9:10 am

bump
thanks, ill try and get that done this weekend.
in the market for new tires, only got 25,000 km out of a set of Nexen road tires.
any suggestions?

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 18th, 2008, 9:44 am

When my tires are dead, I'm planning to replace them with Michellins.

Only 25000Km? I thought the duellers were bad. They still look as if they have life on them however they dont hold the road at all. I'll probably change them year end.

You could check the tire thread in the sticky section.
Last edited by 323_wagon_dude on July 20th, 2008, 8:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 19th, 2008, 11:26 am

Michellins are the way to go indeed.

323WD how much running you got from the stock tires?

:?:

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 20th, 2008, 8:18 pm

I still have them on...

I crossed 32000Kms this weekend. I'll run them till the end of the year and change to the michellins first thing next year

robbieg

Postby robbieg » July 22nd, 2008, 10:42 am

thanks for the replies, yeah these nexens dint hold up too well, although i do tend to drive and corner hard.....they stuck on the road like glue though, went in some mud this weekend and no worries,
saw some guys up on las cuevas stuck in d mud in a ranger.....

anyhow, thinking of going with dunlops this rounds thus far, will know by end of this week or next week.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 22nd, 2008, 1:33 pm

But you coulda stop and help pull out the ranger... Those would be some nice pics.... :twisted:

robbieg

Postby robbieg » July 23rd, 2008, 12:42 pm

:evil: :evil:
i forget d camera and about 3 other van wwent to help him

i helped enough people on that track already too.......and it always finishes with an extra messy end :idea:

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » July 23rd, 2008, 1:12 pm

extra messy you say?? hmmm

i`ve been on that track countless times, definately a fun trip :)

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 26th, 2008, 8:53 am

Stuckindmud wrote:extra messy you say?? hmmm

i`ve been on that track countless times, definately a fun trip :)

Oh... Lets go up now nah... I guarantee you will have mud on the roof when we're done!

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 26th, 2008, 9:33 am

^^^ you feel is muddy drawers you talking to or wha??

robbieg

Postby robbieg » August 6th, 2008, 1:45 pm

bwahahaha ^^

i went again recently and i got semi stuck, got some messy pics to come

just got back from tobago, will post up some pics

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 8th, 2008, 7:11 pm

Last week we had to run thru there full speed ahead in 4L to get thru... That road is real pressure now... Also, got a slow leak on one of the tyres after... :?

robbieg

Postby robbieg » August 10th, 2008, 1:50 pm

dyamn that sucks....what were u driving bleedingfreak?

elantra

Postby elantra » August 10th, 2008, 3:18 pm

Hey was just reading this tread. but i see Turbohead never said why you shouldnt use a fuel treatment. cause i am looking into buying one.. did he give a reason??
Last edited by elantra on August 11th, 2008, 4:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 11th, 2008, 11:26 am

robbieg wrote:dyamn that sucks....what were u driving bleedingfreak?

Mazda B2500... with the original Michies on it still.
Work truck.
Need a winch.

robbieg

Postby robbieg » August 11th, 2008, 2:42 pm

Need a winch.

I see there is one selling on the forums for $6,000 :idea:

robbieg

Postby robbieg » August 16th, 2008, 4:36 pm

Okay,
So I've been getting a lot of squeaking coming from my rear suspension.....It started off very slight, but now it has reach to a point where its getting to me!

What exactly causes this squeaking?
Is it the leaf-springs that are rubbing and needs lubricating?

If so, where/when/who can I get this done by?

Or, is it something else? Possibly Loose exhaust? Loose spare tire?

Help anyone? :D :D

robbieg

Postby robbieg » August 24th, 2008, 11:18 pm

Going to downgrade this week on my wheels.

Taking off my 18" Konigs' to put on stock Prado 17" rims.

Ill take b4 and after pics.

Bump for question above as well.

:D :D :D

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » August 25th, 2008, 6:04 am

robbieg I have the sqeaking in the leaf springs as well.

You'll have to jack up the body (not the rear axle) enough so the axle pulls the leaf springs down and spray lithium grease in between each of the leaf spring.

If we're doing a next garage day soon, I'd recommend you come and we can all pitch in and help.

robbieg

Postby robbieg » August 25th, 2008, 1:07 pm

323_wagon_dude,
Sounds good, I'm up for it anytime. I leave the country Sunday September 7th and would not be back for a while. If you think we can squeeze something in the next 2 weeks, I am willing to throw in a hand on other vehicles as well :!:

Whats your estimate on the cost of the lithium grease per vehicle?

robbieg

Postby robbieg » September 3rd, 2008, 7:31 pm

Changed my 18's today to stock Prado 17's. Gonna miss my 18's :( :(

But it looks okay I guess. Will post before and after pics when I wash her tomorrow.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”