Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
droppa

Postby droppa » May 5th, 2010, 10:08 am

padna do u park on henry st :?:

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » May 5th, 2010, 11:59 am

Has anybody seen these tyres in Trinidad.
General Grabber AT2

I see a lot of positive reviews online about this tyre.
http://www.offroaders.com/tech/AT-MT-Ti ... r-AT-2.htm

droppa

Postby droppa » May 5th, 2010, 12:49 pm

that is one hell of a usful 4X4 site :idea:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 5th, 2010, 1:04 pm

indeed :shock: :shock:

venum

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby venum » May 30th, 2010, 3:23 pm

saw these last week

Maxxis Mudder Buckshot 31 x 10.5 x 15

$1175 each - Mag Rim Center

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 30th, 2010, 6:35 pm

So I was just thinking.... I have Firestone Firehawk ATX on the Pajero right... Isn't that the same line of tyre that had all the recall issues in the states about 9 years ago? If I remember it was due to high speed instability leading to ford explorers flipping..

Anyway, something I should look into... I mean, I won't likely change my rubber just because its still relatively new but I wonder if these Venezuelan manufactured firestones were also at risk...
If so, good work junior sammy for selling them to me..

venum

Postby venum » May 30th, 2010, 9:58 pm

the Firestone's that were at the center of the controversy were the Firestone Wilderness AT

not the Firestone Firehawk

the Firestone that we get here are manufactured in Venezuela

several tyre men have told me that they have gotten complaints that the Firestone on the market now are acting like they were bent at high speed

I don't trust them for daily long term use, mainly because they cheap and seem to have poor design (despite looking sexxy)

CD4, you from Cocoyea\St. Clement's :?:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 30th, 2010, 10:16 pm

but i will tell you something - for a cheap tire - Hurcules terra trac i am impressed by where i went with this tires - even the icacos run - i was in 2 wd for most of the way - only time i went into wd was throu the seaweeds and that too i came back out on 2wd.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 30th, 2010, 10:47 pm

So far the firestone been holding up for me.. It does make a fair amount of noise at speed but speed is a relative term.. Fastest that vehicle will go is probably 150kmph

As I said, i'll stick with the tyre until I have any major worries..
Check this link tho and note my size is listed...
http://www.safetyforum.com/tag/faq.html
31X10.50R15LT
Not very comforting to know....

Concerning where I from... I don't really give that out on the net but let it suffice that I from south (not cocoyea tho)..

venum

Postby venum » May 31st, 2010, 8:51 am

The Terra Trac A/T is a good tyre, the other Terra Trac with the big lugs, I'm not sure about

The Terra Trac A/T will give good traction in various terrain due to the tread pattern, so don't be surprised at that, be surprised at the cost

Actually, Stacey David mounted the Hercules Terra Trac A/T on a project truck in one of his episodes of Gearz,

I was surprised when I saw it. Was the first time I saw the A/T too, as there were none locally, only the big lugs one

My experience with cheap tyres for car and pickup is that they are usually crappy, you get what you pay for, there are some that are exceptions though (Dunlop) which is why I buy the brand names

CD4, no scene, there is a white Pajero on some Firestone ATX not too far from by me, thought that it may have been you, that we may have been neighbours, guess not.

I agree with you on not disclosing your details online

the Firestones on sale locally aren't very well rated in the US and other countries that have motor vehicle imstitutions that pay attention to safety, which I believe is why they are marketed in countries that don't pay attention to safety by having regulatory bodies (like Trinidad, Venezuela, the other Caribbean islands, Guyana etc)

There are some Firestone that are made in venezuela that are sold locally that are not found online - Firehawk AT

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 1st, 2010, 11:22 am

i love my terra trac

750 a tire a and i good to go

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 1st, 2010, 6:10 pm

yer sell the nav yet??

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 4th, 2010, 9:41 am

me? i sold meh l200 long time

Sasquat007

Postby Sasquat007 » September 9th, 2010, 7:38 pm

need some advice here on off road tyres for a land rover as wel as rim 5 hole

PTME

Postby PTME » September 14th, 2010, 11:09 pm

D MICHELLIN not only works good but looks good on ur van...

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 15th, 2010, 6:46 am

for true - the michs the 06 ranger came with lasted close to 6 years till we had to change them , they are worth the price

PTME

Postby PTME » September 15th, 2010, 7:39 pm

WELL mines is just close to a year but i know it ain;t gonna last no 4 yrs like my disc pad but its worth the ride.

badart

Postby badart » September 15th, 2010, 9:17 pm

michelin is the way to go

Val

Postby Val » September 16th, 2010, 11:28 am

Where (other than Federal) sells the Hercules Terra Trac AT?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 16th, 2010, 2:05 pm

on the sando warf next to gas station. he sells out of a container. cheapest price for new tires like that val

DSG

Postby DSG » September 22nd, 2010, 9:53 pm

What do guys think about the Hankook Dynapro M/Ts??????? Thinking of putting them on my D22 Frontier

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 22nd, 2010, 11:14 pm

Any type of M/T's will give you traction in off-road situations, but you'll lose traction and handling on pavement/highway, esp. wet conditions.

You should balance off the pro's and con's of using M/T's esp as your main tyre.

How about some aggressive A/T's, like BF Goodrich A/T's?

Postby 3stagevtec » September 22nd, 2010, 11:55 pm

I wouldn't use MTs for daily driving. Other than lower on road wet / dry traction, they are also noisy and poor on fuel economy..

Keeping them on a spare set of rims is a better idea, unless you have a dedicated off road rig..

droppa

Postby droppa » September 23rd, 2010, 11:05 am

i had Bridgestone Dueler M/Ts on the Jimny when i sold it, they were used on a daily basis, x2 on what 3stage said, noisy and they ride poorly and handle shiddy on the wet, M/ts/LSD/wet roads doh mix at all, the Jimny used to slide round corners, but being a really short vehicle, it was not a problem.....if ur driving style is over 120kmph, then get H/Ts, if u having alot

the Terra Tracs are good for their price.....
i second the BFG A/T, real nice tire for ah lil more cheddar.....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 23rd, 2010, 8:00 pm

If you gonna do a good amount of off-roading (every weekend or every other weekend) - BF Goodrich A/T's are great.

For mostly highway driving and occassional off-roading, something like Pirelli Scorpion ATR's would be good. Mostly highway biased but decent off-road capability.

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » September 23rd, 2010, 11:44 pm

Hey guys I am looking for new tires. I am looking for ATs 265 70 R16.
Guys what tires you got on? How do you rate it? What was the price and where did you buy?
Can you guy rate the tire in Dry, Wet, Wear, Comfort and Noise.

venum

Postby venum » September 24th, 2010, 11:25 am

Rutless Tiida wrote:Hey guys I am looking for new tires. I am looking for ATs 265 70 R16.
Guys what tires you got on? How do you rate it? What was the price and where did you buy?
Can you guy rate the tire in Dry, Wet, Wear, Comfort and Noise.

steiups

read the entire thread from page 1

all teh answers are there

damn newbiees :roll:

:D

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 24th, 2010, 12:35 pm

venum, we are all newbies

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 24th, 2010, 2:34 pm

Did someone say bewbies?

venum

Postby venum » September 24th, 2010, 4:02 pm

lighthammer wrote:Did someone say bewbies?

Ha Ha

V2NR4.0 - Tiida know what I mean - when u see him in DB Uniform u'll unnastan

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”