Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
sweeks

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby sweeks » April 26th, 2011, 9:29 am

Premera wrote:oh sweeks, where do i find the information u asking for above ?

PM me your chassis # and I'll get it. It should also be on the plate somewhere in the engine bay where the chassis number is.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 1st, 2011, 7:10 pm

sweeks.....long time I ain't come on this thread....I see that you asking for some info there...My code is kun15r...

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 1st, 2011, 8:44 pm

Thanks bro.

Postby Team Loco » May 6th, 2011, 12:00 pm

not a good day today. constantly heating up on highway. doesnt make sense. once i cross 80kms the temp goes up just before red. but i'm not losing water, no leaks, 3 fans working, radiator clean

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 6th, 2011, 9:07 pm

Thermostat sticking? Maybe water is not circulating because the thermostat is stuck closed....

joel

Postby joel » May 8th, 2011, 1:49 pm

just bought phoenix' 3.0 2010 and i can say the only thing better may have been going to the firm and buying a brand new one. impressed with the vehicle. ah doh think ah could go back to a car nah lol

badart

Postby badart » May 8th, 2011, 2:39 pm

^ good purchase hilux ftw!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 8th, 2011, 8:05 pm

Nice .... Congrats.... It's a nice van and Saied took good care of it.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » May 9th, 2011, 9:00 am

I gone back to a Car for the While..... a sacrifice im making for a greater good.. I gotta tell yuh... IT SUCKS!!!

Joel is a really cool guy... It was a pleasure to hand over by baby to him.
Hope we see you on some runs with the Boyz.
You gonna be suprised when you see how capable a Hilux is OFF the Road.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 9th, 2011, 9:07 am

Team Loco wrote:not a good day today. constantly heating up on highway. doesnt make sense. once i cross 80kms the temp goes up just before red. but i'm not losing water, no leaks, 3 fans working, radiator clean

Any updates?

As RottedV mentioned it might be the thermostat.

joel

Postby joel » May 9th, 2011, 5:25 pm

can anyone tell me where i can have small dents in the back bumper of the hilux repaired?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 9th, 2011, 8:00 pm

Chrome is not easily repairable. If it's small leave it alone.

Postby Team Loco » May 9th, 2011, 8:47 pm

joel wrote:can anyone tell me where i can have small dents in the back bumper of the hilux repaired?

leave it alone. ive seen the dent. its right behind the rib of the bumper. only way to do it is remove the bumper skin off the frame of the bumper. this is only done by drilling it out. once out you need to press out the dent, not beat it. makes no sense cause to re-attach bumoer to frame you would need to weld. it will damage the chrome.

sweeks, singh's radiator confirmed my radiator is too small now. remember my additional turbo cooling has put added pressure on the radiator to cool. y it didnt overheat for the past 3 yrs when the turbo was fitted? dunno, but these days are just exceptionally hot.

joel

Postby joel » May 10th, 2011, 6:56 am

^ thanks for the advice re the bumper. just that it is irritating me lol. hopefully ill just learn to ignore it

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 10th, 2011, 7:13 am

joel wrote:^ thanks for the advice re the bumper. just that it is irritating me lol. hopefully ill just learn to ignore it

Walk with your head high :wink:

joel

Postby joel » May 10th, 2011, 9:36 pm

ok alyuh, when i shift to 5th i get this vibration on the lever when i press on the gas that is not present in the lower four gears. if i come off the gas no vibration. anybody experience this? should i carry in to the firm? ah being paranoid? :shock:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 11th, 2011, 8:50 am

Joel ... the van should still be under warranty. You can let Toyota know during the next schedule service. BTW if you need OEM oil filters, let me know.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » May 11th, 2011, 10:51 am

I directed him to TTTL so he is gogin in to let the techs take a look today.
Im sure everything is normal...
Joel is a lil paranoid about things... :twisted:

Like the 2 rust spots he called me about on the door and nearly died...... I went and check it in person and rubbed it off with my finger cuz it was 2 pin dots of tar (Still Wet) on the driver door.

Ent Joe!!! :D

Let us know how it goes... :wink:

Postby Team Loco » May 13th, 2011, 9:07 pm

pheonix, i have two rust spots on my tray. come rub your magic hands on my tray.

Sweeks, 4 core radiator fitted today. tightest fit i have ever seen, at full throttle the fan moves just inches away from the radiator. the shield is so close that the lower part of the clips that hold the wire harness in place over the shield, is barely touching the fan. anyway i am glad to say that on the highway at around 120kms, she now barely runs half. she doesnt seem to like the temperature though. looks like she's running too cold now!!

BTW, new project starting soon. let me just say, there may be some chrome below the hood before the icacos run!

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » May 14th, 2011, 10:46 am

TL ah coming ;)

Chrome yuh say... Hmmmm.....

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » May 16th, 2011, 1:46 pm

I'm approaching the 40000km mark and was wondering if it is absolutely necessary to change out the brakes fluid, power steering fluid, battery water, coolant, diff oils, etc etc

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 16th, 2011, 2:54 pm

TopShotta You can chk the diff oils, if it's dirty change it ESP the rear. I did brakes fluid at 50 000km, and make sure your mechanic knows how to bleed the abs.

You can chk and top up coolant, battery and power steering fluids. IMHO no need to change yet.

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » May 16th, 2011, 5:23 pm

oh ok thanks sweeks

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » May 20th, 2011, 9:03 am

which oil better to use in a 2009 2.5 hilux

Premium API CJ-4 Synthetic 15W-40 Diesel Oil
OR
SAE 15W-40 Heavy-Duty Diesel and Marine Motor Oil

azlan

Postby azlan » May 20th, 2011, 9:40 am

Yo Peeps I have a Vigo TBZ doing close to 80000kms...

We brought it in from Japan about 3-4 yrs ago..
So far the intake manifold was sticking ...... The engine light used to come on but after cleaning the air flow sensor and the manifold flaps it kinda stopped sticking ......

The water pump was leaking and spilled coolant all over the drive belt... Changed the two parts...

The pulley bearing by the alternator was also changed because the van was making aloud noise when idiling !!!
I love my vigo , but I kinda broke now because all these things happened in like a 4 month period....

Will more problems that you are aware of pop up? or should I be problem free for a while?
I heard that the evaporator for the a/c goes bad? Let me know if I should keep my van or consider selling before mopre problems keep popping up?

azlan

Postby azlan » May 20th, 2011, 9:54 am

Yo Peeps I have a Vigo TBZ doing close to 80000kms...

We brought it in from Japan about 3-4 yrs ago..
So far the intake manifold was sticking ...... The engine light used to come on but after cleaning the air flow sensor and the manifold flaps it kinda stopped sticking ......

The water pump was leaking and spilled coolant all over the drive belt... Changed the two parts...

The pulley bearing by the alternator was also changed because the van was making aloud noise when idiling !!!
I love my vigo , but I kinda broke now because all these things happened in like a 4 month period....

Will more problems that you are aware of pop up? or should I be problem free for a while?
I heard that the evaporator for the a/c goes bad? Let me know if I should keep my van or consider selling before mopre problems keep popping up?

droppa

Postby droppa » May 20th, 2011, 11:04 am

im getting a problem with my brake, sometime wen i press the pedal, it kinda sticks, u actually feel a hold back and then releases for its self, or if u let go and mash back....

its not frequent or annoying, but safety is paramount, so i wanna get rid of this problem...

this mite be the booster goin bad, i know the pads have life and the shoes are good too, the fliud is a bit dirty so i will change that and see......

any ideas fellas...

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 20th, 2011, 1:37 pm

Droppa .... seeing that the fluid is black, it could be the cylinder rubbers.....

azlan

Postby azlan » May 23rd, 2011, 12:14 pm

I find that the brakeing system to be kinda unresponsive.... When I mash I dont feel the confidence that the van could come to an abrupt stop. No matter how hard I press it always comes to a slow casual stop....

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 23rd, 2011, 1:33 pm

azlan wrote:I find that the brakeing system to be kinda unresponsive.... When I mash I dont feel the confidence that the van could come to an abrupt stop. No matter how hard I press it always comes to a slow casual stop....

AZLAN, the Vigo are turning out to be high maintenance compared to the older Toyotas.

Are you using OEM pads or after market pads?
Have you even flushed out the brake fluid?

It could be a number of issues but let's start with the basics.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”