Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
civic minded

Postby civic minded » January 11th, 2010, 9:22 pm

he explained to me that the van would be parked and probably need some lube after a period of time - they didnt lube it before they gave it to me and it was an oversight on their part.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 18th, 2010, 10:30 am

Just went in for my 10,000km service (10072km to be exact)

Dropped off the van at 7:00am and got it back by 9:00am.

These are some of the Details on the Invoice:
Replaced Oil & Oil Filter, Air filter, Fuel Filter, checked Brakes (front & rear), Lights, Horn, Battery, Wipers & Disc Pads. Greased & Oiled Suspension, Topped up all Fluids, and Adjusted Parking Brake. Greased Gear Box Shaft for Squeek.

- I've noticed that after leaving my van parked up for a few days, the clutch starts to squeek when I drive it again... that's the last part on the description.

Total Cost including Labour = $1552.50

...was expecting to pay in excess of two grand... that's the estimate I got when I made the service appointment yesterday. I think they quoted me for a TDCi engine as opposed my WLT. The Parts may be cheaper for the WLT.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 24th, 2010, 8:37 pm

^^you should apply for the ansa premier card - you will get 20% discount on your service

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 25th, 2010, 7:03 am

Last I checked, they told me the card was for ANSA McAL Group Employees, and I don't work in the group or any subsidiaries. But I'll call them back for further details.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 25th, 2010, 8:51 am

boss - i dont work there - and they gave me a card when i bought the new ranger

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 25th, 2010, 9:01 am

Interesting, either the policy changed or someone failed to mention the full details to me. I'm going to get one ASAP.

Kill-Bill

Postby Kill-Bill » February 25th, 2010, 10:45 am

^^^ me myself as I'm buying a Ranger there too, so it will come in handy for service

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 25th, 2010, 11:33 am

^^^ Put aside money for CarSearch or GraviTrack one time!....especially if you buying an automatic.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 25th, 2010, 3:05 pm

just remember that the van comes with a chipped key so remote starting and shutdown wont work without a module and require that you disseminate one key ( you get 3)

monk_t

Postby monk_t » February 25th, 2010, 7:55 pm

civic minded wrote:just remember that the van comes with a chipped key so remote starting and shutdown wont work without a module and require that you disseminate one key ( you get 3)

I beg to differ, as my last vehicle had a code key and was able to remotely shutdown the car (not to interested in remote start) via a GPS alarm system/SMS.

GaviTrack will work for shutdown. From research the start up would require you to have a coded key (not cut) to be close to the ignition in order for it to work properly.

Just my $0.02

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » February 25th, 2010, 8:20 pm

wait nah dem bloodsucking syrian giving out discount card!!!! I goin and make real noise in there tomorrow.... we have a good bit ah vehicles from them and they never mention that to me..... thanks fellas if allyuh see swat team and helicopter an ting in south tomorrow know is me...... lol

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 26th, 2010, 8:43 am

actually my misses have one for years - she told me that she got that when she bought building materials at ABEL....about 4 years ago....Apparently they are giving it out to customers but you need to ask for it...

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » February 26th, 2010, 9:36 am

orrr cool thanks homie

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 26th, 2010, 11:10 am

madcoolieboy, no need to go and buss anybody throat. I just got a follow up call for the service performed on my van last week (POS branch) and I inquired about the discount card. They said all you have to do is pass in the office and ask for the form, it may take a little while to process, but you can get a card.

Slack

Postby Slack » February 26th, 2010, 12:16 pm

I made my booking online and i automatically get a 20% discount. Van second service is today

Kill-Bill

Postby Kill-Bill » February 26th, 2010, 12:25 pm

Cooper wrote:^^^ Put aside money for CarSearch or GraviTrack one time!....especially if you buying an automatic.

Getting it today..... :wiggle:

Tint & Car Search in the morning bro :wink: !!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 26th, 2010, 2:36 pm

Serious so if book online and get the discount - I wonder if I go in and flash my card I wonder if they will give me another discount :lol:

Postby wagon r » February 26th, 2010, 2:48 pm

^ doubt....yuh forget who yuh dealing with....

...but i have to get my clutch changed, thanks for remindin me about the online part...

Slack

Postby Slack » February 26th, 2010, 3:30 pm

Nah... booking online and using the card together you will get blank.... lol.... i tried..... you can also use the medicard and get a 20% discount. So there are a few different ways to get discounts. My second service bill was $1129 after discount

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 26th, 2010, 5:11 pm

Sounds like a sweet deal Slack, did you bring your own oil & filters :?:

What were the details of your service :?:

originalbling

Postby originalbling » February 26th, 2010, 9:26 pm

Cooper wrote:madcoolieboy, no need to go and buss anybody throat. I just got a follow up call for the service performed on my van last week (POS branch) and I inquired about the discount card. They said all you have to do is pass in the office and ask for the form, it may take a little while to process, but you can get a card.

No need to pass.

http://www.ansamcal.com/eng/pcard2.asp

Apply online, you will get it in the mail in about a week or two.

Check the section for "Premier Card Merchants" - you can use it elsewhere too for various discounts.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 26th, 2010, 9:43 pm

^^another ploy to make you spend more money .........lol

Aye hear nah - i have been looking for the 3pod center that sit above the center dash - you know the one that measures tilt ,grade and compass - Mc Enearney said it will cost in the vicinity of 8000 dollars- it comes with the thunder.
Anyone else can source this?

Slack

Postby Slack » March 1st, 2010, 9:18 am

Cooper.... The service covered replacing oil, oil filter, fuel filter, serviced and adjusted brakes, oiled suspension, tightened lower cradle bolts, adjusted play in steering wheel. They provided fuel filter assembly, oil filter and diesel synthetic oil. I have a K&N filter so no need to have that replaced. Final bill was $1127.00 VAT Inclusive

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 1st, 2010, 1:12 pm

civic minded, I was actually searching for it (outside the dealership) a couple months back, it not cheap at all.

On the UK site it's called an "Off Road Information Centre" and "Displays Outside temperature, climb/descent and inclination angles, and direction of travel."

I'm also looking for a good Spare Tire Lock, because I'm seeing a lot of new vans on the road with the chain just hanging because the tire missing. I also want a set of scuff plates for the doors.
Last edited by Cooper on March 1st, 2010, 1:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 1st, 2010, 1:15 pm

Slack, did they have any issues with you installing your own K&N Air Filter :?:

I actually have one, but I interchange it with the factory filter between fill-ups to compare mileage....doing a lil experiment.

Slack

Postby Slack » March 1st, 2010, 3:58 pm

Nah... they did not say a word about the filter. I also looking for the scuff plates and "Off Road Information Centre". Let me know if you make any head way

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 1st, 2010, 4:47 pm

I always thought that installing the k&n drop in would void the warranty- glad to know that they did this- so now I won't have to keep changing from fatory to k&n to do servicing.
Cooper - I know the center pods really expensive - do anywhere sell something similar to it?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 1st, 2010, 4:54 pm

I was mostly searching online, couldn't find anyone who sold it as a separate item. Most of the hits I got were for Ford dealers in the UK who were selling it as an add-on accessory for the Thunder model. I wanted the original Ford unit, not a similar item.... to make the install easy nah.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » March 1st, 2010, 10:57 pm

Well, got mine serviced today, bill with discount for making an online booking was roughly $1800 ...

Van pulls very strongly, zero issues except my suspension squeaks a bit over bumps ... will have to get it lubed.

Love this truck ...

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 2nd, 2010, 6:57 am

mines due to go into the firm tomorrow - first 5000km service...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”