Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
venum

Postby venum » March 1st, 2010, 8:05 pm

some tyres that I found this Saturday in my travels:

Hercules Terra Trac A/T

kinda looks like my Toyo Open Country

Hero DynaStorm A/T and Sumitomo\Ironman Electra

Firestone Firehawk ATX

The Firehawk A/T sold out

Firestone Destination A/T

another Firestone:

Bolex:

BF Goodrich:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 1st, 2010, 8:40 pm

currently i have the Hercules Terra Trac A/T installed - really good traction on the dry roads and on gravel - didn't get a chance to test them on mud as yet.
I just hope they wont be totally useless on the wet roads...

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 3rd, 2010, 8:24 am

Any body try the MAXXIS?

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 3rd, 2010, 9:17 am

wagon r wrote:^ depending on the surface....even A/Ts will not grip the road when wet.....trust me, i was driftin in La Romain last thurs.

....and i mean driftin..!

what kinda ATs you have? I thought you say your tires smooth

The ones on my truck hold very well in the rain.... Absolutely no drifting (unlike the duellers.....drifting around every damn turn)

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 3rd, 2010, 12:40 pm

^^which do u have?

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 3rd, 2010, 2:53 pm

michelins ATX 2

venum

Postby venum » March 3rd, 2010, 4:50 pm

^^^ even on d spare

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 3rd, 2010, 6:29 pm

The 06 ranger came with michelins a/t but those have really bad traction in the wet - recently got roadstone roadian for that ride and they seem to be good - it is a hell of alot quieter and give a really nice smooth ride but they arnt really 4x4 tires- they are really road tires- good for the misses :lol:

venum

Postby venum » March 3rd, 2010, 8:29 pm

civic minded wrote: recently got roadstone roadian for that ride and they seem to be good

Those are crap tyres, sorry to say

I just changed a set

Upgraded to Toyo Open Country A/T

Those Rodian's good in wet and dry until half life

After half tread, kiss your wet handling goodbye

I used to drift all over the place with those

They good for burnouts and doughnuts and drifting in beach sand

Not much else

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 3rd, 2010, 9:53 pm

yeh well i expected them to be crappy for cheap tires - i just hope i get the van sell before they become real crappy :lol: :lol:

Postby wagon r » March 4th, 2010, 9:12 am

323_wagon_dude wrote:
wagon r wrote:^ depending on the surface....even A/Ts will not grip the road when wet.....trust me, i was driftin in La Romain last thurs.

....and i mean driftin..!

what kinda ATs you have? I thought you say your tires smooth

The ones on my truck hold very well in the rain.... Absolutely no drifting (unlike the duellers.....drifting around every damn turn)

...they aren't smooth yet but at 1/2 life....they have lost some of their wet holding capabilities.....the goal is to upgrade to BFG A/Ts.....I may consider M/Ts but the front clearance may be an issue.

venum

Postby venum » March 4th, 2010, 5:48 pm

wagon r wrote:.....the goal is to upgrade to BFG A/Ts.....I may consider M/Ts but the front clearance may be an issue.

lift kit = problem solved

ryanm

Postby ryanm » March 5th, 2010, 5:06 am

also creates new problem. higher centre of gravity= poor handling

even a slight increase can significantly increase cornering instability, unless compensated by rims with more offset

Postby 3stagevtec » March 5th, 2010, 6:15 am

venum wrote:
civic minded wrote: recently got roadstone roadian for that ride and they seem to be good

Those are crap tyres, sorry to say

I just changed a set

Upgraded to Toyo Open Country A/T

Those Rodian's good in wet and dry until half life

After half tread, kiss your wet handling goodbye

I used to drift all over the place with those

They good for burnouts and doughnuts and drifting in beach sand

Not much else

Which models? the HT or AT2's?

My pops has the AT2 on his Mazda and they work really well imo! no unnecessary fish tailing in the wet and excellent traction in the dry.. you can pull off hard from a standstill on a corner in the wet and the rear wont drift out on you easily..

the tyres are still new though, only have about 15,000kms on them but they holding out great so far.. i'd say they were a good buy at less than $700 each for the 31"s..

venum

Postby venum » March 5th, 2010, 12:06 pm

ryanm wrote:

also creates new problem. higher centre of gravity= poor handling

even a slight increase can significantly increase cornering instability, unless compensated by rims with more offset

well if he lift it then he can put the wider tyres with more -ve offset to increase balance

braking will be reduced, but he will have better off-roadability

ryanm

Postby ryanm » March 6th, 2010, 6:44 pm

yep that's right!!!

Venum when allyuh goin to tes out the lsd?

venum

Postby venum » March 6th, 2010, 11:20 pm

I available tomm

Crix get ban from using his van

so it looks like the next run

ryanm

Postby ryanm » March 7th, 2010, 7:30 am

i available all day today and any afternoon. Gimme a call when you ready.

I know the lsd in my van working i just want to have an idea of the pre load setting when it begins to work like an open diff under load. 751-9167

venum

Postby venum » March 18th, 2010, 11:32 pm

saw some of these @ Mileage Mack today

Super Swamper TSL/Bogger 33 x 12.5

$1897.00 VAT incl each

Kumho Road Venture M/T 33 x 12.5

$1587.00 VAT incl each

at QuickService

Michelin

Linglong

Postby 3stagevtec » March 20th, 2010, 1:12 am

venum wrote:saw some of these @ Mileage Mack today

that's the good stuff...

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 20th, 2010, 1:35 am

3stagevtec wrote:
venum wrote:saw some of these @ Mileage Mack today

that's the good stuff...

Yup ... just get another set of rims and use them only for off-roading. On the road, they will wear down before you know it.

BTW : For Sale : 4 Michelin LTX M/S with 65-70% life remaining.
Tyres have less than 40 000km and haven't started cutting yet. It's 31x10.5 15s.

I paid almost $5000 for the set.... asking $2000 for the 4 and will only sell if someone is taking the 4.

777-3077

droppa

Postby droppa » March 21st, 2010, 11:29 am

I installed some Bridgestone Duelers M/T on the Jimny friday and saturday tried them out in Las Cuevas, I'm really impressed with their performance in the dry sand they digging out real quick, wet sand like I on tarmac and tru the trail I can change paths with ease, they climbing nice too. Before I had on some Geolandars AT2 they were good but I'm pleased with my up grade. I need to get a second set of wheels and tires for wet and road use, looking the Michelins or All Country.

venum

Postby venum » March 21st, 2010, 7:33 pm

droppa, the set that sweeks, have will work well for you on teh road

excellent tyres

H/T tyres will work well on hard wet sand

teh Yoko Geolanders are good street tyres as well

they are the factory fit for some SUV's teh Pajero being one of them

good info on the Dueler M/T's

where did you get them though

never seen those around

droppa

Postby droppa » March 22nd, 2010, 12:27 am

Swapped out the geos cus some read ups said the cause shuddering when on steelies at speeds over 80kmph, and since may last year I doin all kinda thing tuh get out dat problem, got the rims and tires from a FU Sierra out of Japan, was $2500 for the set of 5 but I only wanted 4 so I got them for $2K, real best deal I'd say.

Yeah I will call sweeks on those tires, mite have to body lift to take them 31s!

venum

Postby venum » March 22nd, 2010, 6:50 am

What size are the Dueler M/T's :?:

droppa

Postby droppa » March 22nd, 2010, 8:45 am

the Duelers are 215/75/15 :roll:

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 22nd, 2010, 10:03 am

3stagevtec, 3 morne diablo > If you go in rainy season - you will cry. The only vehicle i see passing through are fully built off road warriors. How i miss my samurai !

Postby 3stagevtec » March 22nd, 2010, 12:03 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:3stagevtec, 3 morne diablo > If you go in rainy season - you will cry. The only vehicle i see passing through are fully built off road warriors. How i miss my samurai !

fully agree!

I had to park up the Vitara and ride along last year.. trail was crazy fun though..

droppa

Postby droppa » March 24th, 2010, 7:50 am

yeah dem men does go looking for the craziest trails and then plot out runs....

and i think ur not allowed to drive on the hard ground eh... :twisted:

so with the lil rainfall last nite i decide to try out the M/Ts, they arent good on the wet road at all, not that im surprised. or it cud be how is first rains and the road lil slimey too eh, but she sliding round corners with no fuss at all :mrgreen: :mrgreen: .....so is level cruising for me on rainy days until i get some A/Ts... :mrgreen:

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 4th, 2010, 5:53 pm

I actually have the Firestone Firehawk ATX on the Pajero right now.....

They not bad tyres really, not particularly noisy on tarmac etc... Only reason for this is, they more of an all purpose tyre than a true offroader..

You throw some wet sticky clay at it and I guarantee you the threads will fill up and you will get stuck (happened to me last Christmas eve)

So if you want something that can handle some light offroading, maybe it will cut it..

PS. Factory fit on the older Pajero's wasnt Yoko Geolander, was actually Yoko Super Digger, which also cannot handle wet clay soil (Got stuck with those too)

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”