Build Project: Suzie!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: Build Project: Suzie!!

Postby lighthammer » October 26th, 2012, 5:38 am

re-installed the horn and get it working.

yuh s'posed to do that last, 'orse!!

*meep* *meep*!

neckto

Postby neckto » October 26th, 2012, 2:56 pm

lighthammer wrote:
re-installed the horn and get it working.

yuh s'posed to do that last, 'orse!!

*meep* *meep*!

i ordering a pair of those loud euro ones i see advertising on the classifieds so the horn-in eh done, it hav more horn to come!!

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 26th, 2012, 9:26 pm

Faiz and m&d auto in marabella has the loud euros

neckto

Postby neckto » October 28th, 2012, 9:10 pm

MonsterPower wrote:Faiz and m&d auto in marabella has the loud euros

ok cool, im checking the tuner from PAP to see what he got fist........if that dont work out i'll go by Faiz

neckto

Postby neckto » October 28th, 2012, 9:27 pm

update

nothing much done this weekend. had other things come up

i began laying the dampener on the floor. cut the pieces and got them fitting properly. used the heat from the blow dryer to stick one so far and it bonded pretty well.

the drain caps placed back on using body guard (tar like solution) to bond and seal the holes

marked the spots that have to remain uncovered to make things a little easier and not cover any holes my mistake

first piece that was cut and stuck...........it did it like a real burr, so i decided to cut and fit the others and line them up for proper fitments before sticking any more

cut pieces being laid out

Suzie with lights (temp) fitted

will post a pic or two of the floor after i finish sticking the pieces down. but i used out the whole roll and haven't gotten everywhere covered so i have to go buy more again. the roll was 9" X 10M i might need another roll since i plan to cover the complete floor so the extra dampening on the areas not factory covered will help compensate for the flash band not being the ideal product hopefully.

Postby nervewrecker » October 29th, 2012, 10:27 am

is flash band you really using dey?

droppa

Postby droppa » October 29th, 2012, 10:40 am

yeah boi is flash band he using dey, i kno he probably on a budget dats why!!!

Postby nervewrecker » October 29th, 2012, 10:50 am

Thought he might have looked into some cheap sound deadening as I know he wanted to install some music afterwards.
The flashband holds up though.

loving this thread btw, excellent work.

neckto

Postby neckto » October 29th, 2012, 2:35 pm

Bizzare wrote:nah I was jus joking :lol:
we quit doing auto body repairs a while now.
over 3 yrs since i hold a paint gun.

cool bro..............is my first time using one............loving it!!

neckto

Postby neckto » October 29th, 2012, 2:37 pm

nervewrecker wrote:is flash band you really using dey?

yea hoss......i wanted to see for myself how good it would work for automotive application after all this is my learning experience project
Last edited by neckto on October 29th, 2012, 2:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

neckto

Postby neckto » October 29th, 2012, 2:38 pm

droppa wrote:yeah boi is flash band he using dey, i kno he probably on a budget dats why!!!

yeq hoss thats one of the main reason as well

neckto

Postby neckto » October 29th, 2012, 2:53 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Thought he might have looked into some cheap sound deadening as I know he wanted to install some music afterwards.
The flashband holds up though.

loving this thread btw, excellent work.

yea bro after trying the flash band........i have decided so far:

To cover the entire floor with it to dampen the areas which were not factory dampened as well.

To heat install it to make sure it bonds properly and not become loose

To cover the flash band afterwards with the 2K paint to help seal it and dry/ harden the exposed tar areas.

To NOT use this material in the doors, vertical back panel of cabin interior (behind back seat), and in the hood.

i have not tried out automotive dampeners as yet but i believe it would be more heat resistant just like the factory dampener, the flash band becomes tacky with less heat applied in my opinion so using it on those areas may run a risk of becoming tacky with sun heat etc which would lead to mess, bad scents as suggested before and possibility of loosening or falling off. the floor will be fully carpeted and hopefully lined with a felt or thin sponge to aide in cushioning, dampening and comfort so i don't anticipate problems with the flash-band for floor application

Postby nervewrecker » October 29th, 2012, 4:56 pm

http://store.deaudiott.com/dynamat-trunk-kit/

That's some heavy stuff there that will do where your music is going but if you need more there is a bulk pack for approx $1200.00. It's plenty thicker than flashband.

I not sure what's the price of the rattletrap locally but for music it works pretty good for 600watts and maybe a bit more for bass. Rattletrap is a bit thinner than the dynamat.

I know there is some liquid stuff too, was looking at one that cures just like what my car came with on the floor. Can't remember the name off hand.

neckto

Postby neckto » October 29th, 2012, 6:43 pm

nervewrecker wrote:http://store.deaudiott.com/dynamat-trunk-kit/

That's some heavy stuff there that will do where your music is going but if you need more there is a bulk pack for approx $1200.00. It's plenty thicker than flashband.

I not sure what's the price of the rattletrap locally but for music it works pretty good for 600watts and maybe a bit more for bass. Rattletrap is a bit thinner than the dynamat.

I know there is some liquid stuff too, was looking at one that cures just like what my car came with on the floor. Can't remember the name off hand.

hey thanks, i saw their line of dampeners, i didn't know speciality dampener was so much more expensive, im thinking that kinda hard to come outa pocket for, for something i hadn't even thought about doing initially.....oh well, as they say, in for a penny...........

Postby nervewrecker » October 29th, 2012, 8:02 pm

Found the liquid sound deadener:

http://www.secondskinaudio.com/index.ph ... rum-detail

Coverage: 1 gallon = 40 sq ft @ 40 mils thick (40/1000") or 1mm

Suggested Thickness:

Minimum = 40 mils (1mm)
Reccomended thickness = 80 mils (2mm)

Maximum = 120 mils (3mm)

*Spectrum is water based and will not adhere permanently to plastic or fiberglass without first using a self etching primer.

*Application surface should be dry and free from rust, oil, dirt and debris prior application.

Heat insulation, sound dampening and noise reduction.

Not sure how it measures up against the flashband with respect to price when it comes to thickness and area it will cover.

neckto

Postby neckto » October 29th, 2012, 9:17 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Found the liquid sound deadener:

http://www.secondskinaudio.com/index.ph ... rum-detail

Coverage: 1 gallon = 40 sq ft @ 40 mils thick (40/1000") or 1mm

Suggested Thickness:

Minimum = 40 mils (1mm)
Reccomended thickness = 80 mils (2mm)

Maximum = 120 mils (3mm)

*Spectrum is water based and will not adhere permanently to plastic or fiberglass without first using a self etching primer.

*Application surface should be dry and free from rust, oil, dirt and debris prior application.

Heat insulation, sound dampening and noise reduction.

Not sure how it measures up against the flashband with respect to price when it comes to thickness and area it will cover.

this available locally?

Postby nervewrecker » October 29th, 2012, 9:33 pm

I know the powerseller by the name of thewiseone sells second skin products, not sure if he brings this. Hit him a pm and see.

neckto

Postby neckto » October 29th, 2012, 11:10 pm

will do

neckto

Postby neckto » November 1st, 2012, 12:15 am

UPDATE:

i have something to update finally lol. i real stick on installing the dampening, it was just kinda monotonous like the prep work i did earlier so i was backing from it lol, damn floor just curvier than a mofo man. lol

anyways, its done now. i push and finish it bout 2 hrs ago.

mom's gonna kill me for her 30 yr old blow dryer lol

completed floor

decided to do the whole floor as mentioned before

also bought the expansion valve for the AC evaporator

and bought some carpet for the floor.

and some heat shielding to go under the carpet

bought a pair of seats for the front to replace the bench seat. kinda regretting i bought these two particular ones now tho. they a bit bulky for the insides.

who can guess what this seat come off of?

floor and cab interior ready for primer n paint

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 1st, 2012, 9:01 am

when you said "30 year old hair dryer"... this is what came to my mind...

Then I realized that we're not in the 1990s anymore... I feel old now.

/end threadtrolling

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 1st, 2012, 9:03 am

like yuh goin and bake some cake dey orrr bainecktobaiyuhvanlooklikeagiantcakepandeybaidawgbai!!

neckto

Postby neckto » November 1st, 2012, 6:54 pm

[quote="lighthammer"]when you said "30 year old hair dryer"... this is what came to my mind...

Then I realized that we're not in the 1990s anymore... I feel old now.

/end threadtrolling

thread troll fail bro.............i not seeing the images lol

neckto

Postby neckto » November 1st, 2012, 6:55 pm

lighthammer wrote:Image

like yuh goin and bake some cake dey orrr bainecktobaiyuhvanlooklikeagiantcakepandeybaidawgbai!!

datwouldbeonebenupcakepanbaiLHbai

neckto

Postby neckto » November 1st, 2012, 7:36 pm

Update:

primed the inside today. place was overcast all afternoon so decided to let it dry overnight for safety.

light coat on dampener, most to cover exposed tar areas to help harden and seal it

fillered in old holes made by last owner to probably mount speakers and fillered in dents also

while waiting around for that to dry and watchign the weather we decided to take a look at the front bumper

bumper lights, lens painted over.....sigh

bumper real rotten and bent up

corner peices rotten too. all bolts seized up

after wringing off three bolts in a row and seeign all the damage to the plastic part as well, we decided that this bumper is too much damn headache and repairing not feasible so........

new corners.......

new bumper......

new stone sheild

place looking likea accident scene lol

new grille...one time too yes.

also got some speaker cable, signal cable and current wire so it can be put in before i put on the carpet on the floor one time.
RCA signal

4 Gauge power for amp etc

subs 12 gauge

speaker 16 gauge

Remote wire

thanks to fellow tuners who provided the advice on wiring

will rub down the inside and paint in the morning hopefully

Postby cinco » November 1st, 2012, 9:36 pm

the reason they dont suggest using flashband is because its asphalt based so it "leaks" VOCs which smell stink also the asphalt base is flammable

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 1st, 2012, 10:20 pm

doh mind is flashband u use dey but excellent job in d installation process - too bad d primer hide all d hard work u did there - lol

it is indeed a very boring thing to do , been there done that couple yrs ago with 2-3 layers on hood , doors , trunk , trunk flooring & trunk lid of my wagon

mine was done for music purposes with d right products , lessens d road noise by ALOT ...

neckto

Postby neckto » November 1st, 2012, 11:46 pm

cinco wrote:the reason they don't suggest using flash band is because its asphalt based so it "leaks" VOCs which smell stink also the asphalt base is flammable

well i think we are all going to be enlightened about the use of flash band as automotive application at the end of this build.........thanks for the input.....both are flammable...the pure asphalt is probably more flammable tho

neckto

Postby neckto » November 1st, 2012, 11:49 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:doh mind is flashband u use dey but excellent job in d installation process - too bad d primer hide all d hard work u did there - lol

it is indeed a very boring thing to do , been there done that couple yrs ago with 2-3 layers on hood , doors , trunk , trunk flooring & trunk lid of my wagon

mine was done for music purposes with d right products , lessens d road noise by ALOT ...

wheyy............i don't envy that one bit nah.......dais real cutting n fitting n sticking u talking bout there bro

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 2nd, 2012, 12:43 am

Weird question, how much the flash band cost?

neckto

Postby neckto » November 2nd, 2012, 12:53 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Weird question, how much the flash band cost?

not really weird - $520 V.I.

That's for 2 Rolls of 9"x 10 meters long.......brand evo stick

not saying that u want to try using it FYI:

For regular areas....like what was done at factory........one roll is enough.........for cake pan floor coverage u need the two rolls..........i also heard there are wider rolls but didn't see at my local hardware store

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”