Asking any and everything about frontier - HELP / ADVICE

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Zed Sqd

Re: Asking any and everything about frontier

Postby Zed Sqd » July 14th, 2013, 10:00 pm

So that means no ECU either?

Postby black start » July 14th, 2013, 10:03 pm

I believe only the yd25 and zd30 models have the ecu

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » July 14th, 2013, 10:09 pm

Sweet!!! Bess model then!

N&M got a couple basic 4x4 YD25 turbo models left over from Auto Rentals (as of last week). The sales rep, Kathleen Poyer sent me a quote for 185k on the road...for those who interested.
Last edited by Zed Sqd on July 18th, 2013, 5:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby black start » July 14th, 2013, 10:13 pm

zedsqd wrote:Sweet!!! Bess model then!

N&M got a couple basic 4x4 YD25 trubo models left over from Auto Rentals (as of last week). The sales rep, Kathleen Poyer sent me a quote for 185k on the road...for those who interested.

but ent they had an ad out on the paper for d40's for around that price?

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » July 14th, 2013, 10:19 pm

Must be the 4x2 because the basic D40 double cab 4x4 manual is starting at 205k.

This D22 is the 4X4 double cab with double air bags and ABS.

For the D22 owners, when turning at low speeds without mashing the acc pedal, do you hear the tyres squeel and make a sound as though it skating?

Havoc

Postby Havoc » July 15th, 2013, 8:51 am

zedsqd wrote:For the D22 owners, when turning at low speeds without mashing the acc pedal, do you hear the tyres squeel and make a sound as though it skating?

tht cud be ur rear diff locking up, oil mite need changing
won't hurt to throw in a lil amsoil slip lock in there while ur at it

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » July 16th, 2013, 10:16 am

I am still looking for a carry boy tray cover. Some one link meh up nah.

Postby tr1ad » July 17th, 2013, 9:07 pm

carry boy is 13k from 4x4 trinidad...

flick that yes

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » July 18th, 2013, 7:37 am

Scffold tube and clamp...pricesmart tarpaulin....$400 FTW

Any update on the lift kit?

Postby tr1ad » July 18th, 2013, 4:27 pm

boy is time to get it done by droppa.... haven't left terminal / galeota in more than a week

feel i might sell yes... that long distance run whenever i do get to go home starting to work a pain on my back

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » July 18th, 2013, 6:03 pm

Time seems to be the biggest issue right now too. Install better seats, stiffer suspension, better tyres and all that back pain gone. I having second thoughts about selling because I cant afford to shell out more on higher maintenance costs for another pickup and the D22s can take jammin'...especially for those long runs. Came across one that's 3 years old doing 200,000kms :shock: and running strong, owned by a security firm transporting people and equipment all over d place 24/7.

I was thinking that if I get something like this for the rear (since I'm not going taller than 2" right now i.e. aiming for just a body lift), I can get one of this

http://www.ebay.com/itm/2inch-REAR-Susp ... 352wt_1400

and install it myself whenever I get time.

I noticed no lift kits for the front at the 2" height, so I was thinking if small raises can be achieved by adjusting the torsion bars.

Postby tr1ad » July 18th, 2013, 10:22 pm

droppa can organize the full 2" body lift.... give him a hail....

but yea they take jammin, just not a comfortable ride as say the hilux you had when i took the rims off yuh

any way to achieve a more comfortable ride?

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » July 19th, 2013, 8:25 am

You willing to pay that extra 50K for a good Hilux? :D It's a trade off between the softer/natural bouce of the stock oil shocks and a bit stiffer/controlled ride with gas shocks. All depends on the speed you drive at and what you want from the van. Our market version of the D22 is really an economic class of the pickup and unfortunately comfort is something to be desired and owners usually customize.

You have bench or single seats? The single seats are not really the best for comfort, but that depends on how much use the seat got previously, if the foam good, etc, but to me, it can be a bit more comfortable. Since your setup is stock at the moment, unless you can get your hands on a pair of S-line or 3 series...the Y11 Wingroad or the P11 Primera seats (and they have the adjustment for the tilt as well) hugs just fine and are comfortable for long drives. I've seen persons install them in the D22s. I use that ergonomic back seat thingy from Pricesmart cuz I admit that I'm not driving an Audi :( ...and it helped a lot.

Ummmmm.....I balanced between the gas shocks and a 265-70-16s - Bridgestone road tyres....I got them with the van. Also if you running those mud tyres, the side walls will be thicker than your normal road tyre and the ride will be a bit harder as well. Dunlop and Michelin road tyres gives good rides IMO.

Postby sliderz1 » July 22nd, 2013, 9:46 am

allyuh real fussy for a commercial vehicle oui.

the first major work done after 12yrs was a changed centre bearing. wasnt busted, just squealing.

beaters gon beat

droppa

Postby droppa » July 22nd, 2013, 10:58 am

those fronteirs really take licks boi, a better turbo and they will go a long way, the qds run like forever.....

simple stuff here....

http://www.calmini.com/model.php?m=2&b=1&t=2

bolck kit, or add-a-leaf kit, or shackle and torsion with four shockies and yuh inna gear.....

Postby tr1ad » July 22nd, 2013, 5:48 pm

sliderz1 wrote:allyuh real fussy for a commercial vehicle oui.

the first major work done after 12yrs was a changed centre bearing. wasnt busted, just squealing.

beaters gon beat

when you begin to make the runs i have to make you better not make a squeak

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 23rd, 2013, 9:54 am

YEAH BABY!!

Nissan or nothing.... lol.

(i'll show myself out the door....)

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » July 23rd, 2013, 3:07 pm

Maybe its because I came from a 3 ton Dyna but I find my ZD30 4x4 gives me a very smooth and comfortable ride! I love this van.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » July 25th, 2013, 4:38 am

13k for the cover? Wow.

At lighthammer, it's powered by a Honda engine lol.

Postby black start » July 25th, 2013, 11:52 pm

lighthammer wrote:Image

YEAH BABY!!

Nissan or nothing.... lol.

(i'll show myself out the door....)

use to move with a padna with a d21 single cab 4x2 like this in secondary school....real nice and reliable vehicle. I believe it has the td27 motor as well.

Postby nervewrecker » July 27th, 2013, 10:31 am

zedsqd wrote:

For the D22 owners, when turning at low speeds without mashing the acc pedal, do you hear the tyres squeel and make a sound as though it skating?

Define low speeds?

Low for me is like 30 - 60km/h for 90 degree bends (or close) and 80 - 100km/h with foot on the acc for normal road corners. Feels more like if I push it any harder I will spin out.

Postby sliderz1 » July 27th, 2013, 10:55 am

zedsqd wrote:

Define low speeds?

Low for me is like 30 - 60km/h for 90 degree bends (or close) and 80 - 100km/h with foot on the acc for normal road corners. Feels more like if I push it any harder I will spin out.

in my case..

the front, no

the rear, somewhat yes, my LSD is different from most Frontiers (different spec model) and locks up alot more than the regular types.

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » July 27th, 2013, 3:27 pm

nervewrecker, it happens when turning....it can be with just momentum or in a gear like around a corner. The sound is more pronounced/audible below 10km/h. In 2wd mode, it sounds much like when the 4wd is still engaged and you try turning on the road.

sliderz1, yeah from the rear. What's the different spec model?...is the locking up an issue or it is expected?
Last edited by Zed Sqd on July 28th, 2013, 6:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » July 27th, 2013, 6:42 pm

Nope, nothing like that on this end.

Postby nervewrecker » July 30th, 2013, 3:04 pm

Guys, getting a weird start up sometimes. Had it like 3 times so far and I though was water cause it because the previous two times it happen I cleaned the engine bay the day before. But this morning got it and I havent touched the engine.

Sounds like a harder than usual tumble for approx half a second longer than usual and the vehicle shakes a bit. Like old iron knocking.

I read that it could be the oil drains out over night and when its cold next morning its the play between the cylinders and the housing making the racket under there before the oil pump send oil up into it to fill the gaps. Is that it or should I be worried about something else?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » July 31st, 2013, 4:41 am

It's possible your glow plugs are not all working, try heating twice and see how it starts.
Does it smoke when it does that?

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2013, 12:13 am

No smoke, will try heating twice and see if it makes a difference. Its a once in a blue moon occurrence.

Postby tr1ad » August 12th, 2013, 9:34 pm

folks,
i'm, looking for this part

pic courtesy sliderz

the service manual says it's a drive clutch, but online diagrams show nothing of the sort, no reference to this part, cannot find a part number for it

the firm cannot locate it on their system, well because it is not showing up on the drawings

this fits behind the manual locking hubs, and the axle end

very important as right now the axle is free and any bump it just moves around causing more damage to the axle/hub

Re: Asking any and everything about frontier - HELP / ADVICE

Postby nervewrecker » August 13th, 2013, 12:22 am

You tried filterproz?

Anyhew, anyone knows what options I have in switching diff's? I want better top speed and gear ratio (something like 120km/h at approximately 2000rpm on fifth will be ideal) but at the same time I dont want to compromise the ability to move a van load of people if I have to and not see trouble to go up hills.

The purpose of the current setup seems geared towards moving load at low speeds than speed.

What else I have to change if its a diff swap I doing?

lighthammer

Re: Asking any and everything about frontier - HELP / ADVICE

Postby lighthammer » August 15th, 2013, 9:17 am

don't replace the whole diff, u can just replace the ring and pinion gears (same thing what offroaders do to their jimny's to run bigger tires).

There's a couple diff-ratio calculators available online, just google it and you can calculate what ratio you want to put in, versus size of tires you're running plus how fast you want the vehicle to go (i believe drag racers do the same thing).

And there's a couple companies in the US who can supply or make new ring gears for you - eg. http://www.justdifferentials.com or if you do happen to calculate the diff ratio you want and the ring gear is actually available, you can try http://www.4x4parts.com who deal with strictly Nissan trucks.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”