Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 27th, 2010, 3:53 pm

for those who brought navara's from the firm, how is the service at N&M morvant?

any complaints or issues??
and what is a good brand of diseal treatment to use and how often, just tryin to maintain my van as best as possible (first disiel )

Postby Chimera » February 27th, 2010, 3:58 pm

biggy82 wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:I buy a 2010 civic yesterday...I dunno if its because I accustomed to the navara that I find the ride in the civic so shitty...or if the ride in the civic is just shitty.

Sending it back today for Classic to check the problem

LOL biggy

turns out the tyres werent inflated properly

I eh like the car much anymore tho, might spring for a new crv in a 2-3 months

ravist

Postby ravist » March 1st, 2010, 7:36 am

i have confirm that they will not void the warranty if the roof rail is installed. if rusting happens around the area however, they will not cover (which is understandable)...can anyone assist in a price average for the roof rail, i believe that m rampersad has for $6900.00 installed..

secondly, some issues with my new van :x ;
1) smoking bad
2) air condition leaking inside vehicle
3) 4x4 remains on after it is dis-engaged
4) tensioner bolt for belts slack
5) very loud squeaking at startup
6) pulls lazy and very noisy

any one ever had these problems????
Last edited by ravist on March 1st, 2010, 7:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 1st, 2010, 8:06 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:I buy a 2010 civic yesterday...I dunno if its because I accustomed to the navara that I find the ride in the civic so shitty...or if the ride in the civic is just shitty.

Sending it back today for Classic to check the problem

are you crazy...the new civic is wonderful....
own both vehicles and im pleased with both

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 1st, 2010, 8:55 am

ravist, sounds like you may have to make a warranty claim considering it's a new van. Hold off on the roof rail and go to the dealership and have your issues resolved ASAP.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 1st, 2010, 9:26 am

Cooper wrote:ravist, sounds like you may have to make a warranty claim considering it's a new van. Hold off on the roof rail and go to the dealership and have your issues resolved ASAP.

yeah jed...would be a good idea...cause i now got mines and it working perfectly

have to go back for the first 1000km tune up next week

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 1st, 2010, 9:31 am

by the way looking for the projector headlights for the nav, where i could source that?

and the boddy cladding

Aaron 2NR, youre front flare, where could i source that?

ravist

Postby ravist » March 1st, 2010, 10:32 am

i have my first service this friday so i'll take it in and hear what they have to say but to my and everybody's understanding, a new vehicle should never work this way and this is frustrating me....

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 1st, 2010, 11:48 am

I understanding where you are coming from, but keep in mind that they do keep the vehicles parked up for long periods and they are not really driven till they are actually sold. So basically they don't use the vehicles like a customer would and sometimes these issues are expected to occur.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » March 1st, 2010, 2:29 pm

ravist wrote:secondly, some issues with my new van :x ;
1) smoking bad

fuel filter needs draining / changing. need fuel treatment. or try an ECU reset (see earlier in the thread)
ravist wrote:2) air condition leaking inside vehicle

hoses might be cracked. warranty replacement
ravist wrote:3) 4x4 remains on after it is dis-engaged

this happens when you have a little driveline windup. the gears may be so stressed that it cannot safely disengage the 4WD. i am sure if you take out the 4WD with the wheels dead straight, it will come off within seconds
ravist wrote:4) tensioner bolt for belts slack

warranty replacement?
ravist wrote:5) very loud squeaking at startup

check drive belts. warranty replacement
ravist wrote:6) pulls lazy and very noisy

see #1

ravist

Postby ravist » March 1st, 2010, 3:24 pm

great info

thanks for the advise....

Postby Chimera » March 1st, 2010, 5:03 pm

ravist wrote:

secondly, some issues with my new van :x ;
1) smoking bad
well..i getting that problem all the time and I using amzoil lol

had the same problem, AC hose has to be turned to outside, dealer will fix that

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » March 1st, 2010, 5:57 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
ravist wrote:secondly, some issues with my new van :x ;
1) smoking bad
well..i getting that problem all the time and I using amzoil lol

then try the fuel pump ECU reset

ravist

Postby ravist » March 2nd, 2010, 8:09 am

what fuel mileage are you fellas getting on your nav?
this morning i filled up $92.00 for 505kms (normal driving)....is this good, bad or ok???

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 2nd, 2010, 8:25 am

close to 700km for around $95....

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 2nd, 2010, 9:46 am

ravist wrote:what fuel mileage are you fellas getting on your nav?
this morning i filled up $92.00 for 505kms (normal driving)....is this good, bad or ok???

getting the same thing here too...but this was the disiel from massey so my fist fill up may be today or tom

Postby Greypatch » March 2nd, 2010, 10:03 am

secondly, some issues with my new van ;
1) smoking bad
3) 4x4 remains on after it is dis-engaged
4) tensioner bolt for belts slack
5) very loud squeaking at startup
6) pulls lazy and very noisy

like you get ah hospital van.....how long did you wait for this vehicle....

looks liek it park up for quite a while...

for those who brought navara's from the firm, how is the service at N&M morvant?

got mine down south...

went to service once..

dem did a good job price was too high for my blood and then dem..

scratch meh facking Van and chrome rim...never got back to me with a reply.

I never went back either. doing my sheit outside.

no problems

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 2nd, 2010, 10:26 am

anyone know where i could get a bull bad for my nav?...called maska they hav it for 3000 plus vat...anywhere else?

this is the black carryboy im looking for

ravist

Postby ravist » March 2nd, 2010, 10:49 am

yuh mean like a get ah flikkin dead hearse.... i am really not satisfied with this vehicle.... i waited about two weeks after i made the down payment cuz the van was still at sea.... do you think it being automatic (4x4) has anything to do with low mileage? Fellas who are getting 700kms, do you have manual or automatic 4x4??
Last edited by ravist on March 3rd, 2010, 8:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 2nd, 2010, 12:33 pm

manual...drive @ around 100km-120km

Postby Chimera » March 2nd, 2010, 1:33 pm

4x4 automatic here

drive between 100-160 km/h usually

Not sure how much KM per tank i getting tho

Will have to actually check that

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 2nd, 2010, 2:24 pm

have any of you actually drained the fuel/water seperator ureself or let the firm do it during tune ups??

anyone running algeaX btw?

or any toher aftermarket filter

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » March 2nd, 2010, 4:40 pm

is anybody reading this thread fully BEFORE posting? :roll:

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » March 2nd, 2010, 6:08 pm

biggy82 wrote:is anybody reading this thread fully BEFORE posting? :roll:

lol guess not

ravist

Postby ravist » March 3rd, 2010, 7:45 am

The van will be going for a service this Friday so i am hoping that most if not all these issues get sorted out....

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 3rd, 2010, 9:01 am

so i fulled up for the first time last night
only got 500km off the first tank
is the normal for an automatic disiel? or should i be seeing greater fuel economy

ravist

Postby ravist » March 3rd, 2010, 1:19 pm

Lenny Sumadh has a CAV device that carries a Delphi Filter and a Glass Bowl for $490.00. Do the same principles apply to the AlgeaX and does it make sense installing, see pics below;

Postby Greypatch » March 3rd, 2010, 2:20 pm

the navare comes with 2 fuel filters...

why would you want to install a 3rd ?

ravist

Postby ravist » March 3rd, 2010, 2:39 pm

I know of two instances where massey had to change the pump because of bad diesel and the recommended the CAV filter or AlgeaX.... I am not saying that the two filters do not work but the opportunity cost of having that little extra protection for $500.00 is worth it especially with the nav cuz they are so sensitive....

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 3rd, 2010, 6:23 pm

These were the few reasons why I decided not to purchase the navara......no offense to anyone that own one but me personally don't like this kinda headache to worry about bad diesel and dotish mechanics in massy that don't know from their head to their foot

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”