Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Cooper

Postby Cooper » November 25th, 2009, 7:37 pm

neckto wrote:this was explaind to me on my test drive

the ranger does not have "on the fly 4X4"

so you have to come to a complete stop to engage the 4H

so in senario 2 you can use it on the slipprry road condition at speed below 100Hmph but you have to pull on the shoulder first stop, engage it then proceed

the 4L well same engagement proceedure but u all have the driving situations covered already

No true, some of the sales people are not too aware of the 4WD setup on these vehicles. Yes, you have to come to a complete stop to initially engage the 4WD. It all works with the RFW switch....

Let's say you want to engage 4x4 before going off-road.

- You come to a complete stop

- move the transfer lever from 2H to 4H

- after rolling forward a short distance the RFW light comes on (that's when you hear the click)

- you can now drive with the 4x4 on and you are now able to shift between 4H & 2H on the fly using the transfer lever (the small gear thingy.) As long as the RFW light is on you can do this, keep that in mind.

- To turn the RFW off, shift to 2H and press the RFW button

To shift into 4L requires a full stop (and make sure to put the tranny in neutral)

Again, the manual IS confusing on this part, but try it at low speeds on a back road to get the hang of it and you'll understand.
Last edited by Cooper on November 25th, 2009, 8:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » November 25th, 2009, 8:04 pm

One more thing...

If your doing the 'shift on the fly' (between 2H & 4H) while the RFW light is on Keep in mind that the front wheels will still be connected to the drive assembly while you are in 2H. It's an extra load on the engine but the front wheels are not powered (hence the name, Remote Free Wheel.)

...that extra load means you burn more fuel.

neckto

Postby neckto » November 26th, 2009, 8:23 am

i dunno bout the auto

i tested the manual only

shouldve specified that earlier

nick009

Postby nick009 » December 27th, 2009, 9:11 pm

is the rfw light supposed to come on when the van starts even if it is in 4x2?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » December 28th, 2009, 7:10 am

If you press the button, does it go off? If not, have your dealer/mechanic check it out.

nick009

Postby nick009 » December 28th, 2009, 7:30 am

yea it does go off if i press the button
but it is always on when i start
is this normal or should i get this checked
i was wondering if it is possible that something is malfunctioning

Cooper

Postby Cooper » December 28th, 2009, 8:21 am

It's not normal, it must be a malfunction. Probably a bad relay/solenoid. Have it checked and lets us know the outcome.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » December 28th, 2009, 11:17 am

Has anyone seen and/or tested the Wildtrak model that M Rampersad carrying? Always hoped Mc Enearney would have brought it as the flagship Ranger model... maybe its not available for our market directly from Ford.

I saw them advertised in the papers for about 199K otr

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 28th, 2009, 2:29 pm

just made a thread on this too yes...

apparently is 4x2 :?

nick009

Postby nick009 » January 2nd, 2010, 7:11 pm

what tyre pressure do you guys run at

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » January 3rd, 2010, 12:23 pm

30 psi rite tru... higher if u carryin goods... there is a chart in the manual

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » January 3rd, 2010, 1:35 pm

323_guy wrote:30 psi rite tru... higher if u carryin goods... there is a chart in the manual

Chart is on the inside driver's door as well ... half a year gone by ... ZERO issues and still burning tires every day 8-)

civic minded

Postby civic minded » January 3rd, 2010, 3:03 pm

I think the sound quality of the ranger audio system really sucks
is there anyway that can be upgraded?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » January 3rd, 2010, 3:04 pm

Go slow - how much it cost for the first service?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » January 3rd, 2010, 7:36 pm

civic minded wrote:Go slow - how much it cost for the first service?

About $900 I think ... Kinda fades now, second service is due ...

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » January 4th, 2010, 8:10 am

all them new pick up audio sucks .....

go slow ah have yuh tail light ready fuh yuh.. give us a call .

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » January 4th, 2010, 9:28 am

4X4 Trinidad wrote:all them new pick up audio sucks .....

go slow ah have yuh tail light ready fuh yuh.. give us a call .

Sweet! will do!

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » January 4th, 2010, 5:32 pm

2nd service @ 15000kms done 2day in sando: $1900.00!
Brakes lockin up on u as yuh drive home: f*kin Priceless!! :evil:

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » January 4th, 2010, 7:21 pm

doh F*** me up!!!!!!!!!!!!! AH JUS BUY ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lawwwwd fadda.....1900 dawg wha dey do tha van so????? they give yuh a range rover to use an a venny for the night too wid dat price?!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » January 10th, 2010, 9:18 pm

Go slow I started hearing a faint sqeeking coming from the front right wheel - I am only hearing it when I go over a hump- I know that it have to be the spring or something but the speedo no clocking 1040
anyone else got this problem?

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » January 11th, 2010, 7:55 am

yuh lube it ??? used to get the same prob with the navara and i lube it and it was good to go .

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » January 11th, 2010, 8:50 am

You need to lube your front suspension, I had the same problem, and the firm does not do it unless you cuss them up :| (seriously)

civic minded

Postby civic minded » January 11th, 2010, 10:06 am

Yes well I have the van for 2 weeks now and this have started
I called Blaine but like he busy - not taking my calls.

Postby Greypatch » January 11th, 2010, 11:40 am

dat is customer service

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 11th, 2010, 1:49 pm

Interesting....

Customer Service for me is great every time I deal with McEnearney. I guess I'll have to keep a close eye on them the next time I visit. I can do most of the servicing myself but I don't have the time these days. If their standards are indeed dropping, I'll have to make some adjustments in my schedule and do the work myself.

BTW anyone know of a Local Hot Female Diesel mechanic :?: :?: :!: :!: :?:

Yeah, I know........... wishful thinking :cry:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » January 11th, 2010, 3:48 pm

Problem was sorted out - Blaine called me back and made arrangements - I brought in the ranger and they greese up the front suspension - no charge

nick009

Postby nick009 » January 11th, 2010, 8:20 pm

do the manual versions have a lift pump in the tank? or just a single mechanical pump in the engine bay

nick009

Postby nick009 » January 11th, 2010, 8:55 pm

http://www.cs.rochester.edu/~jag/vw/eng ... jpump.html

this is a good read for guys with the mechanical pump

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 11th, 2010, 8:56 pm

^^^Good Link there, Thanks :!:

civic minded wrote:Problem was sorted out - Blaine called me back and made arrangements - I brought in the ranger and they greese up the front suspension - no charge

Glad to know you got it sorted out. It is weird that you got that noise so soon...maybe someone overlooked something during the inspection at the factory... the good part is you called the salesperson (Blaine) earlier today and he called you back the same day to fix the suspension problem. That's good customer service if you ask me :!:

BTW, don't get annoyed if Blaine wasn't taking your calls. He is one of the busiest salespersons at McEnearney...the awards behind his desk can attest to that. The main thing is he called you back and made sure your ride was up to mark.

Postby wagon r » January 11th, 2010, 9:11 pm

^ point...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”