Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Postby wagon r » January 27th, 2010, 2:08 pm

$5,200 for a set of 4....

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 27th, 2010, 2:37 pm

wagon r wrote:^ Quick Service....but they cost a premuim.

...i myself want to switch to BFGs in december....

Ever so often they have sale with 20 - 25% off. It's well advertised in the media. Wait and get them on sale.

Postby wagon r » January 27th, 2010, 2:49 pm

the sale and the money doh always work in tandem.....i'll have to take it when i could get it.

...but thanks.

ryanm

Postby ryanm » January 27th, 2010, 7:29 pm

Used the BFG's already. real good traction and excellent threadwear

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » January 27th, 2010, 10:18 pm

i can vouch for the bfg`s - i doign abt 60 000 kms on mine. They can be changed now but still have enough life to last me the dry season easy.
If yall hear abt a sale send me a PM !!

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 27th, 2010, 10:36 pm

trincivic wrote:Where can I get the Michelins LTX A/T 265/70/15

Look who ^

Going to do some off road runs on the civic :lol:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 28th, 2010, 12:53 am

speedaholic wrote:what about triangle tyres? are they any gud??

Forget those.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 28th, 2010, 7:07 am

sweeks wrote:
speedaholic wrote:what about triangle tyres? are they any gud??

Forget those.

Fella, it's a tire named 'triangle'....TRIANGLE :!: :!:

That should be the first and foremost concern right there. I think the Triangle Tire Company is playing some kinda long running joke on people :lol:

venum

Postby venum » January 28th, 2010, 8:35 am

the BFG's worked out to $4800.00 last time I checked on sale

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » January 28th, 2010, 10:19 am

guys, I've recently seen some Merit All Country A/T tires
at Jack's in Chaguanas for $950 each 265-70-16, I wasnt. too sure about
them at first but I recently found some info in the internet. Have a look
and it might be an option.

http://www.herculestire.com/catalogMeri ... _Index.asp

venum

Postby venum » January 28th, 2010, 2:10 pm

vickyexp, I saw those by jack's in couva

price was a lil lower i believe

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 28th, 2010, 5:17 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:
trincivic wrote:Where can I get the Michelins LTX A/T 265/70/15

Look who ^

Going to do some off road runs on the civic :lol:

Terry - yuh is a real BACK-SIDE

Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa :D

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 28th, 2010, 8:44 pm

I know not this Terry you speak of..........
But those size tyres should last him much longer .........

By the way i saw some Maxxis tyres on a few suv what is the word on that?
Who used it?

venum

Postby venum » January 28th, 2010, 11:27 pm

what allyuh think of these:

Firestone Firehawk ATX:

and teh Firehawk AT looks like:

these are 31 x 10.5 R15

good for offroad ?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 28th, 2010, 11:38 pm

venum wrote:what allyuh think of these:

Firehawk AT looks like:

these are 31 x 10.5 R15

good for offroad ?

:shock: niceeee....

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 29th, 2010, 6:52 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:I know not this Terry you speak of..........
But those size tyres should last him much longer .........
By the way i saw some Maxxis tyres on a few suv what is the word on that?
Who used it?

Terry - the civic man buy a ranger dude

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 29th, 2010, 4:06 pm

Ranger, ok .....poor ranger :cry:

venum

Postby venum » February 2nd, 2010, 10:22 pm

I believe that Quick Service has a sale on now

20% discount when you buy 4 tyres

Heard on the radio yesterday

@ $5200.00 for the set of 4, You should be paying $4160.00

Damn god price for BFG considering the prices if some other brands

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 3rd, 2010, 8:57 am

i am getting a set of 265/70/15 's terra trac Hercules tires for the ranger for 2500dollars - I know terra trac isnt all that good - just hoping i get at least 2 years from them.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 3rd, 2010, 10:19 am

I did a quick search on tirerack.com for Off-Road Maximum Traction Tires, these are the results. (Ah have to start putting aside money for a set of wheels for the diesel runs :twisted:)

follow the links on this page for more details:
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/types/maxtrac.jsp

Never heard of this brand....

This will look good on a certain Navara 8-)

Postby wagon r » February 3rd, 2010, 11:24 am

Dick Cepek does make some of the best off road tyres....they are widely used in the US....

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 3rd, 2010, 11:27 am

Well ah learn something today :mrgreen:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 3rd, 2010, 11:29 am

civic, i runnign the hercules 31 10.5 15 all terrain tire

good traction in dray, horrible in wet
fantastic in mud

750 per tire.

gonna pick up a pair on saturday in sando

my front have no thread on the inside... apparently i eh see it cutting lol

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 3rd, 2010, 1:04 pm

^^cool - didn't like the part where there is no sort of traction when wet- van espically are very cumbersome on wet roads- espcially since the rainy season coming up

venum

Postby venum » February 3rd, 2010, 4:09 pm

lug pattern tyres do NOT give good traction on wet tarmac

neither will M/T

that is why most ppl go A/T - all round qualities (not teh best of each, but a good mix)

I liking them Firestone's

Postby wagon r » February 3rd, 2010, 6:40 pm

^ depending on the surface....even A/Ts will not grip the road when wet.....trust me, i was driftin in La Romain last thurs.

....and i mean driftin..!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 3rd, 2010, 10:22 pm

Yeah boi what I do - once rain start to fall - I cut my speed down to quarter of what I was doing -just to improve traction

venum

Postby venum » February 3rd, 2010, 10:41 pm

Check these:

from http://www.ttorc.org.tt/ - Trailblazers Rally - 5th July 2009

Postby 3stagevtec » February 3rd, 2010, 11:49 pm

pickups have it hard with that light tray at back, my pops B2500 was pretty tail happy on wet roads with the old Michelins it came with..

for comparison, i can drive really fast in the wet with my SUV - Vitara riding on ATs with no issues at all..

i'm looking to try the BFG MTs when my Terra Trac's run out.. but i am quite pleased with the off road ability of these Hercules ATs.. they dig and release mud quite well..

Postby 3stagevtec » February 3rd, 2010, 11:55 pm

venum wrote:Check these:

from http://www.ttorc.org.tt/ - Trailblazers Rally - 5th July 2009

i went through the grade 3 morne diablo trail with them last year.. had to park up the Vitara and ride along yes..

after seeing that trail, everything else looks like childs play..

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”