Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
topshotta20

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby topshotta20 » February 6th, 2011, 1:05 am

no
no problems was just inquiring

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 6th, 2011, 9:11 pm

Premera wrote:guys i recently ( last week ) bought a TCA ( 2006 Thailand model ) VIGO 3.0D-4D. The previous owner changed the timing belt last September ( 100,000k ) and the van is now doing like 108k. What service would you recommend i do as the new owner. I live in San Juan and prefer someone close to home, if you know anyone.

If the van was properly maintained, you might not have much to do ... basic maintenance ... filters and fluids. Be sure and be wary where you fill up the diesel.

If you need oem oil filters and brakes pads and/or shoes, you can check me.

Premera

Postby Premera » February 7th, 2011, 4:53 pm

sweeks wrote:
Premera wrote:guys i recently ( last week ) bought a TCA ( 2006 Thailand model ) VIGO 3.0D-4D. The previous owner changed the timing belt last September ( 100,000k ) and the van is now doing like 108k. What service would you recommend i do as the new owner. I live in San Juan and prefer someone close to home, if you know anyone.

If the van was properly maintained, you might not have much to do ... basic maintenance ... filters and fluids. Be sure and be wary where you fill up the diesel.

If you need oem oil filters and brakes pads and/or shoes, you can check me.

thanks man.....one more thing...i noticed the air-bag light was on the last couple days then this morning it came off, then this afternoon, it came back on.....any ideas ?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 7th, 2011, 9:07 pm

Spiral cable defective.

robbieg

Postby robbieg » February 7th, 2011, 10:56 pm

This Spiral Cable tends to be weak, my cable has gone as well. Sweeks you dealing parts? If so pm a price on the cable..

turbohead

Postby turbohead » February 7th, 2011, 11:55 pm

take my stupid advise dont use crappy fram and puralator filters on you 150+ vans, $30 may cost you an engine, pay yuh money an get genuine filters, also the redline and amsoil cetane booster and additives seem to work great, injector cleaners are not meant to pour in tank, if you are doin diesel flush get the wynns product, work great. using too much oil on your k&n filters may cause afm to get dirty quickly. do not add kerosene to tank to clean pump.timing belt replacement at 150000km waterpump tend to go at about 80-100 and above, i cud get for you cheaper than firm and install for far cheaper out of warranty vehicles that is. any info and services give me a call 4952320 but prefered calls after 4.30

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 9th, 2011, 9:44 pm

Updated Listing Feb 10

05-10 Hilux
Oil Filter 90915-YZZD1 $90

Fuel Filter Coming Soon

Disc Pads 04465-0k020 $750

Brake Shoes 04495-0k010 $850

01-04 Hilux
Oil Filter 90915-30002 $150

Fuel Filter 23390-64480 $360

Timing Belt 13568-69085 $360

Disc Pads 04465-35260 $750

Brake Shoes 04495-35230 $1,000

Stabalizer Rubbers 48815-14160 $90

03-10 Prado (kzj120)
Oil Filter 90915-30002 $150

Fuel Filter 23390-64480 $360

Timing Belt 13568-69085 $360

Boot rubbers 04427-60080 $750

Disc Pads (Fr) 04465-35290 $850

Cabin Filter 87139-47010-83 $200

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 9th, 2011, 9:49 pm

robbieg wrote:This Spiral Cable tends to be weak, my cable has gone as well. Sweeks you dealing parts? If so pm a price on the cable..

Call Cyrus 6718025 (Experienced Toyota Mechanic). It should cost less than $300 to repair.

Postby Team Loco » February 10th, 2011, 9:08 am

sweeky, doh be vex with meh

i cant say you didnt say so.....changed fuel filter last night. this was just 2% of the grit that fell out

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 10th, 2011, 1:35 pm

TL ... that explains the loss in power .... don't forget to prime with the amsoil diesel additive.

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » February 10th, 2011, 5:19 pm

Team Loco wrote:sweeky, doh be vex with meh

i cant say you didnt say so.....changed fuel filter last night. this was just 2% of the grit that fell out

Sweeks what caused this

turbohead

Postby turbohead » February 10th, 2011, 8:22 pm

^^^water in diesel..

Postby Team Loco » February 10th, 2011, 11:46 pm

came out of my new;y aquired sr5. original owner had the van parked up for a while. i think the particles seen are actually the filter element that started to fall apart

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 11th, 2011, 4:42 pm

Did an oil change and fuel filter change today.. Also did a Diesel Flush.. will post more about it later..
Look out for it..

Postby Team Loco » February 11th, 2011, 6:31 pm

i running some np oil and puralator oil filter. using this as a flush. got my shinny new oem oil filter and castrol oil to use

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 11th, 2011, 8:46 pm

topshotta20 wrote:
Team Loco wrote:sweeky, doh be vex with meh

Sweeks what caused this

Negligence ... that fella want beating with a pipe ...

allwonder

Postby allwonder » February 12th, 2011, 10:04 am

Hi,
I am looking for Rear Seat Back Lock for my Toyota Hilux Vigo Rear Seat.
Please see picture below:

http://i381.photobucket.com/albums/oo25 ... G_3754.jpg

Thanks.

Postby Team Loco » February 13th, 2011, 3:13 pm

^^u can get that at a scrap yard. check fyzam auto garage off southbound highway. they have one scrapping.

Guys. remember i have a bad fuel filter. replaced it, ran a penray fuel system cleaner through the wholes system. its now been 2 fillups since then, but she is losing some power. although she runs pretty fine, she seems a bit uncomfotable at higher speed. in fact my 2.8 can probably beat her on an uphill in terms of torque. remeber, she was parked up for over a year. she doesnt hard start and all filters are in order.

please recommend a good recipe for a diesel purge.
for those who didnt se her on the last run......this is what she looks like. she's up for sale in a week.

nevertheless, she's a beautiful ride

rottedv

Postby rottedv » February 21st, 2011, 7:28 pm

Someone please confirm for me but what is the bolt spacing for a 4x2 hilux 2010?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 22nd, 2011, 5:17 am

It's 5x114.3 or 5x4.5

I believe the 3.0 4x4 hilux is 6x5.

Power Freak

Postby Power Freak » February 22nd, 2011, 12:51 pm

lighthammer wrote:It's 5x114.3 or 5x4.5

I believe the 3.0 4x4 hilux is 6x5.

This is correct. The 2010 4 x 2 is 5x114.3..... Got my 4x2 from TTTL about 2 weeks ago..actually will have the oem alloys and tyres that came with the van up for sale in about a week or two if anyone is interested

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 3rd, 2011, 3:03 pm

Vigo Alternators.

Well guys, Ive been suffering with a dying alternator since December.

On idle its between 11.5 to 12.3v. On fast idle, 1500rpm and up, it SLOWLY climbs to 13.4v.
Once the ac and lights are on, It barely crosses 13v. :shock:

I found a Alternator technician in Arima. Guy's name is Brent.

I visited his workshop yesterday morning. Basically he changed out the damaged 30A diodes in my stock 80A alternator, with 60A Mercedes Benz diodes. The alternator carries 6 diodes, 3 for Neg and 3 for pos. I have a few pics, I'll upload when I have a better internet connection later. Charged 850.00 for the job, which is bess, considering the vampires at Toyota charges 3k plus for the rectifier boards alone and its going to be the same weak diodes on the rectifier board.

He removed the alt, did the work, and reinstalled which is something plenty other tech always grousse about.

The guy's number is 726-6380. He has all the spares and parts for a wide range of alternators, and he builds and rewinds your alternator, if possible as well.

When he was done with the repairs, he had the test bench with a motor and the belts etc to run the alternator on load. I cant ever remember seeing 14.2volts from that alternator!!!

Important to note for the 1kdftv folks.

Our alternator is a 4 wire harness, 3 phase type. Meaning, that the ECU governs the alternator field current. Its not easily replaceable with another alt from another vehicle, nor could he add anymore windings to the stator to increase output as its already ram cram in the housing.

Interesting enough, the windings used square wire and not round.

You would think, the Fortuner with more electric load would have a bigger alternator, not so. I checked that last year when I considered options, and its the same unit. :(

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 3rd, 2011, 3:37 pm

sweeks wrote:Marcus what model Hilux do you own. I carry some OEM parts.

Can you shoot me a quote on this:

84306-0K020
CABLE SUB-ASSY, SPIRAL

Thank you :)

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 3rd, 2011, 9:11 pm

It should be around $2500 (not in stock).

However I think Cyrus repairs them (671-6205)

Postby Team Loco » March 3rd, 2011, 11:01 pm

nigel1977, good read.

anyone ever hooked up a boost controller? my wastegate is sticking. thinking of using an overide.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » March 4th, 2011, 5:27 am

I have an MBC and have been wondering about hooking it up for a while...

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 8th, 2011, 9:58 pm

Pics as promised. Sorry for the delay.

This is the guy.

Just before unbolting

Pressing out the Diodes

Diodes on Negative side. Done !!

New and Old. WOW !!!

Moments before the Rectifier Plates are put back in.

Crimping the 3 phase wiring. I missed the soldering part.

Testing Jig. I put the fone down to help look for the 4 pin connector in a parts bin he had, and forgot to take a pic of that part.

So Far, works great.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 9th, 2011, 5:40 am

Good job.
Do you have a voltmeter at home or a turbo-timer installed?

That way you can monitor the voltage output and charging ability of ur newly repaired alternator.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 9th, 2011, 2:15 pm

I have a dash mounted voltmeter/battery monitor. It constantly montors voltage, current consumption, and other things.

Mounted in the left cubby under the ac vent. Autometer boost gauge is on the right.

I have a greddy turbo timer, yet to be installed. Right now I'm using the turbo timer feature off my alarm.

Postby Team Loco » March 9th, 2011, 3:03 pm

wow! thats one clean install. a good investment too is pyrometer

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”