Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
bleedingfreak

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby bleedingfreak » October 21st, 2010, 4:50 pm

rottedv wrote:Thanks fellas...apparently the engine was governed down.....and they had to re adjust it....I never carried the van into redline, when I saw it was going, I shifted.....I have driven cars that shifted into fith at speeds in excess of 125km so.....Just wanted to know if my first diesel vehicle was doing what it was supposed to be doing....

Pardna me aint mean to rock yuh boat

But sometimes when you talk to ppl easy they dont listen..

At least now I know you will remember this bleedingfreak fella (who BTW, is ah real arse) and even if you still vex with him for calling you out, at least you will remember to treat the diesel engine nice...

Which is the important part... :lol: :lol:

You pickup cost you good money... If yours was hard earned like mine you will treat her well. In exchange she will give you 10-15yrs of service!

And remember, keep the engine in boost, not the emo :wink:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 21st, 2010, 6:57 pm

Despite BF's curmudgeonly ways, he's right. The truck prob cost you some serious coin and better care should be taken.

Just know from now on that diesel engines aren't as high-revving as gasoline engines and revving up to redline is NOT a good thing to do with ur 2KD-FTV engine.

Take care of ur truck dude, and it'll take care of you. BF is correct - your diesel engine, once well cared for (i.e sensible driving, regular oil and filter changes) will last you many years and much more miles than a gasoline engine.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » October 21st, 2010, 7:16 pm

I try not to shift higher than 3500rpm.....Thats ok for a diesel engine right....? The rep told me that there was no breaking in period and thatit came factory broken in and that I should drive the van as the owners manual had it....Thats where I got the info from.....

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 21st, 2010, 7:56 pm

rottedv wrote:I try not to shift higher than 3500rpm.....Thats ok for a diesel engine right....? The rep told me that there was no breaking in period and thatit came factory broken in and that I should drive the van as the owners manual had it....Thats where I got the info from.....

Dem reps does lie too fuggin much just to get a sale bro... Kick him up next time u see him

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 21st, 2010, 8:26 pm

To be honest man, the sales reps are prob not the best people to talk to with regards to how to drive and maintain ur car - perhaps your mechanic or at least the techs at the stealership are better at advising you.

Often times a sales rep won't have much time to sit and explain mundane specifics to you, eg. how to drive the car, etc. So they'll just pass the onus onto you and tell you to just read the manual. That way if something goes wrong, they covered themselves and can just say "it was in the manual, didn't u read?" if something goes wrong.

My advice to you - drive the truck easy for the first 1500KM, so that it gets a break-in period (even if the sales rep says there's no need - better to err on the side of caution). After ur first 1000km service, drive easy again for another 500km and then you can drive normally.That should give you enough time to get well acquainted with your truck and learn to listen to the engine revs and figure out when to shift gears.

If you're like most of us diesel-heads here, you'll learn to appreciate and start taking good care of ur workhorse (look at how much fuss we make on what kind of oil we use, as well as what particular brands of tyres!).

Go strong bro and congrats on ur purchase of a great truck ;)

badart

Postby badart » October 22nd, 2010, 9:58 pm

the sales ppl in these dealerships is the worst ppl to find out information from they only knw marketing strategies n the basic features of the vehicle..the owners manual have all the information you would need in detail..

i think TTTL sales ppl knw the least compared to the rest of dealerships prob becuz toyota cars sell themselves, the sales ppl there are jus for the paper work lol..i remember also goin in to McEnearney Motors to price the Everest and the sales person there told me it was 325,000 this week but from next it would be 365,000 so i asked why this drastic increase in price and she was like cuz toyota raised their prices lol i was like ok atleast u following the leaders

toyofirstprime

Postby toyofirstprime » October 24th, 2010, 3:49 am

hello fellow hilux rollers
just reciently bought a immaculate black hilux Mk3 in its original equip. just wanted to know if anyone could direct me to a store or bamboo location (other than boddy's since they out ah stock) that have bull bars and accessories for this indestructable model (leaf spring front an back)

toyofirstprime

Postby toyofirstprime » October 24th, 2010, 4:47 am

catalan24 wrote:hey guys, would like to know if u all can help me out here

I recently bought an old model hilux, the TAY model and I am looking for a set of 15" rims (possibly original) that will work on the van without having spacers on it. The current set it have on is Ziglas pretty sure u all know about that and well each side on the front taking about 3 spacers and the back have bout 2 I think but I hate dat set up and would like something fitting correctly. I checked most rim places but they don't seem to have the correct set, so I'm asking u all if u can direct me to someone if they have a set or if u all have the correct wheel dimensions for the rim like the width so that I can search around for it...thanks

had that same problem with my TAX MK3......you need to get 16'' that have the inner rim sink smaller......dont run older model hilux with too may spacers you can find the correct size in south or tunapuna. I have some standard 16'' original rim an tire to sell cheap an also five spoke 15'' chromes rim an medium size road tires goin cheap too 798-2604. is you hilux front an back leaf springed?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » November 15th, 2010, 12:20 pm

What diesel treatment for the 3.0D4D hilux would you guys recommend?

Was at the dealership today and some guy, upon learning that an injector was bad on his hilux, indicated that he was using the Prestone treatment for some time and this should not be the case.

I know a treatment will not cause your fuel system to last forever but a good one should be better than none at all. I used to use the Redline 85 on the ranger but that was not a common rail engine. Will this be good on the hilux?

BTW: I asked the service guy behind the desk and he could not recommend me any particular treatment and I did not get to speak to any of the tech guys as they were all busy at the time.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 15th, 2010, 1:39 pm

Redline and Amsoil (cetane boost + concentrate) in minute amounts .... 2-3 ounces per tank full of diesel. Nothing more than that.

Postby Team Loco » November 22nd, 2010, 4:15 pm

toyofirstprime wrote:hello fellow hilux rollers
just reciently bought a immaculate black hilux Mk3 in its original equip. just wanted to know if anyone could direct me to a store or bamboo location (other than boddy's since they out ah stock) that have bull bars and accessories for this indestructable model (leaf spring front an back)

check Iron man racing in La Romaine. he has the really good stuff

Postby Team Loco » November 22nd, 2010, 4:17 pm

the TBX new model hilux at work has finally reached the 300000km mark. i was told by TTTL do do a complete diesel purge as well as the second timing belt change. changing the timing belt is easy.
just wanted to know at this mileage, what type of diesel purge is necessay and who can do a good job

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » November 23rd, 2010, 5:05 pm

Guys, have any one evr changed the OEM front brake pads on the 3.0 D4D hilux & at what mileage?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 23rd, 2010, 9:06 pm

kriticalkase wrote:Guys, have any one evr changed the OEM front brake pads on the 3.0 D4D hilux & at what mileage?

Approx ~ 60 000km, bigger rims would equate to less mileage than that..... I have them in stock ... He's also running 20s.

Kritical my neighbour has a Sportero with just over 60 000km and he's getting ready to buy new disc pads.
Last edited by sweeks on December 6th, 2010, 3:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Team Loco » December 6th, 2010, 3:25 pm

^^yeah, Sweeks has good stuff

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 6th, 2010, 4:11 pm

Well my battery gave out after 2.5 years TTTL changed the battery at half price! They gave me a BOSCH one

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 6th, 2010, 5:41 pm

How much and what were the specs?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 7th, 2010, 9:01 am

BOSCH S3 1508 cranking Amps at Just under 700 TT

(999)Marcus(999)

Postby (999)Marcus(999) » December 9th, 2010, 12:01 pm

Anyone have OEM part numbers ?

For example the L200 forum has this ....................................

venum wrote:1991-2000 K34T PARTS

1991-2000 K34T Engine parts list:

Fan Blade
MD050475

Temperature sensor
MD005051 & MD050214

1991-2000 K34T Brake parts list:

BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER

MB534481

2003 - 2005 K74T PARTS

2003 - 2005 K74T 100,000km service parts list:

MITSUBISHI 4D56T TIMING BELT

GATES POWERGRIP HTD
5435XS-163 X 25,4mm
163 TEETH

377NV

TIMING BELT TENSIONER

NTN
ON BOX: JPU60-129+JF337
ON TENSIONER: 335 6203LU

BALANCE SHAFT BELT

GATES POWERGRIP HTD 5436XS-99 X 3/4"
99 TEETH
2 39 7DS

BALANCE SHAFT BELT TENSIONER

NTN
ON BOX: JPU58-010A-1
on tensioner: nothing

2003 - 2005 K74T Drivetrain parts list:

V5MT2 Gearbox CLUTCH RELEASE BEARING

NTN

55-17-9

the K34T one works: 55-17-11/2E

2003 - 2005 K74T L200 TRANSFER CASE DRIVESHAFT SEAL

FRONT
MD712012

REAR
MD731708

2003 - 2005 K74T L200 TRANSFER CASE MOUNT

MR353470

2003 - 2005 K74T Suspension parts list:

2003 K74T STABILIZER BAR BUSHINGS

LINK (horizontal) - MR151327
LINK (vertical) - MR296507

END - MR150767

2003-2005 K74T L200 TIE ROD END

MB527169 - outer

2003 - 2005 K74T L200 FRONT SHOCKS

MR151227 (oil)

030211 (other number on the shock)

2003 - 2005 K74T L200 REAR SHOCKS

MR491840 (oil)

2003 - 2005 K74T L200 UPPER BALL JOINT

LEFT MB860829

RIGHT MB860830

2003 - 2005 K74T L200 LOWER BALL JOINT

LEFT MR296269

RIGHT MR296270

2003 - 2005 K74T L200 SPRING LIFT SHACKLE BUSHINGS

MB584531
MB584530

The K74T 4x4 has a 5 lift spring bundle

The K34T 4x4 has a 6 lift spring bundle

the lift spring bundles are interchangeable between the 4x4 K34T and 4x4 K74T (I have one side K34T lift springs on my K74T)

2003 - 2005 K74T Brake parts list:

BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER

MB534481

2003 - 2005 K74T Other Engine parts list:

OIL SUMP DRAIN PLUG - same for 4D56T on K34T model

MD050316

GLOW PLUGS TEMPERATURE SENSOR

MD050214

2007 - PRESENT KB4T PARTS

2007 - PRESENT KB4T\KB8T Engine Parts

OIL FILTER
OEM 1230A045 - $375 + VAT
MZ690411

FUEL FILTER
OEM 1170A053 - $560 + VAT

AIR FILTER
OEM 1500A098

TRANSMISSION FLUID FILTER
OEM MR528836

2007 - PRESENT KB4T\KB8T Brake Parts

FRONT BRAKE PADS
OEM 4605A284

2007 - PRESENT KB4T\KB8T Suspension Parts

FRONT SHOCK ABSORBERS
OEM MR992320

2007 - PRESENT KB4T\KB8T Other Parts

WIPER BLADE RUBBER
OEM 8250A054 - $160

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 9th, 2010, 8:55 pm

What part number do you need?

(999)Marcus(999)

Postby (999)Marcus(999) » December 10th, 2010, 4:36 pm

Sweeks .. whatever you have would help
mostly looking for....

fuel/oil/ air filters
brake pads and shoes
belts

rottedv

Postby rottedv » December 11th, 2010, 8:50 am

anyone ever thought about converting the 5 hole hub on the 4x2 to the 6 hole on the 4x4?? I'm thinking that I'll get more wheel options that way....what you guys think??? ever been done?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 12th, 2010, 4:32 am

Marcus what model Hilux do you own. I carry some OEM parts.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 19th, 2010, 6:22 am

Guys,

Found this little information packet on the 1KD-FTV and 2kD-FTV engines, fuel systems and injectors.
Nice read to learn some more about your D4-D engines.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=ZQAN6PUE

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 3rd, 2011, 6:19 am

Ordering OEM parts tomorrow. Let me know if you all need anything.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 23rd, 2011, 12:20 am

http://www.toyodiy.com/parts/g_G_2006_T ... RPSYT.html

Hey Guys, Just thought I'd share this link for the 1kdftv vigo owners.

Actually, on this site, you could get damn near any toyota.

Just click on the diagram categories for some better than decent diagrams.

EDIT: I don't frequent this forum enough, so if this is a repost, Im sorry.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » January 25th, 2011, 8:47 pm

This is a pretty damn good site. Too bad they had to remove the actual diagrams of the vehicles.

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » February 1st, 2011, 7:47 pm

Diesel Fuel Filter 2.5D hilux
is it safe to change the filter as required by toyota service interval at 20 000km
or is it wise to change it sooner because of the diesel we get

Premera

Postby Premera » February 4th, 2011, 8:54 am

guys i recently ( last week ) bought a TCA ( 2006 Thailand model ) VIGO 3.0D-4D. The previous owner changed the timing belt last September ( 100,000k ) and the van is now doing like 108k. What service would you recommend i do as the new owner. I live in San Juan and prefer someone close to home, if you know anyone.

I was a previous Nissan " gasoline " owner and became familiar with products for my vehicle ( Sr20)

I am starting afresh as the diesel thing is new to me and would appreciate any information / advice on products to use to service and maintain the van to ensure A+ performance. Also, i have 20's on them with 274 x 45 x 20's

Thanks in advance and YES it is true...once you go diesel...gasoline is history.....8-)

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 5th, 2011, 9:39 pm

topshotta20 wrote:Diesel Fuel Filter 2.5D hilux
is it safe to change the filter as required by toyota service interval at 20 000km
or is it wise to change it sooner because of the diesel we get

20 000km should be fine esp. if you full up at reputable stations and don't rundown your fuel tank. Have you had any problems?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”