Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 11th, 2009, 8:16 pm

Ok... I guess they're using some sort of synthetic atm fluid in there.

IMHO I find dealership tends to over maintain vehicles ... e.g. Toyota vehicles comes with Toyota Super Longlife Coolant that's good up to 160 000km ... the dealership changes it out after 40 000km.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 12th, 2009, 5:31 pm

Month and a half later ... Still loving the truck!

ZERO issues so far! ZERO!!! Just installed a bedliner, and all I want to do with it again are some side steps, some nice functional 18's with good A/T rubber and finally chip the ecu ... Not that power is lacking mind you, but more is always better!

Interestingly enough, the Druatorq 3.0 in the Ranger / BT-50 actually provides the most aggressive acceleration of all the diesel vans (available in our market) if each has been ecu modded ...

In other words, it gets big gains from a chip upgrade :twisted:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 12th, 2009, 5:37 pm

These are the steps I would like: http://www.alibaba.com/product-tp/10533 ... image.html

Who can bring these for me?

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » August 12th, 2009, 5:43 pm

^^ might be easier to get them made locally

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 12th, 2009, 8:12 pm

Go slow - wouldnt installing the chip in the ecu void the warranty?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 12th, 2009, 8:36 pm

civic minded wrote:Go slow - wouldnt installing the chip in the ecu void the warranty?

Yes, that's why I probably will not do it until ... Or look at one of the easily removable ones
:fadein:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 12th, 2009, 8:58 pm

Go Slow all these mods and upgrades ... what about a decent cover for the tray i.e. roll n lock ...

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 13th, 2009, 6:42 am

sweeks wrote:Go Slow all these mods and upgrades ... what about a decent cover for the tray i.e. roll n lock ...

Oh forgto about that, yes, spoke to 4x4 trinidad about that .... that's due for install in october

Postby Greypatch » August 13th, 2009, 7:45 am

one tank goes about 400 kms

That's a small tank

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 13th, 2009, 8:08 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
2. I do mainly city driving and I get about 300K per 3/4 tank ... about 60$ diesel ...
Goes up to over 400K per $60 of diesel for highway driving. Note I drive very aggressively ;-) This is basically less that half of my previous premium bill, with the same route ... Win!

You can get more out of that tank........... if you didn't have a heavy foot :lol:

I'm running the WLT engine and I get a bit over 300Km from about half tank of diesel.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 13th, 2009, 2:04 pm

Cooper wrote:
Mr. Go Slow wrote:
2. I do mainly city driving and I get about 300K per 3/4 tank ... about 60$ diesel ...
Goes up to over 400K per $60 of diesel for highway driving. Note I drive very aggressively ;-) This is basically less that half of my previous premium bill, with the same route ... Win!

You can get more out of that tank........... if you didn't have a heavy foot :lol:

I'm running the WLT engine and I get a bit over 300Km from about half tank of diesel.

Yes I know :lol: everyone says they feel like they are in a tall BZ-R when they drive with me in the Ranger :lol:

Racegod

Postby Racegod » August 26th, 2009, 10:13 pm

can aneone get me a correct price on the ranger's....

all of the options in auto.........
and the prices for the roll bar an steps an so onn at the firm.......

much appreciated....

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 27th, 2009, 8:19 am

Call Blaine Moze 680-2621, he's one of the sales persons there. He'll give you the current prices and maybe work out a good deal for you.

samdam

Postby samdam » August 27th, 2009, 1:10 pm

A piece of chinese knock off sheit.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 27th, 2009, 4:41 pm

samdam wrote:A piece of chinese knock off sheit.

Wow! So eloquently put! You argument is well written and factually based!

You have convinced me sir!

It's a good thing you are here to enlighten us all, I tell you ...

Oh, but just one thing, be sure and compare the 'chinese knock off sheit" to the other rubbish on the market here: http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/ute2007_p1.php

neckto

Postby neckto » September 16th, 2009, 3:48 pm

Go Slow
did u drive the manual model in any of these?
i went to look at them weekend and a rep from DM told me not to buy the Ranger in manual cause the clutch pedal is very very hard?!!

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 16th, 2009, 6:27 pm

I drove a manual Mazda with the wlt engine ... mazda / ranger 6 of one, half dozen of the other ...

The clutch felt fine. The only van that I've driven that I felt had a rubbish clutch is the Isuzu ... I really don't know how anyone buys that sheight :?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 16th, 2009, 6:47 pm

neckto dat man trying to bamboozle yuh head clutch on the ranger /madza is not hard

neckto

Postby neckto » September 17th, 2009, 12:47 pm

ok cool thanks for the insight
the sales rep also said that if you cant buy the turbo charged model in the sportero then it dont make sense buying it cause it dead you drove the NA sportero too?

also gimme some more of your thought about the isuzu as i was thinking about it as an option as well

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 17th, 2009, 2:41 pm

Sounds like the guy try to get you to spend some extra money. I have a friend who bought the N/A Sportero. The power delivery is 'okay' but I wouldn't say it's dead.

Also, I have a recently purchased manual Ranger and I drive in traffic daily and it doesn't bother me...the clutch pedal is soft enough for everyday driving. I should mention that prior to purchasing the Ranger I've been driving a car with an automatic tranny for five years.

Take a test drive of all the pickups and decide for yourself, is big money you're gonna be spending.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 17th, 2009, 7:39 pm

i drive an auto madza as well as a manual ranger and both works great ..

my neighbour has a d-max and i can tell when he leaves and comes home because of the noisy engine ...loud azzz pump

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 21st, 2009, 5:55 pm

neckto wrote:also gimme some more of your thought about the isuzu as i was thinking about it as an option as well

It's the only van i hated ... lol

My review is in the thread, "Well I test drove the new Navara" here:

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... &start=100

neckto

Postby neckto » September 23rd, 2009, 6:43 pm

ok thanks guys
i find the mazda are reasonably priced right now
the sportero FL manual is down to 200K also

is it just me or is the cabin much smaller?

i also realized that the prices on the hilux at toyota have actually gone up, i recently got quotes and compared them to quotes i got a few months back (which i had misplaced) and the recent prices are about 7-10K higher for each model
but the finincing from scotia is very good 7% withthe super zero and even lower is you make a 10-20% downpayment

homeboy

Postby homeboy » September 25th, 2009, 8:21 pm

guy i went today, for the ranger 4x4 fulll loaded is 219k no accessories auto, the mazda fully loaded 4x4 is 181k with 2 airbags and same without airbags is 170k manual.............fyi i work in thailand and all these vans are as we say dog cheap, and the accessories is the biggest rip off in trinidad, i just don't know how to buy one in thailand and get it here for myself.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 26th, 2009, 6:32 am

Homeboy you'll need to have a registered business to bring in a commercial vehicle.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 26th, 2009, 7:16 am

homeboy wrote:guy i went today, for the ranger 4x4 fulll loaded is 219k no accessories auto, the mazda fully loaded 4x4 is 181k with 2 airbags and same without airbags is 170k manual.............fyi i work in thailand and all these vans are as we say dog cheap, and the accessories is the biggest rip off in trinidad, i just don't know how to buy one in thailand and get it here for myself.

That 219K is for the 3.0 crdi Ranger .... you can get the auto 2.5 crdi, fully loaded, with no accessories for 200K or a little less

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » September 26th, 2009, 10:55 am

mr go slow he is right .......the prices have gone up since u did your purchase 219 is for the bare 2.5 4¤4 that 200k u refering to is for the 4¤2 high rider the 3.0 is 245 bare and 265 thunder the hurricane spec is 230k or there about

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 26th, 2009, 8:18 pm

Slow Poke wrote:mr go slow he is right .......the prices have gone up since u did your purchase 219 is for the bare 2.5 4¤4 that 200k u refering to is for the 4¤2 high rider the 3.0 is 245 bare and 265 thunder the hurricane spec is 230k or there about

wat de phork!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 26th, 2009, 8:46 pm

Fellas just play it out ... there's a demand for the diesel 4x4s and trust me the dealership knows this and they're willing to play on this.

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » September 26th, 2009, 9:54 pm

Thinking bout buying the low version as a company vehicle

what are your thoughts?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”