Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Havoc

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby Havoc » May 5th, 2013, 2:00 am

wat kinda goodyear's??

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » May 19th, 2013, 10:56 pm

What's the safest tire for wet conditions

Sent from my GT-I9100 using TriniTuner mobile app

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » May 19th, 2013, 11:02 pm

paw pa wrote:Went to Elvin's rims world...got 265/70/R16 GOODYEAR for $1300
where is elvins do u hav pics with the tire

Postby sliderz1 » May 19th, 2013, 11:07 pm

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » May 20th, 2013, 12:03 am

Thanks mileage mack hav these but what the average price of one

Postby nervewrecker » May 20th, 2013, 12:07 am

Those good year real cheap 0.o
My sister paid $2000.00 for one.

The toyos for my donuts was like $1350.00 iirc 270 / 225 / 15
Use that to gauge price

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » May 20th, 2013, 12:11 am

I looking at 255/70/r16 or wider

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » May 20th, 2013, 12:12 am

Wats iirc??? Where did u get it

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » May 20th, 2013, 12:13 am

I almost runn my van off d road tonight in d rain

Postby nervewrecker » May 20th, 2013, 12:18 am

Iirc = if i recall correctly.

Get some good rubber for your ride man. The $$$ you saving from buying gas in a car, spend it on the rubber man. That rubber is the contact between your ride and the road, its your life.

I buy $900.00 tyres for donuts just to roll on till i get time to score rims.

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » May 20th, 2013, 12:38 am

What company u got it from

Puff

Postby Puff » May 20th, 2013, 12:50 am

nervewrecker wrote:Iirc = if i recall correctly.

Get some good rubber for your ride man. The $$$ you saving from buying gas in a car, spend it on the rubber man. That rubber is the contact between your ride and the road, its your life.

I buy $900.00 tyres for donuts just to roll on till i get time to score rims.

Definitely agree... I've been running on the Kumho Road Venture A/Ts for a few weeks now.. they make Bridgestone Duellers look like banana peels.

Great value for money.

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » May 20th, 2013, 8:35 am

gas brainz wrote:What's the safest tire for wet conditions

The best tyres imo= michelin

Elvin's rims world is located in Debe (south trinidad)

Puff

Postby Puff » May 20th, 2013, 12:39 pm

Michelin is good.. but the cost is way to high..

IMO They provide any realistic value to the everyday driver to justify the cost.

Michelin is around $9000 for a set of 4
Kumho is around $6000 for a set of 4

check out lighthammer's post from a few pages back.. had some good practical info on some of the other brands and their performance

lighthammer wrote:BFG AT are probably the best All terrains you can buy - trust me, I had them on my Navara for 32,000km, ran them through trails and had almost no problems. COuld tackle dirt, sand, gravel, tarmac wet & dry, most mud and slush - only thing that stops them is clay-like mud (eg. mud from Indian trail and most central trails). They wear great, have much less noise than mud terrains and slightly more noise than highway tires (they make a slight hum when rolling at slow speeds but at high speed they're same as highway tires) and with all the siping on the lugs they handle wet weather well - I could splash though water on the highway at 80km/hr with no tug or pull on the steering wheel. Handles emergency braking quite well too, and the strong triple-ply sidewalls could take airing down the tires on offroading trips very well.

Toyo open country AT-II from Mileage mack are also excellent road tires, just as much grip on wet as on dry, handle most trails well, stopped only by clay mud too. Excellent road manners, good noise levels too. Only downside is they dont wear as long as BFG, and need to rotate them often to ensure longer life and even wear.

Kumho KL78 all terrain tires, ran those on my family's frontier for 3 years, 75000km. Wears great, excellent wet and dry grip on the highways, good performance off-road too, can run with the big boys like bfg and toyo all terrains. Good noise levels too, not as quiet as highway tires but very tolerable on road. Sidewalls are only 2-ply polyester, so not as resistant to rocks and sticks like the BFG but still a great tire overall.

IMO, i really hate the local tire sellers in trinidad- they really suck when it comes to customer service and prices. Best service I've gotten so far is from Quickserv on Wrightson Road, and from Mileage Mack in Union Hall, San Fernando. BOth times I was attended to promptly, and the guys were knowledgeable on what they were puting on my truck and the service manager was very accomodating. Also the coffee at Mileage Mack in south was excellent :).

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » May 20th, 2013, 1:34 pm

BFGs well worth the price,bought in 2008 for 4400 on special,have about 100,000km on them,ensure that you have them checked regularly, you have to be careful in the wet because the recommended pressure for these tyres are high, alot of thread remaining still

Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » May 20th, 2013, 1:39 pm

Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app
1369071558118.jpg

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » May 20th, 2013, 5:48 pm

Good stuff guys

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » May 20th, 2013, 7:38 pm

just got a set of kumho so i got a set of 33x12.5x15 maxxis AT for sale. approx 30-40% wear. pm if interested

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » May 20th, 2013, 9:40 pm

Firestone Destinations are pretty good

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » May 20th, 2013, 10:26 pm

Around 2009 fire stone destination was just about $500

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 21st, 2013, 5:33 am

gas brainz, I think it was the Firestone Firehawk ATX that was around $500 and I remember that being way further back, like 2006 or so...

Anyway, the firestone destination is the top rated A/T tyre on tirerack.. As in, even higher than the BFG AT and the Kumho..

It is well worth it

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 22nd, 2013, 11:15 am

I was looking for some decent 17, in 275/65R17 sizes, kinda hard to get.

Tyre clinic had the Dunlop Grandtrek AT3, which is not too bad, compared to the range of generic chinese knockoffs.

Will post a long term review, but once I get 25000km out of em, I'll be glad.
Tread looks agressive for an H/T biased A/T too!
Wish I could have gotten the white writing ones!!

here's mine

Postby sliderz1 » May 22nd, 2013, 11:54 am

holy sheit those VOLK's are sweet

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 22nd, 2013, 4:19 pm

What price you got the Dunlop for?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 22nd, 2013, 5:05 pm

1350 VI

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » May 22nd, 2013, 5:23 pm

here's mine
Image[/quote]
Ppl does sell those rims down here
1350 for 1 wey

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 22nd, 2013, 5:32 pm

Gas brains which one, the Rays or the Tuff?

The Tuff can be found at wheel wizard in chaguanas. I think they also bring in Rays too, but Volks aint exactly pocket friendly nah...

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » May 22nd, 2013, 5:58 pm

I getch yuh driff

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » May 22nd, 2013, 6:11 pm

I jus saw these
viewtopic.php?p=7120772#p7120772 I like the bfg but if I do more high way driving than off road would the bfg cause any issues. Tire noise .bad traction on road and wet . Would it cause any of those things?

badart

Postby badart » May 22nd, 2013, 9:59 pm

Update - Michelin LTX AT2

Currently a year and a half old, doing 30,000 kms, excellent in wet conditions, comfortable for an AT tyre, average off road and seem to wear very slowly which is good.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”