Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
droppa

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby droppa » April 15th, 2013, 8:32 am

Puff wrote:What we need is a proper professional tyre centre!
I sure there are 4 or 5 tuners here with some $$ that could come together and start a proper tyre centre.

and after about 4-5 weeks the money will get to their head and will be the same monkey pants at a different location.......

cant blame a man for wanting to make he paper........

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 15th, 2013, 8:59 am

personally it's mileage mack or noone else for me. Their after sale service is the best i've experienced. I had issues with a set of tires after a couple months and had all changed under warranty.

Their employees go the distance to ensure proper customer satisfaction....

Puff

Postby Puff » April 15th, 2013, 11:39 am

droppa wrote:
Puff wrote:What we need is a proper professional tyre centre!
I sure there are 4 or 5 tuners here with some $$ that could come together and start a proper tyre centre.

and after about 4-5 weeks the money will get to their head and will be the same monkey pants at a different location.......

cant blame a man for wanting to make he paper........

lol well.. we know not to include u :D

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 15th, 2013, 11:59 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:personally it's mileage mack or noone else for me. Their after sale service is the best i've experienced. I had issues with a set of tires after a couple months and had all changed under warranty.

co-signed, liked and endorsed.. can't beat their customer service. the McKenzies go out of their way to keep customers happy.

Postby tr1ad » April 15th, 2013, 5:33 pm

After checking out prices and the rise in tyre prices, I just may bring them in.

And I agree wrt to the rise in prices, seems to be a demand for these tyres and the quantity of 4x4 on the road now.

Supply and demand isn't a problem with me, that's the way market works.

The unreasonable pricing and increase however is another story

Sent from my Z10 using TriniTuner mobile app

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 15th, 2013, 6:27 pm

^^ i still trying figure why such a big hike in price ,like is every two months or so prices going up.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 15th, 2013, 6:42 pm

tr1ad wrote:After checking out prices and the rise in tyre prices, I just may bring them in.

And I agree wrt to the rise in prices, seems to be a demand for these tyres and the quantity of 4x4 on the road now.

how much is the BFG AT :?:
Also, what is the duty on tyres? 30%?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 15th, 2013, 6:44 pm

Quick Service has..
Michelin LTX A/T2 - $2200
BF Goodrich A/T - $2050

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 15th, 2013, 6:53 pm

tourniquet wrote:
tr1ad wrote:After checking out prices and the rise in tyre prices, I just may bring them in.

And 15% vat

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 15th, 2013, 7:18 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:
tourniquet wrote:

And 15% vat
thanks, I knew the vat, I was just genuinely uncertain on the duty :) I guess when all things are considered, the prices aren't really that bad.
Now for some tyre association of trinidad and tobago to read that last sentence and hike up the prices **smh** :x :lol:

venum

Postby venum » April 15th, 2013, 7:54 pm

Bezman wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:personally it's mileage mack or noone else for me. Their after sale service is the best i've experienced. I had issues with a set of tires after a couple months and had all changed under warranty.

co-signed, liked and endorsed.. can't beat their customer service. the McKenzies go out of their way to keep customers happy.

agreed

i got a great deal in POS on the Toyo OC some years aback when i told them about the bad experience I had in south (lazy bastards there at the time) and free Nitrogen

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 15th, 2013, 10:26 pm

Paullct wrote:
*Phoenix* wrote:
droppa wrote:BFG AT/KO is probably the best all terrain you can buy on a budget, low road noise, good wet and dry traction, superb wear, and even works well in mud, had a few guys with them on our runs and they work good.....

Yep.. Need a set for the SR5.. :twisted:

waaaaa...pics pics pics

Need dem BFGs

assassin

Postby assassin » April 16th, 2013, 8:19 am

AT and MT prices have gone up a lot in the past year i feel largely due to their growing popularity among 4x4 enthusiasts

mileage mack's service is great, but they have real limited selections

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 16th, 2013, 9:37 am

wait till you guys see what I have in store for allyuh... soon!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 17th, 2013, 1:14 pm

like yuh buying some hi-fly mud terrains 37x14.5x18 for the navvie orrrr

Postby tr1ad » April 17th, 2013, 1:57 pm

looking back on this thread i'm seeing tyres such as bolex, scorpions etc...

tyre decision just as tedious as purchasing a car / house

Postby nervewrecker » April 20th, 2013, 6:27 pm

Well I went in to MM about 2 weeks back (or sent my vehicle at least). I specifically told the person I sent it with to be sure that its passenger tyres and not commercial.
The van came back with commercial. I dont know what exactly took place as I was told the person putting on the tyres was asked if that is passenger tyres and not commercial (seeing the C). The person said yes its passenger (more than once). I was told the cashier was also asked and didnt seem to know much.

I called in that same evening, was put on to tyres section, the dude I spoke to verified that it was commercial and not passenger, inquired from workers as to why commercial was installed and not passenger and verified that the correct tyre was in stock. He promptly apologized for the inconvenience and asked me to bring them back to have them changed.

I can understand place noisy and the fact its a pick up an employee can mix it up and think the customer asking for commercial. I was not there so I dont know what actually took place. Could be a mix up, could be employee error, noisy environment etc. A lot of factors come into play.
The van was taken back next day and seems they thought it came for commercial tyres and not passenger, ended up sending back the vehicle home saying they dont have the correct tyre. (did not notice the van came back with commercial tyres).

I called in, spoke to Naresh (iirc that is the name, same person I spoke to when I went in to get prices) and he rectified the problem promptly. Reserved the tyres for me and was awaiting my return. I couldnt take the van back right away as I was busy, van was left home since. Today I took off the tyres, loaded them into the tray of another van and went in. The guy was expecting me as I called since yesterday to let him know I was coming. Within 5 minutes of my arrival I was attended to, he again apologized for the mix up and inconvenience, said it is his fault and the tyres were switched at no charge. Within no time I was out of there.
I'd say the guy was very accommodating and bent over backwards to guarantee good service.

I also did notice two people fussing and giving the dude headcahe and he was trying to sort them out too. I also noticed one of the person fussing was rocking triangle tyres, if they chinks like that on tyres they probably chinksing on maintenance too so for all you know the vehicle has suspension issues and they fussing over tyres. Maybe thats why MM and other places have to increase tyres (because they have to change tyres for fussy people and just trying to cover their costs).

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 20th, 2013, 10:31 pm

^^glad to know you got it sorted out. That guy or Lincoln are the ones I usually end up dealing with, and they're both very helpful :)

venum

Postby venum » April 22nd, 2013, 11:13 pm

so i went to MM for an allignment on Sat

$540.00

anyone else find that kinda steep

$150 - Allignment
$160 - Castor
$160 - Camber
VAT

Puff

Postby Puff » April 23rd, 2013, 3:59 am

venum wrote:so i went to MM for an allignment on Sat

$540.00

$150 - Allignment
$160 - Castor
$160 - Camber
VAT

yeah it high.. but then you sitting in a/c while u waiting, they have coffee for you etc.. u end up paying for the quality of service and environment..

Postby tr1ad » April 23rd, 2013, 9:30 am

Puff wrote:

$540.00

$150 - Allignment
$160 - Castor
$160 - Camber
VAT

yeah it high.. but then you sitting in a/c while u waiting, they have coffee for you etc.. u end up paying for the quality of service and environment..

oh really? ambiance at what price?

way too high price for such a service

i've had two issues in the past at both north and south locations which escalated to a pretty high level

will never go back for their "quality of service and environment"

Puff

Postby Puff » April 23rd, 2013, 2:23 pm

tr1ad wrote:
Puff wrote:

$540.00

$150 - Allignment
$160 - Castor
$160 - Camber
VAT

oh really? ambiance at what price?

way too high price for such a service

i've had two issues in the past at both north and south locations which escalated to a pretty high level

will never go back for their "quality of service and environment"

Same here.. I had issues with the north branch the first and second time I went there... so I didn't go back a third time..

I don't see the value in their environment or service, but that is a personal opinion.

There are many people who have had great experiences and think the cost is worth it..

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 23rd, 2013, 2:25 pm

That 150 for alignment sounds reasonable?

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 23rd, 2013, 3:01 pm

$150 ain't bad....I've been to another alignment shop and they didnt have updated alignment software. Had to go back to mm to have it corrected

Puff

Postby Puff » April 23rd, 2013, 3:03 pm

$172.50 if you include VAT

Postby nervewrecker » April 23rd, 2013, 4:01 pm

I should mention, I not bashing MM in my above post eh. Anywhere you go it does have problems with staff, I just thought how the guy goes out of his way to try and ensure good service should be mentioned.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 23rd, 2013, 4:08 pm

Puff wrote:$172.50 if you include VAT

well you gotta include vat.....but there are tons of business that duck the vat man....

venum

Postby venum » April 30th, 2013, 1:08 pm

so in my experience I didn't have any complaints about the quality of service or the staff

I personally think that the price was too high for the Camber and castor

don't think that I will be going back there, only because of price

I personally don't care for sipping coffee and watching Direct TV in the waiting room with the housewives that brought their vehicles.

customer care was very focused and I will admit it was good.

many smaller shops have or will get the specs for my Sportero so I will take my business there since it would be better for my pocket.

and those smaller places allow me to get into the pit and do an inspection of my undercarriage as MM doesn't allow customers in their work pits

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 30th, 2013, 4:23 pm

You sure? I've never been stopped from going in. Just inform the supervisor and he would allow you to

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » May 4th, 2013, 6:07 pm

Went to Elvin's rims world...got 265/70/R16 GOODYEAR for $1300

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”