Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
TG7788

Re: Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Postby TG7788 » May 29th, 2013, 8:25 am

Thanks for the info guys.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » June 8th, 2013, 2:58 pm

Not even a year old, lots of squeaks, rattles and anytime I drive over a rough area on the road it literally sounds like I drove over a man hole cover, metal on metal sound from the left side wheel well. Havent had time to jack up the vehicle and investigate myself just took a quick peek, all bolts appear to be torqued, and all bushings look fine. So Ill leave it for those fackers at Massy to figure out and get my warranties worth.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 8th, 2013, 3:06 pm

Cab bushings need grease

blacklight

Postby blacklight » June 8th, 2013, 4:10 pm

Anyone knows who sells the super up hard tray cover?

Sent from my iPhone using TriniTuner mobile app

TG7788

Postby TG7788 » June 8th, 2013, 5:55 pm

Trinivdub, for quite some time my van would squeak over rough roads. Constantly complained to neal and massy. After changing cab mounts it was actually the bonnet lock that needed adjusting. Next service mention that to them.

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » June 8th, 2013, 10:46 pm

TG7788 wrote:Trinivdub, for quite some time my van would squeak over rough roads. Constantly complained to neal and massy. After changing cab mounts it was actually the bonnet lock that needed adjusting. Next service mention that to them.

I second this just pack the bonnet locking mechanism with grease

nissan/nothing

Postby nissan/nothing » June 10th, 2013, 6:20 pm

Hi guys new to the forum. Does anyone have problems with the brakes on their Navi. My brake pedal feels spongy.if you all did any upgrades can you pls share.

ravist

Postby ravist » June 18th, 2013, 8:23 am

TriniVdub, if you have one of those plastic wind shields on your bonnet, get rid of it.... The bonnet will not close properly once that is installed thereby not latching properly to the bonnet lock.... For the knock on the rear left, massy serviced my van for three yrs and never found out the problem, thank God for James, it was a lose bolt very close left side step that kept banging into the chassis. I think it was a cab mount, once torqued, noise disappeared......if you look closely, it is located in-front of the rear left wheel-well....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 18th, 2013, 10:34 am

wham fellas ... like allyuh was missing meh orrrrr?? LOL

Ok, so... lemme start here..

A lot of Navara owners have complained about strange rattles, squeaks and rumblings with their trucks. I have also shared similar complaints and I think I've figured out most of them. My navara is currently doing 90,587Km... no major mechanical complaints (other than the self inflicted sheit that I've done from off-roading) and I do all my regular maintenance by myself.

Squeaking rear suspension or squeaking when moving over humps/obstacles/small animals and rodents usually means your navara has been exposed to road dirt...... which is obviously going to happen anyway in our climate (LOL). Anyway.... the possible sources for these are just like the other guys said in the last few posts: BUSHINGS, LEAF SPRINGS, CAB MOUNTS. I do a good amount of offroading with my navara, so i get a LOT of squeaks esp when I push down on the tray... it goes *squeaky-squeaky-squeaky*. Don't worry, it's not harmful to the truck, it's not going to fall apart and the world is not going to end..... In fact I find it quite amusing whenever I jump in the tray to load up some sheit and it starts to squeak like a pair of mice being thrown into a blender full of vinegar....... It's also funny to see ppl's look of surprise when that happens and I usually tell them "don't worry, that's how all Datsuns are. It have arthritis but she running good bai!! "

Solution to this - regular sprays with WD 40 or maybe a nice thin silicone lubricant every month or so will keep your big truck nice and lubricated, smooth and silky. Probably every time you wash it down, just bend down, look underneath and get lubricated...... ok that came out wrong.

I'd advise NOT to use shock oil, because the petroleum products in the shock oil (which incidentally is just a varying mixture of 50W Diesel Oil / Kerosene / WD40 & other light oils) will cause damage and rot to your rubber components/hoses/bushings/seals over time. Yeah, we all like the nice, shiny black look of a fresh shock oil treatment after an underwash, but save that for dem maxi-men and them. Treat your Navara right, give her the proper treatments and lubricate that big girl up before you show her a good time!

Ok next problem - Rattles!!
So you're driving down the highway, and all of a sudden you hear a strange noise.... "buh wha de hell is dat? I now buy this flickin' van and it makin all kinda noise already?"

Again, some of the guys before already posted the possible sources - Bonnet hood latch or spring release mechanism could cause rattles under normal road driving and operation (mine never did that though) and yes, noise can also be caused by having one of those fancy but otherwise useless wind deflectors on the hood (IMO - well, it does have a nice "Navara" sticker on it so the old tanty in the Tiida driving slow on the fast lane will know which big truck is telling him to move the f*ck out of the way ).
Did you know that one of those wind deflectors / tanty-irritators costs $1500 or so in one of those RORO dealers from south as an added option when you're looking at the options list? (IIRC)

As far as cab mounts go - next time you're servicing the truck, or before you wash it.... use your 1/2 ratchet, medium extension and a 17-socket and 19-socket... lie down under the truck and tighten each cab mount bolt and tray bolt you can find. (remember lefty loosey, righty wring-out... that's my rule anyway... don't ask about the wring-out part, heheheh).

There are 7-bolts per side of the truck:
- One under the front bumper (you may need to unscrew the wind-deflector under the front bumper to access that one)
- one under the driver's foot
- one under the driver's ass
- one under the back seat passenger's foot
- one under the back seat passenger's ass
- one by the wheel well, just by the wall of the tray close to the backseat passenger's lower back
- one just before the tailgate underneath the tray

Just give each bolt a small tug, less than 1/4 turn if loose. Don't overtighten them or else you'll do like me and wring out the nut inside the chassis... if you do, then you're gonna have a bad time.

Steering wheel rattles - that was well covered earlier as well.
I did a 4" lift on my navara, and those steering rattles have become more pronounced and are still as irritating. N&M can do the insulation job as was mentioned before.

Finally.... something that has plagued and irritated a LOT of navara owners yet no one really knows the solution to the problem (not even N&M!).....
Say for example - you're driving down the highway as usual, and all of a sudden you hear a slight rattling noise coming from the right wheel well, very near to your right foot. It comes and goes, doesnt seem to be aggravated by road bumps or potholes and sounds suspiciously like Injector Rattle or tappet rattle - only it's by your right foot by the firewall.

Well gentlemen, I beleive I've found the problem.... it's loose screw for a bracket that holds the front right wheel brake lines in place. Mine is loose and doesnt appear to have any nearby tapped holes to screw into, which is a mystery to me.... Here are some pictures:

This is a view looking into the Right Front wheel well (located very near to where you'd access the oil filter)

Look closely on the left hand side of the pic, where those brake lines come near to the chassis. There's suppsoed to be a bracket and a tapped hole there, but I'm not seeing any on my navara.

This screw on the bracket that holds the brake lines together can sometimes vibrate while driving and cause a slight rattling/tapping noise that can give any Navara driver an anxiety attack and make them think their truck is about to fall apart and worry about if N&M will still honor the warranty if it does indeed explode into a bajillion pieces. Don't worry guys..... that's not gonna happen.

Easiest fix - put a piece of rubber or some other cushioning material between the screw and the chasis. Keep a few pieces stored away for when your first piece will inevitable fall out somewhere on the roads.

More complicated fix - disconnect and move the brake lines out of the way, drill a 5/16 hole and using a tap/die set tap some screw lines into that area and then screw the bolt in permanently.

So, I hope that solved most of your problems with Navara's shake/rattle & roll.
Till next time fellas, enjoy your big Datsun's, and keep on truckin'.

trvs

Postby trvs » June 18th, 2013, 2:20 pm

lighthammer wrote:wham fellas ... like allyuh was missing meh orrrrr?? LOL

Ok next problem - Rattles!!
So you're driving down the highway, and all of a sudden you hear a strange noise.... "buh wha de hell is dat? I now buy this flickin' van and it makin all kinda noise already?"

LOL this was me... :lol:

Nice write up.

ravist

Postby ravist » June 20th, 2013, 8:39 am

"old tanty in the Tiida"..... :D

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » June 21st, 2013, 2:09 pm

question about the manual 4*4 Navara.

When you guys in 6th and doing 120kph, what does your rpm read?

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » June 21st, 2013, 9:29 pm

a hair above 3000 rpm

hattrick

Postby hattrick » June 22nd, 2013, 11:41 am

Good morning guys , I have a friend who is from Barbados and they are in Trinidad right now trying to source parts for their navara. I would greatly appreciate it if any of te knowledgeable guys on this forum assist him in his search.
His name is Al and his number is 1(246)8314716
Thanks in advance for your help

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » June 22nd, 2013, 4:16 pm

yuh hadda be a lil more specific than that B, what exactly is he looking for?

Postby Kenjo » June 22nd, 2013, 4:46 pm

anyone familiar with the availability of some sort of pressure pump for the transmission that could be causing slow take off of a Navara?getting a code when i did a diagnostic test but i have to get more details and will post up later

TG7788

Postby TG7788 » June 24th, 2013, 4:12 pm

Just a heads up for 4x4 owners, I did my 50,000KM service at Neal and Massy south branch recently. Apparently some 4x4s (dependant on year manufactured) need to have a part replaced on the steering rack that eventually causes noise. The part was replaced under warranty and no charge to me. Here is a picture of what it said on my bill. I advise anyone who has not had this part replaced to check with Massy to confirm if it is required on your vehicle or not. It automatically came up on the form they fill out when you drop in the vehicle for service. I did not complain about any steering noise. Was actually a little surprised I did not have to experience a problem first and complain to them in order for it to be fixed. Hope they keep this kind of service up.
20130624_155808.jpg

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 24th, 2013, 4:13 pm

instead of doing a recall they change it during a major service. had my clutch, flywheel and pp plate changed under warranty because of a design flaw.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 27th, 2013, 9:53 am

Since the Navara doesn't come with any underbody protection out of the factory (other than the worthless plastic stone shield under the radiator), I decided to make my own skidplates for the engine/oil sump pan & Transmission/gearbox.

I had a 6-foot long skid plate made previously but I found it too cumbersome to install/uninstall for cleaning, maintenance, etc. So I went and recut some new plates and installed them.

The smaller shield is for the engine/sump and the larger one is for the gearbox.
The smaller shield is made out of 3/16" thick plate steel, the gearbox shield is 1/8" thick plate steel.
Custom CNC plasma cutting done after we measured up the underbody accordinly.

Skid plate for engine & sump (3/16" steel - REAL solid!)

Much better!
Better protection for the ol' datsun, and could offroad a lot more confidently now.

trvs

Postby trvs » June 27th, 2013, 7:58 pm

Good stuff. Did you have to drill holes for the install?

ravist

Postby ravist » July 2nd, 2013, 3:23 pm

Anyone has any experience with the Steinbauer Power Enhancer. I heard that you get about 25-30 more hp at the wheel and it is safe for your fuel system and rails... It can also be switched on/off, on the fly.....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 2nd, 2013, 8:43 pm

trvs wrote:Good stuff. Did you have to drill holes for the install?

Nah there were already some preexisting holes in the crossmembers... What I did was tack weld some nuts over the holes so the plate would bolt up a lot easier (instead of using long 3 & 4 inch bolts.... In the front skidplate u can see where the nuts were welded on... Nothing fancy-schmancy, just strong enough to handle the pressure of a big fat navara mashing up rocks and sheit....

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » July 6th, 2013, 12:03 am

So the strangest thing happened to me today . was parked on a hill with half tank of diesel for about a hour then jumped in the van started her up went in to reverse about 6 meters reversing down the hill that van stumbled and cut off its a auto . tried restarting but did not work . started to prime the fuel filter eventually got her to start went up the hill a little then back to reverse gear and stumbled and cut off again . after some more priming got her to start go up and down the hill with no problems any idea what might have caused this ??

OH i have been parked on this hill with under quarter tank before with no problems , may be filter or clogged fuel lines

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » July 6th, 2013, 11:11 am

So i drained my fuel filter this morning and got some water i primed the fuel lines a bit more and every thing seems ok for now i also fill up the tank and used one bottle of amsoil diesel treatment in ther to help with any guming in the fuel lines will give an update some time later on the problem

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » July 6th, 2013, 4:39 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:Cab bushings need grease

turned out it was two busted cab mounts.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 7th, 2013, 11:34 am

gready123456 wrote:So the strangest thing happened to me today . was parked on a hill with half tank of diesel for about a hour then jumped in the van started her up went in to reverse about 6 meters reversing down the hill that van stumbled and cut off its a auto . tried restarting but did not work . started to prime the fuel filter eventually got her to start went up the hill a little then back to reverse gear and stumbled and cut off again . after some more priming got her to start go up and down the hill with no problems any idea what might have caused this ??

OH i have been parked on this hill with under quarter tank before with no problems , may be filter or clogged fuel lines

THis has happened with a few navaras previously... I believe Biggy82 had addressed this problem with Navara's not starting/hard starting while on a hill before. Will have to do a serach through the thread to find it.

I experienced that before as well but it was because I had put in a wrong primary fuel filter (the long skinny one on the right side of the engine bay by the fuse box) - the stupid parts place had sold me a filter from a TD27 which looked exactly the same as the YD25 filter..... whenver I reversed out of my *very slight incline* driveway, the frigging thing would stall and hard start.

BUt again, all that was self-inflicted.... YMMV - try looking up biggy's post on why navara's tend to cough and cackle when on a hill starting up.

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » July 7th, 2013, 11:55 am

Strange my filter has about 7k on it i replaced it my self i bought it from filterpro will look in to it

The van worked well all day yesterday when i got home parked it up for half hour then i decided to go out a bit reversed out my drive way then i stumbles on a slight incline primed the filter and started up no problems since

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 7th, 2013, 12:06 pm

Sometimes just mashing the right side pedal solves all ur problems... Lol

TG7788

Postby TG7788 » July 7th, 2013, 1:29 pm

lighthammer wrote:Sometimes just mashing the right side pedal solves all ur problems... Lol

When in doubt power out lol

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » July 7th, 2013, 2:03 pm

its an auto and was going down an incline in reverse should not have stumbled i do alot of driving daily the strange thing is that the problem is intermittent i will monitor it see might change the filters i will try to get them at ROC in the bamboo and do a swap

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”