Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
trinibajan34

Re: Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby trinibajan34 » February 17th, 2013, 1:37 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:b2500/ranger men

any of you all ever did custom back bumpers for your vehicles?
looking at getting one made out of steel pipe (or whatever they use), not necessarily chrome/shiny.

vehicle is a b2500 pickup. i would appreciate any contacts

thanks,
smokey

PM team loco ,Kennicon

Postby SmokeyGTi » February 17th, 2013, 1:52 pm

thanks, will check

homeboy

Postby homeboy » February 17th, 2013, 9:04 pm

So guys today i bought glow plugs for my 2006/07 ranger after getting a rough idle every time i start up.....125tt for one NGK 11v and i also did a oil change, i normally use the castrol turbo and now the new castrol turbo oil has a green colour.........

After changing i was very surprise the change in performance, start up and smooth idle, NO smoking at all.......

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » February 17th, 2013, 10:36 pm

part number for glow plugs and how much yuh pay for de oil ?

zaria

Postby zaria » February 18th, 2013, 7:29 am

2012 ranger owners!
friends 3.2 ranger makes a humming noise when parked
and engine running,when you tip the x it goes away and will return when
back to idle,comes from engine bay.
A tuner called me abt the same issue he was having sometime ago,so if you read this pls share the cause.

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » April 8th, 2013, 10:11 pm

anyone knows how to service the a/c on the ranger...like cleaning out the system etc??

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » May 9th, 2013, 12:30 pm

Two issues with my 2010 Ford Ranger 2.5 WLT XLT
1) I hear a noise while driving slow or fast, the noise sounds off and on daily and not all the time, the noise is similar to when braking with brakes that needs changing, my brakes however are new and the sound is being heard while driving, NOT braking
2) SERIOUS ISSUE- my mechanic jacked my van to inspect under to see if he could find the source of the noise but was unsuccessful. He even cleaned and reseated all the brakes, the rotar was healthy with no signs of scratches. The noise still continues off and on while I drive daily. BUT, BUT, SERIOUS ISSUE guys- he noticed that my back diff has a huge play and said I need to get the guts in my back diff change soon, otherwise i could be driving on the highway and suddenly my two back tyres could lock up and the van would spin around and crash. There are no mechanical noises in my van nor sound, my van is doing 95k and sounds new just like day one. I call ansa and the guts for the diff is 51,000, 51 thousand. B in new grant has a used like new according to my mechanic for 3500. I am so confuse. My mechanic said the play is so big the diff would go any time soon.

WHAT to do? This is the rear diff

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 9th, 2013, 12:40 pm

get a second opinion

Slack

Postby Slack » May 9th, 2013, 3:19 pm

^^ Agreed. Get a second opinion. Did you carry it to the firm for them to diagnose it? I have the same truck but don't have that problem.... Mine is doing 73k...

web_phantom

Postby web_phantom » May 23rd, 2013, 5:52 pm

I need a diagnostic technician . ford XLT 3.0 auto transmission. Recommendations?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 26th, 2013, 2:07 pm

aye fellas i need alyuh help , i need to get the pitman arm for my van , the 555 brand will not work cause the stem is smaller than the original ,apparently there is a thin stem and thick one. i called faiz and they dont have in stock nor does the ford dealer ship. can anyone assist me?
pitman.JPG

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 26th, 2013, 8:35 pm

vharripersad wrote:Two issues with my 2010 Ford Ranger 2.5 WLT XLT
1) I hear a noise while driving slow or fast, the noise sounds off and on daily and not all the time, the noise is similar to when braking with brakes that needs changing, my brakes however are new and the sound is being heard while driving, NOT braking
2) SERIOUS ISSUE- my mechanic jacked my van to inspect under to see if he could find the source of the noise but was unsuccessful. He even cleaned and reseated all the brakes, the rotar was healthy with no signs of scratches. The noise still continues off and on while I drive daily. BUT, BUT, SERIOUS ISSUE guys- he noticed that my back diff has a huge play and said I need to get the guts in my back diff change soon, otherwise i could be driving on the highway and suddenly my two back tyres could lock up and the van would spin around and crash. There are no mechanical noises in my van nor sound, my van is doing 95k and sounds new just like day one. I call ansa and the guts for the diff is 51,000, 51 thousand. B in new grant has a used like new according to my mechanic for 3500. I am so confuse. My mechanic said the play is so big the diff would go any time soon.

WHAT to do? This is the rear diff

When last you changed the diff oil? have you been following your owners manual and changing them on time?

Remember it is every 50K you change your tranny/gear oil and diff oil.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 26th, 2013, 9:28 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:aye fellas i need alyuh help , i need to get the pitman arm for my van , the 555 brand will not work cause the stem is smaller than the original ,apparently there is a thin stem and thick one. i called faiz and they dont have in stock nor does the ford dealer ship. can anyone assist me?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 27th, 2013, 9:17 pm

^^ have you tried Jerry's or Chase Village auto supplies? i got my pitman arm for the 2006 ranger at Jerry's
Also try ROC in the bamboo - they stock parts for rangers

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 28th, 2013, 12:03 am

nope ,can i get the number for roc and jerrys, will call chase village auto in the morning

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 28th, 2013, 7:22 am

try 6411

luke skywalker

Postby luke skywalker » May 30th, 2013, 8:54 pm

Squeaking noise at rear of 2009 - 2010 Ford Ranger 4x2 what could it be?

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » June 12th, 2013, 8:28 am

Guys had Ansa check out the diff issue last week when doing my 100k (cost 7700 for this service) and they said my did is good with no play, something with LSD and my mechanic get confused. So I really hope is so.

Back to issue number one I hear a noise while driving slow or fast, the noise sounds off and on daily and not all the time, the noise is similar to when braking with brakes that needs changing, my brakes however are new and the sound is being heard while driving, NOT braking.
I did not hear this sound for about 3 weeks, but yesterday evening it started back very loud. Did not hear it from south to POS this morning and may not hear it again until a couple of days. Thing is it makes noise while driving, NOT WHEN BRAKING. I check all my rotars for wear but no signs I check for leaks and brakes fluid levels and nothing.

What to do? Anyone had this issue and knows the fix for it? Cause you know when I carry it by Ansa, it not going to make the noise then. They also check my brakes and rear brakes in the 100k service after I made the noise problem known to them and they said its in good working order and my brakes are new since it was changed about 3 months ago

Again, the noise the does sound when braking, its while driving. So if i in stop and go traffic I will hear loud and it sounds from the left side of my vehicle. The noise is similar to when brakes needs changing and makes a screetchy noise. One mechanic said is my brakes sensor touching and most people does break it out, another said that it's my brakes and I will have to live it out. I am confused

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » June 12th, 2013, 1:53 pm

check yuh bearings it might be gone, jack up the front and turn the front wheel by hand.

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » June 12th, 2013, 9:33 pm

And what happens or what to look for when turning wheel by hand? I will have my mechanic do but just want to have an idea of how to detect the bearing gone. and which bearing, what's the name?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » June 12th, 2013, 9:38 pm

if the bearing is gone you should hear it easily ,like a grumbling rough sound just by spinning it by hand. the bearing is in the hub.spin the wheel on the side that you hear the noise coming from.

oro

Postby oro » June 13th, 2013, 10:00 am

vharripersad is had a similar issue with my B2500 WLT. My problem was the cross on the drive shaft was bad. Odd noise at different rpm, different times, low humm and then sometimes really loud. My van is doing 228,000km and I not got this issue.

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » June 16th, 2013, 3:04 pm

My cross was changed at 100k I took van in on Friday at ansa they confirmed it was going bad wheel bearing front left and will require replacing. None in stock they will get in two weeks time and schedule my service. Any idea of the cost for this part at and?

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » June 23rd, 2013, 1:15 pm

Some people telling me not the bearing as the sound is a hissing, not grabbing or mechanical.
Some people say its the shield that may be touching by the brakes
Some people say break out the break sensor by the wheel making the noise.
Van was jack up and left wheel spin to confirm the bearing is not the problem.

I am so confuse< I cannot even get a mechanic to hear the noise cause the hissing noise on the front left sounds daily, but only when it wants to. Usually while driving at 40 and greater with foot on accelarator, NOT brakes. If I break while driving, the hissing noise stops, then resumes while driving.

I am confused

mechmoon

Postby mechmoon » June 29th, 2013, 11:48 pm

hey guys is the 2.9 ranger block bore the same size as the 2.5 wlt block bore need info
would like to build an engine with a 2.9 block
2.5 wlt 16v head
and the 2.5 wlt low compression pistons
and the 2.5wlt turbo

just need some info

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » July 3rd, 2013, 10:49 pm

Can any one quickly tell me their thoughts and experiences with the 2011ranger reliability. Rigidity comfort n maintenance on the 3.0 tdci

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » July 21st, 2013, 12:56 pm

How do you adjust the headlight on a 08 ranger?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 23rd, 2013, 7:10 pm

gas brainz wrote:Can any one quickly tell me their thoughts and experiences with the 2011ranger reliability. Rigidity comfort n maintenance on the 3.0 tdci

once regular maintenance is carried out you wont have problems, the only problems i ever had with mines is that the injector seals went bad after 80K - i had them changed under warranty and that was it.

videsh92

Postby videsh92 » July 23rd, 2013, 7:23 pm

Bess vehicle luv it

Postby AllTrac » September 30th, 2013, 8:49 am

guys need some help, a family member of mines has a 2010 ranger wildtrak 4x2 auto, he had it from brand new. The turbo unit seems to be leaking oil, while he is meticulous with maintenance, he never really timed it down which I believe contributed to his turbo failure. Anyone know where he can get a turbo unit for it? or some where online where he can buy it new and ship it down?
He bought it new from MRampersad and they quoted him over 20K for a new turbo unit.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”